Bega Eden Merimbula @ XMAS

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 21:49
ThreadID: 16146 Views:3195 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
im thinking about a shortish 8 day stay around the Eden area at XMAS cant find much info on the web about the place, we will want to camp some where that we can fish or not to far away from fishing, we will camping in tents.

first question, anyone know of some good places to camp (not to close to other people) directions? do we need permits of any sort? phone numbers? facilities?

2, what are some of the attractions around this area? any 4wding worth attempting?

3, any general comments about the place, things to do places to see

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 22:20

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2004 at 22:20
Some awesome fishing down round that area.. Some is easier than others to get at (cliff etc).

Camping never bothered LOL, used to deliver gas by tanker down there, so used to park up in the yard, and borrow the ute.

Depends on what you want to see really.

Merimblua gets packed like a sardine can at xmas.. so camping you might want to get in early.
AnswerID: 75722

Reply By: dock - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:50

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 10:50
There is good camping in Ben Boyd National Park at Saltwater Ck.and Bittangabee Bay but you will probably have trouble getting in as they are incredibly popular in school holidays especially at Saltwater Ck as it is camping behind the dunes on a magnificent surf beach.Bitangabee Bay is generally quieter with lots of good rock fishing.The other alternative is Lake Wonboyn which is a privately owned fishing camp where can you hire cabins and boats. As for 4WDing I haven't as yet found any good tracks along the coast but there may be some good ones further inland amongst the State Parks which is also an alternative area to to finding a quiet campsite.
AnswerID: 75766

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:13

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 11:13
Gday Kerry,

As said above, I went through there in December and did all the sites, including great ocean road etc. Eden is beautiful, especially the road in.

Careful of fuel in Bega, we had 5 in our convoy, my GQ turbo D ran like a pig after fueling up there, got about 5k/L till next fill. Everyone else had probs, including a troopy which crapped an injector. Just a general warning...

Cheers mate,

Chris.
AnswerID: 75768

Reply By: JasonR - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:06

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:06
We have been camping at Bittangabee for 24 years straight and you would be hard pressed to find another place which offers anything like it. You have to book with the National parks and Wildlife. You can download a booking form at the following website. http://www.nationalparks.nsw.gov.au/npws.nsf/Content/Home
There are about 30 campsites 10 of which are trailer sites (no fixed window caravans). No generators, a private beach in Bitangabee Bay, Wonboyn surf beach 10 mins away, game fishing off the rocks and only an hours drive to Eden.

Jason
AnswerID: 75802