waeco and engle fridge freezer

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 00:12
ThreadID: 16304 Views:11136 Replies:11 FollowUps:7
Hi, i need to make a decision on which fridge /freezer to buy. I am looking at the 80ltr Waeco $1200 or the new 60ltr Engle with the seperate fridge /freezer compartments $1600. The Waeco is definetly cheaper. How ever i keep hearing in my head "you get what you pay for". I have waited for the new 60 ltr Engle for a long time. However the Waeco is a lot dearer,but the plastic worries me a little bit in the construction of the Waeco. My gut feeling says go for the Engle/Arb. What say you.

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 00:31

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 00:31
G'day kelpie,
where do I start, this one is nearly as big as the LC v's Patrol question... If your gut is with the Engel, you'll probably never really come to terms with the Waeco. For my money, I'm going with the Waeco, larger volume for less. I know several blokes with them, these blokes seem to spend at least one night by the fire arguing with the others who have Engels, the bottom line is none of them have had any trouble with any of their frigdes, the cans are always cold, everyone is happy. Go and look at each first hand, read their propaganda, turn them upside down, inside out, put them on your head and run around like a loony if it helps, the decision is ultimately yours.
Blue
AnswerID: 76566

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 06:47

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 06:47
Trailblaza
AnswerID: 76568

Follow Up By: pjd - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:58

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:58
i have to agree with you trailblaza all the way & only $1300 its a bargain
the waeco fridge cf-80 is a metal fridge that is plastic coated with a plastic lid & engel are way over priced
FollowupID: 336467

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:37

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 07:37
Kelpie

Blue has hit the nail square on the head. They're both good units and both will do the job. Plastic shouldn't really be a concern with the Waeco. Engel's have been around longer in Aus but Waeco have been making fridges much longer.

Take your pick. You do get what you pay for, but as far as I'm concerned You'll pay too much for an Engel.

Then again I reckon you pay too much for any/all of them.

AnswerID: 76575

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:04

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:04
Kelpie,
I too went through this decision making waeco/engel ???
I bought the waeco 80. Its fantastic as far as i am concerned. Does everything perfectly for me. Dont let the plastic worry you if you go for it. Once i got used to the setting, everything works as it should.
They are both a good product. I find that waeco is on the move to take the market and thus will be an advantage as far as service and warranty goes...new product = better service. Thats juts my opinion ok, others may differ.
Reagrds Angelo
AnswerID: 76581

Reply By: Member - David C (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:47

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 08:47
Agree with cokeaddict,

I had an Engle 39l for 6 years and was a very good fridge despite some small drawbacks. I wanted the fridge and freezer option this year though so looked at the 60l Engle and 80l Waeco. My heart was with the Engle but they do mark easily and rust when the paint is scratched. Also the plastic tub on my old Engle cracked around the lip area. When looking at the Waeco, the plastic is very durable and the lid on the 80 can be reversed to either a left or right opening configuration. Also the Waeco cuts off at certain voltages (depending on what the economy switch is set too) whereas my Engle didn't and used to drain the arse out of the battery. Downside to the Waeco is not 240v input so you have to buy a 240v - 12v convertor.

I bought the Waeco 80 in the end due to the price, came with a 8L console cooler/heater for free, bigger capacity, low voltage cutout and its durability (better than the Engle in my eyes)

AnswerID: 76587

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 13:25

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 13:25
David,

My only comment is that you are comparing an early model Engel with a late model Waeco. Technology changes with time.

Apart from that, I have no arguments to air.

FollowupID: 336414

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:20

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:20
Kelpie, check out fridgeshop.com, they have the waeco 80 litre for $1,000, plus a free cooler, i think they are 2nd hand, reco's, 12 months warranty. I bought a ff70 from them $550.00 12 months warranty, for the little use it's had so far, and for the price, im very happy with it. Cold Beer = Happy Camper

Cheer's Paul..
AnswerID: 76594

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:39

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 09:39
Hi Kelpie. give me your email addy. I might have a good deal for you re the engel.my addy is amac at bigpond dot net dot au
AnswerID: 76596

Reply By: Peter Guy - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 10:54

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 10:54
Time is ultimately the best judge and Engel definately has proved itself as a long term reliable product. My Engel is over 15 yo and going strong. What will the Waecos be like in time ? Only time will tell!
For my 2 bobs worth - Engel has proved itself and we have to wait and see at this point in time to see how the Waecos stack up!
So if you want to take a punt go for a Waeco - if you don't want to chance it, go for an Engel.
AnswerID: 76608

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 13:11

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 13:11
I'm with that, Peter..

