Bazza
G'Day all,
Just reading today's
Sydney Daily Telegraph .... fines and demerit points up. Here's a good one ... Defective bullbars = $225+3 points.
Do'nt ya just love this state.
Bazza.
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:36
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:36
You might hurt someone in the city when your driving down the footpath with a defective bullbar!!! ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:53
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:53
Yeah that 3.5 tonne patrol is going to do a lot less damage to the magna with the correct antenna mount on the bullbar! LOL
What a load of crap!
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:56
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:56
Oh yeah!
Can you imagine running two aerials, fishing rod holders and spot lights protruding, I think you'd cause at least 5k more damage in a 40k/h accident!
Follow Up By: Chris (W.A.) - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 21:43
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 21:43
At least it would target these morons in holden utes that stick those Mack truck bullbars on the front for show which are totally unnecessary.
As for the Hoon laws it can't be that bad!! Last count only six people have had there cars impounded since the laws came in several weeks ago.
With all the cars on the roads I'm pretty sure the coppers must be using their discretion.
It's pretty easy, don't do burnouts, don't do 45kms over the limit etc. It's not an excuse to say, "He's only a
young fella, give him a second chance." Think of all the times they got away with it let alone the ones getting scraped off the road as of the last 12 months.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:45
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:45
Would that be national?
And who says what a defective bullbar is? Our uncorrupt cops?
Follow Up By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:47
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:47
Nsw i heard yesterday...
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:46
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:46
Nah Truckster we don't have any corrupt cops... Your more likley to have some snotty nosed 21 year old who thinks he's king of the castle.
Like our stupid hoon laws here in WA they introduced. It doens't matter who owns the car, some dim witted little snotty nosed police officer can take it off them if "they" see fit. Even if little johny is drving dad's $90,000 land cruiser to the shops, if it's his third "hoon" offence (in any car) they can take it off you permantally, bye bye $90,000 for dad!
Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 18:41
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 18:41
I wonder how those plumbers get on with the pipe racks that are fixed to the bull bar that allow longer loads to be carried on the roof rack??
Reply By: Rob! - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:48
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:48
3 POINTS!! That means having a defective bullbar is as dangerous as running a red light and going more then 25km/h over the speed limit.
How can a bullbar be defective anyway?
R.
Follow Up By: Bazza - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:55
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:55
G'Day Rob,
Apparently, if any device or fixing ( spots, fishing rod holders, mounting brackets ect.ect ) is protruding past the furthest frontal section of a bullbar, the bar is concidered defective. How they prove it, or you disprove it, may be interesting.
Bazza.
Reply By: flappan - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:51
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:51
I think you will find , they can already ping you for fines , just not points yet.
Defective as in , Fishing Rod Holders , external aerial mounts , things like that.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:45
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:45
cow catchers????!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Michael (NSW) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:45
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:45
oopppps ,, forgot snow plough!!!
Reply By: navaraman - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:05
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:05
This type of revenue is easy to avoid. Don't drive defective vehicles, don't speed, don't
park illegally etc etc etc.
If you do any of the above you have to cop it sweet. The fines and points might
well be excessive but they are avoidable.
Follow Up By: Bob H - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:11
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:11
"this type of revenue is easy to avoid. dont drive defective vehicles"
More to the point, dont drive in N.S.W. EVER EVER
OR all residents of that state could/S H O U L D protest by writing/e-mailing the politicians about their extreme displeasure of the laws. Also the minister for police, justice dept etc etc. Flood govt with letters and e-mails, B U T the best way is to V O T E the ba....ds O U T OUT OUT OUT they go. elections are almost here. liven the ba....ds up and remind them that they work for us, the nation, N O T for themselves.
Sorry people, but i think im over my little spit now.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:50
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:50
Navaraman, That's a rediculous statement, when you are adjusting the volume of your stereo or have to go for a scratch you know where going down a
hill and get your photo taken, I'll be laughing at you.
Also this means my new CDMA antenna I put on my nudge bar makes it deffective because I used a dick smith bullbar bracket but had to use it upside down because otherwise it hits the bumber, what a load ofbleep.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:52
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:52
Oh sorry, I just looked at your rig specs, you have a naturally aspirated diesel, probally does'nt even go the speed limit down
hill! LOL (Only joking!)
I forgot to add when the kids are fighting in the back etc etc etc.
Follow Up By: navaraman - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 15:20
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 15:20
You're right about the navara being slow, even downhill I'd be lucky to even reach the limit.
I've had my share of speeding tickets, (5 in total) they are a pain in the a**e but I have to accept that I was going too fast and pay the fine and get on with it. The last one also incurred 3 demerit points (60 in a 50 zone 100m before it went back to 60) believe me the 3 points have slowed me down more than all the previous fines put together. We could debate all day what limits should be, the legality of various mods etc. I'm happy to accept that if I break the law , and get caught, I'll cop the penalty. Maybe I should just try harder not to get caught next time.
Reply By: Skinny- Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:24
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 13:24
Yeah Bazza, you got love em. Did you see the new fig's on 4x4 25% of new cars
I hope these sorts of laws are to slow down the armour plated mums who drive the 4x4 to and from school and never leave the tar. They threaten other kids safety with double
parking at schools speeding around schools and most of them have the spacial concepts of wombat, all while keeping thier kids safe inside.
I drive an 80 series so speed is not an issue for me but once again it is not the tool but
the nut behind the wheel.
Perhaps people should have to actually get their truck dirty to justify a bull bar.
Now 4x4 are trendy and to feel ok some people must have one of everything we will see more and more people with more money than cents option up the family bus and drive it around the cities. option for performing where. Thats like wearing a snowsuit in
the desert ????
The new law or change of the old could probably be a loop hole that they can outlaw bullbars in the future.
Well that feels better, sorry for the cranky mood, i have better read the fri funnies.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:58
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 14:58
Skinny, how is targeting thing's like CB antennas and fishing rod holders going to slow down the use of 4wd's for dropping kids off!? My missus uses are 4wd to drop the kids off, and I laugh as it is usally muddy and scratched. We take them to a private school for reasons of our own choice but there a lot of wealthy people who also take their kids there with the big 4wd's, no bullbars, highway tyres all shinny and clean so I can't see strict bullbar laws worrying them at all, it's only the poor bastards who actually use the vehicles for what they were intended that get picked on.
Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 17:08
Friday, Sep 24, 2004 at 17:08
It sounds like another Keating,,, if he had his way he would tax the 4WD's of the road, so they start at the bull bar and work to the back of the car,
Clive
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 14:19
Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 14:19
This sought of law is passed into legislation and then enforced by people who know they will never be affected by it (they manage to get off through their contacts). Sadly, if the law was administered by reasonable police it might be OK, but I've struck police in NSW who carry on like the Gestapo - swaggering around in those Nazi style leather caps etc and acting like they are juiced up on speed (and probably were). They have a long way to go before I'll trust them - which is sad because I know many of them are quite reasonable. Unfortunately, road laws are serious business because we rely on them to protect us from dangerous drivers - as it is they are used to hit certain groups and collect revenue.