Upgrade suspension Toy L/C 100
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:08
kapow
I am a new user and have just purchased a new Landcruiser Turbo Diesel on which I intend to fit a steel bullbar and 12000lb winch and roof racks.
It has been recommended to me to replace the standard
suspension with an after market one. I intend going off road a bit but not really serious stuff. I am interested in members thoughts on whether I should spend $1500 on an upgrade or just see how the factory
suspension goes.
Reply By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:32
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:32
I would do the upgrade now, you will not be dissapointed as yuo would be with the std
suspension.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:37
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:37
Why a 12,000lb winch.. that is large amounts of overkill!
They also weigh HEAPS more than others.
You should weigh your car before doing anything, then add everything - All accessories/Mods to your car first.
Then weigh it. See the increase in KG, then go and get appropriate
suspension for the added weight.
Changing it now maynot work, as you may add More/Less than you think in weight.
Follow Up By: kapow - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:02
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:02
Thanks Truckster.
Sounds like a good idea.
Why 12000lb? I was advised to get a least 10k and that the weight and cost diff between 10k and 12k is very little.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:22
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:22
Just something to think about.
Why is it you need a 12 000lb winch when you don't intend to do any serious offroading?
It is a very expensive item. I can tell you that I do some reasonably serious off roading (as much as a Rodeo will permit lol) and I have a 10 000lb winch. However I have only used it seriously once and that was when I was out alone.
Maybe you should consider a hand winch. Much cheaper and can be used to pull in any direction and on any vehicle. Also puts no strain on the front end of your Cruiser.
This could solve your
suspension problems before you even start.
Follow Up By: Mike-TS - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:02
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:02
Mate,
If he can afford a A$70k landcruiser he's not going to use a handwinch!
For gawds sake Jeeves, we seem to be stuck again, would you mind awfully lugging the handwinch and getting us out...there's a good chap.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:02
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:02
A 10k on a rodeo? Geeze, you could get away EASILY with 8000 low mount! Maybe even the 6000 Warn!
The front of rodeo would be draggin on the deck, the 10k on my GQ is heavy as hell.
Follow Up By: navaraman - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 23:17
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 23:17
A 10k on a rodeo? Geeze, you could get away EASILY with 8000 low mount! Maybe even the 6000 Warn!
Not if he's pulling out seriously bogged Landcruisers. ; )
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 11:01
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 11:01
Should have their own winch...
Follow Up By: Utemad - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 17:03
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 17:03
OK sure if he has money burning a hole in his pocket go for the vehicle winch. It is a Toyota so he will probably need it more than me LOLLOL.
The 10 000lb Ox hydraulic winch on my Rodeo weighs in at about 35kg with about 28m of 10mm steel rope. Much lighter than an electric unit. It runs off my power steering pump so it is slow but if I increase the revs it is fine.
It only cost me $210 for the Rodeo specific hydraulic hoses. The actual winch was free. Was used on a job at work and was then surplus to requirements. So I didn't argue.
It is fitted to a Rodeo ARB winch bar which I already had. It needed some filing and I had to chisel out the poxy nutserts for the spotlight mounts to make it fit but I got there. I think the Rodeo bar is supposed to only take a Warn 8000 or 9000 winch.
Only problem with using it to winch out big heavy Toyotas is that I end up winching myself to the Toyota LOL. So I have to secure myself to a tree or another vehicle.
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:38
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 14:38
Gday Kapow,
Welcome to the site...
If you want a saggy saggy front end on the cruiser with the winch and bar on, then leave the standard stuff in. But I'd reckon for comfort and clearance for medium offroad stuff go and have a look at some of the
suspension at TJM, ARB and other larger distributors. You will need to tell them what you are putting on the truck and it's good having the winch up front as they will most likely advise putting a heavy duty spring in. It will also improve your general clearance.
Unfortunately, you will have 6,000 different ideas thrown at you, I run dobinson 3 inch springs with E.F.S big
bore long travel shocks and these work for me. The series 2000 stuff is pretty good but expensive.
Your ride may be compromised a little with the higher
suspension, it won't be as comfy, but if you like a relatively firm ride, you'll be unfazed!
Good luck mate, and listen to these guys and girls, they are full of great info!
Chris.
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:01
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 15:01
if you go to www.lcool.org and subscribe to the 100 series email list, there are lots of other 100 and 105 [solid front axle] owners there with differerent set ups, and some discussion re the cracking fromt A arms on the TD 100 IFS.
Reply By: Member - Bear - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:03
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:03
Kapow
I picked up my new GXL V8 about 7 weeks ago. With previous experience on my side it was not even an option not to upgrade the stock shocks & springs.