When I bought my fridge, I wasn't happy with the advice of any of the sellers...

If they sold Engels, Waeco were crap,
If they sold Waeco, Engels were crap,
If they sold both, they were both as good as each other.

I ended up ringing a few of these outback tour operators for their experiences (they have customers who do the tagalong stuff) as they see all different sorts.

I was only interested in the Waeco or Engel (you gotta narrow the field at some point! ;-)

The result was pretty much that Engel had the runs on the board, and still up there - early Waeco's had stacks of problems, and looked to be improving.

I bought an Engel - the same sort of survey might be useful here..
FollowupID: 336412

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 18:38

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 18:38
The syrvey of the Tag a long guys may just indicate that the Engles were more widely used. It may nit have indicated that they were better. I know people with Waeco's and Engles and it seems that many only buy Engle because they have been around forever and someones mate's father had one that fell off a cliff and the beerbottles didn't break and consider Waeco's as crook because there are made of plastic.

On the other hand many who have purchased a Waeco really wanted an Engel but could't really justify the price difference. After using the Waeco these blokes swear by them.

I think it is up to the individual, buy what makes you happy. I reckon they perform fairly similar really.

Waeco probably have better service potential setup for the fact that any refridgeration mechanic will have had experience with danfoss .

I have a Waeco and used it as a freezer 24/7 for 2 years. Can't fault it. Never owned an Engle so don't know if they are better or worse.
FollowupID: 336453

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:17

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 19:17
Agree paid $500 for my old engel got $500 when I sold it about 15-20yrs
later (will admit it was spotlass) 39lt. Only sold because I went solor
power And the new ones were more efficent. I now have 2x40lt engels
brian
FollowupID: 336460

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 20:07

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 20:07
Gotta say Brett - was actually looking for a Waeco (cost etc) but the results of those phonecalls were pretty convincing (and there were a few Waeco's in their assessment too..)

Having said that, must admit that there are all sorts of comments on all sorts of fridges (etc) - all depends on who you talk to on the day!!
FollowupID: 336469

Reply By: Howard T - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 15:59

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 15:59
Hi Kelpie,
In 2001 I purchased a CF50 when it was initially released. I have had all sorts of problems with it, lid included. Trouble was that the problems started when I was out bush 200k from anywhere. Different things related to the computerised controls happened everytime I went somewhere.
Service from Waeco was excellent but that didnt help the dramas I went thru trying to save food out bush. Although I developed a pretty good taste for hot beer.
My thoughts have been to look at a Chescold so I can use the gas. Couple of mates have them and swear by them but....also know people who swear by Engel and Waeco. The plastic has survived some pretty hellish tracks. So dont worry about the plastic.
Buy what your heart says, if you dont you will never be happy with it.
Good Luck
AnswerID: 76652

Reply By: Member - Roger L (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 18:01

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 18:01
I have had an Engel 39ltr since 95 and been around the block a couple of times , done all the rough roads etc. never had any trouble. We get all our meat cryovact and leave the fridge on 1.5 and all is well with the beer always cold even in 50dg cels .
Regards Dodg.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 76669

Reply By: kelpie - Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 22:24

Thursday, Sep 16, 2004 at 22:24
My heartfelt thanks to all of you who sent me a reply. I was wondering if anyone knows what engle or waco are like on 12 volt as all the ones i have seen so far have been hooked up to 240 volt at shops. I spoke to a fellow here in Inglewood QLD today who has a 80 ltr Waeco and is considering selling it to me for $1000. It is 3 mths old so i assume it would be still covered by factory warranty!!, mind you i haven't asked as yet. it comes with a cover and converter. He has had a drama with solar power etc and told me it keeps flatening his battery!!!. One reason he said was the solar panel is supposed to run a 60 ltr not an 80ltr. I had a look at it tonight and it was running on 240 and it was very cold.(beer was good as well). I know what you are thinking but i didn't drink to much to cloud my judgement.

I havent asked him about the 12 volt when he runs it in his car i am keen to know if it maintains the freezer when travelling!!. Has anyone had any experience with flat batteries from either Engle or Waeco and how well do they do when travelling?
Scotty
AnswerID: 76716

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 18:00

Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 18:00
DR60;
Capacity - 60 ltr
Compressor; Danfoss BD50 - Price $899

DR100;
Capacity - 100 ltr
Compressor; Danfoss BD50 - Price $999

Will save you a few hundred $$
FollowupID: 336640