nissan spare parts complaint

Submitted: Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 21:44
ThreadID: 16904 Views:10023 Replies:15 FollowUps:18
Got this today, thought it was worth passing on, with some #$% editing added ;-).

JARROD BYRNE
UNDERGROUND MAINTENANCE PLANNER
BOUNTY GOLD MINE, MT HOLLAND
FORRESTANIA, WESTERN AUSTRALIA
TEL (090) 394 527 FACSIMILE (090) 394 528

NISSAN MOTOR CO (AUSTRALIA) PTY. LTD.
C/O 244 WELSHPOOL RD, WELSHPOOL
W.A. 6106

ATTENTION: MR NEVILLE GREEN, GENERAL MANAGER - NATIONAL PARTS

DEAR SIR,
I WOULD LIKE TO BRING TO YOUR ATTENTION SOME SERIOUS FAULTS IN NISSAN MOTOR CO. IN REGARD TO PARTS AVALIABILITY, LEAD TIMES AND PRICING.
CURRENTLY AT THIS MINE WE HAVE A NISSAN W40 CIVILIAN BUS THAT WE CANNOT USE TO TRANSPORT STAFF TO AND FROM THE MINE. THE REASON THIS BUS IS NOT OPERATIONAL IS NOT LABOUR OR CONDITION RELATED, IT IS BECAUSE OF A DENIAL ON THE PART OF YOURSELF AND NISSAN MOTOR CO. TO ADEQUATELY SUPPLY YOUR CLIENTLE WITH PARTS. I GIVE YOU THE EXAMPLE OF THE FOLLOWING ITEMS;

ITEM PART NUMBER QUANTITY BEGGED FOR
NUT NI-01211-00221 10
WASHER NI-40208-82100 10
SEAL-OIL NI-48252-32100 2
WHEEL RIM NI-40800-99071 2
DRUM BRAKE NI-40206-T8100 2
HUB BOLT NI-40222-J5625 10
BRAKE SHOES NI-43060-T9627 1
NUT NI-40224-J5610 10
NUT NI-48226-J5610 10

OF THESE I TRIED TO PURCHASE, ONLY 3 ARE AVALIABLE IN W.A.. IT STRETCHES THE BOUNDS OF CREDULITY THAT ITEMS SUCH AS WHEEL NUTS ( A CONSUMABLE IN MOST OF THE KNOWN WORLD ) ARE AVALIABLE WITH A LEAD TIME OF 4 DAYS-EX EAST. WHAT RESOUNDINGLY SNAPS THE BOUNDS OF CREDULITY CLEAN IN HALF IS THAT ITEMS SUCH AS BRAKE SHOES ARE EX JAPAN ( 6 WEEKS ). I CANNOT DENY THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THESE COMPONENTS, THEY NOT ONLY SLOW THE BUS DOWN, THEY HAVE THE ABILITY TO STOP IT STONE F$%&ING DEAD FOR 6 WEEKS! I DIDN'T EVEN BOTHER ENQUIRING AVALIABILITY ON SUCH COMPLICATED PARTS SUCH AS WASHERS ETC-THE ONLY WASHERS IN STOCK WOULD BE -WASHER? WIND F@#$ OUT OF THIS CUSTOMER AND TELL HIM IT'S EX EAST.

ON THE RARE OCCAISION WE HAVE BEEN DELIVERED PARTS WITHIN AN ACCEPTABLE TIME PERIOD, THEY HAVE BEEN ENTIRELY WRONG.IT IS NOT THAT THE WRONG PARTS ARE ORDERED, IT IS THAT SOME OF YOUR PARTS INTERPRETERS ARE SO GREEN I COULDN'T SET THEM ON FIRE WITH PETROL.

THESE ARE NOT ISOLATED INCIDENTS, THEY OCCUR EVERY TIME WE TRY TO PURCHASE PARTS, FROM $10.00 HOSES, AT $104.94 EACH , THROUGH TO INTERNAL GEARBOX COMPONENTS THAT ARE SECOND ONLY TO THERMONUCLEAR WARHEADS IN THEIR CAPACITY TO ANNIHLATE ALL THAT SURROUNDS THEM.
IT IS ASTOUNDING THAT IN THIS DAY OF INTERSTATE AIR AND ROAD TRANSPORT AT LEAST 6 TIMES PER DAY, YOU PEANUTS TAKE 4 DAYS TO GET A PART ACROSS THE COUNTRY. MAY I SUGGEST YOU STOP FREIGHTING THE PARTS WITH NISSAN TRANSPORT VEHICLES AS THE 3 WEEK DELAY IN NISSAN'S 24 HOUR ROADSIDE ASSIST IS BECOMING TOO MUCH FOR US TO BEAR.

