camper trailer plans
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 09:28
raazorj
i am considering constructing a camper trailer myself being a plumber quite competent with welding no probs with electrics not into sewing canvas.
Can anybody suggest a place to look for plans or anything that could help me on my way,anybody out there you may know that has done this that may help with some advice.
Reply By: fozzy - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 09:52
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 09:52
some camper trailer makers will sell you the canvas section to go on top of your own trailer if thats what you were after.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 09:57
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 09:57
Try searching the archives.. its been asked before a few billion times.
or go and hire a trailer or 2 for weekend, measure them up and make one.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:12
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:12
Agree with Trucky.
Hire one first and see what you like and don't like. That way, you won't make 100 changes and cost yourself more money!
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 13:30
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 13:30
Yep this is what we did we hired one when we went too Tassie in July and if your going to hire a trailer Tassie in winter is a good test, from -11 at Cradle Mt to 120 knot winds in
St Helens and driving rain in
Strahan it was tested and apart from the annex flapping that hard i thought we were going to takeoff, no probs.
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:24
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:24
Try this guy, i don't know what state your in so might not help but this guy puts his canvas on your trailer and he has good quality workmanship.
custom made to your trailer
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:41
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 10:41
Koala campers also do 'kits' that you can buy to mount on your box trailer/ute...
Reply By: TD6 - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:18
Reply By: Howard T - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:58
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2004 at 12:58
Dont know where you are located but gotta friend who has just had a kit made and installed for his trailer from Trackabout campers in Brissie. He seems pretty happy with the work and price.
Reply By: Member - Bear - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 00:30
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 00:30
send me your email and I will forward some plans I had drawn up on a CAT. I was getting quotes to have it built when I came across a Camper Trailer Hire/retail franchise for sale and I purchased the business which came with 5 new trailers!!
Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 20:10
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2004 at 20:10
Bear, could you please send me a copy of the plans you have as
well?
I'm a boilermaker/welder by trade so welding the trailer isn't going to be a problem for me.
My email addy is awill#@#melbpc#.#org#.#au (just remove the # symbols, trying to keep spam to a minimum.)
Regards Andrew.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:46
Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 15:46
Bear,
Could you email me a copy of your trailer plans as I am thinking of building a trailer. leighsmithATaanet.com.au (replace the AT with @)
Leroy