TD6 GU Patrol Powerup Report

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 08:24
ThreadID: 16437 Views:8298 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
Morning all!

Well, finally I can report on the powerup situation. Please find below the link to the site where the report is:

http://www.gqpatrol.com/td6/dynoreport.jpg

My thanks to Truckster.

Previously, the patrol with 4000 k's the clock has been averaging 7.75 k/l. I was not towing anything and the car was empty and pushing 285/75/16 tyres. The average above incorporated highway and city driving.

On the weekend, I did the run out to Millmeran which included the run up the Toowoomba range, city driving up until jumping on the freeway and the run obviously out to Millmeran. I overtook 3 roadtrains, at an average speed of 135k/h. My average speed over the whole journey was 108 k/h. I had 2 other guys with me weighing in at an extra 180kg. As well as that, I was carrying 8 rolls of 2.5mm twin and earth cable, 8 rolls 1mm cable, 4 electric drills, boxes of powerpoints, switches, drills, ladders and we estimated the weight in the rear of the car around 350kg. I travelled at both night and through the warmest part of the day and took the same route to and from. Lastly, I was not easy on the accelerater so I would get a worse case scenario.

E.G.T's up the range rose quite quickly and settled around 600 in 4th gear at around 80 k/h. I did cruise at that speed and could have gone quicker but the E.G.T's rose alarmingly when I did so. Engine temp remained at 1/4 the whole way. The turbo care of the boost gauge up the range sat nicely on 10-11psi. When into it from the line, the turbo will boost at 12psi.

I did 585 kilometers and used 69 litres of fuel. I obtained a fuel consumption of 8.47k's to the litre or 11.8/100. Fuel economy improved vastly. I was extremely surprised to say the least. Considering I was carrying a load, not easy on the loud pedal, and did the toowoomba range both ways, I was expecting to drop at least 1k per litre from original figures.

Right, now for the improvements themselves. Brisbane Tuning and Turbos perfomed the mods. A 3 inch mandrel bent exhaust system was fitted from the turbo. The E.G.R was entirely disconnected (sorry greenies). The fuel pump was tickled to counterbalance the increase in boost to 12psi, and dynoed pre and post. Further a boost adjustor was fitted. Lastly, my vdo boost and pyro gauges were fitted. The entire process takes 2 days, and costs $1,900.00. Holy crap you might say, but for a stage 2 powerup from Motsons in Brisbane it will cost around $3,000. However, that does include machining the turbo housing, fitting larger impellers and fitting an aneroid to the fuel pump. For interests sake, I will head out there today and obtain some figures for interested parties.

Finally, the results at the rear wheels. Torque rose from 636ftLb @ 64kph to 950ftLb @ 53kph. Power rose from 105hp @ 86kph to 154hp @ 82 kph. In my own opinion, this is very very good and the turbo now sings like a bird. The turbo basically spools from boost and instead of waiting for 2000rpm before the power increases, it starts at 1000. The motor although running higher boost, will still crawl up hills and rocks at around 200rpm which is off my taco.

I'm heading to Tamworth this weekend, which will take me on a 1000 k journey return. I'll be sure to report back on the next run just to confirm these figures weren't a fluke!

Hope this helps out a few people and thanks for taking an interest. Happy to answer any other questions you may have.

Chris.

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 10:02

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 10:02
Hi Chris,

What a great informative post. Could I ask a few questions, please?

. Firstly, a dumb one - I'm not a Nissan man, so, what's a TD6? Ifs this the new name for the 4.2L turbo-diesel? Intercooled? Mechanical, not electronic injection?

. Can I ask where your EGT sensor is fitted? Hopefully upstream of the turbo inlet if you're pulling temps above 600C?

. You say boost now peaks at 12 psi. What was it as standard?

. "Further, a boost adjuster was fitted" - what's this, please?

. A bit confused by the part where you say Motsons fit "an aneroid to the fuel pump". Surely, if it's a mechanical injection punp on a factory-turboed engine, the pump already has an aneroid (or manifold pressure compensator)?

Thanks and congratulations - sounds like you now have a seriously grunty vehicle there.
AnswerID: 77244

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 10:11

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 10:11
Gday mate,

TD6 is the name of the 4.2 Turbo motor fitted with the intercooler. The pyro was fitted uprstream of the turbo, and welded into the exhaust. Pulled max temp of 600 up the range.

