Your first 4WD experience

Submitted: Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:23
ThreadID: 16349 Views:2954 Replies:16 FollowUps:3
I have held my red P's since last november, and am the happy owner of a 1986 4runner. I would like to start 4WDing more seriously as well as enjoy my car a little more. I would just like to ask all you vetrans out there about your first 4WDing experience, pitfalls for young players, and perhaps your most ridiculous encounter that you look back on and laugh about. I plan on being a very active 4WDer and that means not destroying my first car. I would greatly like to hear your stories.

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:43

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:43
Do a defensive driving course, then do a two day offroad training course. Once you've done those, you'll probably be considered a beginner. Of course, experience only comes from good and bad experiences. I've been doing trips for 10 years now and soft and hardcore offroad, small comps included. And I'm a long way behind some of the other guys on this site who have done the cape 20 times, and play nearly every weekend.

No use tricking your truck up if you can't pick the right line, stick to ruts etc. You'll only end up hurting yourself and your pride and joy.

Chris.
AnswerID: 76783

Reply By: biscuits - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:57

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 11:57
Second day of owning my first (and still current) fourbie (patrol), we took it bush and on the way back we've stumbled into a real estate development area full of limestone rubble. Feeling invincible I've started driving in only to realise those limestone boulders were only getting bigger. Rather than trying to turn around, I've stuck it in reverse and started backtracking only to back over a HUGE rock and place a nice big dent in the underbody sill on the drivers side! (remember i'd only had the car for two days!) :)

Moral of the story: Don't drive where you can't see. Not following this rule before has seen me almost drive off a small cliff, stuck on huge rock with the front wheels in the air (separate incident), etc etc...

Another important rule thats maybe important: Always listen to your head and never your mate in the passenger seat. Your the one who has to dig the fourbie out of the mud in the end when you get stuck!!!! :)

Cheers!
Dave.
AnswerID: 76786

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 12:15

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 12:15
Hi Finito....
Heres my 2c worth...
Definitely do a course, if you don't want to spend up on a two day course... , join a club that has a Driver Awareness Program as part of it's induction. The first things to learn, equally important, and keep practicing are

1) The Stall start technique
2) Correct snatch recovery procedure

In my opinion, you can't practice the hill stall start too many times!! Get it wrong on any hill, and you can find yourself in a world of hurt and anguish.

The same applies to recovery, it's not to be taken lightly.... people have died from incorrect recovery practices..

We have found the club atmosphere is a very enjoyable thing.. our club has young blokes and old blokes and middle aged blokes and lotsa families in between! You learn heaps. even at the monthly meetings!.. and if you get crossed up on a track, there will always be a "clubbie" to help you out!

We have had lots of enjoyable experiances with our club... but will never forget the exhilaration of our first club trip... it was rated "Easy" but to feel the engine braking on the Patrol down steep hills and fording some not-too-deep creeks, and seeing the live axles walking up rutted tracks had us grinning for days!!!!!

Hope this helps... and Good Luck!!!! It is a very enjoyable past time!
AnswerID: 76789

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 12:20

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 12:20
Hey Flinto
Advise I can give is, Know your car back to front, I mean really know it, and carry important tools and whatever spare you can. Also before any adventure, give the car the once over.
Went to fraser many years ago now with my first MQ patrol and all was good until I got off the last barge of the day, something felt a little funning coming off the barge, got around hook point and realised the front passenger wheel had the bearing colapse and the wheel was sort of hanging there. Managed to get on to the small dune and had no idea. No one to help, no more barges to catch that day. In the morning got another 4WD to pull me down onto the hard beach and continue to drive to the barge, somehow got on and off with no 4 wheel drive and went into rainbow beach where i very quickly learnt to change bearings, axle, brake caliper, hubs , discs and anything else that was attached, as it was all chewed apart by driving on it.
Every onther trip i had it down pat to check bearing etc..
AnswerID: 76791

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 13:00

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 13:00
Either join a club and take the opportunity to practice under the experienced members' supervision or at least associate with much older and more experienced drivers.
Do everything with caution, as the foregoing posts have said get it wrong and you and your rig get hurt.
Read this forum it is full of good advice, but then take all advice with care.
Don't neglect maintenance - what you ignored last week may well fail when you are well away from help.
No accessory you can buy will provide you with experience and the wisdom to be safe.
Meet you on the road some day!
Camper
AnswerID: 76798

Reply By: Finito - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 13:27

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 13:27
Wow, i only posted this morning and i already have a raft of responses! Some of you guys have really had some hairy experiences. I can definitly agree on knowing the vehicle well, the first thing i bought for the car wasn't even petrol, it was the manual for the 4runner! I'm a mechanical engineering student and always carry a hefty set of tools in the car + water and oil, so i should be able to keep on top of minor mechanical repairs, at least to save face. One thing i need to do is to replace the CV joints, and a good start might be to replace all the rubber boots in the car
I think a really common link with all the posts is to join a club, and i will definitly be loking into that. I bet you all have a lot of fun in the clubs, and this is one of the reasons i have decided to do recreational 4WDing.
Look where you are driving. That is a great tip. It seemed a little obviouse at first, but i think we have all had near misses. I will definitly keep that in mind. Last thing i want is to smash up myself and passengers. It is a sore point with alot of P platers that we are seen as recklass because some fools drive their overpowered cars into trees with all their friends.
Anyway, i am really enjoying this thread. Keep them coming, I would like to hear more.:)
AnswerID: 76806

Follow Up By: biscuits - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 15:00

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 15:00
> Look where you are driving. That is a great tip. It seemed a little obviouse at first,

hehehe yup - I suppose I should have clarified a bit more on that one.

