tyre pressure for birdsville

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 12:51
ThreadID: 16162 Views:7816 Replies:12 FollowUps:22
Going up to Birdsville via Maree, then onto Camerons corner and Arkaroola. Running skinny cooper ST's on my 96 RX 2.8td LWB. Looking for some advice on what tyre pressure I should run (considering there will be a bit of weight with food, water etc). I was thinking around 25psi but I am worried about heat build up on the side walls. Is this a good pressure? Is side heat build up not a concern?

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:06

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:06
I'd put a few more PSI in the back because of the load. I had no probs with my coopers running around with 25 front and 28 back with a load. Youre not going to be going flat out at 100kph so head build up becomes less of a prob.

Leroy
AnswerID: 75801

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:15

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:15
Quick call to Coopers People would be good.
Few dudes in our club have done 'testing' on coopers STs round aussie, and provided feedback to them.

Also which Coopers ST's are you running?
If I remember there are 3ply and 10 ply sidewall models and the new ST-C's.

also what size are they? 235's?
AnswerID: 75804

Follow Up By: Gossy - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:36

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:36
dont know much about tyres. The standard size for the GQ. My mate always pays me out about having skinny tyres but on our last trip he got bogged in bull dust and I got thru and had to pull him out! Good idea to call the Coopers People (tyres, not beer!). Take the advice about running a bit more in the back.

FollowupID: 335625

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:13

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:13
It would be advisable to know info like what size tires you are running etc. They are basics really!

Are you carrying Tubes for tire repairs?
What spares are you carrying for your journey?
FollowupID: 335643

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:41

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 13:41
Ran through there recently to Birdsville, averaged 117kph mareee to birdsville and 125kph coming home mungerinnie to Maree, we ran 28 psi with the tyre at road running temp in the 285 MTR's and they were fine, carrying enough stuff for 2 weeks living out of the car on the way up, and enough to live out of the car for a week after spending 2 weeks in the desert on the way home.

Ran 18 psi hot through the desert.
AnswerID: 75816

Follow Up By: GeoffSA - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:32

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:32
Sounds like you may be one of those speeding DH's that give us all a bad name on the outback roads.
FollowupID: 335647

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:54

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:54
Really?

Guess someone has to see you, and then you do something to make them think "us all" are the same.

80kph grey nomads who dont know what rear vision mirrors are, and those who dont slow for oncoming traffic are what gives travellers a bad name, you can travel at a speed that suits the surroundings, and still be courtious to others, though by the way you think everyone jumps to the same conclusion, you may not be open minded enough think so....

Minds are like parachutes, they only work when they are open.
FollowupID: 335650

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 14:53

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 14:53
bit too fast for me! Anyway if your tyres didn't get too hot on the side at that speed then we should be fine. Thanks for everyone's advice. Looks like I will run low 20's front and mid 20's rear at about 80-90km/h. My only regret is that the inside track is closed. Doh!
Thanks again,
AnswerID: 75827

Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:16

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:16
Reckon Leroy is on the money - good pressures in my view - if you were to ask Adam Platte at the Pink Roadhouse (he fixes em all) he would go that spec in my view. Take no notice of averaging 125kph anywhere out there and you shoud be right - running them softer and doing lower speeds , while taking your time to look for the troublesome stones, seems to be the wisdom of the locals.
If in Oodnadatta or William Creek , ask to have a look at all the shredded tyres out the back and then see if you'd like to be doing more than 90-100 when one of them blows on you loaded car with the family in there. Tyres aside, you can also avoid becoming an outback roads statistic.
AnswerID: 75835

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 16:01

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 16:01
I think if you knew enough about tyres you would realise alot of shreaded tyres have been run on flat, to get shreaded, they didnt just go from not shreaded one second, to shreaded the next, unless it was a retread.....

And out of the shreaded tyres, and tyres lying by the roadside, how many well known brands have you seen with this problem that havent been run flat? [most of them are cheap and nasties...]

Though having secondairs, like I have means the tyre wont come off the rim, if it does go flat, like a tubeless tyre, and alot of it is how comfortable you are in the car you know, in the conditions, not because a fwy at home says 100kph is the maximum so anything else must be bad, unsociable, and unsafe......
FollowupID: 335651

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 20:38

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 20:38
I have to agree with Banjo, no matter how you try to justify what you think is impressive. Even a brand spanking new tyre can give up for no reason, if you don't realise that you can't have any idea at all. What was the statement about 'how comfortable in the car you know, in the conditions"? it isn't a race track, its outback where anything can be over the next rise.....and god help you if I happen to be over that next rise with my family and you come flying along and something goes wrong
FollowupID: 335686

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:26

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 07:26
I've seen two vehicles at different times with their tyres on top because they were travelling to fast, and thought they new it all, one of them past had me about half an hour before sitting on his 110 plus.

