What to do with trailer when not in use

Submitted: Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:38
ThreadID: 17304 Views:5272 Replies:19 FollowUps:20
So, where do you hide your trailer from scum when your not using it??

My race bikes used to live in my bedroom inbleepney, but dont think the wife would like sleeping next to a 7x4.

What locking devices are the good and how do they work?

It still has the good old towball on it.

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:53

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:53
A. Use it as a Dog Kennel
B. Put a tow ball into the cup and lock the handle
C. Remove the wheels and put the trailer on blocks
AnswerID: 81630

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:23

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:23
Dont have dog anymore
towball- good idea. or a broken old ball with no bolt section on it either!
I have thought about up on blocks!

2 gr8 minds...
FollowupID: 340834

Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:54

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:54
You can get those locks that fit inside the tow coupling. Also the ones that fit around the tow coupling.

If it has hydraulic brakes you should be able to turn the coupling sideways and use the safety chains to keep it that way.

Chain it to a tree.

Put it in the backyard and out of sight.

Probably one of those things where if they want it they will take it regardless.
AnswerID: 81631

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:25

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:25
coupler lock, yea wondered how good they were.

has no brakes :(

chain to tree sounds good

backyard for sure.

agree with the last line ...
FollowupID: 340835

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 11:53

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 11:53
Chain to tree = pair of boltcutters = thank you for my new trailer.
As said above, if they want it they'll take it.
Best that as few people as possible know it's there, and keep it out of site. Yeah chain it to the tree, use the tow hitch locks and whatever other ideas are bought up in the replies, but I would also put a cheap tarp over it so that people looking over you fence can't see it, people comming into your house (for whatever reason, be it mates, be it sales people, trades people etc) don't know what's under there, could be a pile of rubbish, could be compost, could be a $20,000 camper tailer, best they don't know for sure.
Like all things security, keep it close to your chest, don't tell anyone. If they know you have it chained to a tree, they will bring bolt cutters, if they know the wheels are off, they bring wheels and nuts etc etc.
FollowupID: 340902

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:55

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:55
Truckster,
Would think one of those heavy dyna-bolt locks/chains they sell to keep your bike where you left it would be equally as good for the trailer. Bolted into the concrete, very strong
Rolande
AnswerID: 81632

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:28

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:28
My up on blocks.
willems towball thing
Utemads chain to tree sounds good and backyard for sure.
Your Dynabolt

this will be fun!
FollowupID: 340837

Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:56

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 20:56
Hi Truckster,

Couplemate advertise here, Trailer and C/van security. Or possibly the top of the range..Talon.. www.biloc.net/talon/ .Or Cable + quality lock + Eucalypt = trailer stays where you left it, we hope..!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 81633

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:31

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:31
My up on blocks.
willems towball thing
rolandes Dynabolt
Your Wire rope thingy to the tree!
FollowupID: 340838

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:00

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:00
Seen a few places selling those wheel clamps like they used to use for locking up illegally parked cars. The bolts are case hardened and I would think someone seeing those would go find an easier option. Now, what to you do with the wheel clamp when it is not "wheel clamping" - could the the source of another thread altogether.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 81635

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:31

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:31
My up on blocks.
willems towball thing
rolandes Dynabolt
Wiseys Wire rope thingy to the tree!
Your Wheel Clamp with 1 wheel on... or a hub mounted one.. Hmmm....
FollowupID: 340839

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:14

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:14
Mate just cahins his to the pole out front of his house here, of course thats on the highway. mine lives on the front lawn.

AnswerID: 81641

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:32

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:32
My up on blocks.
willems towball thing
rolandes Dynabolt
Jacks Wheel Clamp with 1 wheel on... or a hub mounted one.. Hmmm....
your donation to thieves ;)~
FollowupID: 340840

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:23

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:23
Truckster,
Once I bought the Ultimate in 1999 (it lives in the garage out of sight), I also changed the tow coupling on my 8x5 tandem over to a Treg style, so that I wouldn't have to fart around changing from towball to Treg mount on the Patrol all the time. The 8x5 lives out the front of the house with it's pin thru the hole and a padlock on it. If the a*rseholes want it, they'll get it, no matter what you do. All you do is make the neighbour's trailer look like an easier target.
Or.......run a 240 cable to the trailer and keep the switch turned ON........ Shyte, I can't believe I said that!!!! LOL
AnswerID: 81643

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:35

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:35
My up on blocks.
willems towball thing
rolandes Dynabolt
Bonzs donation to thieves ;)~
Your 240 Volts to it..... I LIKE THAT ONE...

Theres some really really good simple ideas here.
Obviously out of sight is the best. and make it difficult for them to get out.

Wonder what my chances are if I did them all of actually ever getting it out of the yard...

Thanks people.
FollowupID: 340843

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 00:56

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 00:56
this is starting to sound like "on the twelfth day of Christmas....."
Keep it up folks.
Klaus
FollowupID: 340861

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:52

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:52
I thought it sounded like that kids game......I went shopping and I bought a loaf of bread...and then to the next kid....I went shoppping and I bought a loaf of bread and a carton of beer....etc etc

Leroy
FollowupID: 340879

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:50

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:50
got a steel rod running from one side of the trailer to the other through the holes in the wheels, steel plate on one end and big old padlock on the other... If they can be bothered sorting that out, they can have it.
Blue
AnswerID: 81653

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:47

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:47
My up on blocks.
willems towball thing
rolandes Dynabolt
Roachie's 240 Volts to it.....
Your bar from stubb to stubb
FollowupID: 340941

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:53

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 21:53
Truckster:

As was said earlier - if they want it they will get it. Guy 3 doors up from me had a caravan parked out the front with a tow hitch lock on it. Used to see it every day. One day it was gone. I figured he'd gone on holidays until he came knocking on my door asking if I had seen anyone loading his van onto a flat trailer. Seems one of the neighbours had seen it and had "assumed" he was selling it. She did not get rego details, and there are quite a few white commodores around Aussie.

