Submitted: Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 15:14
Member - Stephen M (VIC)
Hi...
does anyone have any firsthand experience with the TVan as made by TrackTrailer ?? ... they look to be a terrific, versatile van
Any comments as to their ability, durability, practicality and value for money would be appreciated
Have not seen any on the secondhand market, do those who buy them hang onto them or is it just too soon to see them sold yet ??
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 15:21
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 15:21
I have first hand experience with them, fast to set up, rugged and tough, excellent
suspension, have seen one run around the Outback Challenge tracks easily, it went more
places than I'd care to put my Patrol. Value for money,
well they are top of the tree and
well on a par with the Ultimate Camper and Kimberly Kamper. Excellent quality. And why none on the second hand market...once I bought one I wouldnt let it go until I ceased to
camp or carked it.
Reply By: Member Steve & Lorraine Mc - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 16:20
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 16:20
G -Day Steve We currently own a T-van, and totally agree with Bonz in all areas.
They are one tough bit of gear. We also owned a Group1 track trailer for 6 years & towed it everywhere, Cape,Kimberlies,Gunbarrel,Gulf, heaps of trips thru
Vic high country. All we spent on it was 1 set of brake linings & replaced the bearings while we were at it. Initial cost in 1996 was $14000 sold in 2002 for $12,500.
You will be extremely lucky to find one second hand ???
Cheers Steve Mc
Reply By: Snowball - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 16:37
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 16:37
Steve,
I believe you can hire them from Guest's FWD in Fairfield,
Melbourne. May provide an opportunity to try one out.
regards,
Martin.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:04
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 18:04
I looked at renting one once just too see how the other half lived. Problem is that after you read all the conditions you pretty much can't take them off the bitumen.
Follow Up By: Mr Z - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:12
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:12
plus their $500 per week, minimum 2 weeks hire!
Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:03
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:03
Our Tvan has been extremely good to us - hasn't caused an ounce of trouble in the two weeks that we have had it. Made the 20 minute trip home from the factory without any failures or drama.
This time next week we will be
camping out for our first night in it - other than the boys sleeping in it in the garage.
There is a Track Campertrailers Group on Yahoo that is worth joining if you want to know more.
Follow Up By: Peter O - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:24
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:24
You mean that you didn't
camp out in it in the back yard yet?
I would have for sure.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:46
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:46
Andrew, glad the great independent
suspension could make it over the testing corrigations and street corners in the 20 minutes. I thought your neck of the woods would be trial enough........... LOL Don't they shoot out the tyres there or it where 4bys usually just collect kids from school?
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:58
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 13:58
You forgot to tell us how it performed in low range up the driveway.
Reply By: Member - Lindsay S (Int) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:55
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 19:55
I am living outside Australia and get back once a year. I have a vehicle there but hire the camper van as needed. I had read about the Tvan and it seemed to deal with some of the niggles I have with camper trailers. The price seemed high. Last year I met up with a bunch of mates who had also hired various camper trailers on Phillip Island for the Moto GP. We went the soft option with powered sites and I drove down from
Brisbane, picked up the Tvan from MRT hire in
Newcastle and continued down the Hume to the races. MRT were great to deal with and there were no restrictions put on use other than to keep it off
the beach. On highway it towed like it wasnt there. Phillip Island turned on some really lousy cold wet windy weather for the races. The Tvan was head and shoulders above anything we had used before this and in my opinion is a fantastic unit. After the experience of spending this short time with it we are sold. It now looks like a bargain and has stuffed it up for us as far as enjoying lesser offerings. I cannot speak from experience as far as ability offroad goes but on our way back we called in at the factory and saw them under construction. I am not easy to please when it comes to quality (read PIA when I feel ripped off) but from the several hours I spent crawling under and over it looking for trouble it is an extremely
well built and thought out piece of kit. There is something about being warm and comfortable on a 150mm mattress under a hard roof while your mates are out there under the direct supervision of their wives trying to rescue canvas and hammer in extra pegs which makes you feel unjustly smug. Definitely on my shopping list when the time comes. I can understand people not selling them, the way they are built your great grandkids may be still using it someday.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:18
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 20:18
Comments: No way a box trailer with a tent on it is worth $20,000...
