A few big trip questions

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:18
ThreadID: 16501 Views:2921 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
I am after some info from all you well travelled 4wheelers. My wife and i are tossing around the idea of taking 6 months off next year and doing a bit of touring. We want to start in melbourne because we live there. Head up the east coast and tackle Cape york, then head west and do NT and northern WA. We will be travelling through NT and WA by ourselves so won't be tackling any of the major desert stuff.

We have a 91 GQ LWB on dual fuel setup with barwork, 3" lift, 33s, cargo barrier. We have all the camping gear, fridge etc so in that respect are fine.

Those who have done similar trips I have a few questions.

1. Is it doable in a petrol GQ without having to sell a kidney or a first born child to fund it

2. What sort of budget did you set and how far over/under were you?

3. Is 6 months going to be adequate to cover this sort of ground?

4. Any recommendations of places out of the norm that really blew your mind?

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:30

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:30
Gday mate,

Went on a 5 month sojourn up to cape, across to kimberlies, darwin, perth and across to Brisbane. Loved Chilli beach, just doing the cape, weipa, kimberlies were awesome, and perth was pretty boring. (no offence perth originators/residents).

What motors in the GQ? Is it the 3 Litre? What sort of economy are you getting at the moment?

I have a rundown of the cost of the trip at home. I know for a fact that I was about $1,200 under my estimate, but only because I tacked 10% on top of any current figures for fuel, estimated tyre replacement and servicing.

IMOHO, 6 months would be about right as long as you don't fall in love with a spot and stick around for longer than planned. Always expect the unexpected.

Mate, it would be an experience to remember, and I bet there's a few if not alot who'd love to do the same sort of trip, myself included.

Good luck mate,

Chris.
AnswerID: 77514

Follow Up By: Jonoc - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:43

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:43
Ave

Offense Taken.

You probably just didn't know what to do, and with you being from QLD I can understand why you would think perth is boring based on the fact that our beer prices are pretty ridiculous, so i bet thats your reason.

Jono
FollowupID: 337155

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:57

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:57
Absolutely!!

No, just reminded me of every big city if you know what I mean. After months of sites, I wasn't really that keen on heading back to the big smoke...

And you know us QLD's, too much beer and we get a little slow, probably couldn't be bothered getting out of bed and finding the sites ;-)

Chris.
FollowupID: 337160

Reply By: troy35 - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:41

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:41
grimbo,

I have never done the trip so can't answer all your questions but I live and work in the Kimberley region so know the area. I see know reason why you cannot do this trip in a petrol GQ especially if it is on gas also. You would be surprised where you can get gas these days. I meet many tourists who do the same and are in petrol/gas GQ's. The only thing I would say is to leave Melbourne around early April or May so you are into the dry season by the time you get North. You shouldnt see any real rain at all in the NT and WA until November so that gives you plenty of time.

6 months should be plenty of time but if I had a dollar for everytime I met a tourist here in Broome who said. "We only planned to be here for 4 days but ended up staying for two weeks" I wouldnt be writing this, Id be out touring with all those dollars. If you do that at every good spot you get to your 6 months will be up in QLD.
Cant help you with budget except to warn you that petrol in Broome is currently 1.19 per litre, so no doubt its more further inland and in the NT. Also be warned that you will not get a caravan site or motel etc etc in Broome unless you book ahead a few months. No doubt the same will go for many other popular tourist destinations in the NT and QLD. If you plan to camp instead you will have no problems then.

As for special places unfortunately I am not allowed to tell you about them as they are all secret spots that only locals are allowed to vist :-)
Seriously though make sure you do the Gibb River road. Start at the Kununurra end and head south to Derby because if you take the bitumen there aint much to see from Kununurra down to Broome. Believe me when I say your not missing much in Halls Creek (Or "Hells Crack" as we call it) and Fitzroy Crossing.

Well hope this helps your WA end of the trip anyway.

Troy.
AnswerID: 77517

Follow Up By: Mainey... - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:55

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:55
Grimbo,
definately do the Gibb......

spend TIME.. not muny along the grr and see ALL the falls, those that are advertised are done so for a reason, someone makes a BIG PROFFIT from you visiting there, I assure you some of the out of the way falls and swimming holes are even far better than the well advertised ones and cost ... nothing.
Troy has it right with his post on times etc. however at the start and end of the wet season the scenery is UNREAL throughout the Top End.