I COULD ELABORATE FURTHER ON THE COMPLETE FRUSTRATION I FEEL FROM TRYING TO KEEP THIS BUS ON THE ROAD SAFELY. SUFFICE TO SAY THE BUS DRIVER NOW HAS A FIRM BELIEF IN THE AFTERLIFE AND WE HAVEN'T RULED OUT DANGER MONEY FOR THE POSITION.

PLEASE DON'T GET ME WRONG, I COULD HANDLE THE FIRST 35 INSTANCES OF BEING F!@#ED AROUND, ( THE APOLOGETIC KISS FROM CUSTOMER SUPPORT WAS ALWAYS WELCOME ). NOW THAT YOUV'E TURNED IT INTO A BIZARRE FORM OF SADO-MASOCHISM COMPLETE WITH SCRATCHING AND BITING, I FEEL I HAVE TO COMPLAIN.......

I LOOK FORWARD TO DISCUSSING EVERY SINGLE FRUSTRATING EVENT OF THE PAST 8 MONTHS WITH YOU.

I SINCERELY HOPE YOU *&%TS NEVER BUILD PLANES

YOURS IN UTTER AMAZEMENT,

JARROD BYRNE

CC.
MR JOHN COSTELLO MANAGER,FLEET AND SPECIAL MARKETS, NISSAN AUSTRALIA
MR BRUCE ANDERSON MINE MANAGER, NORMANDY MINING
MR IAN BIRD U/G MANAGER, NORMANDY MINING
MR DEAN HUGHES U/G MAINTENANCE ENGINEER, NORMANDY MINING
MS JAN EVANS SITE SECETARY, NORMANDY MINING
MR ROBERT WHITING PURCHASING OFFICER, NORMANDY MINING
MR ANDREW MOSES OWNER, HOLLETON EARTHMOVING
MR PETER CUE OWNER, WORKFORCE PLANT HIRE
MR HARVEY KING REGIONAL MANAGER, MONADELPHOUS
MR ALEX COOPER DIVISIONAL MANAGER, MONADELPHOUS
MR RAY MILLER TECH. SUPPORT SUPERVISOR, MONADELPHOUS
MR REX ANDREWS CHIEF PURCHASING OFFICER, MONODELPHOUS
MR EDDY LOK MECHANICAL SUPERVISOR , MONODELPHOUS
MR JOHN ECKHART FABRICATION SUPERVISOR, MONODELPHOUS
MR PATRICK McKENNA STATE CONTRACTS MANAGER, ATLAS COPCO
MR TED CORDINA PERTH SERVICE MANAGER, ATLAS COPCO
MR GERRY O'CONNOR CONTRACTS SUPERVISOR, ATLAS COPCO
MR ALEC TYRELL CONTRACTS SUPERVISOR, ATLAS COPCO
MR MICHAEL GANT WORKSHOP SUPERVISOR - PERTH, ATLAS COPCO

AND

EVERY PERSON I TALK TO BETWEEN NOW AND WHEN I GET SOME SATISFACTION

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:04

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:04
What is the point of your post?
AnswerID: 79420

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:32

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:32
Hi Willem... Your number 1 photo....... What is happening and where is it taken?... Why are there cars parked around the place?...
Looks very interesting.....
How did the stt's handle these conditions?
FollowupID: 338835

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:47

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:47
The point of my post was to forward a funny letter, I didnt write the letter, i just passed it on, but obviously it has struck a nerve........
FollowupID: 338870

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:31

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:31
Boring,

Boring,

Boring.

Did if forget to metion you bore me?

And everyone else.
AnswerID: 79431

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:17

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:17
You did mention I bore you, but I think this is the first time you have admitted everyone else bores you too...........
FollowupID: 338877

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 16:10

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 16:10
hahahah GO I thought I knew THE biggest BLeEpStirrer but you have taken the Gold medal hahahahah

FollowupID: 338901

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:34

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:34
;-)
FollowupID: 339133

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:45

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:45
Has it finished yet?????? Wake me up when the dribble stops.
AnswerID: 79434

Reply By: mr diamond - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:58

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 22:58
now this is crap and should be removed.
AnswerID: 79436

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:18

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:18
I agree, why would you even bother posting a one line reply like that....
FollowupID: 338878