There are a lot of dunes where I regularly go, so I guess in a 4WD sense of saying 'look where you are driving' is that a lot of the time you are pushing hard just to get over the hill to begin with, let alone worrying about stopping to see whats over the other side. It's important to not go OVER the hill until you can see whats on the other side - some times it drops right off!! As you say, obvious but often forgotten!

Theres a great picture of a near vertical range rover thats going off the side of a steep sand dune floating around the internet - its a classic if you ever see it - especially since you can see the poor driver holding on for dear life. Its easy to get wrapped up in the fun of driving and forget the hazards.

Another unfortunately forerunner on the dunes I've seen around the internet:
http://www.pps.net.au/skips4x4/trippics/wedge15feb2003/0313.JPG

Like previous posted have always said - taking it cautiously and choosing your driving lines are often critical. Unfortunately things are always bound to happen, so long as theres no real damage at the end of the day they make for great stories. I know I've got plenty myself!

Cheers!
Dave.

FollowupID: 336559

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 21:49

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 21:49
Speaking of sand driving.....I was driving my Rodeo north just on dusk between Rainbow Beach and Inskip Point. It was just after low tide and the beach had all the smooth ups and downs associated after a day of rough seas. However just in the headlights I noticed that an upcoming 'whoopsie doo' thingy looked a little different to all the others. I found out a couple of seconds later why that was. It went up but the down on the other side was vertical!!! I flew off the edge and landed fine (I was surprised how easy the landing went) so I turned around and had a looked at the thing. It had a 50cm approx drop off and from the top of the 'jump' and to where my wheel tracks started again was 5 metres! (had a tape measure in the ute). I had hit it at 60km/h.

Oh what fun said Miffy!

I think what saved me was the stiff 1 tonner suspension as it didn't bounce but instead just went thud and kept driving. That and I didn't jam the breaks on mid air instead I just kept driving so to speak.

That was about 3 years ago and I don't plan on doing it again any time soon.

As has been said before, the best thing you could do is to join a club. They are a wealth of information about 4wding, vehicles etc. My club is fairly social too so it is not just all 4wding and camping.
You will have to do a driver training session when you join a club which will teach you the basics but you learn lots of new things every trip.
FollowupID: 336593

Reply By: duncs - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 15:18

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 15:18
Finito,

"The reason you buy a 4wd is so you can go to a worse place to get bogged." That was written inside the front cover of the first book I ever read on 4w driving. It's true.

I have been driving 4wd for about 15 years and still love it.

Like many who have already given advice I have done a great variety of 4wd ing and there is fun to be had in seeing what there is to see and seeing if I can get up that. Even if there is nothing to see at the top.

There are two things that will amaze you about 4wds. 1) Where they will go and 2) where they will get stuck.

My advice is simple, take it slow. You don't have to see it all at once and you don't have to go to fast.

Never be afraid to get out and have a look. And never be afraid to say "I'm not going there." If in doubt go slower rather than faster. If you go slow you probably won't hurt anything and you probably won't get too badly stuck. (Notice I said probably) So getting out should not be too difficult. If you go too fast you hit things harder and then break things you also get further into trouble and make it harder to get out.

I got my first 4wd bogged on the way home from the dealer. I had no recovery gear, no one to help and no idea. I thoroughly enjoyed it. On my last family holiday I got my latest 4wd bogged. I had a shovel a family to laugh at me I knew how to get it out and I had a ball. Can't wate for the next time.

Welcome to the club

AnswerID: 76820

Reply By: Peter Guy - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:15

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:15
The problem with 4WD's is that you will be tempted to drive them where you wouldn't dream of taking a normal car!
This is when the trouble starts - because 4WD's still bog, break down and when they bog,they bog good and proper! Because they wiegh twice as much they are twice as hard to pull out!
So the moral of the story is to learn your vehicles limitations and a simple rule to use until you do is - if there are no recent tracks and it looks dicey don't proceed!!
Enjoy it while we still can!
AnswerID: 76834

Reply By: navaraman - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:17

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:17
You'll never know hao far you can go in your 4by until you get stuck trying, then you know you've gone too far. You will get bogged, you will get hung up. The secret is having a get out option. Travel with other vehicles if possible, always carry appropriate recovery gear, keep some warm clothing and some water and tucker in the car. You might only be a few kms from home but if it's dark and wet stay with the car and tackle things in the cold light of day. The more you prepare for potential problems the less likely they are to occur.

