Just to say you've been there!

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:28
ThreadID: 16482 Views:4682 Replies:13 FollowUps:28
Everyone has a place where they would like to go - just to say they've been there. There was a thread here a while ago about Lake Caddabarrawirracanna having the longest place name in Australia and someone suggested (Willem, I think) that they were planning to get there at some point in the future just to say he'd been there.

. . Well . . . .

I think I may have found the ultimate "just to say you've been there" place.

In North America's Lake Huron (between Canada and the USA) is Manitoulin Island, the world's largest island in a lake. On the island is Lake Manitou, which is the world's largest lake in an island in a lake. The lake on the island in the lake has an island which is the world's largest island in a lake on an island in a lake on an island in a lake . . . .

Reply By: newb - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:38

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:38
I'd love to get a troopy to the arctic circle (in alaska)!

however, right now I'd just love to have a troopy....
AnswerID: 77452

Reply By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:41

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:41
Some people have way too much time on their hands
Vince
AnswerID: 77453

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:44

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:44
mmm but an extract from Geoscience australia
"Did you know that the longest official geographical name in Australia is "Mamungkukumpurangkuntjunya", and one of the shortest is "Me"."
AnswerID: 77454

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:45

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:45
Did you also know that "Spring Creek" is the most common geographical name in Australia, and there is a town in Tasmania called "Nowhere Else" and a homestead in South Australia called "Didyabringyagrogalong".

I'm not going to that last place as they'd drinkallmygrog
FollowupID: 337049

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:49

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 17:49
Place Names Search: MAMUNGKUKUMPURANGKUNTJUNYA HILL
STATE: SA
CUSTODIAN: SA
FEATURE CODE: HILL (Hills & Mountains)
LATITUDE: 27º 07' S [Decimal Degrees -27.124º]
LONGITUDE: 132º 32' E [Decimal Degrees 132.545º]
EASTING: 257000 [UTM zone 53, GDA 94]
NORTHING: 6997000
FEATURE NUMBER: SA0078626
100K MAP No.: 5443

FollowupID: 337050

Follow Up By: MrBitchi - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:03

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:03
"there is a town in Tasmania called "Nowhere Else" ",
Actualy not a town, just a road called the "No Where Else Rd" running through West Kentish, just outside Sheffield. My dad owned a farm there many moons ago.
FollowupID: 337095

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:35

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:35
I dunno...thats what the science</a site said...
FollowupID: 337097

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:37

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:37
er...i'l do that again

I dunno...thats what the geoscience site said
FollowupID: 337098

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:51

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:51
Place Names Search: NOWHERE ELSE
STATE: TAS
CUSTODIAN: TAS
POSTCODE: 7306
FEATURE CODE: LOCB (Towns & Localities)
LATITUDE: 41º 22' S [Decimal Degrees -41.376º]
LONGITUDE: 146º 15' E [Decimal Degrees 146.265º]
EASTING: 439000 [UTM zone 55, GDA 94]
NORTHING: 5419000
FEATURE NUMBER: TAS01520
100K MAP No.: 8115

Geoscience says its a town. Power up the gps and go see if they are wrong hahaha...me..i'll take there word for it cos i'll be fishing for trout yum yum
FollowupID: 337103

Follow Up By: MrBitchi - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:03

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:03
That'll be in Lake Barrington, (also labelled by Geoscience as Lake Nowhere else) formed by the Devil's Gates dam. Dam fine trout they'll be too.
The postcode is actually for Sheffield, the nearest town.
Regardless of what Geoscience says I can assure you there is no town called Nowhere Else.
Trust me. I was born there......
The roads one claim to faim is it has the most stolen road sign in Tassie, to the point that it's now in a solid welded frame to deter the light fingered.
Cheers.....
FollowupID: 337111

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:16

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:16
Hmmm......not bad at 26 letters for MAMUNGKUKUMPURANGKUNTJUNYA hill.

try MULKANUNDRACOORACOORATARRANINNA.

It's 30 letters!

It's not that hard to say. Try : Mulka nundra coora coora tarra ninna.

It's probably been passed by many of you.
It had a drovers store on it many years ago.
It's been visited many times by Tom Kruse.
Ted Egan says it's full name in his version of the
"I've been everywhere" song.
It has a short name you may recognise.

YES, it's Mulka, on the Birdsville Track

reference:
STATE: SA
CUSTODIAN: SA
FEATURE CODE: RUIN (Built Structures)
LATITUDE: 28º 22' S [Decimal Degrees -28.368º]
LONGITUDE: 138º 40' E [Decimal Degrees 138.667º]
EASTING: 271000 [UTM zone 54, GDA 94]
NORTHING: 6860000
FEATURE NUMBER: SA0047531
100K MAP No.: 6641

FollowupID: 337112

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:48

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:48
what would a Tasmanian know hehehe
FollowupID: 337169

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 18:36

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 18:36
well wombie, mine may seem boring because it may not seem remarkable, I want to go to Greenwich [actually I've been but I didn't go into the Royal Observatory...doh! ] but now that I'm older and wiser...I want to stand and gaze at Harrison's remarkable clocks....and....then I want to take a trip to the Worshipful Company of Clockmakers' Collection in Guildhall and gaze at a wooden clock he made in 1713 ...just to say "I've seen Harrison's clocks".....the man who solved the longtitude problem..

