Tell me about GQ bodymounts

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:26
ThreadID: 16468 Views:2252 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
I have some pretty radical clunking going on whilst on rougher sorta roads and sometimes on bitumen roads when there is some bumps...
Almost sounds like someone is smashing on the floor with a hammer when i am going over corrugations...
Can worn bodymounts be this viscious...????????

I have spent quite a while under the car checking all things... eg: exhaust, suspension rubbers, all rubbers, engine and gearbox mounts, castor bushes, prettywell most things but cant seem to check the bodymounts properly....

I tried jacking the body away from the chassis and couldnt really see any movement..
Any GQ hints and tips?

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:38

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:38
It will usually happen more when its wet?

Yes they can be that bad. Mine didnt look bad until I ripped them out.. they were 10mm different all around. The issue is the rubber wears out, and the steel tube up the middle is left to move...

http://forum.patrol4wd.org/phpBB2/ for more info

also check that the floor pan to the firewall where they join isnt cracked.
AnswerID: 77359

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:44

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:44
Yep... It was cracked and i have tigged it... and up over the tunnel was stuffed also...
It's just these mounts are tricky... I just went out then and grabbed the front bar and reefed it straight up and can hear a clunking in the front...
Are bodymounts changed one at a time or all at once...???????
FollowupID: 336970

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:53

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 22:53
If one is worn, then others wll be.
Do them all at once, took us hour and half to do all of them
they are pi$$ easy in all honesty.
FollowupID: 336972

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:36

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 07:36
Thanks for info..... I will do them all at once....

FollowupID: 336986

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:27

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:27
I want to put in 2 inch higher mounts... Will i have come across any hassles or is it just the bottom of the cowling on the radiator and the low range stick which look like little mods?????
I may not want to lift the bars at all......
So will a 2 inch body lift be a hassle?
FollowupID: 337165

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:47

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:47
Good talkin to yer on phone.

Lifting 2inch can be an issue if you dont lift the bullbar, depending on make and model of bar. The bar that goes across can become inline with the headlight blocking majority of light, and flashing the rest back into your face :(

Did ya get the body mounts? when yuo get them could you email me the part numbers pls vfr750fv at yahoo dot com going to add a common part #s page to my site

take care
FollowupID: 337275

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 23:12

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 23:12
Gday...

I have looked at the height of the bar and i think it will do as you say.........
I also have side rails which are going to come into contact with my flares...

I bought the mounts from 4wd systems here in Adelaide and just looked at the receipt and there is no part number given....

The mounts are exactly 2 inches high so does that mean i put them in still using the existing mounts so i get the desired height????????

There isnt even a part number on the mounts themselves...
FollowupID: 337370

Reply By: Mick - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 08:43

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 08:43
The easiest wat is to undo all the mounts on one side, get a high lift jack with a long piece of wood to put under your sill so you dont crush it in, and lift the body off the chasis.
Be careful not to lift it too high as the brake, clutch and fuel liens etc. will not stretch, and yes you can do it with out removing them.
If your bodgy, you can pack them with big washers to make up the difference, or if your in sydney you can get some second hand ones from me, i have heaps.
my phone number is 02 9620 1208.
AnswerID: 77387

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 10:31

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 10:31
I'd love to walk thru your store of parts ;) LMAO
FollowupID: 337002

Reply By: Mick - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 12:26

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 12:26
You want to hurry up Truckster, cause were throwing most of it out!!
AnswerID: 77415

Follow Up By: Lawrence - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 05:40

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 05:40
Got an 87 mq ute. Body mounts also pretty much non existent, especially on the left side, which touchs the chassis. Also makes a lot of noise on bad roads. Anyone know where I can get new ones online, or can they be made ( have no idea how thick they should be, also wouldnt mind a 2 inch lift.
FollowupID: 337241

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:52

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:52
DONT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Left hand side air vent and the channel that runs down to behind the dash. need one of them :(
radiator overflow bottle need 1 of dem 2...
4.3s need them
The panel down the center of the dash that has the vents in it and goes down around the radio.
Good Ti Arm rest would be nice...
Lower radiator shrowd would be nice too (the one removed for body lift, want to try and manufacture a replacement...)
Spare TD42...

and thats all I can think of at moment..
FollowupID: 337278

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:54

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:54
Lawrence, have you tried Nissan for them?
FollowupID: 337279