So short of tying a small grenade to the wheels which will pull the pin as the wheels are rotated, all you can do is take a few simple precautions. Now that grenade sounds like a hell of an idea :)

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 81656

Reply By: duncs - Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 23:23

Monday, Oct 25, 2004 at 23:23
Truckster,

My 7x4 is a rusted out old piece of junk and I can't get anyone to nick it.

Just by the way. My Uncle had his car nicked from out the front of his house, years ago. Thankfully he got it back just a few days later with very little damage. Bought a crook-lok, "that'l stop em" he thought. Next day comes out, gets in car, starts engine, drives off, thinks "wonder what happened to the crook-lok?"

Sorry didn't help at all
AnswerID: 81666

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 09:16

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 09:16
Maybe a crook stole it.

Tie a peice of string to the trailer and every night tie it to your big toe !!! or your wifes big toe might be better so when she screams you can race down and catch the thieves in the act.
FollowupID: 340884

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:23

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:23
May be time truckster to get another dog and attach it to the trailer as well. Still the thief which really wants something will get it and take the dog as well
Ray
AnswerID: 81683

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:50

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:50
My up on blocks.
willems towball thing
rolandes Dynabolt
Blues bar from stubb to stubb
Rays Dog tied to it!
FollowupID: 340942

Reply By: MrBitchi - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:36

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:36
Bloody great chain and padlock around a concrete carport pillar. Yes I know a grinder or BIG pair of bolt cutters will still get through but I also have an Orac coupling which not many tea leaves would have....
AnswerID: 81686

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:51

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 15:51
My up on blocks.
willems towball thing
rolandes Dynabolt
Blues bar from stubb to stubb
Rays Dog tied to it!
Your Bloody Great Chain and new concrete carport!!!! Orac is an option
FollowupID: 340943

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:48

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 08:48
Move back to Sydney
I have a box trailer, a boat & trailer and a campertrailer parked at my place and never had a problem,

AnswerID: 81689

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 09:37

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 09:37
what back to the nell - true hell on earth that toilet! Amazing how good it is to be out of the place!!!

.. chances of gettin flogged from the nell are higher than leaving the keys in the ignition and trailer hitched to the car in Everleigh st in good old Redfern! now get back to work.. (PS how ya been? All sweet now?)
FollowupID: 340886

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 14:22

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 14:22
True,
I think its a little harsh basing all of sydney on the 'nell or the 'nkstown.

PS goin' good chat soon
FollowupID: 340928

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 11:46

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 11:46
Truckster,

Seems to me if you go follow all the suggestions made here you may as well just sell the trailer now 'cause it'll take so much effort to get the trailer ready for use and then locking it away that you'll never use it! I'd maybe get one of those tow ball lock thingies, chain the A-frame to a carport pillar or something and hope for the best. Out of sight has to be the best thing - do you have lockable gate access to the backyard?

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 81716

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:17

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:17
Hey Mel.
LOL yea would take the long weekend to remove everything !!

Yea got rear entry.. which is good and bad.. nobody would notice someone sneaking out the back drive thru the paddock, and out onto the other road :'(

Shall see, working on a Hyland Hitch at the moment, so shall see what happens.
FollowupID: 341096

Reply By: Member - Chris O (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 17:20

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2004 at 17:20
2 x Rottweiler tied to trailer, 1 x shotgun next to bed.
AnswerID: 81748

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 00:39

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 00:39
Club Marine and other boat insurers have tested and listed anti theft gear for trailers. Nothing is 100% successful.

I notice that the Brisbane City Council removes a wheel and hub from its trailers parked with the roadwork warning lights.

I'll be using DataDots (paint with ID) everywhere on new gear. I don't have any financial interest in this invention, but I think professional thieves might be wary of it (display a warning somewhere obvious).

AnswerID: 81835

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:13

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:13
Datadots came out for motorbikes in early 80's they were a dismal failure. Coat of paint and the item is new again.
FollowupID: 341095

Reply By: Big Trev - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 06:33

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 06:33
I built a special car-port for my camper (and 6x4) in the backyard

I use a tregg lock bought via theis website

I also use it for storing all my camping gear in
AnswerID: 81843

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:19

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 16:19
That thought had crossed my mind.. Have a small paved area right at the back of the yard...

I'm not a builders bumsweat, so more chance of it falling on the trailer and never getting it back out again!

Wonder if removing the towhitch part from the trailer would be an idea, its only 4 bolts...
FollowupID: 341098

Reply By: Michael O'Reilly - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 22:01

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 22:01
I use a Treg hitch, not so common.
Treg lock from this site
Car cover thingy from Super Cheap
and a yappy dog.

Better still, just keep on travelling and don't take the trailer home in the first place...
AnswerID: 82012

Reply By: mr diamond - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:11

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 19:11
its very simple i thought i would wait till all the other silly ideas were said before i tell you the secret.
put it in the bedroom put the matress in it and its now your bed.
i know i know the mrs will whinge but not for long well not as long as you would if it were to be stolen hahahahaha
AnswerID: 82134

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 11:24

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 11:24
BLEEP
FollowupID: 341372