The standard gear will not stand up to the extra weight or hash conditions (with this weight). Also the vibration with the stock gear will rattle the hell out of the rest of the vehicle and you will slowly notice all the extra noise's that we dred.
I went for the LTR Old man Emu set up and with the extra weight (family of 5) and our camper trailer I could not be happier.
Good luck and note that the money you save in this area will be spent many times over in other areas if you dont get it right.
Follow Up By: vuduguru - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:58
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:58
Bear,
If I may ask, did you raise it at the same time? If so how much? Am considering similar, OME but no winch, 4 kids 10-15 years (2 girls), so I've been towing a trailer lately.
Thanks Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:01
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:01
The upgrade gives an increase of 40-50mm just because you have put the better springs in and then the better shocks keep it there so as not to let it sag.
Which area are you in??
Follow Up By: vuduguru - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 07:41
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 07:41
Hi Bear,
Thanks for the reply. I live in the southern suburbs of
Sydney. I was considering similar and my enquiries led to to a mechanic that would fit OME with approx 30-40mm lift including a machined part to compensate the IFS ( brake assembly?). Reading further of the post reveals some concerns though. I may consider something milder eg 25mm. Put Coopers AT 285x75x16 on 15 k ago which gave approx 20mm. Still drags the bum in some situations, spare and towbar usually taking the blow. Did you find the ride improved after mods? In standard form the LC does seem soft ( and comfy).
Regards Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:03
Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:03
In that area I would highly recommend The 4WD Service centre at Taren Point. Michael the owner advised me to get this setup on
mine and he knows his game.
This workshop has done work on my last couple of vehicles and I could not be happier.
Reply By: Croozer - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:56
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:56
I have a new TD L/Cruiser 100 on which I fitted an ARB steel b/bar with 9000lb winch, 3rd battery, rear bar & wheel carrier, steel roof rack etc. Having altered the
suspension on my previous 80 series several times to suit the addition of accessories over time, this time I fitted all the major accessories first and did the
suspension last. After talking to heaps of people, and given that much of my use will not involve serious off road punishment I decided to fit new shocks all round, fit heavy duty 50mm higher rear coils and have the standard front tortion bars adjusted up about 25mm above standard. Over time I do expect the front to sag and expect that I will have to replace the tortion bars ($700+ a pair) but after 23000 km (about 2000km off road) so far they are ok. My other concern was the front shocks which on the ifs cruiser are smaller capacity than most vehicles and with this type of
suspension on a big vehicle they cop a real workout. I was lead to believe that the best shocks to use are the Ralphs, or OME LTR's, both are expensive and the Ralphs are very stiff, so again, given my vehicle use I compromised and fitted the new TJM Cell X9 adjustable shocks. Once again particularly as these shocks are only new on the market, time will tell but so far they too are ok.
Stu
Follow Up By: fozzy - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:23
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:23
croozer
interested to know which rear coils u used to get 50ml lift and if u ended up with 50ml from standard height? and also if u hd to use spacers
also how is the height at rear after 23k of travels
Follow Up By: Croozer - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 23:23
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 23:23
Fozzy,
The rear coils I have on the cruiser now are TJM (King Springs) KTRR-70HD, Heavy Duty Plus. These springs spent about a year on my 80 series but had to be upgraded to the super heavy duty KTRR-70HHD (which are the heaviest coils available from King Springs (or TJM)) when I fitted a kaymar rear bar and 180 litre fuel tank . I will have to double
check but I think after adding the accessories on the 100 it now sits about 30mm above standard height at the rear, remembering that these coils have already been used on my 80 series, so may have already sagged a little. I have not checked the height since fitting them at 4000km but I don't think they have dropped any more. I did not fit spacers.
If you would like to see a photo of the cruiser drop me your email and I'll send a couple.
Stu
Follow Up By: fozzy - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 07:28
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 07:28
thanks croozer
im waiting to get my 70HHD as have tried KTRS 70HD and KTRR70HD and both only give about 15-20mm lift
will try hhd and will prob need airbags as
well
these rear wheel carriers/step bars are a pain in arse for raising rear height
will see what happens
Reply By: Hero - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:17
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:17
I would recommend not lifting it, just upgrade to get it back to standard after your additions, if it is an IFS. Toyota has a real problem on their hands with the Lower control arm cracking, if you load the front up , beef up the
suspension and go offroad, your asking for trouble with it. Keep an eye on the RHS lower control arm, where the torsion bars connects, there is a serious design fault there.