Human Nature...........

Submitted: Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 21:13
ThreadID: 16787 Views:3340 Replies:19 FollowUps:9
hi all,,,,well i got bogged today-well and truely bogged that is.
been camped up at Wedge Island (W.A.) for the long wekend, did a quick run down the beach to Lancelin yesterday to check condition of beach, decided to go as far as Narrow Neck, then head inland.
this morning, with camper in tow, we headed off. anyhow-upon reaching a softish section of the track that i had marked as having to take the hightrack, i had to drop down closer to the waterline as there were a few lovely twits parked on the high track. the result was a nissan and jayco camper sitting on there bellies. :(:(.
this leads me to the human nature bit.
my undying thanks to the dozen or so 4by drivers who had great pleasure in roaring past, not bothering to stop.
to the twits who parked on the high track, may your 4by's fall apart in front of your eyes.
to the mongrel who flew past us on the ocean side-drowning the interior of the nissan in salt water and sand.....i know your rego.......Do Not Ever Expect Assistance From Me....!
to the driver of a blue 100 series landcruiser with an ExploreOz sticker on the back window.......get stuffed moron.

to the driver of a white Rangie and his girlfriend,,,,my most heartfelt thanks that you stopped and offered your assistance,,,,,ever need help,,,,just ask,,,i'll be there for ya.
the elder gentleman who appeared out of mowhere,,,,my thanks to you as well kind sir,,,,
finally,,,to the 4x4 recovery man,,,,,,,you taught and old dog a few new tricks today..my thanks to you also.

rick.

Reply By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 21:36

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 21:36
Reminds me of when we were in Broome. Someone had parked their 75 series ute on CAble beach and gone off somewhere. The rising tide began pounding into the back of the car. This is when we came along and saw many people looking at this car get pounded by the surf. We stopped and asked what was going on and everyone looked blank. Someone said that they thought the fellow had gone for a walk and that they couldn't move the car for him because the handbrake was on and the car was locked.

I saw the drivers window was down about 15mm, just enough to get 8 fingers between the gap. An almighty pull down saw the window go about halfway down( I think I did some damage to the window regulator). I hooked my snatch strap onto the car and someone hopped intp the uta and it was dragged to a safer area.

All of those people there with 4wd were happy to sit there and watch some poor buggers car get ruined.

The owner of the car returned and didn't really even say thankyou.

I felt good all the same ... Makes you wonder though.
AnswerID: 78824

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:32

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:32
It's a worry isn't it! You can see why some people aren't happy with 4wder's on the road because they are sedan drivers on stilts. They have no idea about 4wd recovery etiquette and that true aussie spirit of lending a hand!
FollowupID: 338287

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 21:40

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 21:40
Very sad Rick,

Human decency and helping your fellow man is quickly becoming a thing of the past. If you wait long enough you will find some fine people, as you eventually did.

It happened to me about ten years ago on Fraser when I ripped the axle off the trailer. Many passed and eventually a couple of decent blokes stopped and helped. Got me out of a lot of trouble.
AnswerID: 78826

Follow Up By: Terry - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:54

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:54
Have to agree with Jimbo

Not so long ago I was injured and trapped under a piece of heavy earthmoving equipment on a road shoulder.There`s dust and smoke coming off the machine and in clear view of the road in agony I watched 4 cars slow down have a bit of a look and keep driving despite the fact I`m waving and yelling and carrying on trying to get their attention.Afer 15 minutes an undertaker on his way to a funeral pulled up to give me a hand.....never been so glad to see a hearse pull up in all my life

Terry
FollowupID: 338257

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:46

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:46
Terry Nah, the undertaker was only scouting for another job.
Just jokin but the old fashioned way of giving someone a hand sadly has long gone. Too many self centred mongrels in this world now.
FollowupID: 338290

Follow Up By: Terry - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:46

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:46
Yeah he had a pen, notepad and a tape measure in his shirt pocket.
He said he was an undertaker and I said I wasn`t dead yet, he looked at his watch and said Oh I got 5 minutes.lol
After he rung emergency services there were cars pulling up left right and centre so he got going to the funeral.But apparently he came back 2 hours later to see if I was still there.He would have had a bit more room in the back of the hearse .lol
FollowupID: 338359

Reply By: D-Jack - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:07

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:07
Rick

I thought part of the fun of 4wding was to get people out of bogs or sticky situations. Obviously not. And so much for the 4wd mateship let alone Aussie comradery. Oh well, I'll continue to keep an eye out for others stuck and help them out (except for the one that drenched your car and the 100 series with EO sticker).

P.s. Why not post the rego of the vehicle that drenched your interior. You're not doing anything illegal, just stating fact.

P.S.S Maybe the owner of the 100 series with the EO sticker will want to respond with a plausible excuse, like the accellerator was stuck or maybe something more substantial like the ice was melting and the stubbies were getting warm. MORON
AnswerID: 78840

Reply By: Member - Fay D Away (Vic) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:20

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:20
RICK
I am glad you vehicle was'nt a statistic

what did you learn from "the 4x4 recovery man,,,,,,,you taught an old dog a few new tricks today..my thanks to you also. "

As an old (well not to old) young dog I am always after an edge on statistics

AnswerID: 78842

Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:23

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:23
Sorry to hear all this,

Myself have great pleasure in stopping to help a fella 4wder , as I hope the same will happen to me when in need, Its great to stop help them out, then chin wag for a while making new friends exchanging 4WD ideas, as for the EO driver, yes I would love to hear his excuse.

Blue 100 series landcruiser with EO sticker on the back,, good firmly planted in the grey matter

Clvie
AnswerID: 78843

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:47

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 22:47
Your next post !!!

