Member - Graham T (VIC)
I would like to pick up on the subject of rubbish left at
camp sites and road side rest stops.
We have just returned from a trip which took us from
Melbourne to The Alice, accross the Tanami Road to
Halls Creek,
Derby,
Broome etc etc... six weeks on the road experiencing what I thought was the best of our wonderful country.
Unfortunately there are one hell of a lot of selfish and uncaring people out there with little or no concept of personal hygene or consideration for their fellow travellers. What is more disturbing, many of them are travellers like us, those that want to get out and experience the open, free and clean environment. Who else but the intrepid traveller and camper want to spend a few nights at the Wolf
Creek Meteorite crater, bumping accross some hellish corrugations for one hour just to get there. I can tell you that there are some of us that do just leave their sh@%@! where they drop it, quite happy to let somebody else either put up with it or clean it up. We experienced such a group recently at Wolf
Creek and I am dissapointed to say that they were 4 wheelers. They certainly did not enhance the area or make our stay enjoyable.
I don't know what the solution is, maybe someone out there has some ideas to help put an end to this sort of behaviour.
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 15:48
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 15:48
Unfortunately there is little you can do other than make the effort to clean up your own mess, confronting the pigs usually leads to fisticuffs(personal experience). I now take my and if I can fit a little extra I take that too... I'm not making much of a difference, but it eases my concience
Blue
Follow Up By: Member - Graham T (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 16:15
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 16:15
Hi Blue,
Your'e right, I had a similar experience (fisticuffs). I suppose that one just has to bite the lip and accept that their are pigs out there. Maybe I'm old fashioned but my parents would turn in their grave if they caught me doing this sort of thing. Makes you wonder what sort of parents these people have!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 16:29
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 16:29
You know what they say Graham... S@#t breeds S@#t, I think we need to break the breeding cycle... Any ideas???
Blue
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 16:33
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 16:33
In a word these people are "Feral" the only way to break the cycle is to undertake a Feral eradication program.
Follow Up By: Shawn - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:06
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:06
Blue,
Picking up your rubbish does make a difference as do all of us that take our own rubbish with us.
Solution - Bring back rule 303
Shawn
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 18:16
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 18:16
Shawn,
afraid I'll have to settle for rule 222... Maybe the Federal Gov could put a bounty on their pelts.
Blue
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:09
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:09
I know it's un Australian to dob people in but that's the only way to change these bad habits. Most states have litter lines or in Vic the 'Bush Telegraph'. A fine or summons in the mail should get there attention. Our group witnessed a
toilet in Wonnangatta being run over by a 4x4 as a joke. We later rang the Police & following court proceedings was fined & ordered to pay damages.
From the Vic 4x4 Assoc.............
"The HOON element
Parks Victoria in a special announcement by the Minister John Thwaites advised of the set up of a reporting process based on the Neighbourhood Watch. The program called Bush Telegraph allows the public to report inappropriate behaviour in Parks and Forests. The number to put into your mobile memory is 132874. It is time for Association members to put the hoon element out of business."
Craig.....
Reply By: Member - Bob - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:09
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:09
I think one of the reasons people do this is because they believe that in the group travel with it is acceptable to leave rubbish. You only need one member of a group to lead the way by picking up rubbish when breaking
camp for the others to soon realise that maybe it isn't OK.
Spreading the word on a
forum like this is an excellent way of changing the culture out there.
Believe it or not, there are people reading this item who routinely leave all there waste (from bottles to bodily) without a care in the world.
Maybe some simple guidelines would help. How about these?
1.Take a rubbish container with you. It has to be big enough to take all your rubbish until it can be dumped properly (its as important as your fridge). A large plastic box which seals can be carried in the vehicle if necessary.
2.Bury yourbleepe (you will need to take a small shovel with you, and instruct less experienced members in your group on the requirements)
3.Burn your dunny paper before it blows around leaving those lovely white streamers everywhere (check out the Mt Sonder
lookout near
Glen Helen Gorge for a fine example)
4.If you can't burn them, take disposable nappies away in the rubbish box (these are a particular favourite of
mine)
Follow Up By: Member - Graham T (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:23
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:23
Bob,
Spot on and constructive comment. I hope a few people will read this correspondence and ask themselves the obvious question.
Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 13:15
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 13:15
The rubbish box is an excellent idea. We have a sealed bin that is used solely for that purpose, so there's no excuse for littering. We teach our kids that littering is wrong, and now they will pick up litter when they see it and put it in a bin.
It is really distressing to see a littered
campsite even when there are
bins provided. Some people either don't have a conscience, or have put their brains in neutral for the duration of their trip.
Reply By: Member - Graham T (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:17
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:17
Hi Guys,
I didn't realise that there are so many like minded people out there.
Shawn, rule 303 is good but messy
Blue and John, Breaking the breeding cycle and eradication program sounds good.
While we were at the
Keep River National Park I collected some very attractive fruits from a tree. Better half said don't eat them yet, let's find out what they are first. Back at the
camp site we broke out the Bush Tucker Man book by Les Hiddens. Guess what, the fruits I had picked were from Strychnos lucida, the Strychnine Tree!!!