Turbo runs standard between 9 and 10psi. Interestingly, I heard from a service department 2IC the other day from Nissan that the main reason the 3L TDI's are destroying pistons is due to Nissan's inability to control the boost the turbos put out. He said some come in as low as 7 and they have had others running 36psi, obviously they hoot, but stuff up real quick. Still heresay, but at least only from one person to another.

I'm not too clued up on the anaroid part at Motsons, I'm heading out there today to become more clued up as a few have asked. I will pop a further post on later.

A boost adjustor is usually a little blue 'T' piece that has a screw on top allowing the boost to be screwed up and/or down/regulated.

Chris.
FollowupID: 336865

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 10:44

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 10:44
Ta Chris,

Please keep us posted on what you find. Facinating beasts, these oil-burners, with all the tricks and tweaks that can be done to them.
AnswerID: 77259

Reply By: Austravel - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 13:37

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 13:37
Thanks Chris, sounds like the way to go. I've also looked at Motson's and MTQ, they are both pretty much the same price and a bit more than I wanted to spend. Did you need to supply the gauges for that price or was it included in the $1,900?? With any of these upgrades I guess no one will know how longevity is effected until well down the track, but hopefully it won't be to bad.
AnswerID: 77284

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 14:19

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 14:19
I went to Motsons just a few minutes ago.

I had a chat with the fellow there, but he just was not interested at all in helping. I usually can have a yarn with anyone, but he was more keen I think to get outback and go to sleep.

I had a look at there figures, they quote around 850 ftLb's of torque and about 125hp at the rears after a stage 2 powerup. That will set you back $2,700 without gauges, dump pipe, etc.

One interesting point, my dump pipe was left as standard. Motsons do an aftermarket dump pipe that bolts straight on for about $260. The externals look the same, but the internals are quite different. There is no bell in the neck of the pipe and they have machined out the other end to allow a better flow. I can understand from seeing the stock pipe how it would restrict the gases and cause the E.G.T's to quickly rise if they couldn't escape quick enough.

The TD42 is a tough motor, I can't see why it wouldn't last as long as any other motor if serviced regularly using the correct oil, hence my other post. Many comp trucks run 12psi and 700-900 degrees and haven't blown up.

I guess proper maintenance, nice long runs, and driving style would ensure a long lasting relationship. This is my intended routine for the next 2 years.

Chris.
FollowupID: 336904

Reply By: Austravel - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 14:29

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 14:29
Thanks for the update. Did you need to supply your own gauges for the EGT and pressure or were they supplied in the $1,900??

AnswerID: 77296

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 14:40

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 14:40
Yeah, sorry mate.

Had an autolecky I use all the time to install the gauges. Don't know the cost yet because he hasn't charged me! But he did make a little custom pod to hold both gauges which sat nicely on the centre consol just in front of the cig lighter. Make sure you get the VDO gauges that have inbuilt lights which switch off your main headlights...
FollowupID: 336906

Reply By: sean - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 21:08

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 21:08

Great to hear you are having a good outcome. I also have a TD6 and its performance is dismall. Please keep us posted about your overall opinion when you have a few more weeks on the motor.

Sean
AnswerID: 77333

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:33

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:33
Gday Sean,

Will do. Yeah, once you powerup, you'll never go back. Fuel economy appears to be ok so far on this next tank. It has been all city so far.

Chris.
FollowupID: 336985

Reply By: Andrew from TrekTable - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 21:45

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 21:45
Chris,

Thanks heaps for the update. I note the HUGE increase in torque. Damn near 50%!

Is it really noticable behind the wheel? Overtaking must be a breeze. I do alot of towing so the torque increase is most interesting.

What is 950ftlb in Nm?

AnswerID: 77344

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:57

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:57
Gday mate,

Very Very noticeable. I was a little concerned at first when I thought about it, but trust me, when you can beat a 2.7 petrol 4wd Hilux off the line, you know you have some power. Have a mate with a 3L and we both only took the trucks to 3000rpm up to 4th gear, I was nearly 3 car lengths in front due soley to the quick acceleration.

