Ironman Suspension

Submitted: Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 12:40
ThreadID: 15703 Views:3368 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Has anyone had experience with Ironman suspension. Was looking at a 2" lift and airbag for GU Patrol. Was in town today and saw flyer for Ironman and wondered how they compared to other name brands??
Foxer

Reply By: 80scruiser - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 12:50

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 12:50
Hi Foxer
I have fitted a set to a customers tray top and had no trouble in a couple of years.
They are only a budget set but seem to do the job OK for the average consumer. I don't know how well they would be if pushed hard.

AnswerID: 73394

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:28

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:28
Thanks for input 80scruiser
Foxer
FollowupID: 333616

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:40

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 13:40
Hi Foxer,

I know a distributor of ironman. He showed me some new shocks that came in the other day with rust on the shaft of the shock. He said he's received a few of those lately.

As said above, is a budget system. If it was me, I'd spend the extra dollars and get the better warranty and aftermarket service. You don't necessarilly need bilsteins but if you put suspension into the search engine you will find many a, shall we say discussion on the best suspension.

In my own experience, dobinson have performed extremely well and are well priced. If you tow, they are great and do not sag as some other big name brands.

Leave it to ya mate!

Chris.
AnswerID: 73399

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:55

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 15:55
Chris,

Maaaate! Nice Rig - when you gunna get it dirty?

FollowupID: 333561

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:30

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:30
Hi Chris
thanks for advice. I was looking for something to help with rear end sag so will look at your suggestions.
Foxer
FollowupID: 333617

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:28

Monday, Aug 23, 2004 at 10:28
Sandman,

Thanks mate.

Had it for 2 weeks, pretty keen to go for a run. Heading up the beach this weekend, may drop off at Kilcoy and have a play on the way home.

Foxer,

Dobinson (which is on mine) do a great extra heavy duty kit which cost me 760 fitted which included a 3 inch lift, and efs big bore shocks, had a tonne on the back last week, didn't sag a bit. Otherwise, there's always airbags, but they do restrict your wheel travel!

Cheers mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 333763

Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 14:34

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 14:34
I had some ironman gas shocks on the front of my disco. Lasted to just under the 2 year warranty. No worries replaced under warranty. The 2 new ones blew up one month later on a trip to Craig's Hut, vic high country. Shocks were expired and so was warranty. use another brand now.

John D
AnswerID: 73405

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:32

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:32
Thanks John
will take your comments on board
Foxer
FollowupID: 333618

Reply By: Dale & Meaghan - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 20:21

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 20:21
Foxer
I fitted a set on my fathers 75 series cruiser but they only lasted a few years. Admittedly the truck was pushed pretty hard carting a crate full of hounds around the mountains in Vic. but I was fairly dissapointed in their durability. They did give a bit of lift but with weight on the back they didn't last long. There are better springs around.

Bones
AnswerID: 73451

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:34

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:34
Thanks Bones
Starting to get a similar theme on this product, thanks for your thoughts
Foxer
FollowupID: 333619

Reply By: Shaun - Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 20:52

Friday, Aug 20, 2004 at 20:52
Depends what you want it for I guess. I purchased ironman leaf springs for the rear of my 99 hiluc d/c and have found them very good. I will be lining up for new torsion bars very soon. They seem to be OK - Australian steel and a 5 year warranty. My ute doesnt do heaps of hard work but for general use and 1 big trip per year I cannot justify paying huge $$$$'s. Same with my shocks - I have gabriel blue riders - plenty of people will bag them as they dont cost as much as other big names but as far as I am concerned they do the job for me and I have had no probs yet - 41mm bore and plenty of travel and been on the vehicle for a big trip up into Princess Charlotte bay at the end of the wet with plenty of weight on. Horses for courses I guess.

Shaun
AnswerID: 73455

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:37

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:37
Hi Shaun
yeah horses for courses is true, thanks for your thoughts
Foxer
FollowupID: 333620

Reply By: rock hoper - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 10:53

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 10:53
i would buy a set of enforcer or EFS lift kit.
if you e-mail me i will give you there free call number .
tuff4by@dodo.com.au
i would post there number but i don't wont to upset the people that run this forum.
as a business i have to watch what i post.
AnswerID: 73479

Follow Up By: Member - Foxer - Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:38

Saturday, Aug 21, 2004 at 11:38
Thanks rock hoper
I'll check them out
Foxer
FollowupID: 333621