YMMV
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 09:02
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 09:02
Clearly you have no engineering experience!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 12:33
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 12:33
Why? mate has made his own campertrailer for under $5000.00 which I think is still over the top for a $1000 tent and a $1500 trailer, and probably $1000 more in accessories.
Defending your purchase?
Follow Up By: Mr Z - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:14
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 20:14
$20,000?
i'm certainly keen to looki into them, half the price of an ultimate!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:14
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 22:14
You would have manure for brains to pay that much for a box trailer.
YMMV
Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:43
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 08:43
Truckster
You are right if you paid that much for a box trailer, but of course these, and the others in the same company, KK, Ultimate,
Camp-o-matics, are not box trailers.
Everyone to there own of course.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:06
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2004 at 21:06
Landy, they are nothign but overpriced boxtrailers with a tent on them. no matter what shape they are.
YMMV
Reply By: Member - Bear - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:15
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:15
Truckster
I think you would be hard pressed getting one for $20k - try about $30-35k..
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:37
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 21:37
The defence rests...
Reply By: John - Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:18
Sunday, Sep 05, 2004 at 22:18
Dear Steve
I have owened a Tvan for the last 2 years and coudnt be happier. Excellent engineering. Sleeping under a hard cover has a lot to recomend it when the heavans open up. You can even watch the lightening through the roof hatch and pity those sleeping under canvas.
Cheers John
Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 08:57
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 08:57
I just bought a Campomatic M3 - the Tvan and KK were options. You make a choice and run with it.....anything will actually be ok, after you get it. The Tvan would be no change out of $30 if you got a couple of sensible options included. Its worth tha in my view, because of the resale potential. The KK was too nose heavy for my Jack - the Campo is 60k at the ball. T Tvan worried me for the type of terrain I often traverse - gibber country - I was worried about preserving the appearance of the Tvan, for resale - the stone guarding looked really inadequate to me and the storage pockets and recesses here and there rearside appeared to be a real worry for cleaning en route etc (rain - mud - dirt etc). Whatever - just an impression....had to make a choice....not interested in magazine writers who use them for a week - I only ever take heed of those who buy one with their own $ and then have to look after the investment. If I had a Tvan, I would do some mods for the stones and then enjoy the thing for sure.
Reply By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 09:07
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 09:07
Hi Steve,
We just spent 3 months travelling North/West Oz in ours. It was sensational. Extremely quick to set up and most of the time we had two adults and two kids sleeping in it. They are very expensive, but anything of the same quality is of a similar price. Admittedly we bought ours second hand($18k), so it did not hurt as much.
good luck
Follow Up By: DrewT - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 14:21
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 14:21
Hi. rented one for 2 weeks recently. drove Melb - Alice -
Palm valley -
Boggy hole track-
Dalhousie springs -
Oodnadatta track - Melb. very impressed with the design & quality. Only niggly points were:
- couldn't open the car rear door properly because of the TVan hydraulic brake reservoir etc
- the pull out
kitchen has no cover unless you put up a separate tarp
Reply By: DrewT - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 14:22
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 14:22
Hi. rented one for 2 weeks recently. drove Melb - Alice -
Palm valley -
Boggy hole track-
Dalhousie springs -
Oodnadatta track - Melb. very impressed with the design & quality. Only niggly points were:
- couldn't open the car rear door properly because of the TVan hydraulic brake reservoir etc
- the pull out
kitchen has no cover unless you put up a separate tarp
Reply By: Member Steve & Lorraine Mc - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:43
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 16:43
Drew- All rental T-vans have hydraulic brakes so everyone who rents them doesn't have to go out & spend a $100 or more on a electric brake controller a longer drawbar also is a option when buying a T-van great if you own a Disco or want more room. There's also a sail awning thats quick to erect if needed for cooking or there's the full blown awning.
Thats my 2 bobs worth for the Day
Cheers Steve
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (VIC) - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:44
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 19:44
many thanks to all those who replied.... there's some very enlightening imformation in there both for and against and certainly assists in the decision making ... interesting to see different peoples view of the same item ...
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:12
Monday, Sep 06, 2004 at 21:12
T van is just a clostrophobic bedroom on wheels, and is in a different market to the Ultimate all together, the ultimate more like a van, and the t van more like a camper trailer.