Non-camper trailers

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 10:10
ThreadID: 16387 Views:6042 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
Can anyone suggest a good off road "trailer". Not really wanting to shell out
$10-30000 on a camper trailer when there are several trips that I have planned where it wouldn't be suitable (simpson, etc, etc), but there are other times when
extra storage would be useful.

Have seen some small white trailers with an enclosed lid and rounded sides - anyone
know what I am talking about?

DavidT

Reply By: green man - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 10:48

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 10:48
i have done this myself

What i got made was a very heavy duty 6X4 box trailer with 18 inch sides, for a lid a had one made from 50mm angle and a sheet of metal. it is hinged from the from of the trailer and has hydrolic struts to hold it up the lid has a lock on it i ran some sealling foam around it and so far its dust and water sealing has been good

As for suspension i went to a 6 pack leaf spring using a "slipper config" the leaf is accually attached to the drawbar but the other end of the leaf is not acched to anything it has a retaining loop around it and a steel plate is welded to the chasis so it does not get damaged as the sping moves. it is a very simple system
I used a 45mm axle and 6 stud hubs
there is also a vertically mounted spare and 2 jerry can holders on the drawbar

If you live in ADL and want to have a look let me know
AnswerID: 76992

Follow Up By: sean - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 17:02

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 17:02
Truckster and Moggs

the purpose of my post is to let people know that not all his customers get what they order, and I only posted becuase people seem so intent on recommending products that they do now own and have NOT parted their hard earned cash for.

I agree that John is very pleasant to deal with and no doubt he does try hard but unfortately in my case this has not materialised into specifics that were either specified or offered as standard items. For example I orded (in writing) with LED tail lights and this did not happen, much to even his surprise. And I still dont have them even though the final price was as quoted with the lights and others that I specified missing.

The explorer in standard trim is indeed a fine trailer but before anyone gives an unreserved recommendation for the product I would ask if they have checked the following and post the results.

Is weight an issue for you, ie are you going to tow it across the canning or simpson? And did you put it on a weighbridge to see if the weight is as stated on the trailer compliance plate?

Did you order unbraked (standard option) and see if you can load it, and legally stay under 750kg?

Have you checked to see if the wheels match the offset of the vehicle?

Have you checked to see whether, with correct offset wheels fitted, the trailer matches the track of the vehicle, or indeed does it match at all?

Is the wiring routed along the axles, and if so, have you tried to see how this lasts on corrugated roads?

These issues relate to standard items and I can supply a very long list of items that were design defective or were not as specified (and paid for) or that now require repair after only one months of a bit of hard use (not abuse).

If you dont know the answers to the above questions then your opinion is based on ignorance which might better be left to bliss. If none of those things are an issue, then I would say then you will be very happy customer.

Hope your experience is free of the utter amazement, disapointment and additional expense that I have suffered.

Sean Davis

FollowupID: 336803

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:35

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 18:35
Sean, I am sorry you have had such a bad experience - and yes I do know the answers to the above questions - so I am not ignorant. Back up with the aggressive tone - no-one was questioning your experience.

For the record,

Yes weight is an issue for me, that is why I opted for a small trailer. I haven't weighed it but it is light. My intended use is for getting gear to campsites - however I would take it on longer treks, but not across the Simpson (I would run out of Petrol towing it)

I ordered the braked option - even though I will be comfortably under 750kgs.

The wheels are Pathy rims, as I specified to John, and yes they match

Yes the vehicle and trailer track is matched exactly, as requested

Yes the electric brake wiring is along the axle. It has been run through garden hose and then enclosed in square steel tubing that is mounted on the rear of the axle.

I am happy with the build quality and design of my unit. Time will tell if it is as rugged as it looks - however I am confident it will go the distance.

BTW maybe you should not have taken delivery of it if it wasn't what you had ordered???

