Headlines Headlines Headlines Headlines

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 08:46
ThreadID: 16386 Views:2428 Replies:15 FollowUps:32
The Vic's worst nightmare has finally arrived...Couldnt happen to a nicer bunch of australians....and they had better get used to it!!!!
The rest of the Nation are jubilant.
hahaha

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 09:31

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 09:31
Yes most unfortunate nude man but every cloud has a silver lining. I see lots more interstate moolah coming to Victoria.....Fantastic
AnswerID: 76985

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:26

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:26
money hungry too eh?
FollowupID: 336690

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 09:51

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 09:51
Nude one,

You must follow Port if your nieve enough to think the "rest of the nation are jubilant" to see the "chockers" finally stumble in to the big one!

And remember if we victorians are desperate enough we can still hang our hat on the Fitzroy connection...............:-)

Go The Roys...............Browny
AnswerID: 76987

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:37

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:37
Browny,

Wash your mouth out with soap.

No self respecting Victorian would ever consider the Salary Cap Premiers worthy of honourary Victorian status.

FollowupID: 336679

Follow Up By: Member - Ian M (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 13:10

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 13:10
Hands up all those (anyone?) who complained about the BEARS salary cap concessions when they were the easy beats.
A cycnic might say it is camouflage run by club managements who have done some poor recruiting or poor player management. Sure is a good way of deflecting criticism.
Maybe the draft should be revisited and the bottom couple of teams get some salary cap concessions for say next two years to rebuild the teams of has beens (although the AFL would probably have to fund it for some teams!). Will be interesting to see how the Lions recruiting pays off in two or three years when the concessions have been phased out. Then what will the catch cry be if they do any good? - All interstate teams have to play 90% of games in Melbourne because then Melbourne teams won't even have to travel twice a year? Or maybe there will be salary caps on coaching staff (maybe not, because the chief bleaters have large coaching staffs now!).
Bet there will be something!
;-) GO LIONS!
FollowupID: 336686

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:28

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:28
I actually follow that losing team the Crows....but ever since i realised that they could not make the finals I gave the power my support whereever I could
FollowupID: 336691

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:53

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:53
call em chokers, but they are in the final - no victorian team is.

No Brisbane arent anything of Fitzroy anymore. I reckon if you asked the Lions side anything of Fitzoy history they would have no idea.

YMMV
FollowupID: 336698

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 22:13

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 22:13
Ian,

Stick to what you know about.

Rugby League.

That's the game where one bloke tries to stick two blokes up three blokes' clackers ROFLMAO.

I guess you have lost interest in the Brisbane Bumsniffers (Broncos) and now follow the real footy. You need to understand the game and the tradition. I'm still ROFLMAO.

At least when Port roll the Salary Cappers some real footy followers will enjoy success. LMAO again.
FollowupID: 336744

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 07:41

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 07:41
"two blokes up three blokes' clackers"
"Brisbane Bumsniffers"

hahahahaha
FollowupID: 336752

Follow Up By: Member - Ian M (QLD) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 08:25

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 08:25
Jimbo,
Went to one Broncos game about ten years ago - unfortunate enough to be asked to a corporate box and thought it would be good, Wasn't!
You are right though, the sell out crowds in Brisbane won't happen when the Lions aren't winning, and NRL crowds will pick up again.
Then there are the tragics like me who were members at Carrara - in those days you were lucky to get the scores for away games on the radio and real footy got about a quarter of a page a week in the paper. Having lived Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne and Adelaide I can say most Victorians have no idea what footy is like in a non AFL state. They really only see what happens on the field not what has to go on behind the scenes to build any following (other than ex pat Vics) in Sydney and Brisbane. Having said that - you always get a (temporary) following when you are winning.
I certainly understand the game and the tradition the Vics try to cling to - will be a long time before it is a truly national comp - if ever. Too much passion and not enough straight thinkers. But that's footy isn't it? And it makes it the game great!
Meanwhile it is great to have a "local" team and at least the general population know the game exists. And before you pan out on "local" - I would be surprised if 22 guys in history have made the big time from Qld. That is part of the reason there needed to be salary cap concessions (note - past tense!) - as no one wanted to play in a non footy state. Brisbane even had less players on their list and took the injury risk so they had more dollars per player - until the AFL said they couldn't do that either.
I agree that the need has passed now but as I said before - when it has been phased out and IF Brisbane are still winning there will be some other excuse put forward.

GO LIONS!!!!!!!!!!!

IAN (with tickets to the Granny!)
FollowupID: 336754

Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 09:56

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 09:56
They won't have to get used to it Nudie, they'll change the rules so that all games have to be played at the G and feature a Victorian side. It'll be in the small print of the MCC contract somewhere. Expect a court case on Monday proving that the saints actually beat Port of Friday night and will line up against Brisbane on Saturday. They won't take this lying down.
AnswerID: 76988

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:29

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:29
Typical....they cheat at every thing
FollowupID: 336692

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 10:14

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 10:14
What the bloody hell are you crapping on about !!!!!! is there something in the water down there that makes you guys talk in strange tongue, what nightmare, what could of happen to a nicer bunch, what are we jubilant about hey !!! WHAT !!

