Jim Boot
My Chescold F400 is not working at all.
Does anyone know of a repair centre in the
Sydney area. Your help would be appreciated?
Jim
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:13
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:13
Jimbo
Don't know of repairers in Sidiney area but do know they're fixable and worth the effort .... fingers do the walking ??
Reply By: Jim Boot - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:30
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:30
Thanks Rosco
After seeing what they are worth at the moment it has to be cheeper and they are very handy around the home too
Jim
Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:34
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:34
Jim,
Have you tried it on gas?
Mine died running on 240 but still ran
well on Gas. After making some calls it was evident the electric heating element had died.
The electric element is a regular problem, costs about $125 to get fixed.
They rely on heat to cool. Same as an old kero fridge, the technology has been around for years.
Good Luck,
Follow Up By: Jim Boot - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:55
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:55
Thanks heaps for the info $125 is cheaper than buying another one
Jim
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:12
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:12
Hi Jim,
Old Kero Fridge ? that sounds interesting mate. fridges used to run on kero ? More info on that if u can.
cheers Angelo
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 21:32
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 21:32
Angelo,
The principle of using heat to produce cold has been around for years. The way a Chescold produces cold from gas is the same as a "kero burner" style fridge used to produce cold years ago. My old man had a kero fidge as a kid and he is 65 now.
Very inefficient overall, but for a fridge you only use a few times a year it is very effective. An Engel or Waeco is far more efficient than a gas fridge, but needs electricity to make it work.
Your average gas fridge (40 litres) burns about 500 grams of gas per day, that will cost you about a dollar a day; cheaper and cleaner than buying ice every day (if you can get it). However compared to your typical 500L frost free that will run at home for less than a dollar a day it is poor value.
However, convenience in the bush comes at a price. A buck a day is very good value in the scheme of things.
Jim
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:47
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:47
Hi Jim
Have you tried turning it upside down for a day or so. Sometimes there could be a blockage that just needs to be cleared to ensure that the fluid can continue to circulate. Sorry can't offer you a place in
Sydney but know of an electrolux/chescold service centre in Victoria. Try an electrolux repairer.
ad
Follow Up By: Jim Boot - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:57
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 22:57
I will give it a go and let you know of the outcome
Thanks for your help
Jim
Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 21:46
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 21:46
Jim,
Ad has a great idea. Turning them upside down helps.
But, if it works on Gas but not electricity, your electric element is stuffed. If it doesn't work on either and you try turning it upside own and it still doesn't work;
well I haven't got a clue. You'd best talk to a technician.
Good luck with your projects,
Reply By: Member - Cocka - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 23:40
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 23:40
Caravan Accessories -
Rocky Point Rd Kogarah Ph: 9587 4599
They used to have a web page but I can't find it. The have heaps of stuff and a specialist repair man.
My thermostat gave up out the back of the
Kimberley and I removed it. A new one was worth $$$$ so I didn't replace it. I just turn it off if the beer gets toooo cold.
Each element that provides the heat operates independently of the other ie gas, 12v, 240v.
You just need to complete an electrical circuit or gas flow if you take out the thermostat.
Test:
Make sure the unit is dead level (use a spirit level) and try each of the 3 systems, if it doesn't work I'll bet it's the thermostat, check it to see if the sender (the thermo tube that sits inside the box and comes through to the thermostat) has broken away someplace, it's not repairable only replaceable.
BTW I always take a small spirit level with me just to be sure, my eagle eyes are not always so good, more like chooks eyes.
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:32
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:32
Jim try these guys, Alternate Gas Refridgeration, unit 20/14 Holbeche Rd Arndell Pk 96721664 3way specialists.
Follow Up By: Foss - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 19:48
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 19:48
These are the guys for this job, i had
mine repaired there, excellent job at a good price.
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 19:54
Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 19:54
Guys - Caravan Accessories is now owned by Camec but still has the same stuff and staff. Their web page is at
http://www.caravanacc.com.au/ I just tried it.
I'd give them a ring on 9588 3400 to see where your nearest repairer is.
I used to just buy the bits and put them in myself - its all pretty easy; you just need a pop rivetter on the old brown ones. Need an electrician to do the 240 volt element but everything else is fairly straight forward.
Max
Reply By: duncs - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 23:14
Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 23:14
Jim,
Try Gas and Domestic Refrigeration 2 Whittaker St Yenora 02 9681 4365. They fixed
mine good repair reasonable price.
Caravan Accessories will send it to this mob.