Lyn
AnswerID: 77458

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 07:32

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 07:32
Just need the time eh !!!

Glad you can spell too !!!
FollowupID: 337093

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 07:42

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 07:42
Crikey Baz....I read that and though OMG have i spelt "clocks" wrong...ahahhahahaahah....

I'll make time one day :)
FollowupID: 337094

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:52

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:52
Thomas Tompion clock maker has one of his clocks in the "Pump Room" in Bath that was presented by him in 1709. And it still works.
FollowupID: 337130

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:59

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:59
Hiya Well, ... maybe I'm just fascinated by Harrison's obsession....
FollowupID: 337252

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 18:43

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 18:43
Thats an easy one - The Daily Planet!
AnswerID: 77460

Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 18:59

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 18:59
I assume your wife doesn't read this forum?

Or may-be she does and thinks - Yeah! you wish!
FollowupID: 337054

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 19:42

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 19:42
I've always wanted to visit there also, mainly to meet Lois Lane, maybe bump into Superman err Clark Kent that is.

Whatever are you going on about rolande.
FollowupID: 337060

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:56

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 21:56
Family is in USA! runnin solo,

... and wife never reads anything I do.

thats what I meant, the magazine.
FollowupID: 337081

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:25

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:25
I thought you meant to visit the wife while she was at work truckster..... ;-)
FollowupID: 337123

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:35

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:35
If we were relying on that daz to pay the bills we would be living in a shoe.
FollowupID: 337145

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:42

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:42
couldnt survive on one payment a yr you reckon ;-)
FollowupID: 337147

Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:11

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:11
Truckster

Your a classic - here I was racking my tired brain for an answer and I never even considered The Touch Of Class!!

FollowupID: 337193

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:39

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:39
May-be some of you know more than you are letting on??
FollowupID: 337200

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:03

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:03
Wow Touch of class, that brings back memories from teenage days!

http://www.projectroom.com/joystick/cross2000/issue7/rosalindr.htm
FollowupID: 337282

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 19:09

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 19:09
Well, not so much the destination....... but the experience........

2 weeks of Sled Dogging in Alaska.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 77465

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 19:44

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 19:44
I went to an AFL match once.
AnswerID: 77469

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:39

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 08:39
in victoria?
FollowupID: 337100

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 20:55

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 20:55
Ok good replies form most, Mine is a little different.
If i could find this "flux Capacitor" im looking for, I'd go back in time to 1971. Buy myself 10 XY GTHO's and rent a warehouse in advance. Come back to today and sell them all except 1 at a nice price tag of arou nd $100,000...each.
Not abad investment considering they cost 5 grand to buy new.
But thats juts me !
AnswerID: 77472

Follow Up By: newb - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 23:18

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2004 at 23:18
i wonder how much it would cost to rent a warehouse for 35 years...
FollowupID: 337085

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 00:49

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 00:49
in 1971....id say bugger all if u offered to pay up front.
Besides..it really dont matter. i would take the money back with me to cover it all. But remember that 35 years would only be a few days there and back.

Ho Hum..one can dream
FollowupID: 337089

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 16:32

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 16:32
HO Hum dya mean?

FollowupID: 337176

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 06:43

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 06:43
Wombat its not the place just to say ive been there.
I would love to go south america peru etc.

AnswerID: 77491

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 07:39

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 07:39
I only one place i'd like too go anywhere i'd like, if i had the money thats where i'd like to go just to say i'd been there, EVERYWHERE !!!!!
AnswerID: 77500

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:55

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:55
Na, been there, it wasnt worth it...
FollowupID: 337110

Reply By: grimbo - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:26

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:26
I've also been to Manitoulin Island. my mum is Canadian and we have relatives who live on lake Simcoe north of toronto. Been on a few boating trips through the canal systems and out onto the lakes awesome.

I've already been to Moab and wheeled there but would love to do the Rubicon, hopefully soon. Also like to go wheeling Argentina, i have a friend who runs trips there so again hopefully soon. But the next big one is the 6 month trip around Australia
AnswerID: 77523

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:30

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:30
Spent some time wheeling at moab, as a must do, we were supposed to do the Rubicon while in the US, but it was snowed in.

Its on the agenda for the next trip over.
AnswerID: 77531

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:39

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 14:39
I've been there, thats in Victoria !!
FollowupID: 337166

Reply By: Member - Bear - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:14

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:14
About 20 years ago (long before the Sydney Bridge Climb thing) we carried a smaill cooker, snags and beer to the top of the Harbour Bridge and had a small BBQb for 4 guys waiting for the sun to come up. In those days you had two choices - 1 was to use bolt cutters on a chain that secured a steel gate on the Northern Pylon or the other was to jump out of a taxis (after getting him to stop) on the Cahill Expressway (far Eastern lane) and then climb over the barbed wire gate with spikes and then go up the stairs, much to the amazment of all the cars that had stopped behind the cab. This was much harder but it was also before Mobile phones so you could normally get away with it.

Apart from that a 10,000 foot para jump over Hamilton Island at dawn.

Or any other place other than work!!!!
AnswerID: 77589