What do you think causes the head on's up the cape.
FollowupID: 335720

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:00

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 09:00
Gajm, I think anyone who considers themselves a driver knows you cant avoid what you cant see, and have to drive accordingly, but if what you and I call a safe speed are different, it doesnt automatically make the opinion different to yours wrong.

Well 55 what type of tyres were they?

and you sure it was just speed that caused it?

what makes you so sure if it was?
FollowupID: 335734

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:09

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:09
I thought the maximum speed limit in SA was 110kmh on bitumen roads. Doing the speeds you were is dangerous and illegal. Too bad the cops weren't out and about when you were tearing up the tracks.
FollowupID: 335750

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:13

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:13
dangerous? or just your opinion? because the signs say 110kph is the max, it must be the safest speed?

And tearing up the tracks? or just a sentence you used to make it sound dramatic, given you werent there,a nd dont know?
FollowupID: 335753

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:21

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:21
Illegal...is the main word. State limit is 110, what gives you the right to go over that speed?

I have seen you drive on the highway coming into Mildura, and that was bad enough, high speeds on wet roads with poor visiblity, overtaking and cutting in front of the person you have just overtaken.

The experince is in the journey, not the destination.

Keep the shiny side up.

FollowupID: 335756

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:55

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 10:55
well, coming into Mildura was your opinion on whatw as what, though 2 cars sitting under the speed limit, one so close beind the other you ahd to pass both at once was a little more unsafe in my opinion, than passing them both on a straight stretch of hwy, wether it was raining or not........

Just because you cant comprehend it, or it isnt within your comfort zone, doesnt mean its wrong.
FollowupID: 335762

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:00

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:00
Not worth continuing with this debate, as you just don't get that the speeds you were travelling at were illegal and dangerous.
FollowupID: 335765

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:09

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 11:09
Illigal, in S.A, yes,

Dangerous, well, NT unlimited hwys, and data from around the world says otherwise, but its obviously dangerous, in your opinion.

I guess some of you will glad I now have a diseasel prado, and not a 250kph turbo petrol 80 ;-)
FollowupID: 335768

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 12:11

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 12:11
When did you offload the 80? Did you get a good price?
FollowupID: 335781

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 12:42

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 12:42
offloaded the 80 afew years ago, and anyone who has seen stormin norman mpeg at woodpecker would of seen my old 80 about a month or so after I sold it.

http://www.yourlandcruiser.com/other/Storman99-0.wmv
FollowupID: 335783

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 20:09

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 20:09
GO_OFFROAD, I used to ride bikes, and race them aswell, and it's not a matter of being comofortable with speed. I did some stupid things on the road that i thought I could justify to myself as well, but in reality I was just kidding myself, which is why I sold my bike last year. Trouble is you just really don't realise how fast you are going till it all goes wrong. Keep it in mind thats all.
FollowupID: 335820

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 20:45

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 20:45
ahhhh yes, getting old, and having kids will do that. ;-)
FollowupID: 335822

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 23:07

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 23:07
Too true, kind of scary, but I guess it's a good thing. My wife would love to hear that maybe I am growing up
FollowupID: 335833

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:45

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 15:45
All under control for spares. Tyre levers, 2 spares (on rims) and probably another tyre off a rim (to keep weight down). As it is a Patrol, one on the back door and one inside (light stuff on roofrack) Not too sure about tubes though because if I shred a tyre then a tube won't be much good. Got the usual repair kit (leather strips etc) instead for small punctures. Open to opinions though. Worth taking tubes? Hopefully all will go well driving at a good speed and good tyre pressure. We are in no rush, with our trip only averaging about 350kms per day.
AnswerID: 75839

Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 17:35

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 17:35
Good one Gossy - 350 a day is great - relaxed cruising, keeping an eye out for those stones and no serious heat levels to worry about in the tyres. Highly unlikely to become a statistic at this rate. It makes a significant difference to your day in the outback I reckon - you feel a lot fresher when you get to camp and you've had some time to stop and poke about in interesting places along the way. With the opportunity to access quality tyre repairs in the towns you travel through, if space and weight is an issue, the two spares alone should be enough. Overall, the roads on the trip you mention are supposed to be pretty good at present, far as I know. Re "hopefully all will go well" - sure it will - if you head the advice of those who live up there - lower the pressures, moderate speed, check the heat levels into the run, watch the stones and have agreat trip !
FollowupID: 335668

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 22:42

Thursday, Sep 09, 2004 at 22:42
People say to let your tyres down on dirt roads but i dont know why????...I have always kept mine on 40psi and travelled at around 80-90kmh in these areas.... Just clicking over 50,000kms and still going strong....I think i would have about another 20,000kms left in them still....The rockier the track or road the higher i have the pressure...
In sand 14 - 18psi.....
AnswerID: 75885

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:09

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 16:09
Voxon, like a balloon, the higher the tyre pressure, the easier it is for a sharp object to pierce it. With lower pressures the tyre deforms slightly and "moulds" itself around the object thereby reducing the risk of puncture. In addition, the extra surface area over which the load is spread means there is less load at the "sharp bit" (so to speak) and again this reduces the risk of puncture.