FollowupID: 336812

Follow Up By: sean - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:19

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:19
Moggs

My tone is not agressive. I dont have an agenda here just to give people a balance and to beware, then to make up their own minds. I am not saying to people not to deal with Obriens, just be careful, expecially if weight is an issue.

If you do get around to weighing yours, I would much appreciate to know the answer cos mine is 580 kg with no spare tyres but is flip lid and higher sides, but is a short trailer being only 1500 long. I really just cant understand why mine is so heavy and even John was totally surprised, noting that the trailer plate is under 300kg.

My experience is the design concept is excellent, generally the sheet metal work and sealing is very good, the engineering (like for example the wiring along the axle) and some othe issues, leaves a fair bit to be desired.

QA is non existant.

Sean

FollowupID: 336820

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:28

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 19:28
No problem, I will weighit when I get a chance and let you know. The compliance plate states 350kgs.
FollowupID: 336822

Follow Up By: Dean - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 16:10

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 16:10
Gday Greenman,

I'm am looking at doing what youve done. Can you give me a few extra specs on your trailer, eg cost and wheel size. Is yours considered heavy duty on road or off road.
Who made yours, I'm also in ADL.
Dean
FollowupID: 339557

Follow Up By: green man - Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 20:19

Thursday, Oct 14, 2004 at 20:19
Hey Dean,
Mine was made by ADR rpoducts in Melbourne. It cost about $1100 without wheel if i remember correctly, i allready had 3 15x7 sunraisier rims.
I would consider it a off road trailer even though it uses a slipper stlye springs.
What exact specs are you after?
FollowupID: 339583

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 10:56

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 10:56
Look at this if you contact them they might tell you who makes them or maybe buy this. enclosed camper

AnswerID: 76994

Reply By: marcus - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:03

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:03
Hi David T,
The trailer you describe is built and distributed by Sports Trailers.They have quite a range from an enclosed type tuggage trailer to a fully kitted out off road camper trailer.Can check em out at www.sportstrailers.com.au
cheers mark
AnswerID: 76995

Reply By: drivesafe - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:23

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:23
Hi David T, if it is the trailer I am thinking you mean, I have one. It’s called a Trek Trailer and you would be better off getting a very large drum and putting wheels on it and i’m not joking.
I have a Trek Trailer, it’s white with rounded appearing sides and an enclosed lid.
The principal behind the design is pretty good but the no-brainers that make the trailers couldn’t make letterboxes without wrecking them.
The trailer came with a nose cone and the lot was supposed to be waterproof and cost me $3150.
The first trip I did with it was from Brisbane to Sydney and back.
Going down to Sydney, it rained and boxes we had the gear packed in, loaded in the nose cone got soaked and only that we had packed every thing in bubble wrap, the gear would have been damaged.
On returning to Brisbane on rang them to find out about getting the nose cone fixed and they didn’t want to know.
At this point the trailer was 3 days old, so I went to them and demanded that they replace the nose cone as the problem with the water getting in was caused by them putting the wrong nose cone on in the first place and after getting on they realised that some of the pre drilled holes did not line up so they simply drilled drilled new holes and filled the old holes with large rivets and sprayed everything with white paint. The rivets were rubbing against the under frame and popped out.
When I picked the trailer up it was going on dark and although I looked around it, it wasn’t until the next morning that I noticed a dint in the lid.
I raised this point with them and they said they had had a problem with there spray painter and his painting process had caused a number of lids to buckle slightly but it wasn’t there responsibility RIGHT.
As I had already paid for the trailer, I would have to take them to the Small Claims Court to get anywhere. Not worth the time and effort.
Since buying the S##t Box, I have done nothing but go round it repairing joints and hinges and cutting rust out and making lids and doors shut properly. This thing is only 4 months old and has already got rust problems.
Find out the name of the trailer and if it is a Trek Trailer, look for something else. They are made in Brisbane but are sold all over Australia.
I hope the trailer you were looking at was not a Trek Trailer, if you can not see a name on the trailer, look at the builders plate up near the front of the trailer. This will give you some idea of who made the trailer.
Best of luck and regards
AnswerID: 77001

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:38

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:38
www.obrienstrailers.com.au

they want $3000 for a box trailer with 2 jerry holders.
AnswerID: 77002

Follow Up By: sean - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 12:38

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 12:38
I have an obriens that did not deliver what was specified, is twice the weight that was claimed, and needs modification to be used off road, and was expensive all things considered, and tows like a parachute.