Maybe we should promote Bush Tucker to these animals and throw away the book.
Rule 303 however sounds good.
Reply By: Davoe - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:38
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:38
Things are certainly not as bad as they used to be and most people do the rigth thing. I spend a fair amount of time out bush and come accross qite a few old camps and it is perfectly obvios that nothing at all was buried or taken away. There is however about 40 -60 years difference between a disgusting pigsty and an historical attraction
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:44
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 17:44
I may very
well be dreaming, but I like to think that the majority of us happy campers do clean up our crap (so to speak). And I'm a strong beliver that if we all take a little extra with us that it WILL make a difference. When the kids are out with us they are very carless and leave stuff lying around. The minute I find something of theres they have to clean it up as
well as somthing someone else has left there. That way we are helping clean up past mess and learning how to clean up after themselves and that it's just what you do in the bush.
Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 18:29
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 18:29
I holhartedley agree with everone , but . It,s not just us 4wheelers that do the damage . On a last trip up north on the GRR , we came across a broken down party of locales from one of the missions . Thay wanted us to tow them into
Gibb River , i said no becoures it was to far over them roads , but i did the right thing and let Gibb know thay were there . The point is , the amount of rubbish that was around them was amazing . After that , we begain to notice similar little area,s of rubbish in quite a few
places along there , and also down the Tanmi as
well . So , it,s not all 4wheeles that leave there rubbish along these roads . If the locals do it in there own back yards , so to speak , what chance have the rest of us got . So saying , we need to keep trying to get the masage out there , maybe oneday it will get through .
Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 11:11
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 11:11
the cheeky buggers often do that to save on fuel costs Errol and your dead right - they're the worst litterbigs of the lot. So much for sacred land.
Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 19:14
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 19:14
While I agree that there are many who don't clean up after themselves, I do pick up what I can of others' mess. I often mention in passing (to the locals) that I have cleaned up after others. The purpose of doing this is soley to convey the impression that there are some responsible travellers, and hopefully those who grant us access will not tar us all with the same brush.
Here's how I carry & deal with rubbish:
1. Bury the
toilet matter. Burn all dunny paper. The paper roll is carried with a gas powered lighter. the wind then is not an issue Vs using matches.
2. Use recycled placcy bags for the campfire rubbish. They hang from the light pole, so are central to the fireside work station/tables. Tie them off when full. These bags get carried in my super size rubbish bag. This is then emptied at a council bin or similar. The super size bag was made by sewing 90 % shadecloth into a bag shape. This bag accepts a standard green garbag. The smaller Coles type placcy bags go into this. That way, when emptying, it is all mess free. The garbag can be used many times, & spills from the smaller bags won't dribble over the goods on the roofrack.
The super size rubbish bag sits on the roof rack, secured by some occies on whatever else is on the rack (wood, chairs, swags, whatever). This keeps rubbish out of the way of normal vehicle based activities.
Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 19:16
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 19:16
I'm sure those people accidentally dropped the "waste" & had intended going straight back to their car to get a suitable recepticle. they probably just got side tracked. Being a helpful little camper, I bet they would have really appreciated you scaping it up and placing it conveniently in or on their vehicle. That way the aroma (over time) would remaind them they had forgotten it and be extremely grateful that you were able to remind them. (suggested
places: If you are leaving before them - around the door handles, roof rack etc. If they are leaving first under the engine bay or around the roo bar although this message may take a little longer to get through)
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 23:20
Wednesday, Sep 01, 2004 at 23:20
Na mate - forced in to the valance panel vents at the base of the windscreen, it gives em a great reminder for months to come, and when it dries out and stops stinking, along comes some rain and back comes the smell.....
Seriously - yeah it gives me the absolutebleepes as
well..everyone should always carry a shovel when they are travelling so no excuses there, takes no time at all to dig a hole.
If you can carry it in you can carry it out - no excuses
I always end up carrying out others rubbish, and agree that if you see it getting dumped - dob em in, if we don't we are only hurting our own future access.
You can get ex-foodstuffs plastic drums with sealing lids and locking rings cheap in a 50-60 litre size. these make great rubbish
bins as they will hold broken glass etc. no probs. I am thinking of mounting one each side of the new trailer i am going to make, jerry holder style, to put my own rubbish in and anything else i come across. Easy to put on the a frame as
well...
Keep up the good work all
Reply By: ev700 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 00:39
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 00:39
It has always been a problem - when i was 8yr old I jumped off a sand
hill and landed on one of a number of broken beer bottles. Left behind by boozers who had had a beach party. Nearly bled to death and was fortunate not to be crippled. Wiped out all of the holiday for me.
What kind of person leaves bottles strewn over parkland, beaches and waterways?
The grass verges of many highways have been covered with broken beer bottles and cans as long as I can remember.
I will pick up rubbish and I will take a registration number (car or boat) and report it to the police. Nil tolerance is the way- report but do not intervene personally. Also, beer and common alcoholic drinks should be packaged in biodegradable plastic, not glass. Or put a big desposit on the glass (eg $0.20 per bottle).
