Powering a lap top in the 4x4

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:05
ThreadID: 17253 Views:3459 Replies:17 FollowUps:26
Let me start by saying that I know stuff-all about computers. The one I'm using here is 5 years old and I've recently found out it hasn't got enough poke to run the software needed for a new Pentax digital camera I bought a couple of months ago. (That's why I could get the pic's to download/upload to the puter.

So, I've ordered my self a new Dell 510M laptop with 512Mb and 30 Gig of whatever etc. It's not here yet, but I think the only power it will have will be the 240volt set-up. I've gone back into their (krappy) website to see if there is a 12volt power supply, but there doesn't seem to be.

Can anybody else enlighten me as to whether there is likely to be a generic (eg: Tandy or DSE) 12 power supply or will I need to buy an inverter. If the latter (as I suspect will be the case), is there any power minimum and would it have to be a pure sine wave unit? Note; I know about the same about inverters as I know about 'puters!!!!

Thanks for any advice....

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:10

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:10
Roachie,

I run my Dell Precision M50 from a 300W Modified Sine wave inverter (Dick Smith brand). Works a treat. I haven't looked at a 12V solution for it yet.

What model Pentax is it?

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 81362

Follow Up By: Davoe - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:12

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:12
the shmbo,s at work use the same for theirs
FollowupID: 340589

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:04

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:04
Thanks Sam & Davoe for your valued response......more thinking to be done I guess.
Cya
FollowupID: 340603

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:06

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:06
What model Pentax have you got ?
FollowupID: 340605

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:18

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:18
Sam,
Sorry, I forgot to respond to your question earlier....
It's a small "30" something or other (it's in the bedroom at the moment where SWMBO is sleeping and I dare not go in except when it's time to hit the hay). I bought it a couple of months ago from Big W at Gawler for $198-. Great camera (I think), but I'm still trying to work out how to use it properly.......Annette reckons I shouldn't buy new fangled toys, cos I can never work out how to use them and then have to come on here and ask a whole bunch of dumb questions....LOLOL eg: we've got a Sony video camera in the cupboard....it's taken about 1 hour of video during it's approximate 6 years life span......something on the screen keeps blinking at us, then it dies. Battery was always flat whenever i went to use it (like about 6 months between attempts....hahaha)......if it ain't a 4 wheel drive, I probably can't drive it!!!!
FollowupID: 340608

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:15

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:15
Hi Roachie

I found some good advice earlier on this site about the same subject. As a result I went and bought a "Kerio" Energy Knight 1 from Dick Smiths. About $160. It allows you to select voltages between 15 and 24 Volt with a maximun output of 5 amps. It is designed specifically for notebooks and runs off cigarette lighter socket. It is compact unit and doesn't take up too much room like a 240V inverter. There may be cheaper versions available but I am happy with the performance of this unit and would buy again.

Hope this helps. Cheers
AnswerID: 81363

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:05

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:05
Cheers mate, I'll check out the Kerio.....
Cheerio
FollowupID: 340604

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 08:54

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 08:54
Yes Roachie,

I would recommend the Kerio adapter as well.

Ring Dick Smith's and quote the model number of your new laptop and they should be able to confirm if one of the Kerio models is suitable.

The beaut thing about them is compactness. They are not much bigger than a cigarette packet.

From memory the price was $168.

Some people will try to talk you into buying an inverter for about the same price, but with the inverter and laptop power adapter all plugged in you will have a shyte load of boxes and cables floating around your vehicle.

FollowupID: 340635

Follow Up By: rolande- Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 22:24

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 22:24
Roachie,
Jaycar sell a unit that will do 12 - 19 Volt for $87. Just need to check on the exact draw of your laptop when it arrives. I know some IBM's use 21 volt so wait till you get the unit then buy a charger to suit. Otherwise go for pure sine inverter. Thought you had an inverter already on the cargo barrier?
Rolande
FollowupID: 340697

Reply By: Member - Clive G (WA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:16

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:16
Gday Roachie

I use a 300w inverter for my Dell 5110 , hook my gps up to ozzexplorer, use it while driving, works a treat, also kids watch dvd's on long trips,

Clive
AnswerID: 81365

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:07

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:07
Thanks Clive,
The oziexplorer and DVDs for the kids is the reason I'm asking too.
Thanks for your input...much appreciated.
FollowupID: 340606

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:31

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:31
G'day Roachie,

I just have a 150 watt outlet that copes to 300 surge that can be used for a camera charger or whatever else small I want to use. May have a separate bigger one later for other things. I have seen the "Kerio" but they are the same price as a good inverter. The inverter does meant though you will have 240v which I don't really worry about now.