Spotted EO sticker on Blue 100 series at Lancelin (WA)

yes there are some morans about.
AnswerID: 78847

Reply By: Member - Mark (VIC) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 23:38

Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 23:38
Very sad to hear. Having a quick look at the member's rig pages doesn't show many people that own a blue 100 series. But then again, it could have been a vehicle that a member owned previously and had sold it with the sticker still on it.
AnswerID: 78855

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 07:32

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 07:32
trouble being that you don't need to be a member to get an Exploroz sticker as if you buy enough goodies thru the shop you'll get a sticker included.
FollowupID: 338271

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 00:55

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 00:55
Came across someone stuck in the deep mud alongside the sealed road to Nymagee, furiously trying to hand-winch his fourby out of the sticky stuff. Stopped and offered to pull/snatch him out but he declined! Twenty minutes later as I came past again he was still at it - heaven knows what he was doing and how he got into it in the first place: must have been wanting to practice on his winch...
AnswerID: 78859

Reply By: Yeah Mate - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 04:26

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 04:26
Hi Rick,

Learnt a valuable lesson up there myself a few years back, don’t go there weekends, long weekends or holidays, place is full of weekend warriors and morons. Yeah we camped just north of Cevanties at Hill river on a long weekend, and I didn’t want to go the long why home (Brand hwy) so I cut through the tracks at Wedge. Had A few close calls with a few of these d!#kheads, one springs to mind, a dude in an 80 series, no flag, fanging along on the track like it was the freeway. Me just approaching the crest of this track when nobbo comes flying over the crest sees me, and just locks it up, I take evasive action and go bush, he skids past giving me the stare of a thousand deaths. Yes I was glad to get home in one piece.
AnswerID: 78862

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 08:01

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 08:01
I really don't understand,

a) why people drive thinking they are the only ones on the road / track.

Would love to put them up on the forrestry logging tracks over this side of the continent to see how long they would last.

b) what ever has happened to that Aussie spirit of giving anyone in trouble, a helping hand.

I know there are many great and wise old Aussies out there, but so many others seem to be in so much of a hurry - to where ?
AnswerID: 78869

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:34

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 15:34
to die?
FollowupID: 338378

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:01

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:01
I always try to help people if they are bogged . Good practice and i lend my shovel out for free . What goes around comes around . Rickwagupatrol take comfort in knowing there are still a few good blokes around .
AnswerID: 78878

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:33

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:33
Welcome to the 21st century...

You should post the Rego of the prick with the EO sticker.
AnswerID: 78888

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:47

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:47
Yeah i'll second that !!!!!!
FollowupID: 338309

Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:35

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 09:35
The Australian culture has changed. There is a lot of 'me first' and 'in your face'.

But then have a look at the examples continually being set by the smug, self-centered, grasping and irresponsible horses' asses of politicians and CEOs we have in in this country.

Some people say that a culture is set from the top down. Maybe we should regularly change the top to help the bottom (I am referring to all parties).
AnswerID: 78891

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:48

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 10:48
Rick,

I gave my opinion on this very subject earlier this year and got some interesting responses.
AnswerID: 78903

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:09

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:09
Damm Wombat, that thread looked like a world of fun...
FollowupID: 338332

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:15

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:15
It sure sorted the nuff nuffs from the real Aussies.
FollowupID: 338333

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:15

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:15
Hey Rick

I believe in helping anyone who needs it, one day i will need it and hopefully some one i once helped will come along, i bloody hope so anyway. Itbleeptz me to tears when people just drive by pretending nothing is wrong or look the other way. You see it everyday on the roads. Satisfaction is when you get out of trouble only to find the poeple who drove past stuck a few k's up. That is when you pull out the chairs and a few beers and watch.
AnswerID: 78907

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:53

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 12:53
Yeah, it's terrible up there on a long weekend, I try to stay clear of Lancilen when it's along weekend, it's bloody dangerous. Went up there earlier in the year for a day trip on a long ender and thought I was on a major highway while stopped on the beach. Easy to say this too, but I would like to think I would have helped you out! If you had a been up at Sawyers I could of got you to help tow my surf back onto it's wheels (almost!!) LOL
(see new rig pic).
AnswerID: 78913

Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:36

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:36
thank you all for your replies.
as a side note,,,,,,about 15k south of lancelin, we came across a older couple in there rice burner that had a water leak.
5 liters later and they were on the road again, taking it easy,,,,with another three litres of water, just in case they needed it, even tho the water was buried in the camper, and the missus had to go looking for it.
so even tho we were,,,annoyed with all those who drove past us,,,i still believe that not to help is just bad karma..........

rick.
AnswerID: 78960

Reply By: Member Eric - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:57

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 19:57
stopped on the Hwy back from Strady last year to help someone in a broken down HQ panelvan. My brother in law , jumped out and asked why i was stopping to help , when he got closer he saw why lol 2 20 yr old girls in bikini . As If I wasnt going to stop lol
AnswerID: 78966

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:25

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 22:25
Of course it was a lr owner to the rescue again. ;-))

Once had a ' insert common make here ' owner say to my wife after he stood by watching while we were snatched out of a bog, "ahh.. with our ' insert make here again ' we have never had to use our straps, they're still new".

My very clever better half immediately responded, " No... I'd guess that's because you have never offered to help anyone!" :)))

if you want to really know about mateship read the book ANZAC.
(and you'll never make fun of the Kiwi's again.)

I think the human nature problems have increased with the increase in litigation issues (yanks again!)......every man for himself. But, in every crowd will be a mix.

John C

AnswerID: 79003