I will add that rubbishing Australia is a national problem and it requires national solutions. It is a very great pity that some State Governments are sensitive to the lobbying of certain packagers and breweries and refuse to introduce a deposit on bottles.
Follow Up By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 01:02
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 01:02
I don't mind paying a deposit on glass but please,,,, no beer in plastic bottles
Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 04:24
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 04:24
I was with a mate in
Denmark a few years ago where you can buy beer from your corner
shop. You pay more initially for each bottle as you are paying for a deposit (approx 20 - 50 cents, can't remember). We went down
the beach and had a couple each. He said for a laugh, "watch this" and placed our 4 empty bottles on the side of the footpath. We stood back on the other side of the street. The second person to come along picked them up and walked off with them.
I also used to take my grandma's old softdrink bottles that she kept in the shed to the
shop for the 20c deposit. Got my backside kicked when it came to sauce bottling season though.
Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 11:14
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 11:14
these day it's needles in the sand that one must look out for although the bottles are still quite prevalent
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 11:23
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 11:23
Coops, you're right mate, it's my biggest fear. Down at our local
park the other day where myself and my boy and some other kids were we saw some suspecious looking items, I won't go into detail. Alhtough I quickly scanned around and could not see any needles, we were out of there quick smart!
Reply By: jules15 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 08:43
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 08:43
G'day apropos of this subject - doesn't always happen "out there" - few years ago we were
camping at
Kings Creek Station (great spot) - there were some "Britz" travellers making a lot of noise until somebody pulled their power plug - but the worst thing was their
toilet habits - in the campground mens
toilet - s##@@@t all over the
seat - up the walls - paper everywhere - none used to clean up their mess. Of course they denied it when confronted by Kings
Creek management - but the campers around them knew it was them - put a bad feeling amongst us all about certain nationalities -
jules
Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 09:25
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 09:25
Jules15
Yep, seen many like that. Shaming does help.
In the Queen Street Mall in
Brisbane it is a daily occurence to see people of many cultural backgrounds leaving their rubbish on seats when they finish their snack. Includes people from some Eastern countries who are supposed to be neat. Some Australian born people drop rubbish, so do some who migrated here and so do some visitors. Similarly these are the people who rubbish the countryside.
Behaviour generalises so you can be fairly certain the same people would be inclined to put their dirty shoes on bus seats and indulge in other selfish behaviour.
Stiffer penalties and community education are the key (but please, don't make this the burden of the education system as well). Reducing the amount of packaging would help as would a message about littering (and the penalty) on the labels of consumer products.
Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 09:29
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 09:29
I love me stubbies/longnecks/very tall glasses of homebrew (getting thirsty now)etc, but if im out
camping, i will take cans, easy to flatten, easy to take away with you when you leave camp. Nothing worse than worrying about letting your kids run and play on the beach, dunes, etc. and possibly cutting themselves on broken
beer bottles left behind by gooses that dont give a flying %$#@ about the consequences.
See it all the time at Stokton...
Paul..
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 12:06
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 12:06
I take my long necks of homebrew
camping, because there is no way in hell I'm going to throw my bottles away!!! They are ireplacable! (spelling??)
I take a bottle out of the frdige, drink it, put it back where it came from, is that hard?? Nup.
Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 12:19
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 12:19
Good on ya Jeff, i prefer just taking can's and not having to worry about klunking empties, and in the future will be party keg, anyway if only everyone else were like you and took there glass away with them we wouldnt have to worry so much about getting cut on the beach dunes, grassland's or where ever.
Paul...
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 12:24
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 12:24
Yeah I must admit it depends on the terrain as to
weather I take the bottles! somtimes a bottle of bourbon or rum and plenty of plastic coke bottles is a better option!
Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 12:51
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 12:51
We've got one of these Rear wheel rubbish holder and we simply store everything until it is feasible to dump it.
Follow Up By: TD6 - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 14:05
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 14:05
Wombat,
This looks like a great idea for a number of things. Where did you get it from and how much?
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 14:36
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 14:36
Stockists are listed on their web site (which has just recently been changed and is one of the worst I've ever seen) or you can ring and order direct from Michelle on (08) 9248 1111. Tell her you heard about them on ExplorOz.
Reply By: GUPatrol - Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 14:03
Thursday, Sep 02, 2004 at 14:03
The problem lies with all of us, there's just too damn many people, and where there's more people there's more idiots who do the wrong thing, and more rules to curtail the idiots.
Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 11:21
Friday, Sep 03, 2004 at 11:21
to give a positive slant to this topic - I've taken a group of 50 campers out to the scrub for 3 days and the place was absolutely spotless when we left, yet not a word was said to anyone about cleaning up. We just took a trailer and heaps of garbage bags and everyone followed suit.
As a consequence we're welcome back to this wonderful
spot whenever we ask yet it's been fenced off to the general public just recently.
I can tell you there's more and more
places being fenced off and closed to public here in the
Pilbara that you'd count on and you can't blame the station owners one little bit.
I love to read that we forumites are setting the right example and really that's allwe can do is lead by example or use Bush telegraph.