Number 1 rule is Enjoy it.
AnswerID: 76835

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:23

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:23
My tips are:
Do a 4WD Training course
Join a club - even if only for a short while
Don't travel solo on big trips
Get the right safety & recovery gear and learn how to use it
ALWAYS respect our environment
Cheap parts and accessories are no good

enjoy what's ahead of you in the world of 4wding
AnswerID: 76836

Follow Up By: Member - Cocka - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 22:07

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 22:07
Coops has said it all.
The clubs are really the go, you can learn heaps knocking around with people of a similar mind. They do all sorts of varied off road trips both social and comp and usually any decent club will have instruction days for beginners taking you out for a weekend into the scrub. All part of the membership.
You also get to see how different blokes do up their vehicles & what the important issues are.
Y' never know, join a club and in a couple of years you could become their best instructor.

The Nissan Clubs take in all comers and would be happy to help.
Good luck with the wagon.
FollowupID: 336595

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:33

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 18:33
Finato bought my first 4wd in 1979 a landrover.
I took it with a mate to the beach and drove just off the black top about 4 metres
into some wet/soft sand.
The mate said I hope we dont get stuck 4 hours latter a tow truck finaly got me out.
It was a bottomless sand something like quike sand to walk on was fine. but once you drove past the sign that said soft sand do not enter thats where the trouble started.

eric

www.capeyorkconnections.com.au
AnswerID: 76837

Reply By: Member - TonyG (NSW) - Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 21:14

Friday, Sep 17, 2004 at 21:14
Hi Finito,

Where are you based, maybe some of us can recommend a few 4wd clubs for you to look into
AnswerID: 76851

Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 00:19

Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 00:19
My very 1st day with my very 1st 4by, picked the car up with my family going for a drive , I found some bush track, thought here is an opurtunity, got out locked the from hubs in , and in I went only to find myself sink the the back axles, trying to dig it out, getting dark wife and kids not impressed, after about 3 hours I decided to check the front hubs, when I left the car yard they were locked in, silly me not checking had unlocked them, and of cause being inexperienced, never entered my mind that the back wheels were dug right in while the front were sitting on the surface,

Lesson number 1 for me , dont try anything on your own, do a cource and join a 4WD club, that was about 4 years ago, havnt looked back sinse.

OH BTW the wife still dont let me forget that experience

Clive
AnswerID: 76883

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 09:54

Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 09:54
I reckon the most likely place you will have trouble is driving around town. Remember, it doesn't brake or steer like a car. More 4Bs are destroyed in bingles with cars than off the bitumen.
AnswerID: 76897

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 10:16

Saturday, Sep 18, 2004 at 10:16
G'day Finito,

When we were 18 and on P's, my mate had a BJ40 cruiser and we took it up to the hills behind our place (Warby Ranges near Wangaratta). I had a few hours to spare before I had to catch the train back to Melbourne for uni. We got bored of mucking around in the mud and not getting bogged. We were parked near a dam put it back into 2wd so we could do a few donuts and have a bit of the traditional fun we had been used to in our Commodores and Kingswoods. We only went about 2 meters after dumping the clutch and the thing sank to the back diff in muddy slop that was just below the hard surface.

Spent about 3 hours digging and jacking with a tiny little jack until we could get out of there. No one around for miles, no radio, no mobile phones back those days and it was just about dark when we finished and got home. Missed my train back to Melbourne. We learnt our lesson, and that was 12 years ago.

My mates problem was letting us talk him into being silly. Don't let your mates talk you into going places that you think are risky, or don't go there unless you have a radio or travelling with another car. Try and talk your mates into selling their 2wds and getting a 4wd. You've done well to get get your first fourbie at a young age. Get a 4wd course under your belt early as it will save you heartache early on.

Wazza
AnswerID: 76900

Reply By: Finito - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:57

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:57
I thank you all for your input, i am absolutly enjoying all these responses. I think it is great that you can get yourself in a near hopeless situation and still reminise on it years after it has all happened. For those of you wondering, i am based in newcastle, around the top end of lake macqurie.
The other day i took the 4runner on the beach and around the dunes around the top of belmont north. I let a friend drive and he got it bogged below the high water line! I simply let more air out of the tires, put it into high range 4WD, and carefully eased it out. I really didn't want my car to be washed away before my eyes! I also discovered that on sand you turn a few meteres before where you actually want to go. It was a good afternoon.
Can anybody out there refer me to a great club in my area? I am pretty sure i would like to join one. Also, my tyres have little tread. They were not flash when i bought the 4runner, but for $3,000, and full comprehensive insurance for $5,900, i was in no position to complain. I won't even consider retreads, but as i have a small amount of money, what percentage of tread would be your minimum for a second hand set of tyres?
Your experiences are valuable to me, please keep them coming!
AnswerID: 77045