Look forward to catching up with 'The Ultimate People' this next weekend....
AnswerID: 81366

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:11

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:11
G'day John,
Thanks for that mate. I'm in a quandry now/still. I've always preferred to run everything off 12v but if I use an inverter then I'll have a means of re-charging the AA batteries for my digital camera too....mmmmmm
As for Robe; still don't think we'll be there at this stage....things at work have gone a bit pear-shaped and it's not easy to justify leaving early on friday arvo for a while (staff issues etc). But we'll see what the week brings?? Haven't made a booking at the c'van park yet either so if we do go, we might have to camp out of town somewhere.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 340607

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:03

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:03
Me again Roachie,

You can also buy a battery charger from Dick Smith's that charge both AA or AAA batteries. (maximum of 4 at a time)
The brand they sell is Digitor. I think the charger comes with 4 AA Nickel Metal Hydride batteries, rated at about 2000mA.

You will never need to buy throw-away batteries again.

Gee, it appears I'm giving a sales pitch for Tricky Dicky's doesn't it.

FollowupID: 340637

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:06

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:06
Roachie,

That is the reason exactly we have the inverter. I can charge everything off 240v or the 13.8v (12volt nominal) car charging. The laptop powerpack loves 110 to 240 so the inverter, my camera and phone charger 240v too and the CDMA loves 12v, as does the charger for the hand held UHF. You will also probably want DVDs too - oh, only for the kids, on 12v.

I have the inerter wired into a relay but switched onto the accessories switch which is a mistake as it needs to have a break of 5-6 seconds between switch off - switch on again for the digital electronics to take a break and restart. It is actually parked inside the back of the armrest behind the bin and held there with cable ties.

You should be able to work out your requirements and target that. I reckon just get the Kerio when you need it.
FollowupID: 340638

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:18

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:18
Forgot to mention the Digitor charger can also run from the cigarette lighter socket. Just need to buy a cable with ciggy plug one end and a plug at the other end that suits the charger's power socket.

Still all 12 volts Roachie.

If you get the digitor charger and are unable to buy this power cable ex stock, give me a member message mate and I'll make one up for you.

FollowupID: 340640

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 10:48

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 10:48
Thanks fellas,
I do already have a small AA come AAA charger, but only have 2 AA batteries for it at this stage.
I'm leaning towards the inverter at this stage and will simply have to manage the cable untidyness issue.
Anyway, better POQ now as I've gotta go and see Pesty (his grandson's 3rd birthday party).....an hour away...

Cheers and thanks
FollowupID: 340644

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:35

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:35
Roachie I have a Dell Inspiron 8200 and I now run it with a Kerio as stated above from Dick Smith, very compact with no messy wires and associated crap like with the inverter. EG 12v to 240v and back to ?v the laptop runs on.
Very clean and a very good unit.
Even have young Willem using one now for his set up.

Don't stuff around with the inverter to much hassle in my book.
I previously used an inverter also won't go back now.

AnswerID: 81368

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:21

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:21
Jeez mate, If you've got young Willie using it, maybe I'll be in with a chance....he and I are almost the same vintage!!!
Thanks for that....could be the way to go, but the idea of an inverter for charging up other batteries could be good too....
decisions, decisions.......hahaha
Cya mate
FollowupID: 340609

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 00:30

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 00:30
You are correct about the battery charging thing, if that is what you need then get an inverter also.

And consider using the Kerio for the lap top as it saves heaps of cables and plugs on the floor etc.
Stick the inverter up on the cargo barrier or some such similar place out of the way for the odd 240 volt use. Battery charging etc.

FollowupID: 340619

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:52

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:52
Hey Roachie........Methinks you have a bit of catching up to do with 'young' Willie.......You should have superior brainpower being so much younger but by all accounts there seems to be some grey matter missing...............

However..........Yes young John did put me on to the Kerio which works a treat. I also have a Pure Sinewave 150watt inverter which I have located under the armrest of the GQ. Have hardwired all to the aux battery....geez it looks like an electricians convention under the bonnet of the truck...wires running everywhere.........hahahahaha
FollowupID: 340666

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:48

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:48
goodday roachie
i have a 500w invertor just behind the centre console with a 4 gang power board from which i run 1 laptop through its normal charger 3 battery chargers 1 for video camera 1 for digital camera both with 2 sets of batteries so that swmbonever has a flat battery in the video and my digital the same it is also used for work for charging my battery drill batteries when needed in a hurry

AnswerID: 81372

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:23

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:23
Thanks Steve,
Both systems have their merits and detractions......nice to be able to charge batteries etc, so long as the truck doesn't turn into a cable battle-ground...LOLOL
Cya mate
FollowupID: 340610

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:58

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 20:58
Roachie,

Your average fliptop draws about 85 watts, therefore a 150 watt inverter will power it easily. 150 watt job at K Mart is $69. I've run a fliptop of a cheap inverter with no issues but some others reckon there can be problems.

