Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 20:55
Martyn (WA)
Forumites,
Just an advisory / awareness thing, I was out "playing" at the weekend when I accidentally got some mud between the tyre (rear near side) and the rim AGAIN, couldn't get the damn thing to re seal, anyway changed the tyre and whilst walking past a mate of
mine pointed out the disc pads nearly down to the steel, I only checked them two weeks ago and they where fine, plenty of meat, all I've done is two mud runs and about 500 klms, discs are fine but the pads where rooted.
So from this experience after doing mud runs it's advisable to just have a quick glance at the brake calipers just to check that all is
well. The pad with the wear sensor in it still had 3 mm of pad left so the disc on the other side would of looked decidedly secondhand before either the sparks eminating from wheel or the sound of grinding metal alerted you that all was not
well. Just a hints an tips thing.
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 21:29
Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 21:29
Hi Martyn
It reminds me of yesteryear when we were youngsters(mid 30's) out playing in the mud near
Darwin. Me mate George came too in his brand new Toyota Trayback. We all got bogged that day and me mate had a megabog in the ooze. We all got home safely and I dutifully took the
wheels and hubs off to wash the mud out. George was sitting around having a few beers and said " Nah, I'll do it in the morning"
Next moring the truck wouldn't budge as the drum brakes had caked solid. Cost him a pretty penny to have this new vehicle repaired but he learnt a valuable lesson.
Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 21:39
Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 21:39
Hi Willem,
New bus looks good, similar colouring to my old GQ, I'm sure it will give you long and reliable service, needs a few bits and pieces, mind you it's good to start from where you are that way you're sure that everything is done right and you're not trying to fix someone elses problems. Good one.
Follow Up By: Rod W - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 09:32
Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 09:32
So Willem,
When were you in
Darwin? I was there from 1971 to 1989. Use to 4wd in Leanyer Swamp, Holmes Jungle, Dripstone, Casuarina Beach.
In my early years the Pill Box on Casuarina beach was
well and truly back in the
sand dunes but by the time we left it was out on
the beach.
Did
Jim Jim Falls 4 times before it became a national
park.
Was lucky enough to do Death Adder Gorge (that was a fabulous place) before it was closed off for supposedly scientific research.
As
well as many other
places around the top end.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 19:51
Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 19:51
Hi Rod,
I arrived in
Darwin in the wet of '68 and from then until '96 spent 20 years in the Top End. Drove into
Twin Falls in '77 in a Suzuki with the Suzuki Club. Was on the first advisory committee for
Kakadu Plan of Management. Ran tours into
Kakadu 79 to 82. Visited DEAF Adder Gorge on a number of occasions before it was closed off. Spent many boozy days at Cooinda drinking beer with Tom Opitz. Drove up on to the Arnhemland Escarpment in 78 via Gimbat and did another sortie into an area known as Snowdrop in Arnhemland... Ran Boat Tours on the
South Alligator River......It was a good time of my life...I can go on for hours.......:-)
Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:52
Thursday, Aug 19, 2004 at 09:52
Giday Willem,
For all the times we went to Jim Jim we never got to
Twin Falls basically cause at the time we didn't know it existed, we always came in up stream from it. I know that with walking in that
water me goolies would creep right back up inside... they weren't silly.
Are yes Cooinda... there is/was another place in that area that was set up as a tourist type croc hunters
camp I'm trying to remember the name I think it started with 'P' it'll come to me. The house had bamboo walls inside.
Would have been the second persons to go into UDP Falls one year after the wet. I say the second cause when we got in there was only one other vehicle and in order for them to get in the bloke had actually built timber bridges to cross the erosion gullies. He said plenty of time nothing else to do so why not.
Probably me worst/longest bog was on the way into
Butterfly Gorge past all the Black soil and onto speargrass covered sand plains where I just ran off the compressed centre section of the track broke through the surface crust and straight down... this happened around 2pm Sunday arvo and got out around 3am on the Monday morning, and course the nearest tree was just out of the reach of the cable for the PTO driven winch plus the wrong direction as it was only going to take us further into the quagmire.
Met me wife in
Darwin... 32 years later still going strong. We're now in
Perth. Like you say good times, many memories and could go on for hours.
Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 21:32
Tuesday, Aug 17, 2004 at 21:32
Just
Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 09:43
Wednesday, Aug 18, 2004 at 09:43
do it