AnswerID: 76991

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:25

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:25
Your supposed to be jubilent that the vics aint in the finals
FollowupID: 336689

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:54

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:54
and next week there will be something in the water hahaha
FollowupID: 336699

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:08

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:08
We live in hope that The Power get a good spanking by the lions next week. Just imagine how many games the vic teams would win if they had to travel every 2nd week, and i don't mean from colonial to the G. Makes the efforts of the interstate teams so much better i think. As for the contact with the mcc about use of the MCG.......What an absolute joke?????? The AFL needs two divisions. One for the 6 so called interstate teams, Geelong and a side from Tas and NT and the best 3 teams from Melbourne.The rest should play off in a second division with the winner each year playing the bottom placed melb team.
AnswerID: 76996

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:34

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:34
get out of here... SA that is ..if you want the lions to win over the power...

FollowupID: 336693

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:06

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:06
Any self respecting power hating resident of SA would even back collingwood over the power...........and the power supporters wouldn't want it any other way.
FollowupID: 336716

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:14

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:14
what drugs are you on ...hehehe
FollowupID: 336735

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:31

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:31
I commend the AFL for giving the new clubs the concessions that have enabled them to become competitive pretty quickly. Melbourne and Geelong support 12 teams, Adelaide two, Perth two, Bne one, and Syd one. Purely on a population base the non Victorian teams have a huge advantage, and I suspect it won't be long before the concessions are being offered in the reverse direction. Salary cap concessions are one thing, but when it comes to outrageous bias at the tribunal, like dismissing an attempted strangulation on a technicality .... well thats another thing altogether.

The main interest next week will be to see Port choke. Like most South Australians they are basically chokers, they just delayed it a bit this year.
AnswerID: 77019

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:37

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:37
yeah...we'll all choke...on the champers toasting the power for being victorious
FollowupID: 336694

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:56

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:56
What crap.

Salary consessions to victorian clubs so they can stay in vic.. Yea that i'll work. Do you know the reason for the salary consessions?

Bias tribunal - arent they victorians on the tribunal? Also what would you have said if it was some Victorian getting off scott free? WOOHOO...

Its a given brizzy will win.. was from round 10 onwards.

Port - chokers - again. they choked all the way to the grand final. So Geelong are chokers, St Kilda are chokers, etc etc..

IM a blues supporter, and we are in your league of chokers.
FollowupID: 336700

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:08

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:08
Now Truckster,

Salary Cap concessions, to aide in the retention of players from returning home............what a crock.

The mighty Kangas have lost Peter Bell & Byron Pickett cause they wanted to go home and we couldn't match the dollars to keep them, it happens to all sides now Waganeen/ Essendon, Melbourne look like losing a good young player to the same thing this year and plenty more from other clubs.They (the interstate sides) carry on about how unfair and vic biased the comp is, yet in a relatively short time they manage to put together dominant footy clubs with squillions in the bank 40,000 members and win premierships.

I wonder if peter bell thought about getting out of there heated indoor lap pool & rolling up his sleaves and getting down to Arden st and helping his former team mates while they did there own demolition work to try and provide them selves with a better training facilaty.

My heart bleeds for the poor interstators................not.

But having said all that, I honestly dont reckon the $600,000 has made Brisbane the dominant side they are, a little incident a few years back when the Kangas & Fitzroy where all set to merge but where stopped by the AFL and Fitzroy where sent North has certainly helped.

Browny
FollowupID: 336711

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:12

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:12
I am sure Brissie would give up their salary cap advantage if they got 18 or 20 home games each year like the vic clubs...........and they still are bleep lol
FollowupID: 336718

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:18

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:18
Some of you blokes had better get back on to the 4wd stuff where you have some credibilaty................20 home games a year???????

Sheeesh........Browny
FollowupID: 336739

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:31

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:31
hey Brew.. I reckon Brizzy would be happy to have ownership of the friday night games like the Maguire Magpies.
FollowupID: 336792

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 15:18

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 15:18
Argue all you like about chokers... salary concessions... dodgy tribunal decisions... facts are facts...
Footy has been a "National" game since '92 when the W.Eagles won the flag... the first time it was won by a not-victorian team.
The Grand Final this year will be The Mighty Lions V the "other" team from Adelaide... the team that isn't called the Crows... :-)

Go the LIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PS Nudie... your new rig pic seems somehow more "becoming"... ;-)
AnswerID: 77024

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 15:43

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 15:43
the other team from adelaide will be the lions wake up call!

ps..as for my pic...well it had to match the nightmare theme for those in that town that has the sheitiest weather around
FollowupID: 336701

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 15:51

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 15:51
"the other team from adelaide will be the lions wake up call! "

LOL.... we shall see Nudie... we shall see!