The advantage of an inverter is you can run other 240 volt appliances, eg lights (the long life 18 watt mini fluorescents), battery charger for your camera batteries, small vacuum cleaner etc. I went for the 300 watt invereter from DS $129, but I now see K Mart do them for $99.

A dedicated fliptop power supply will only power your fliptop; not very versatile.

Jim
AnswerID: 81373

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:24

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:24
Thanks Jim,
Starting to think I may need to get both an inverter and one of these Kerio units....LOLOL
Cya mate
FollowupID: 340611

Reply By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:02

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:02
G,day Roachie,
The 50 is going fine thanks LOL.
I'm just about set up to run Oziexplorer moving maps and being equally less competant as you are with things puter/inverters, this what I have Done.
Bought 2nd hand puter off Ebay with 12 gig hard drive, 500hertz processor and 128meg RAM. Next got Magellan Sportstrack GPS on special locally. Then bought 150w pure sign wave inverter to power laptop. Went for pure sine cos I was told its best thing to eliminate power surge not so much for laptop but for 12v chargers to stop them frying. (Something about reving engine etc.) Waiting for a Lilleput monitor to turn up that replaces rear vision mirror. Then had to buy a thingamejig called a Grand Hand View that is sposed to connect to screen and putor cos the fittings are wrong. It also lets you connect laptop to tV etc. More info at www.grand.com.tw Overall cost about twice as much as I figured on but don't tell finance minister as she will change portfolio to Minister for war. LOL Bigkidz Andrew set up gps and laptop and hopefully all will be here and working next weekend. SO YOU WILL HAVE TO COME TO ROBE TO SEE IT ALL.
AnswerID: 81374

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:27

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:27
G'day Des,
I think the pure sine wave would be the safest option if I go down the inverter path.....just gotta work it all out in my small pootrol mind now...hahaha
Cya mate
FollowupID: 340612

Reply By: Froilan - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:24

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 21:24
Hi Roachie,

I use a unit called Kensington Universal AC/Car/Air Adapter, which works well for my Toshiba Tecra notebook. The company I work with sells it to retailers like Officeworks. Don't know how much they sell it though. Works in the plane as well.

It's got wall outlet power (AC), car plug (DC), air connection cord (DC), and notebook cord, and works for most notebook brands; Toshiba, IBM, Dell, HP, Sony and other generic brands. You can see a picture of it in www.accobrands.com.au. Select the Computer Mobile Accessories link, then choose Universal AC/Car/Air Adapter.

Froilan.

AnswerID: 81384

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:29

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:29
Thanks Froilan
I'm off to check out that website now......
FollowupID: 340613

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 22:11

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 22:11
Roachie,
I use a Targus 12v adapter - it has different tips to plug into a wide range of laptops incl Dell & IBM, HP. The thought of inverting from 12v to 240v then transforming back to about 14v just doesn't strike me as an efficient use of energy. Cost was about $150 - available from Harris Technology (www.ht.com.au)
AnswerID: 81389

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 22:33

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 22:33
Andrew,

I'm with you - without doing the electrical mathematics, can tell you that my laptop will run off 12 V with my engine off - if I run it through an inverter, I need the engine running.

Without starting WW3:

-I agree inverters are good for flexibility
-I'm not suggesting that a laptop can't be run off an inverter while the engine isn't running

I AM saying though - in my case, the inverter (150W) draws more power than I can give it with the engine off - to me the 12 v solution is more efficient if you need/want to run the laptop while the engine is off (preparing routes etc)
FollowupID: 340600

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:02

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:02
G'day Andrew & Ivan,
Thanks for your valued input......I've got a lot of homework to do now, but at least i know there is a 12v option available....
FollowupID: 340602

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:50

Saturday, Oct 23, 2004 at 23:50
Exactly, with that and the similar Targus offering I don't quite understand what all this inverter/Kerio lark is about. Battery chargers coming with a 12v adapter are also common, so what's the problem with running everything simply off the various cigarette lighter sockets in all modern 4wds? Mine has four of them, and there are doublers at any Tandy/DSE.
Then again, I know nothing about electrics...
FollowupID: 340615

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 01:02

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 01:02
Mungo, the problem is that laptop computers seldom run on 12v. Mine requires 15V, others need 19V or some other voltage above 12V.
So, its no good trying to plug these into a cig lighter socked - won't work.

The gadgets mentioned above convert the car's 12V to the voltage the computer needs.