Enjoy your time away.
FollowupID: 337159

Reply By: Well 55 - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:53

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 09:53
G'day grimbo, I did a simular trip but went left about, departing Canberra in Feburary and took 10 months, ran out of time for the Cape so had to take another 4 months off 2 years latter to do it. This was in 1996.

Heading north from Melb for the cape you would time it to be up there the end of may/june (beat the rush) that will give you to to have better weather across the top and the kimberly.

The GQ will be fine, gas will be a bit of a drama in remote areas so you will need to carry more petrol (only fill drums when needed).

From what I can gather on todays prices yuo can work on about $120-130 per 1000k for fuel, tucker, a bit more than what you would spend at home and camping fees will add a bit more on the east coast, cheaper over the west as there is a few more places to free camp.

As for mind blowing places, all in the eye's of the beholder, every where is good.
AnswerID: 77518

Reply By: grimbo - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:21

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:21
Thanks everyone for the replies keep them coming. We have a 4.2 engine. Usually we can get around 400km out of a 70l gas tank and the same ish for the standard fuel tank. i was figuring around the $100 per 1000km for fuel. We will be camping pretty much the whole time, maybe an occasional bit of luxury.

So far it sounds like it could be a very doable proposition
AnswerID: 77522

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:57

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:57
You *MAY* be better off ridding the LPG, and going with LRTanks for petrol, as LPG isnt available in remote areas.

You can get a 165ltr Long Range if you have a bodylift in it, or 145 std long range tank.. then go a 70ltr belly tank.. Both Brown Davis (ask Bazzle).

That should do you well :)
FollowupID: 337132

Reply By: GeoffSA - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:28

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:28
Grimbo,

The wife and I will heading from to Darwin then Kakadu and on to GRR in early April next year.
We may see you there.

Geoff.
AnswerID: 77524

Follow Up By: GeoffSA - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:34

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:34
Amendment,

Forgot to put Port Pirie after the 'from' in the above sentence.
FollowupID: 337114

Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:22

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 17:22
Thats the best time of yoear to do that trip, grimbo. Few humans around and still water in the creeks.
FollowupID: 337183

Reply By: waveslave - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:00

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:00
Heya Grimbo,

Me and the missus are doing a similar trip next year. We plan for a year and have budgeted 36k for the year. That's $100/day. Now I figure for 2 of us, camping free wherever possible, in a 4.2 1HZ it should be cool. I plan to catch a $hitload of fish:) The only thing that might baulk us is my insatiable appetite for beer, and expensive beer at that(coopers). Anyway, I think we'll pick up a bitter work on the way round......maybe.....perhaps.............
AnswerID: 77526

Follow Up By: bigfella - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:47

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:47
Might be able to help with a bit of advice regarding the beer appetite. I am biased here but you only have to make homebrew on the road. Get the gear (won't take up much room) and when you stay somewhere for a week or so make up a batch of your favourite brew and put in to PET bottles and you can have as much beer as you want all around Australia. PET bottles are great for storing homebrew when travelling as no breakages. I have taken beer to Cape York and over to WA and back with no problems. You will save heaps of money and have plenty of drinking mates wherever you are staying.
Enjoy the trip - it is a great country.
FollowupID: 337129

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:14

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 11:14
Take The Zook ya wimp... LMAO
AnswerID: 77528

Reply By: grimbo - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:35

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:35
Some quick calculations

Melbourne to Cape York approx 4000km
Cape york to Darwin 3600km
(or Cape York to Alice Springs 3200km, Alice Springs to Darwin 1500km)
Darwin to Broome 2000km
Broome to Perth 3000km
Perth to Melbourne 3500km

Total 16100km (17200km)

I reckon about $3500 in fuel thats probably a little over enthusiastic
AnswerID: 77541

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:53

Thursday, Sep 23, 2004 at 13:53
Better to over allow

roly and the boys had to dump a whole load of fuel cause it was dodgey, cost them about fuel 6 filters too.
FollowupID: 337157

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:17

Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 07:17
In my trip which included Tassie 34,000k. It iwas all the side trips off the main roads that add up.
FollowupID: 337246