Reply By: Billowaggi - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 23:20

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 23:20
I actually think that this is quite typical and not just for Nissan parts. I have been 34 years in the motor repair business,18 self employed and the supply of the correct parts,on time and at a reasonable cost is a constant and on going problem. I lose many hours of productivity each week through incorrect parts supplied and freight delays.Please do not sneer at above post, just because you drive Nissans it affects all makes and adds much delay and many dollars to repairs costs.Part of the reason for the high hourly labour rate charged by mechanical repair shops is to try and recover lost productive time due to incorrect and delayed supply of spare parts.
Regards Ken.
AnswerID: 79438

Reply By: duncs - Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 23:59

Friday, Oct 08, 2004 at 23:59
Actually it has me a bit curious.

I want to know what the response was from Nissan.

Oh and is it copywright or can I make the necessary part number and date changes and use it when I next communicate with Nissan myself.

AnswerID: 79442

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 00:22

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 00:22
The point of the post is clear.

As for it being boring, well that goes to show the closed minds that read this forum and can't figure out what the issue is.

Why did you bother reading it let alone commenting if it's so boring ?
Boring is as Boring does.

Here is a very perplexed and frustrated commercial customer who is voicing their displeasure at the poor service that we have all no doubt experience in our life time from various companies and letting the world know about it.

Now let me count how many time we have had others post on this same subject !!!!!

Someone who had a vehicle dropped from a hoist recently.
Someone who had issues with some Jerry cans.
Someone who could not get a bull bar for a very uncommon and unpopular 4wd.

Need I go on.

AnswerID: 79445

Follow Up By: Bob H - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 01:09

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 01:09
Good on ya John. I feel that there is too many one eyed people around who fail to really get the point of the post.

FollowupID: 338848

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 06:29

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 06:29
Bob and John,

Don't you understand? The post is about Go Offroad stirring up Nissan owners. The content is immaterial, he will post anything anti Nissan that he can find.

Don't you think it's a little odd he never puts forward such incredibly important information about other manufacturers?

That's why it's boring.
FollowupID: 338850

Follow Up By: Flash - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 09:34

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 09:34
John,
Mr GO_OFFROAD is always and has always been anti- Nissan.

My Psychologost brother in law tells me it's his way of dealing with the disappointment that he doesn't own one!
Sounds reasonable to me.-- Ha!
FollowupID: 338861

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:50

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 11:50
Jimbo, your nothing but a straight out liar who posts rubbish to try and sway people to your way of thinking because you have a low self esteem.

Im sure plenty will remember my posts on 100 series A arms.

I simply passed on a funny letter, so if you have an issue, take it up with the writer of the letter, it has his contact details on it.
FollowupID: 338872

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 17:40

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 17:40
Actually Flash I would disagree with you.
Mr GO -Offroad has posted very worthy information on all brands of vehicle and I have enjoyed his technical expertise and information on all makes of vehicles.
Because he may post more information on issues with say "Nissan", does not lead me to the conclusion that he is or isn't biased toward this brand.
In context to his posts it does inform me that this brand does seem to have more issues with it's vehicles than perhaps other brands.
But to deny that Toyota or any other make is not without it's own issue's, would obviously be stupid also.

It does show me that Nissan owners on this forum do seem to be more sensitive to any contrary comment about their vehicles.

And further to your Brothers comments,
"My Psychologist brother in law tells me it's his way of dealing with the disappointment that he doesn't own one!"

I would think that this comment is better applied to posters like "Jimbo" who always has a comment to make about issues that he has no experience or understanding there off.

FollowupID: 338908

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:56

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 19:56
Hey John...you having a brainstorm?

I have come to the conclusion that GO OFFROAD does post a lot of crap and is even a worse stirrer than moi.

FollowupID: 338920

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 17:49

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 17:49
Darren and John,

You lads need to lighten up.

Insult me your heart's content, I won't bite back. I don't want to be seen as a schoolyard squabbler.

I'm just glad to be hear, happy to be alive, end of the line. (TW's).
FollowupID: 338994

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:36

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:36
Jimbo,
what you really mean is, you will post what you like, but if questioned on it, and cant back it up, you will not comment any further, more so than ust "not wanting to be seen as a school yard squabbler", if you did this more often before you posted at all, you may find it works even better.

And dont ever think any of my posts are serious ;-)
FollowupID: 339135

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 08:36

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 08:36
I saw the original letter that this text came from. I reckon it's anything but boring. It's bl**dy hilarious! The letter now sits framed on the wall of the Nissan Parts Manager. It's a gem IMO.

