Water tank hygene

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:05
ThreadID: 16141 Views:3571 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
G'day all,
looking at getting a camper trailer of some decsription... just a question regarding the water tanks. I know how to clean and sterilise a used tank, but how do you keep them clean if you only use it a couple of times a year? Not wanting to remove it for cleaning before each trip...

Blue

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:19

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:19
Blue, I too will be watching this post with interest. With my water containers, I fill them up through a product we have here in South Australia called a "Pura Tap" Essentially a very, very fine filter, which is changed yearly. I do not remember the PPM on the filter, but it's not bad.
Anyway, I filled up 4 x 10 Litre units in February, and went to Mungo. Came back with 15 lites.
The weekend just gone, we went to the Teddy Bears Picnic, and yes......... I simply took the remaining 15 litres.......... slack eh!!
Smelt good, tasted good........... and 4 days on..........I'm still here.......... writing to you.
Admittedely, they are stored in my office......... no outside light for growth. The containers are 2 years old.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 75697

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:53

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:53
most filters used for domestic use do not remove heavy metals... they just remove suspended sheit! not that which are soluble or disolved and those particulates which can get thru the >1 micron filter...and there is still a lot which can get past 1 micrn filters

me, I drink tap water..it has body and taste..
mmm might explain why i am folicle chalenged eh?
FollowupID: 335507

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 20:06

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 20:06
Ummmmm - I did see some photos Wolfie - r u sure that something hasn't happened too you. Side on ........ ummmm.....

FollowupID: 335511

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:42

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:42
Hey Blue,
I asked this a while ago with some interesting replies.
I have a fixed 90 ltr tank mounted under my GQ which runs off an electric pump. I have to say that with all the advice i received in the past, my solution was to just keep it full of water all the time. I use the water often and just top it up before i head off. I too am still here, water is clean as it can be. Never had anyone ill from drinking it. I hope your refering to metal tanks as thats what i have.
Cheers Angelo
AnswerID: 75699

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:45

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:45
let the containers dry out when not in use!
keep dust etc out while this is going on
rinse before use
and fill up

or take bottled water for drinking and refillable container for cooking and washing etc etc
AnswerID: 75700

Reply By: Member - ramp - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 19:59
hi blue,my understanding is that you need light for bacteria to grow, so if all your lines and tank is black.what happened when we all had water tanks.i just keep filling up each time we go away and so far no problem(6 trips per year).

cheers rob
AnswerID: 75703

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 20:37

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 20:37
All very interesting and duely(sp?) noted. I understand the light = bact, remember that from school. One thing had me concerned though... A mate last year went to service his spa for summer, having been unattended but also completely covered (supposedly light proof cover) for some months... VERY green and messy clean up. Refilled the spa with rain water and ran it as usual through summer. Last week we serviced it after once again being left but still covered, NO goo, water completely clear.

Made me wonder what exactly we drink in our tap water, and of course what would happen in a water tank.

Thanks guy's
Blue
FollowupID: 335519

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 21:47

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 21:47
Makes me think about my poo .............. If I keep my mouth closed and my anus tightly shut to keep the light out, then I will have nice sterile poo............might be able to stop washing my hands...

Hahahaha - I am sure that bacteria are quite happy growing in the dark - most algae though are a different matter.

FollowupID: 335524

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 07:44

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 07:44
if i recall ..a lot of algae need very little (while some none) light to prolificate....same as bacteria...

and lets face it...the containers would need to be stored in photographic room type darkness whenever they are not in use...a hard task unless something is purpose built
FollowupID: 335551

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 07:48

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 07:48
andrew...you'll know when its time to do poo
your eyes will be bulging?
FollowupID: 335553

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:22

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:22
Hi Nudenut, algae have chlorophyll and do need ligt to produce sugars and grow & replicate. Bactreria on the other hand are found in very deep water and in samples of rock from deep underground.
FollowupID: 335558

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 17:52

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 17:52
Andrew, you need a holiday badly!!
FollowupID: 335670

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 20:30

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 20:30
Keep em full I was told - change with fresh rainwater (or best you have) just before you go on a trip. Drain and fill with fresh tap water when you get home (the chlorine levels here in SA are designed to kill bugs while in the tap lines - about 30 ppm I think -ideal for a tank sitting idle for a few weeks ! About to start using my new 120 L ss tank so will soon find out. The only issue I can forsee is the disappointment of having to top up good water with inferior water en route. Would be nice to have 2 x 60 instead of the 1 x 120 !
AnswerID: 75709

Reply By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 20:47

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 20:47
Try this link: http://www.fcs.uga.edu/pubs/current/FDNS-E-34-3.html
AnswerID: 75712

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 21:12

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 21:12
Good one, locked away in my favorites

Thanks Scrubba
Blue
FollowupID: 335521

Reply By: duncs - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 21:47

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 21:47
My Mum & Dad live on an aluminium boat (it's quite large not a 12' tinnie), Their water tanks are integral ie built into the hull and of the same material as the rest of the boat, nmarine grade aluminium.

