Safe age to take baby 4wding
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 09:47
DP
I sit here with my 12 day old son in my arms waiting patiently for him to settle back to sleep, in a way that only a new Dad who has slept through the night time feeds can.
Which leads me to ask: what is a safe age to take
young Cooper for a ride in the 4wd?
By this I mean a relatively easy trip down a bumpy track or along a
sandy beach Eg;
Goolwa S.A.
My current thinking is that when he is strong enough to support his head he should be ready to tackle some mild terrain?
As there are plenty of 4wd families out there, any advice or past experiences with this would be appreciated.
DP
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 10:11
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 10:11
IMHO, min is to wait till as you say they can support their head, + few weeks for safety..
Is it worth the risk not to wait a month or 3?
YMMV
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 10:27
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 10:27
Guy I know has twins, and by the time they were 6 weeks old, they had been 4wding in the high country in Vic 4 weekends in a row.
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 10:52
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 10:52
G'day DP
took my first born to Craigs Hut for her first taste when she was 10 months. I prefered to wait until her head control was pretty spot on. When she started to go really nuts in the jolly jumper, I figured it was time.
Blue
Follow Up By: DP - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:03
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:03
Thanks Blue - I'll rig up that jolly jumper ASAP!! LOL
Reply By: Andrew M - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:21
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:21
We took our baby 4wding from about 2 months old. She was in a rear facing baby
seat in a very reclined position (just about lying down), so head control was not a big deal. She is now 12 months old and sitting upright, but we have an inset for the baby
seat which holds her head fairly steady.
She loves 4wding and will happily fall asleep whilst bouncing along.
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:35
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 11:35
Have you read the info in - TOPIC SEARCH - Trips with Kids. There is info broken down in 0-6 mths 6-12mths etc. We have taken our kids away at around 6 months on long duration trips and all the info on this and some submitted by others is loaded in the Topic Search section.
Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:05
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 12:05
Gidday DP,
Firstly, congratulations and welcome to the world little Cooper.
We took our son all around the
Pilbara when he was 4.5 months old, and our daughter was 3.5 months old when we did the Murchison-Gascoyne outback earlier this year. I think the main concern is bub's head and ensuring that it's
well supported. Baby capsules/seats etc are all rear facing and come with over the shoulder harnesses so they are pretty
well secured body-wise. We bought a unit with plenty of padding and also came with removable inserts for head, shoulder and hip support (which are removed later as they get bigger). Even so, when our two were newborns there was still plenty of potential for their heads to move around. I placed a rolled-up cloth nappy around their heads so it was resting on either side of their ears and around the top of the head (picture an upside down U). You can also buy a similar thing from baby shops and Big W etc for about $5. The only problem with all this padding is that bub can get a bit hot so keep the AC on.
As far as what age,
well that's really a personal decision based on what you're comfortable with. Some bubs have pretty good head control from very early on, others can be several months old before they get the hang of it. A little tip here is that you can promote better head control by giving bub plenty of tummy time. It encourages them to turn and lift their heads to see what's going on.
BTW, we've always found that the rougher the track, the happier the kids seem to be. In fact, the more they seem inclined to go to sleep. We've often marvelled at how they could possibly sleep when the vehicle is rocking and rolling and jolting over some rough as guts goat track. But I swear it's the truth. On our last trip after nearly two weeks on almost exclusively gravel roads and bush tracks, we finally hit the bitumen heading for home and our 3 yr old complained and asked if we could go back on the dirt LOL.
:o) Melissa
Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 13:32
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 13:32
All of ours started at about 10-12 weeks and then continued for the rest of their lives.
Grandparents were complaining when he spent the first one crossing the Simpson!
Our son now 20 used to complain that he never had any birthdays at home (1st july) and when he was 16 had had only two at home.
But he has had two at
Neale Junction, 1 at
Lake Caroline (northern simpson) several in the Kimberleys, two in Arnhem Land, 3 or 4 in the simpson somewhere, Alice, South western WA, SA, gulf. Appreciates it now though.
Reply By: Peter - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 14:57
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 14:57
we took our daughter from gove to
darwin when she was 7 months,no problem had plenty of provisions,and radio etc in case
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:14
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 16:14
DP, I'm glad you asked this question as it is one of much debate in our household at the moment, our little girl is due any time now and Dad wants to get back to the bush ASAP! :-)
Congratulations, and tell us how you go when you take him for his first outing, I'd be interested to find out!
Follow Up By: DP - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:08
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:08
Jeff & Mrs Jeff,
good luck with the birth of your little girl. Lots of emotion for one day that's for sure!
At this stage I think we have a bit of a wait on our (my) hands, but look forward to our first family outing all the same. I'll try to remember to fill you in with how we go.
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:00
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 20:00
DP,
With plenty of love and care, they can start any time.
Our 2nd daughter, now 22, and working at Cooinda Resort in
Kakadu, was resident in a
tank sinking
camp in western Qld, when she was 4 weeks old. Admittedly she had a very doting Grandma there for a couple of weeks. but most of the time she was nursed, when it was time to shift
camp.
Probably scarey to think of it now, with all the capsules and like available, but a bit of care is worth heaps, when you compare the people that let their kids stand on the
seat, unrestrained, when in suburbia.
hooroo...
Reply By: DP - Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:12
Thursday, Oct 07, 2004 at 21:12
Thanks to all for their adcvice and passing on past experiences. All is greatly appreciated.
At this stage I will definitely wait a couple of months until Cooper is able to support his own head weight with good control. Surely this will keep Mum a bit happier and allow Dad to get on with the fun stuff. LOL
Thanks again to all.
DP
PS: and no he's not named after the tyre brand (or beer) either!
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:32
Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 08:32
You should note recent comments about Coopers not lasting the distance :-)
I can imagine subsequent kids being called Michelin, Simex, Kumho. Still, better named after a tyre than a car (Prado, Musso, Toerag etc)
Reply By: D-Jack - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:21
Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:21
DP
We've got a 3 month old girl. You can get head support pillows from baby shops. they squeeze into the capsule and support them around their neck, so that it will not turn or throw from side to side. Baby loves it too, can't keep her awake even during her awake time. Sand should be no problems, the Sky Trek in Flinders was a bit rough with the large rocks but the pillow supports their heads nicely. If you can't find one at a
shop easy to make one, just make sure it goes around their neck and if their head should turn it's not high enough to block their mouth.
Congratultions
D-JACK