Second Hand Engels

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:05
ThreadID: 15635 Views:2517 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
What are peoples experiences with 2nd hand Engels or other fridge/freezers for that matter?

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:39

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 18:39
I have had one fail on me, have had no trouble with its new replacement, my brother has got 5 good years out of his 2nd hand old 60lt engel which is still going strong.

If you buy 2 2nd hand ones, for the price of one new one, are you any worse off?

[retorical question, btw.]

AnswerID: 72986

Reply By: Dale & Meaghan - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 19:21

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 19:21
Toffa
I've got an old (15yrs) 15Lt Engle. I swapped a mate a SAAS seat for. He got it off a mate who had it in his truck and took it as payment for a bit if work he did. When I got it, it had a hole worn through the element from the basket. It cost me $200 to get it repaired about 4 years ago. It sits on the back seat of my dual cab and is only turned on on weekends. Touch wood I have not had any trouble with it at all. If I had the option to buy another 2nd hand Engle I would not hesitate, providing you pay the right price in the first place.
AnswerID: 72991

Reply By: Allfour4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 20:18

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 20:18
Toffa,
We found all second handers were either sold before you could get to 'em, or were priced not far under new ones (reasonably new models around Sydney area) Ended up just buying new - warranty - shiny - If you decide to sell it you won't lose much anyway.
Glenn B.
AnswerID: 73001

Reply By: Andrew - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 20:19

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 20:19
It seems that second hand Engels are very expensive ( Trading Post) , some only one or two hundred dollars bellow new price.
For my money I would rather get Weaco with 5 year warrenty.
AnswerID: 73002

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 21:33

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 21:33
Just
FollowupID: 333179

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 23:03

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 23:03
I have an Engle and in hindsight I prob would look at getting a Waeco factory second from that fridge shop in Bris for $700 only because of price. But I do love my Engle. It keeps the beer cold, is metal as opposed to plastic and they have proven themselves over time. Plus Engles do keep their value quite well.

Leroy
AnswerID: 73028

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 07:31

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 07:31
Keep their value...its only worth what somone is willing to pay
they are all overpriced! even most of the second hand ones...IMO
FollowupID: 333219

Reply By: Chris (W.A.) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 04:46

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 04:46
Exactly,

Waeco brag about their danfoss compressors....that's about it. Their outside is crap along with their pretty little interior light which is known to 'jam' on draining battery power.

Stick to the steel outside especially with the newer ones.
AnswerID: 73038

Follow Up By: Chris (W.A.) - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 05:41

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 05:41
...and also why offer a thermometer warning alarm on a waeco when it's supposed to be self sufficient?....
FollowupID: 333212

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 07:35

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 07:35
toffa
if in good condition (appearence wise) and works it should be as good as a newie

just make sure it reachs temperature and cuts out on thermostat....freezer mode but not neccessary to have it set at lowest temp to do this test...about 3/4 is okay, meaning less time waiting for it to cut out
AnswerID: 73044

Reply By: JimB - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 07:45

Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 07:45
Ay Toffa,

Bought a second hand 30l Engel about 6 years ago. It was close to 20 years old then (the old green thing). It's a dead set ripper. Never stops. In the house as a beer fridge or in the Cruiser for travelling. Never turned off, apart from defrosting and has never missed a beat. I paid $300 for it back then and reckon it was great value.

I understand that the new ones are much more efficient in their power usage so would suggest you consider that - less drain. We turn ours down to 'Ref' for overnight stops or coupla nighters anyway so with dual batteries we get good running duration.

JimB
AnswerID: 73045