Every couple of years they have to drain the tanks and give them a thorough scrub. Initially this was because the alunimium was breaking down. So they lined the tanks with a paint on epoxy (designed for the purpose) This too started to break down and taste the water. They now use a bladder similar to the wine cartons and this seems to work quite well.

I carry water in plastic jerry cans which I use for drinkking when I get home. In Broken Hill most of us buy bottled water for drinking anyway. Jerrys are stored with lids on loosly when not in use.

Never had a problem.

Other advantages with jerry cans is that if you get a leak you only lose one jerry and not all of your water storage. Tey are also easy to fill and you can go on a day trip away from your camp and carry water with you easily.

Duncs.
AnswerID: 75717

Reply By: Member - JEFF - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 07:14

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 07:14
G'day Blue

I use a 65 litre stainless fixed tank. There are a variety of products available from WHITWORTHS MARINE, in Melbourne 556 Elizabeth St phone 03 93476511 boaties have had these problems for years and are far more advanced in this area than us. I use 'Tank Clean' twice a year and the water is fine. No problems in the past 3 years

regards jeff ,sydney
AnswerID: 75740

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:10

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 08:10
Well this might seem strange to some but here goes, i use pink stain it is a beer fermenter sterilizer, put it in by mixing it in a 5ltr jug pour it in then top with water leave it for a day then flush, the good thing about this stuff is it get rid of build up on the walls of the tank too.

AnswerID: 75746

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 12:58

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 12:58
Blue,

There are a two issues to consider here. 1) presence of algae and bacteria and 2) contamination from chemicals which taint water supply.

Firstly, you need to look at the water tanks and associated fittings. The best water tanks are those that don't let in light such as stainless steel or black plastic. These materials also suffer minimal, if any, deterioration over time and hence there is minimal, if any, chemical contamination of your drinking water. Have a look caravan water tanks...these days they're all made from black plastic. Then there's the hoses to and from the tank. Hoses also suffer deterioration over time and can contaminate your water. Once again, caravans and good quality campertrailers etc use a food grade hose. That's the clear hosing usually reinforced with the mesh banding similar to garden hoses...health dept. also require it's use in commercial kitchen and the like. Even food grade hose gradually deteriorates (most manufacturers provide a 5 yr warranty against this) but is much, much better than your standard garden hose.

Which brings me to my next point...you should avoid filling your water tanks with the garden hose as this is notorious for causing your water to become tainted. Just look at the state of a garden hose that's been left outside for any length of time - you can clearly see the deterioration. There's a light blue coloured hose out now that is recommended for this purpose and is what most of the caravanners seem to be using now. It's easy to get at Bunnings and other hardwares and not overly expensive.

Next there's the fittings; these days most commonly used are plastic fittings although brass is probably better but a lot more expensive.

The point of all this is that whilst a non-light permitting tank is used to eliminate as far as possible algal growth, food grade hose (if used, which it should be) is clear so over time you will get a bit of algae growth in the hoses. And, even if you use food grade hose and don't fill up with your garden hose etc, some chemcial contamination (however minute) will occur.

So in summary, it is good hygienic practise to flush out your water tank and hoses on a semi-regular basis. We do ours before our main trip every year. It isn't necessary to go to the trouble to disconnect hoses, just make sure that you flush out the whole system and pump at least some of the sterilising mix through to the tap (a few pumps will do).

As to what you use to sterilise the system, there are plenty of choices. As said above you can buy special solutions from marine supplies, some caravan places and even commercial cleaning suppliers who carrying it for kitchen/bar purposes. Alternately you can try the following home remedies which are also widely used - bi-carb, vinegar or bleach. We've used all three of these but bleach is the best IMHO.

Our method is to make up a strong solution in a bucket (say 1 part bleach in 10 parts water) and pour this in through the filler and pump some up to the tap. We leave it in the tank for a day or two then fill up the tank with water, leave it another day or two, then drain the whole system, and flush it out with clean water before filling the tank for use.

Hope my comments have been of some help.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 75797