The other noticable thing was the sucking noise coming from the snorkel, it really pulls the air through now. Cruised up most hills in 5th, if they looked steep, went up in 4th, soley to reduce the strain on 5th and enjoy the ability to accelerate in 4th up a hill.

I tried working the NM out before, I downloaded a conversion table. It gave me an answer of 1,287 nm, but I think that's an american conversion, I think the truck would blow up if that were the case, not too sure.

Hopefully, someone can help us out!

Chris.
FollowupID: 336988

Follow Up By: sevo - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:27

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:27
Gday Chris,
I have completed the calculations as per SAE j607 inregards to calculating the corrected torque figures from your dyno results. These figures are close appox as the correction factor was not on dyno sheet and i dont no the temp or humidity of the day.

Before mods 78kw and 287nm
After mods 114.8kw and 428nm

As i said these are appox and mean more to us than uncorrected.
thanks
FollowupID: 337124

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:43

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:43
Pretty happy with that sevo, whaddayou reckon?

Nissan quotes figures of 420 at the fly on the 4.8 petrol so I'm really happy with that!

78 kw's at the rears, that's really bad! So in regards to HP, around a 50% increase, but nm's went up real quick, I think Torque is what I want more than horsies.

Dunno if you live or know QLD real well, but from standing start from tolls at gateway bridge in brissy (where alot of us power boys like to test our trucks), got 124k/h by the drain grate running across the width of the bridge just before hte peak. I've finished testing it now, and am still getting around 8.2 k/L, whilst giving it some.
FollowupID: 337128

Follow Up By: sevo - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:45

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:45
Great results, i am doing the work on my vehicle myself and will give you my dyno resuts after ok
Thanks sevo
FollowupID: 337149

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:50

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:50
Sevo,

Yourself? Are you the owner of a workshop or somethin? Look forward to receiving your results. When you doing it?

Chris.
FollowupID: 337150

Follow Up By: sevo - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:22

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:22
Chris,
Qualified Mechanic by trade, have 3inch exhaust on with boost controller and pyro this week end and then to pump adjusts etc
FollowupID: 337153

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:31

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:31
Excellent, better then paying $1,900! Good onya, looking forward to results.
FollowupID: 337154

Reply By: Roly - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:09

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:09
sounds good so far

i'll wait a few weeks to see how it goes and then make a decision

at 120-140kmh mine used 20L per 100kms on sunday :(
AnswerID: 77357

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:59

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:59
Gday Roly,

Fair enough, but I'd reckon any car would drink the fuel at 120-140 anyway!

On a side point, is this roly as in John Roly?

Chris.
FollowupID: 336989

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 08:52

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 08:52
Thanks for the info, next time I'm in Brisy I think I'll book in and get the same mods.
AnswerID: 77390

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:03

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:03
Gday mate,

I don't think you'll regret it...

If you want, I'm happy to meet up with you and you can have a drive before shelling out the cash to see if it's what you want. Just an idea...

Cheers mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 336994

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:08

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:08
Thanks Chris, I'm sure it performs, there's no doubt that with those sort of increases it will make it a pleasure to drive. Might take you up on the offer but I'm pretty sure I'll need to do something as the weight I intend carrying will make it suffer. My only decision is whether to use Motoson's or the people you used. Dollar wise there's no choice.
AnswerID: 77394

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:13

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 09:13
Wise choice mate. Always best to go and talk to both.

Motsons are a large open shop front on Beaudesert Road, and look very professional. Brisbane Tuning and Turbos are slightly more tucked away in the Gabba. A little more pokie, but John will help you out. When and if you go there, make sure you speak to John, he's the pro. The fellow on the front counter of Motsons yesterday didn't know what a TD6 was, and there specs chart is only for a TD, not the TDI.

They are getting around 10-15% less power and torque with more mods to the turbo and fuel pump and more cost.

cheers,

chris.
FollowupID: 336995

Reply By: Austravel - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 11:15

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 11:15
I've used Motson's before and found their work very good but yes they are dear. If I can get similar or better increase for less money then it's the way I'd go as well.
AnswerID: 77409

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 12:22

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 12:22
Fair enough. Well, may catch up with you when you shoot through, you know where I am!

Chris.
FollowupID: 337011