Very expensive trailers that dont deliver what is promised, at least not in my experience.

Sean
FollowupID: 336683

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:50

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 14:50
If all thats true, you would have simple grounds to get your $ back or the thing finished.

contact the dude there, hes given a few talks at our club before, and even though his trailers are expensive, I reckon that you would have no issues.

YMMV
FollowupID: 336697

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:08

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 19:08
I've just taken delivery of a slab sided Explorer Butterfly Top Off Road Trailer from O'briens and I am wrapped in it. It is rugged, well built and well thought out. Yes it was expensive however I am confident it is not going to fall apart in the middle of nowhere. I had no problems dealing with John and all of his advice was aimed at my intended use not his hip pocket.

All in all, I would highly recommend O'briens. I reckon you would find it difficult to find a better trailer.

If anyone wants to see some piccies of the trailer let me know your email addy and I will send them
FollowupID: 336717

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 20:24

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 20:24
Moggs.. did rohan contact u?
FollowupID: 336726

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 20:33

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 20:33
Yep, he was going to let me know an approx. time or day but I haven't heard anything further since Friday afternoon
FollowupID: 336730

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 22:58

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 22:58
A couple of photos and general specs up in my Members Rig page for those interested.
FollowupID: 336746

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:34

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:34
I agree with you moggs..
I've talked to John over at Greens Rd many times. Almost bought one of his smallest traielrs. Only wanted it for carrying kids stuff.

He also gives talks at club meetings too.

But got a second hand 7x4 Koala camper without the camper section for $1500 instead :) Waiting for confirmation from mate in Qld that it actually what it says it is (hes lookin at it today/tomorrow)... :)
FollowupID: 336793

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:37

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 15:37
Moggs.

On the skip, I'll drop it off tomorrow arvo (tuesday) on the way home from work, unless it fits in the pathfinder, I'll do it tonight then.

got the message on the dog ;)
FollowupID: 336796

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:43

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 11:43
Papas Trailers in Welshpool made one for me : 7x4 with 500 mm sides, 2 jerry can holders & 2 gas bottle holders, rated to 1250 kg with Landcruiser rims for $1550. Had a toolbox added for $230 but wouldn't do that again. Original intention was to make my own canvas
It's done Gibb River with me and quite afew places around the Pilbara. As I now have a Jayco campervan it is now one of the best garden trailers in town but I still wouldn't be without it. Makes a good rubbish cart & firewood trailer when we go anywhere as a group
AnswerID: 77004

Follow Up By: Mike-TS - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:27

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 18:27
How much would you sell it for?
FollowupID: 336713

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 10:55

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 10:55
the moment I stop using it I'll consider a sale. Currently after toolbox ($230) and GXL Mags & MTR Tyres it owes me about $2200.
As freight to here is anything up to $1000 I reckon it's worth every bit of that and I should near get my money back, some freight costs aside.
At this very moment I have just finished hitching it up to the Cruiser after a mini cyclone cleanup and others are waiting to use it so it's a valuable commodity that earns me the odd beer from time to time.

Where d'ya live Mike?
FollowupID: 336761

Follow Up By: Mike-TS - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 21:50

Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 21:50
Perth!

Have a good clean-up....
FollowupID: 336835

Reply By: Alex H - Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 17:16

Sunday, Sep 19, 2004 at 17:16
Sounds like the Venter trailer. They're South African in origin I think, and all the reports I've heard say they are very good. I don't have any experience of them myself, but they seem to be readily available now.
Alex
AnswerID: 77033