Have you even witnessed the party trick where some wag pushes a needle into a balloon with bursting it? They can only do that on a soft, or semi-inflated, balloon. If the balloon were fully inflated ... BANG!
FollowupID: 335800

Reply By: duncs - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 00:08

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 00:08
Gossy,

The Birdsville track is a good and I mean GOOD dirt road. There are some rough patches, as there are on all roads, that need to be taken a bit more cautiously especially if there has been any rain in the last few weeks. Particulary creek crossings.

Generally when I leave the bitumen I drop tyre pressures by about 10 - 15% from normal highway pressures, 40psi. I would normally run about 35psi on the Birdsville or Strez tracks. By droppoing the tyre pressures you make life easier for you and your car. If you travel at 90 - 100k/h you should have few if any problems. I believe you could probalby travel faster than that on the Birdsvile Track but personally I would need a pretty good reason.

When I did the Oodnadatta track I dropped pressures to mid 20's because it was so rocky and uncomfortable. I also slowed down a fair bit. This was after some heavy rain and before the crews could get on the road for repairs.

With regard to spares, depending on where you are going after Birdsville, I'd say you would be unlucky to have to use all of what you say you will be carrying. I'd carry two spares and repair kit which would include a tube.

Finally, it should be pretty up that way right now, especially if they have had as much rain as we have in the Hill recently, I'm jealous again.

AnswerID: 75889

Follow Up By: Gossy - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 08:39

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 08:39
thanks everyone for their advice. Hopefully it will be nice as Duncs says due to the recent rain.

Gossy
FollowupID: 335733

Reply By: louie the fly - Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 21:23

Friday, Sep 10, 2004 at 21:23
G'day Gossy. I was in Innaminka during the last school holidays with the family. GQ patrol LWB, roofrack, loaded to the hilt. I was running split rims with BS Desert Duellers & tubes. I was a bit over inflated in the rears because of the weight on top. probably should have run them down to around 30 psi or thereabouts? When you get to Maree, drop in to the store near the pub & ask them for their thoughts. They travel these roads daily & most run skinny's.

The trip up was fine. I felt the tyres a few times and they were not too hot after a few hours driving. On the way back, via Bollards Lagoon, Cam. Corner, etc. I shredded a tyre near Yaningurie Waterhole. We limped in to Monte Collina Bore and next day into Maree to get the tyre replaced at $280 + $30 worth of food & icecreams.

1. I did not pack a second spare as I did not have the room & I let others influence my decision.
2. It cost me lots to replace the tyre.

I was actually concerned for my family's safety at that stage. DO CARRY A SECOND SPARE.....

I have since put sunraysias & tubelesses on but I will keep the split rims for my Simpson Desert Trek.

Enjopy your trip.

Lou.
AnswerID: 75989

Reply By: Gossy - Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 09:11

Monday, Sep 13, 2004 at 09:11
good point on carrying the extra spare. Just the handbrake (wife) and I so will have heaps of room in the back with the swags on the roof now so no excuse for not taking an extra one.
28 psi back and 25 psi front sounds the trick. Good to hear that others run on skinny's. They both have their advantages and disadvantages. As you say, with the skinnys on these roads there is less surface area to puncture but not as good on sand. I guess you can't have it all !
AnswerID: 76159

Reply By: Member - Joey- Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 21:44

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 21:44
Gossy,

You've had a pretty good response, but let me just add my voice to the low pressure camp. With a 2.8l diesel 4runner and Heaslip camper trailer we're not in the high speed league! We're in the outback in summer, escaping Scottish winters.

In Dec 03 to Feb 04 we drove 15,000 km out of Melbourne at least half on tracks.

We got a puncture on the Oodnadata Track north of Williams Creek, and got it repaired in Oodnadata. We had been running on tracks at normal bitumen pressures of 28/35/35 (trailer same as rear). Temperature at Lake Eyre was 50C. The puncture was in a rear tyre, and it was a sharp stone (edge, not point) straight through the tread.

After a polite but firm lecture! at the Pink Roadhouse, we changed policy, and went for reduced pressures. We ran at 18/22/22 on tracks from then on, with a 70-80k cruising speed on graded roads. We went Dalhousie Springs, Alice, Finke Gorge, Docker River, Gunbarrel, Carnegie, Newman, Ningaloo, Perth, South coast, Port Lincoln and back to Melbourne, off road much of the time. Despite summer temperatures, we had no overheating of the tyres and no more punctures. But we did have more sidewall scuffing at the higher pressures.

This year its up the east coast.

AnswerID: 76400

Reply By: Gossy - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:46

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 08:46
thanks for that. Sounds like good advice. Pays to listen to the locals.

AnswerID: 76445