It's a great eaxmple of the lengths that we sometimes have to go to get the service or parts that we pay for. It's not just Nissan ( I own one plus a Cruiser, plus a Honda), it's all of 'em. Way overpriced parts, poor service and more often than not, way overserviced. By that I mean doing work that's not necessary. This has happened a lot to me lately and being an ex-mechanic I've wasted no time in telling 'em how bad they really are - particularly my Honda Accord.

If one wants to sit back and take it, then that just encourages them to keep taking you for granted. But I for one admire the guy that wrote the original.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 79458

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 17:26

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 17:26
"The letter now sits framed on the wall of the Nissan Parts Manager"

Is this a reflection of how serious this particular company takes it's customers ?
As idiots to hang on the wall and laugh at ?

I would be ashamed to display such a thing in pride of place in my business.

FollowupID: 338907

Reply By: Bob H - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:06

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:06
Jimbo,

My apolioliges mate, for a few moments I forgot that mr g......... was like that. my apologiges to anyone else who may have been offended by my words.

This forum is a great place and i really enjoy it for the information, chat and the phunnies. Lets keep it up and not be so one eyed about anything as this will spoil the forum for all.

AnswerID: 79476

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 17:59

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 17:59
No issue Bob,

G-O likes to stir up a bit of fun, but when he gets a bit back he gets rather nasty, see his attack on me below.

My dear od Dad taught if you are going to dish it out, be prepared to get it back, and don't complain when you do.

I won't trade insults with Darren (G-O) and John, I don't see the point.

FollowupID: 338996

Reply By: Davoe - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:45

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 12:45
I have had simular problems getting parts for 78s in Kalgoorlie so whats your point
AnswerID: 79480

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 13:11

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 13:11
see first reply........................
FollowupID: 338887

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:31

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 20:31
The point of the post is HUMOUR !!! you all remember humour don't you, well, don't you !!! jeesssus churist.

I have a sence of humour see look at my rig pic it's proof.
AnswerID: 79525

Reply By: Tritondriva - Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 22:26

Saturday, Oct 09, 2004 at 22:26
Keep it up GO OFFROAD, nothin wrong with posting that. It funny, and hilights some of the problems faced with finding replacement parts in remote regions.

I think those that bothered to answer with such negative comments are unfortunatly all too typical off the narrow minded no idea type of people that frequent forums like these.
The ones that dribble the most with the least experience are always the first to knock anyone that they perceive as being smarter than themselves.

Im always happy to be informed of anything new,or funny, or interesting, and if it doesnt interest me, I just overlook it, not bag the person who posted it.

AnswerID: 79536

Reply By: Member - Ray - Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:05

Sunday, Oct 10, 2004 at 18:05
I moved the mouse over the reply button about 10 times before replying because I thought why get involved in the "S###t fight" but what the heck. GET A LIFE SOME OF YOU BLOKES it's only a forum for opinions and help, not the bloody be all to end all.
Stop stabbing each other in the back and smile at the humour and digest the good info when it is offered.and ignore the crap when it is posted
AnswerID: 79598

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:39

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 18:39
Well done ray, I am getting a great laugh out of some of these replies, though some have needed more fuel to be added, some have been a reaction to a nerve that has been tapped ;-)
FollowupID: 339136

Reply By: Mark- Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:22

Monday, Oct 11, 2004 at 22:22
Very funny post. BTW, I own a Nissan. Some of the replies were good for a laugh as well.
AnswerID: 79825

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 07:27

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 07:27
I have to say it ain't just car parts etc that this could refer to.... I am a self-employed fridgie... a world wide leader in air conditioning products can supply me a split system, delivery Sydney to Gold Coast, 5 DAYS!!!!!!!!

Refrigeration Parts Wholesaler.... Brisbane to Gold Coast 2 DAYS.. I had this part installed in 5 hours including the return trip.

All this delay is mostly due to more "correct" procedures in creating paper trails, if your consignment goes missing they "might" know how to track it! (Not always, 13 years ago, a reputable transport firm whose name escapes me now "lost" $1500 worth of air con stuff from a semi between BrisVegas and Rockhampton. The load didn't change trucks... the driver did a stop halfway for a feed.... there was a big gap in the load at the other end!)

Oh... and G-O???? he has a right to post his stuff, even if the rest of us don't agree with it... we can always ignore him... I do! :-)
AnswerID: 79853