"We are the pride of Brisbane Town, we wear maroon, blue and gold!!"
FollowupID: 336702

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 16:16

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 16:16
pride of brisy eh?
seen better painted dogs playing around than that pride of lions..hehehe
Are you so sure that those mangy felines will be able to keep up?
FollowupID: 336706

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 17:20

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 17:20
you dissapoint me Nudenut. Your banter was ok till that last one... now you're just being childish.
"seen better painted dogs playing around than that pride of lions..hehehe
Are you so sure that those mangy felines will be able to keep up?"

I think their record of 3 straight flags beats how many chokes by the so-called Power????

If (when) they win a 4th.... they're in the history books... if not.. they're still in the history books anyway! And NOT for choking!

We shall see
FollowupID: 336709

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:13

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:13
we shall.................
but i note your not that confident of them getting a 4th.. "If(when)"
FollowupID: 336733

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 06:04

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 06:04
If I wasn't confident... perhaps I would have written "When (If)".......

Oh yes... I am confident....
FollowupID: 336748

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:51

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:51
GO THE LIONS
AnswerID: 77042

Reply By: Skiddy - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:21

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:21
As a west Aussie I dont care who wins just lets hope its an entertaining game like the two this weekend and not like some of the others we have seen this finals series.
AnswerID: 77048

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:22

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:22
Just means the Victorians get an extra weekend between seasons to go 4WDing......
AnswerID: 77050

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:16

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:16
another smart vic...you sure you aint Kiwi?
FollowupID: 336736

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 20:40

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 20:40
To gain credibility as a national competition it is essential that Grand Finals can be played outside of Melbourne.

How unfair is it for the Lions to be forced to play in Melbourne to defend their premership for the fourth time.l
AnswerID: 77064

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 06:07

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 06:07
IMHO not so ev7oo..... the "G" is the home of footy... thats where the Grand Final should always be played. The finals should be played at home grounds where deserved, for sure!! But I think the game needs that traditional home of footy thing for the GF
FollowupID: 336749

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 20:47

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 20:47
Peanut huggers!
Only talk about real football, played with a round ball, should be allowed here :-)
AnswerID: 77066

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:18

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 21:18
round ball? tennis ah
FollowupID: 336738

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:36

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:36
no, ariel pingpong.
FollowupID: 336795

Reply By: Member - Ian M (QLD) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 08:42

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 08:42
Not even a LIONS tragic like me agrees with this rubbish!

South Australian Premier Mike Rann believes it is Victorians' "worst nightmare" and shows the AFL's power base had shifted.

"The consistent excellence of the Power and the Lions, both on and off the field, during the past four seasons shows the real power of the AFL rests in South Australia and Queensland," Mr Rann said.

GO LIONS

IAN
AnswerID: 77087

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 09:23

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 09:23
how could you believe our illustrious leader...he's a kiwi

Any how, it promises to be a real ripper of a finals match now that the vics aint in it
FollowupID: 336756

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 09:21

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 09:21
feel free to join the masses flowing over the border for the game , i'm sure there will be only about a dozen 'happy snappers' on the road between bordertown and horsham :-))))) oh yeah and we will probably jack up the price on the gogo juice for the trip home hehehehehehe. as for me - couldn't care less who wins, too busy planning for bathurst....
AnswerID: 77092

Reply By: Member - Mick S (QLD) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 11:54

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 11:54
I believe that one important ingredient of the Lions' success is that their is still a "club" culture. Sure, the players are well paid, but in many cases not as well as they would be elsewhere. Many of today's footballers are professionals first and team members second. There are a number of players who deserted the Bears/Lions in the struggling days dining regularly on crow pie in recent seasons. Of course the wheel will turn and other teams will have their day,but the Lions' continuing success depends more on carefully nurturing rising talents than on some perceived salary advantage. There hasn't been enough money printed to compensate for the incredible handicap bestowed by their travelling schedule this week. I will be there to support the Lions on Saturday and look forward with interest to seeing how the Victorian public react to the teams at Friday's parade.
GO THE LIONS.
Mick
AnswerID: 77102

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 14:53

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 14:53
Hi Mick,

Well stated.

However no one has mentioned the coach. I think that the Lions are blessed with a fantastic coach in Leigh Matthews who has proven his ability to extract the best from his players, knows what it takes to win and builds a TEAM. So many of the Brisbane team have been picked up from other clubs who thought their time had passed, only to find their careers resurrected and playing good football at an age most other guys have retired. I think this reflects well on the coaching staff and football management of the club.

I'm an Eagles supporter so no biase in the above. Just have to acknowledge a fantastic achievement when you see it. 3 premierships in a row (and I think it will be 4) is truely incredible given the current comp.

And to add to the Vics wowes - the Brownlow has gone to an Eagles player! Yes guys, I know he is a Victorian but he plays for an interstate club and wants to stay here. The national comp is a wonderful thing.

Hugh
FollowupID: 337026