1 HZ Potential Nightmare

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 00:06
ThreadID: 16497 Views:2776 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
Had 70,000km service on the Troopy 1HZ today, interesting to say the least.

Background:

Manufacture/rego 1997/98
First owner – Vic Govt - sold after 3yrs and 30,000kms.(Aug 00)
I buy it and develop into a pop top camper and some over next 4yrs.
Serviced every 5000km religiously ensuring new oil and fuel filters etc. (authorized book services)
One major mod is a DTS turbo. Installed Oct 01.
At time of Turbo install and the aforementioned services, I repeatedly queried the need to ‘check the tappets’. Was told on each occasion by different techo’s – No need as it is ‘only a youngster and still running in. Don’t need to check the tappets at least until 150,000kms.

Current:

Had a conversation with ‘Roachie’ recently during which the subject of tappets arose and he was adamant that they should be checked.

Sooooooooooooo! Prior to the aforementioned 70,000km service I instructed/negotiated/directed my way through the usual resistance to checking the tappets, and it gets done.

Guess what! 9 of the 12 valves had 0 (zero) clearance, including all inlets.

Can’t repeat what I said and still keep thinking off..

Anyway at this stage there isn’t any BAD NEWS. The service boys are of the opinion that even though they couldn’t get a feeler gauge into the appropriate space, they reckon there was an óil layer clearance’ which may have saved the day.

Whatever it was running very well before (or so I thought) and now it runs a tad smoother and spools up a bit quicker.

This is just another experience story, however I must say a big

THANK YOU to Bill Roachie (Roachie)for making me get off my butt and insisting on having the subject item checked. And If I hadn't been a member of OZ/EX and met Roachie (and others) then I would still be in the 'dark'so to speak. So it really is a valuable resource in many ways to 4WD drivers.

All those things Pesty said about you Roachie, are not true at all.

And I am not saying what it all cost.

Ken Robinson

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 00:47

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 00:47
I told you to get it done about 6 mths ago, when i answered another post and you showed a great interest at the time, lol.
should have pushed harder at the time hmmmmmmm.
Roachie rang tonight and he is in cairnes ken and going fine.
AnswerID: 77487

Reply By: Ruffstuff - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:23

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:23
Hi Ken,
How have you found the DTS turbo? any hassles apart from this?

Ive been looking at going down the same pathwith my 80 series.
Do you have an intercooler fitted?, im not sure whethetr i need to go to the extra expense to get this also.
what boost are you running?

Glad you mentioned the dilemma with your tappets , not one of the guys i have spoken to about fitting one over here have mentioned that.
AnswerID: 77512

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:12

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:12
Ruffstuff,

It would be worth giving our latest forum sponsor (Denco) a call re: the Turbo. We have had nothing but good reports about these guys including one a few days ago in the forum from Truckster. Just click on the Sponsor logo in the forum index page or read the write up and the end of the index page.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 337118

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:14

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:14
Mate, an intercoooler will cost you about another 1500-1800 schmackers, is that about right? Depending on what boost you intend on running, the extra 10% you'll get is not worth the dollars. If you are going to run 12-14psi, then get the intercooler.

If the mob you are dealing with want to run 7spi, you want get a result your looking for. I ran 7 psi on a trip from brissy to Sydney, Melbourne, Great Ocean Road, back up to Bundaberg then to Brissy, and it wasn't good. Ran fairly hot and that was MTQ setting up a Schwietzer (spell) on my GQ TD42. Once on 12psi, 3 inch exhaust and tuned, ran like a dream with E.G.T's only reaching 550 when towing.

Have fun mate, I went through what you did 2 years ago, and you have to swim through the crap and sort the experts from the bull poo artists.

Chris.
FollowupID: 337120

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 15:00

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 15:00
Ruffstuff

Send me an email address at krobbo@optusnet.com.au and I'll give you the whole box & dice.

Nothing bad - all good.

Ken Robinson
FollowupID: 337170

Follow Up By: Ruffstuff - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:58

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 19:58
David,
thanks for the lead, i will get in touch with them.

I have had that many different bits of "expert advice" my head is spinning as everyone says something different, Chris ,you will know what i mean.

Ken, i will be in touch.
FollowupID: 337207

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:58

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 18:58
One of our club members bought the tool from Toyota to do the tappets and change shims if need be in the very early 90's not long after the 1HZ came out.
We (6 vehicles) ALL noticed a BIG diffference in smoothess and power after setting the tappets correctly at around the 20k - 40k mark (depended on when we bought it , new or used). Once done we also found that they rarely needed adjustment until well over 150k as the only adjustment was to remove shim wear which is very small.
And yes all the 'experts' (including dealers) said don't touch them.
AnswerID: 77586

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:14

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 22:14
Peter 2

What more can I say other than you have corobborated my éxperience' and in view of same, I would respectfully suggest that anyone with a diesel have their tappet clearance checked if they have not done so since they purchased the vehicle.

Doesn't have to be done this instant..

Just keep it in mind for the next service and don't let the so called experts 'baffle you with bullbleep'

Ken Robinson
FollowupID: 337227