things to look for in a 2nd hand camper

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:19
ThreadID: 16658 Views:2714 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Hi there people!!

If you could help me out this would be great. We have 3 children 5, 7 and 11 and we are keen to get into the camper trailering scene. We have a 80 series base model diesel cruiser, fitted with RSJ 2000 suspension (i think) (husband would know). So we want to buy a 2nd hand camper to make sure we really are going to enjoy it. Finances are very tight (isn't everyone's at this stage in life) Please tell me what to look for in a 2nd hand camper. We have looked at a few and my husband has been put off because the canvas doesn't look pristine. I am sure there is more to choosing one than picking one that looks clean. Any help would be great? our budget is about $4 - 5K at present. i hope i don't sound like too much of a newbie 4x4 driving is a part of our everyday life having family with properties at Wanaaring and Goodooga (most of you would know about the famous Wanaaring Rd) so a trailer with good suspension would be helpful. anyway i am in your hands. thanks and cheers

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:33

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:33
G'day

Having just returned from a trip to the Cape I would have to say hot dip galv would have to be 1st priority, if possible. We met up with a couple from Vic on our travels who had a painted job. Upon their return it was a surface rust bucket, having been shot blasted. On the other hand our's (galv) was in relatively pristine condition.

Forget about a tad of dust on the canvas. As was stated in an earlier post .. it should be worn as a badge of honour by those who actually get out there and do it.

Next point should be the suspension .. heaps of arguments here either way. But regardless .. go for a seriously solid job. It will pay off in the long run.

Now for the bad news ... unfortunately I don't like your chances of picking up anything too flash for $4-5K. They all hold their value quite well, but happy hunting.

AnswerID: 78280

Follow Up By: banjobush - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:43

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:43
thanks for the quick reply - it doesn't have to be flash. Jus to be able to tide us over for 2 years until we become rich (i am planning on getting a rather large inheritance JOKING). no just until we are sure this is what the kids will like thats all. thanks.
FollowupID: 337847

Reply By: Rowler - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:54

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 22:54
If it is just to see if they all like it....
Why not hire one a couple of times, you could find out for a couple of hundred & try different types along the way.

We hired one for a weekend & bought that type the next month.

Cheers Rowler (dave) SA
AnswerID: 78281

Reply By: banjobush - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 23:13

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 23:13
Hi again,

if we hire one for a couple of weekends that would be about $400 - $600 bringing down our budget for a second hand one. Sounds thrifty i know, but if i know what to look for in a 2nd hand one maybe i will find a bargain!!!!!! i have seen a couple of 2nd hand dingo's on your web site over the last month or so!!!!

thanks again cheers!!!!
AnswerID: 78285

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 23:40

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2004 at 23:40
Hi. We are more caravan people than camper trailer types but we have seen a lot of camper trailers, including a few that that have not 'made it home'.

You may never wish to 'do' Cape York but when we did in 2002, there were several so-called off-road camper trailers that had to go back to Cairns on the MV Trinity Bay (freight ship) because they were no longer towable.

Despite the look of the canvas, go for something that has the strongest, toughest looking suspension. If the axle, springs, etc. look just like you would see on a 'for hire' small box tralier at the local servo, give it a big miss. Huge chunky leaf springs or coil springs and shock absorbers don't necessarily mean a well-designed suspension but at least you have a better chance of buying something robust.

In this market, where there are loads of different makers, word-of-mouth is probably the best guide - if you don't want to hire to try different types, can you perhaps go 'tenting' a few times and talk to different trailer owners?
FollowupID: 337848

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 00:25

Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 00:25
When i was looking a bloke was selling his second hand ct only 6mths old for $2.5k less than he paid. So I figure that his 1-2 trips cost him that much. If you find you dont like it you only loose youre hire cost.

I hired a gps b4 I bougth 1 & dicided on diferent features (better modle) than what I hired. so it was cost efective for me.
FollowupID: 337974

Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 06:49

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 06:49
If you are located in Vic' there is a guy in Ballarat who sells 2nd hand campers, often has off-road models in your price range, can find a number if you like
Rolande
AnswerID: 78290

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 07:59

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 07:59
Click hereand a more help will be on hand. I just finished building a kitchen for my camper, there are also campers for sale in the trader section on this forum, click on trader at the top of the page.

AnswerID: 78294

Reply By: flappan - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 08:48

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 08:48
Quick question first . . . What do you mean by "Camper".

A Campertrailer , or say an older Jayco Style Pop Up Trailer (Canvas on either end) ?

If its the Jayco style , there are a number of places around that sell decent 2nd hand Vans in that budget. Its a bit hit and miss though. These are most definently NOT offroad trailers.

If you talking about CT's , then , two ways to go I guess.

Trading post, Ex Rentals , etc . . . could see you in that budget.

Another alternative would be to buy a barebones Campertrailer , and build on it , at your leisure.

Where I bought my CT from, Simon Heard in Shepparton in Vic , he has brand new units from about $5000 . . . My fairly well optioned up offroad one , cost me $7500. We have 4 teenage kids.

I think there are a couple of other Vic CT makers , like that , Tambo being one.
AnswerID: 78296

Follow Up By: banjobush - Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:01

Thursday, Sep 30, 2004 at 16:01

i mean a trailer type camper, initially i thought about the jayco style - however apart from the $$$$$$$ from reading previous posts i think even an offroad jayco type wouldn't be able to handle my parents road on the other side of Wanaaring.

i would love to know the phone number of the person in vic who sells 2nd hand campers.

thanks again and cheers
FollowupID: 337909

Reply By: banjobush - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 22:18

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2004 at 22:18
hellooooo,

its me again!! Just thought i would update you on our camper trailer searching adventures!!........Well it has been put to a huge hault ...because over the weekend whilst i was driving husband's cruiser ute home from town with a load of mushroom mulch it started making a huge tapping noise....hence after several quotes of between $3k - $5K we have decided not to purchase a camper trailer for the time being *sob* . So thanks for your help. Isn't it always the way! cheers and i will continue to learn from you guys
AnswerID: 79135