The straight DC to DC converter (Keirio or others) is one neat solution,
its only useful for the computer though.
The inverter is another solution. This gadget converts 12V DC to 240V AC, at a rated max. wattage. The laptop's own plugpack then connets to this 240V output, just like at home. Its more versatile as the inverter could be used to power other 240V gadgets as well ( I use mine to run the coffee grinder :-)
But, its a double conversion, 12 > 240 (inverter) and 240 > 15 whatever (plugpack), and this could be less efficient if the wrong size inverter is used.
Inverters are most efficient if run close to their maximum wattage rating.

Some people worry that the cheaper, non pure sine wave, inverters would harm the laptop.
The laptop NEVER see's the inverters output!
The only part that "could" take harm is the laptop's plug pack, when fed by the modified sine wave of a cheap inverter. In my case there was nothing to worry about.

Somebody also said that the inverter would not start up (without the engine running) when the computer is connected. I suggest that the wiring to it is checked and perhaps increased in gauge. Most inverters auto shut down when the input voltage is too low. For example, my little 150W inverter runs the coffee grinder when it is connected directly to the battery, it will not start up with that load when connected to the 12v low voltage socket at the back of the car. One of these days I'll fix this....
Klaus
FollowupID: 340620

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 08:13

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 08:13
"For example, my little 150W inverter runs the coffee grinder when it is connected directly to the battery,"

That's it....... I'm goin' camping with this guy........ fresh coffee!!!
AnswerID: 81406

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:15

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:15
Wolfie, I hope you have you coffee ready, will take the frother ready for my hot chocolate............ gas powered of course. Perhaps you won't show at Robe.
FollowupID: 340639

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:04

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:04
I have a Dell Inspiron 2650 and looked at the Targus and Kerio 12 volt adaptors. Neither of them came with a plug that would fit my Dell (has one of those stupid Dell 3 prong connectors) ....so, before you buy, just check it will actually fit the laptop. In the end I had to go for an inverter (150 watt from Jaycar) and it works fine.
AnswerID: 81410

Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:52

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 09:52
I have a Jaycar 200w inverter. It ran my old laptop fine. It runs my new (18 month old now) laptop fine.

However for some reason it won't run my Dad's Dell. It won't even charge the battery with the laptop off. Don't know why.

Dad also has a 300w inverter from somewhere expensive (cost triple what my Jaycar one cost) and it won't run my laptop. However it runs his Dell.

What I am saying I guess is when you buy an inverter (assuming you do) take your laptop with you and have them plug it all together to make sure it all works ok.

My inverter also gets used to charge everyones AA batteries, mobile phones, run my fluoro lights. In fact anything we like. Great piece of gear.
AnswerID: 81413

Reply By: fourplayfull - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 14:44

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 14:44
Well at last you want to know fore sure" wheryergoin" - not following jacked blue 80 series around in salt lake paddock !! Having learnt the hard way by destroying mother board etc. I now have a reliable set up .
First consideration is to ensure computer processor has a low power draw - some l/t's have normal household (240v) which a small inverter wont sustain .
I use the Targus adapter which has lead fittings to suit most . absolutely essential to check polarity of fitting suits polarity of adapter port on l/t - just because it fits in hole is no guaratee you wont blow the m/board .
If you are relying on your ozy in remote no track areas have adapter & inverter power avail. My earlier adapter failed on the Hay River trip .
I have been advised that inverters do lessen battery life on 'puters .
Bye John
AnswerID: 81437

Reply By: Boeing - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:16

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:16
Hi Roachie, I havn't got an answer for you, but boy it is a popular subject!!!.

AnswerID: 81479

Reply By: rolande- Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 22:37

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 22:37
STOCK-CODE: MP3462 RRP: $89.50
Qty 1+ $89.50 Qty 3+ $80.50 Qty 6+ $71.50
2.9A Laptop Computer Universal Switchmode DC-DC Multi-Voltage Car Power Supply

Run your laptop computer from your car battery. This switchmode regulated 13.8VDC input DC- DC converter power supply will increase the voltage to run a laptop from your car cigarette lighter socket

http://www1.jaycar.com.au/productResults.asp?FORM=CAT

Rolande
AnswerID: 81484

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 07:03

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 07:03
Roachie.

You may have already dismissed this option due to cost.
Dell do have a charger available "Auto-Air Power Adapter".
Not cheap $130.90

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 81492

Follow Up By: Willykj - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:15

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 16:15
Hi Roachie

I purchased a Dell laptop a few months ago & also bought their Auto-Air Power Adapter. I looked into this matter before buying - I already had a cheap 150w inverter but was strongly advised not to use it with the laptop - especially as I got an extended warranty & didn't want any problem with warranty. If I am using their auto adapter they cannot argue.

I didn't want to run an inverter whilst travelling so my system runs really well. I also run a GPS on 12 v & this is hooked to the laptop - I use a double adaptor on the cigarette lighter. Not sorry I went the way I did.

Willy
FollowupID: 340796