Where can I get a lockable tray (not canopy) suitable for Outbacking?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 08:19
ThreadID: 17179 Views:2750 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Hi guys,

Are there any trays out there suitable for going bush like this one for a Patrol Cab?

One of my reasons for considering a wagon over a ute was security but i'd rather change the tray when i get back then a whole vehicle...

Gareth

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:04

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:04
Any tray builder would be able to make that up. Just let your fingers do the walking.

Have a look at JohnR's GU Ute. He has a similar setup.
AnswerID: 80985

Follow Up By: gareth - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 17:47

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 17:47
yeah, i had a look at JohnR's... you'll never guess where i got the inspiration from (i believe i saw it in 4wd monthly or 4x4 aust. or something) :)
FollowupID: 340285

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 19:00

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 19:00
Gareth,

Our rig has never featured there actually. It is important to look at a few and get an idea on what parts you want to further develop. All systems have different ideas.

I sometimes like the look of a bed and tent on top as a quick setup but you have to take all the weight with you for a day trip which we don't.

I went to a metal shop for some aluminium today and one young guy spotted and called his mate for a look too. Every 18-20 year olds dream to take a king size bed away for the weekend to save driving her home...........
FollowupID: 340293

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 19:25

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 19:25
There is a contributor to '4x4 Australia' Neil Cocks. He had a very similar looking stretched GU ute. Sold it now though and has a F-250 for touring. I had to do a double take when I first saw JohnR's ute myself.
FollowupID: 340295

Follow Up By: gareth - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 19:41

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 19:41
yeah thats the one i was thinking of... page 37 of the oct issue (4x4aust)
FollowupID: 340297

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 20:26

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 20:26
Gareth we actually designed ours early last year and so that one had no influence on the design we have. We based some ideas on the design from the manufacturer who had been making tool boxes and then we added the Oztent to the side. It tends to give it a Bedouin nomadic look in some ways.

We can just unclip the tent off the top of the ute and drive back at the end of the day taking a minute to reconnect. Leave x kilos of gear there in secure conditions - or very insecure.

I believe that their gear is going all over now, including on a short tray on a shortened cab LC100 in Western Australia with a rooftop tent. There is always room for innovation.
FollowupID: 340299

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:31

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 09:31
Hi Gareth,
As truckster said mate....heaps of them in yellow pages. One word of advice though, dont cut back on the thickness of the sheet metal. Off roading will cause cracks if too thin. I just had some tool boxes specially made for my trailer. Had them dust sealed and all. Now its a pleasure to toss my stuff in them and take off. rather than spend hours trying to figure out where to put it all without damaging anything.
Good luck with it.
AnswerID: 80991

Reply By: pmacks - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 11:49

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 11:49
Gareth,
if you are in Sydney go see a company called brightweld, thay are at Kings park nsw ph 9676 7719 they do a lot of this type of work, the company i work for has just got three service bodies built by them all out of 3mm thick aluminium they can even make them remote keyless entry if you like and best of all you can have as much input to the design as you like. There web page is www.brightweld.com.au and there is a picture of a duel cab rodeo done with a similar back to the one you are looking for. We got ours done in mill finish but the checker plate would hide all the scratches.
hope this helps
pmacks
AnswerID: 80998

Reply By: crfan - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 12:37

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 12:37
I would try the Car yards that have traded in a vehical with one on it they will probaly swap for your tray as they can sell a ute with astandard tray quicker than one with a custom tray worth a try any way,
Have a guy in town here that wants to swap his but it is in West aust.
AnswerID: 81000

Reply By: Member - Murray C (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 16:24

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 16:24
G'day Gareth,
I am just completing the "truck pod" which will form the other part to the new outback hardfloor camper also nearing completion.
I am in Melbourne, don't know where you are, but I should have both prototypes completed by the end of the year and available for inspection.
The truck pod is a self contained unit that is designed to lift on and off the trayback as and when required. It is all aluminium frame and chequerplate aluminium panels and doors. The first one has a 120 litre stainless fridge freezer built into the pod. We intend to market models of the camper and the truck pod with or without our own brand fridges built in.
If you are interested I can give you further details of either the hard floor camper or the truck pod or both, via email.
They won't be cheap but they are rugged and are built to withstand the outback, ie. built for a purpose not a price!
Hope this helps,
Murray
AnswerID: 81015

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 18:24

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2004 at 18:24
Gareth
I have one on my rig, They are a good well made unit. Made it perth &
I think Melbourne. not cheap but well made and dust free inside.
Called Roscos trade mate.
cheers brian
AnswerID: 81025