Info on two tyres

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 10:49
ThreadID: 17080 Views:2711 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Hi Folks,
I'm looking for info on two tyres, Yokahama SD05 and Pirelli S/T. I have read all the posts, but most posts are on more aggressive tyres or the ATs. I do mostly bitumen and sand, with the odd camping trip over gravel, no mountain climbing or pushing the limits. I have an earlier model Jackaroo and I'm looking to replace the Yokahama ATs for a tyre more suited to my use. I've been very happy with the Yokahama ATs and would use them again except for the last year the road noise has been off putting. Yes, I know I could turn up the radio, but I don't like my music that loud.

My concern over my choice of tyres is, next June I'm doing Brisbane to Alice, via Innaminka, Lake Eyre etc, but not the Simpson. I would like some feedback on how these tyres cope with gravel and would they get chopped up. After this trip I'll be back to bitumen and beaches.

Thanks in advance
Black Jack

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 12:45

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 12:45
For what you're looking to do have a look at TOYO Opats A/T. I've had a set for 8000 km. Happy so far, not brilliant in mud, quiet on road. Reputed to wear well. About $210 each.

AnswerID: 80426

Follow Up By: Black Jack - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 14:55

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 14:55
Jimbo,
I have looked at the OPATs. The Yokahamas and the Pirellis mention the directness of steering in their advertising. The steering of the earlier Jacks wasn't exactly brilliant, even when new, and with the worn Yokahamas it tends to wander on the highway. The trip to central Oz will still see a lot of bitumen and the tyre's tracking is a consideration. How do you find the OPATs on the open road?

Ta
Black Jack
FollowupID: 339767

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 15:39

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 15:39
Can't tell any difference between them and any road tyre and I'm talking compared to road tyres on conventional cars.

I've done a few highway trips, punting it through windy stuff and cruising at speed on freeways/highways and they're great.

FollowupID: 339770

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 15:05

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 15:05
Jack have a look at Olympic Overlanders. I've got them at the moment and for the type of driving you describe I reckon they are perfect. Quiet on road, great on sand and gravel roads. My ute is usually well laden and I've done about 30 000ks I think, and the wear is good, very even. I'm going to change them next year but that's because I'm doing a Simpsson and/or Flinders trip and want something a bit more aggresive.
AnswerID: 80429

Follow Up By: Black Jack - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 18:43

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 18:43
Navaraman,
I read one of your earlier comments about Overlanders when I was reading what had been said about tyres. I like what has been said and of course the price is right. My only concern was the only Overlander that fits the Jack is a 205/76/16. Not that the 205 is much narrower than the 225s I'm running now. Every salesperson has their pitch and I keep getting, "Go for the wider tyre." And yes both salesman do not sell Overlanders.

Its good to hear the Overlanders take the load and the the gravel. An earlier thread commented on how gravel chopped up their HT tyres on an inland trip. The tyres were bought just before going and were ruined by the time they got back.

Thanks mate
Jack
FollowupID: 339780

Reply By: Bob H - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 22:29

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 22:29
Black Jack

Whatever tyre you choose, make sure it is a light truck one with 8 or 10 ply. this will give a harsher ride probably but will also be a lot more puncture resistant off road.
I really dont like tyre comparos between h/t and a/t as the h/t are usually only about 4 ply rating and are not suitable for gravel/off road use .
also, be aware that some prices quoted on here are for 15 in and not 16 in

AnswerID: 80476

Reply By: dublediff - Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 23:40

Saturday, Oct 16, 2004 at 23:40
Black Jack, I had the SD05s fitted on a pathfinder a couple of years ago. Towed a golf camper van around the block the hard way - Gibb River Road, Gulf Track, did a lot of the gorges, West Mac and East Mac Ranges, Fraser Island, also may trips to the snow, you get the idea....highly recommend them. One staked going into Jim Jim Falls at Kakadu and one destroyed on the GRR going too fast with the camper on the back. Showed very little wear or chipping after that, and sold them with the car 20k later!
AnswerID: 80486

Reply By: Black Jack - Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 12:33

Sunday, Oct 17, 2004 at 12:33
Thanks all for your replies. All points taken on board and now I have to choose.
Jack
AnswerID: 80539