Camping Toilet

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 17:46
ThreadID: 17267 Views:17486 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
We are looking at purchasing a chemical camping toilet. So far we have looked at the Porta Potty. Could anyone with any feedback on these please let me know. We are also wanting to know if there are any problems with leakage and spillage when transporting them on a roof rack.
Thanks in advance

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:08

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:08
Mine is nearly 20 years old and still works fine. Hasn't had a lot of use in that time. Got it out of storage two weeks ago and it worked like new. Carried it home half full of "contents" and the water tank half full, in the front box of the camper. No leaks.

They are one of the best camping accessories you can buy. Women love them. Got to say I find the comfort of being able to sit privately like you would at home far preferable to heading off into the scrub with a shovel.

Emptying them is a simple task. That blue chemical that you put in dissolves the contents and gets rid of the smell. Simply unclip it, tip the contents down the toilet at home (or dig a hole in the bush), rinse it out and she's ready to go again.

The make camping civilised.

AnswerID: 81451

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 07:38

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 07:38
I fully concur.

If space is not an issue, the Porta Potti is the best environmentally friendly and practical solution.

Coupled with a collapsable changroom/shower/toilet tent you should have no problem convincing SWMBO to enjoy camping in the Bush.

FollowupID: 340718

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:22

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:22
buy one of these jimmys thunderbox and get a roll of gabage bags to line it up over the steel sides, and close the lid.

Then bury the bag in the hole when finished and pack it up.
AnswerID: 81453

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:28

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:28
Certainly another good option, but not quite as civilised.

Depends how much comfort you like in the bush.

Jim
FollowupID: 340664

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:31

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:31
Having had 3 chemical toilets, and now that one, the chemical toilets dont even come close, especially when having to empty and clean the chemical units, compared to just pushing the bag in and burying it.

And one is $70, the others $130-$200.

And we wont even go over the storage options, given one folds flat, and one is 25kg full to lift onto the roof rack, and is always "full size"
FollowupID: 340665

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 19:57

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 19:57
Burying the plastic bag?

Not quite environmentally friendly and not part of the 4wd code of conduct.
FollowupID: 340669

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 20:22

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 20:22
here, here Willem
FollowupID: 340676

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 20:38

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 20:38
Plastic bags and the bush apparently don't mix.

Something to do with them taking 500? years to break down.

Tread Lightly?

Jim
FollowupID: 340680

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 22:32

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 22:32
Perhaps I should push my car into the bush too, to save emissions, while I also trya nd save tyres, and my next 4wd should have no plastic components, to save on greenhouse emissions......

Would rather bury the bag, than empty the chemical dunny in a hole, or down the dunny.
FollowupID: 340699

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 01:28

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 01:28
Well I use a shovel and fresh air for a seat ... at the moment & yes its not all that comfortable.
I have done lots of extended camps with family and youth groups up to 120 for 2 nights, my prefered method was a deep hole, thunderbox & a garbage bag .

On group trips I think this is the way to go, it's good for privacey, good for the female side, & does offer a level of comfort.
Yeh you got the plastic bag ( its only 1 a camp), it gets buried in the hole so what its gotta be better than country side littered with streamers, ( yeh we burn the paper it's the other 99.9% that dont)
Millions of plastic bags go into landfill every day.
Do you burn your plastics on the trip -- wow what a great idea that is good for the Ozone.
Rather the box & bag anytime than putting some unknown chemicals in the ground to enter the water systems.

Gees better get off my soapbox.
FollowupID: 340709

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 08:57

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 08:57
I agree with Willie, Glenn, Jimbo and Bernie. The chemical toilet you talk of as if it is a major problem. The enzymes that are there to help deodorise and break up solids will do little as they break up in future moisture leaches. Little more than a cow pat in the bush. A bit of fertility and water where there is comparatively little.

What go_offroad is suggesting gives a dingo something to dig up and haul out. Disposible nappies the same. I hope dingoes take it to your front lawn GO_OFFROAD rather than leave around the surface outback.
FollowupID: 340724

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:14

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:14
Is alot more to travel than just the outback johnR, perhaps you need to look further than your world.........
FollowupID: 340726

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:33

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:33
Yes, you are right, but I hope you heed your own advice in this last piece as when I get there I don't want it spoiled by your wrapped up toilet deposits.

My world is not more expansive or less than yours mate. I have not left our planet yet.
FollowupID: 340731

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:48

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:48
Why not just crap into a hole in the ground? bury it, who needs a plastic bag? If your that worried, use a paper bag and burn it all in the hole.

Gawd, what a $hithouse subject..
FollowupID: 340733

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:59

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 09:59
Just a note re the the garbage bag....
Yes it is plastic
It is only used to line the inside of the box ( cut the bottom off the bag)
It's not a bag full of crap like some other portable chairs have.

FollowupID: 340735

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:49

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 18:49
Fair points Darren. The porta dunny is a heavy, space taking unit.
AnswerID: 81459

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 20:05

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 20:05
Had those in the UK and Europe some years ago and they were fine - no spillage in the caravan but (from embarrassment factor alone :) I would hesitate to put one on a roof rack.

My bush loo comprises a black plastic box from Bunnings ($13 IIRC) about 18" by 15" by 12" deep and a Big W $5 plastic loo seat (complete with cover! :) The box is turned upside down and a jigsaw used to cut an oval hole out of the base of the box approximately corresponding to the hole in the loo seat. In use: a hole is dug and the box placed upside down over the hole with the loo seat placed on top of the upside down box. Earth from the hole is used to cover the results each time the loo is used until it gets time to dig another hole. The loo seat lid helps to keep flies at bay and I check for snakes and spider each time before I use it :) Loo paper is kept in a plastic bag by the side and I try to keep a recent newspaper there too :). The whole thing is transported inside a large garbage bag and also houses my camping "dirties" - kerosene, oil, etc. Even those strange creatures, females, seem to like it!? :)

AnswerID: 81463

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:54

Sunday, Oct 24, 2004 at 21:54
Whether the bag is used or not - seems there's a huge advantage in the fold up capabilities of the Jimmy's Thunderbox..

Friends of ours also have a fold up job much like the current el cheapo fold up camp chairs - obviously has a hole cut out of the middle (even has a bit of padding...

Anything taking more than its fair share of space isn't going to make it on my roofrack.. (Prado, so while a reasonable size - not ultra huge)
FollowupID: 340693

Reply By: Austravel - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 08:50

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 08:50
I've also got trouble with burying the plastic bags, however is it worse than the chemical toilets?? All you've got to do is read the label on the chemical container, it's not that flash. They really only should be disposed of as per specified. Not sure which way I'll eventually go but for now it's just a deep hole.
AnswerID: 81504

Reply By: ptcrowe - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:04

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 14:04
Thanks for the replies. It appears that there is good and bad points for both variety of loo. We will have to do a little more reasearch.
AnswerID: 81566

Reply By: Graeme666 - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 17:15

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 17:15
I use a Jimmy's Thunderbox and it find it great - so does my wife. She does not see the need for a portable toilet. It folds down nice and flat, taking up very little room, and weighs very little. We do not use a plastic bag or anything else to line it and don't find it a problem. If you do happen to spray paint it after a night on the red wine, it wouldn't take much water to clean up.
AnswerID: 81595