All went well

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 10:44
ThreadID: 15625 Views:2081 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
Got back yesterday from the Cape.

Took 2 19 day tag alongs and all went well the first trip had one mechanical problem the second had none.

Both trips had of road trailers from the basic to the deluxe all had good and bad points. All types handled it well.

Toilet paper heaps of it sorbent flowes in full bloom in one place we spent about 10 minutes cleaning it up and burnt it.

Accidents talking to the locals and truck drivers record year and a couple of fatals speed the main thing.

I meet some explore oz members to name a few it was good to put a face to the name Rosco , bogged at home ,reindeer, and savas I hope it went well for the rest of your trips.

One punture for both the trips on all brands and makes of tyres it was on my truck it was an old plug had removed it self some how.

I dont think I will ever tire of the place and cant wait till next year

CyC
www.capeyorkconnections.com.au

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 11:44

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 11:44
Nice summary Eric. I can never understand those crappy minded, selfish & uncaring stool-heads who think that it's not their job or problem to clean up their scraps.
What are you going to do now until next year ??
AnswerID: 72926

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:24

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:24
Cocka it beats me go to some where nice and litter the place with toilet paper .

I hate to see their back yards.

FollowupID: 333122

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 13:22

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 13:22
G'day cobber

The balance of the trip went well. Ran out of time for Chilli Beach though ... oh well there's always next time.

By the way, in answer to your question up the scrub, the track into Capt. Billy is a 2WD breeze. A tad more than a breeze at the Landing though.

AnswerID: 72939

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:28

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:28
Rosco it was nice to meet you and the boss .
We were going to go captian billy but the cloud was rolling in and it was windy at friut bat so I pulled the pin and went to bertie creek instead.

Same as chilli always blows.

FollowupID: 333125

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 14:44

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 14:44
Welcome back Eric,
Hope you left some scenery for us to look at when we venture up there again on 18/9.
Thanks for the imformative run-down on how your trip went...
Cya mate
AnswerID: 72947

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:38

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:38
No roachie no scenery left saw it all and it was awsome as usuall.
We had an ultimae along with us on the second trip.
So ya have gone luxury roachie they are nice.
Only one spot we had trouble on one crossing the mighty canibal creek its very tight on the aproach from the south between the trees if on your own you will have to fill in the hole with others hang of the side.

Have a good one wish I was back miss it already.

FollowupID: 333130

Reply By: Camp oven - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 02:32

Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 02:32
Gidday Eric,
good to hear the second trip went well. Did anyone need lessons on how to cook in a camp oven and if so did you manage without me (especially the cleaning and oiling)?

We got home just under 2 weeks ago (22nd of August) and boy was it tough getting back into the swing of things. Rest of our trip went well, we fell in love with Fraser Island and intend going back there for a week or two sometime into the future.

In the process of purchasing a DVD burner to download all the videos and photos will send you a copy once I've done it.

Thanks for the trip it was a real hoot, fantastic, the boys still haven't stopped talking about it

Camp oven
AnswerID: 74966

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 11:08

Saturday, Sep 04, 2004 at 11:08
Hello Camp oven and tinckell ryan and thomas good to see you made it home.
How was the skiiing and where did you go on the way home from the way back from cairns.

I had trouble with the cleaning of the camp oven but remmemberd your tip just keep rubbing it and dont give up untill its shiney

Tell ryan and thomas I had reall trouble with out them getting the fire wood and picking the good red wood.

I am back at work now and collecting some more biulding storys for the boys. To date none to speak of except when i fell over the compresser hose and landed on a stack of timber and the timber fell on me other than that not much else has happened.

I am planning the desert trip it will be in july 2005 school holidays.

Thats it for now I got to the splinters out of my head.

eric

CyC

FollowupID: 334920