Towing Rangie from Sydney to Brisbane

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:16
ThreadID: 17349 Views:3254 Replies:6 FollowUps:14
Howdy all,

Confirming some last minute details, but in the throws of organising to tow a rangie from sydney to brisbane. For $500.00, I'm getting pretty much a whole truck with good motor, auto, no rust in panels etc. I have been quoted anything from $1,500.00 for a short motor up to $3,500 for long. For $1,000 including fuel I can have a whole truck.

Considering the substantial weight of a rangie, I assume I will need to hire a car trailer with electric brakes? Further, the towing capacity of the Nissan is 3.5t braked. I'm assuming this includes the weight of the vehicle or is that what's hanging off the back? I had 3.86t at the dump the other day with my new HD trailer and 700kg's of chopped up tree.

Await your replies! Thanks again.

Chris.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:24

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:24
Have you called some car carriers? Tolls, Finemores etc.?

Maybe only a few bucks more. I got a trailer from Qld to Melb for $250, some wanted $500 for the job but thats top to bottom of country..
AnswerID: 81897

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:26

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:26
I might be wrong here, but I thought "towing capacity" did not include the vehicle weight.
I was always under the impression that towing capacity and Gross Vehicle Mass were different ratings...
AnswerID: 81898

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:27

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:27
Probably be best to read the manual I guess, just sitting up in my office wondering...

Cheers mate,

Chris.
FollowupID: 341047

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:03

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:03
Your "towing capacity" is what you pull (ie) Rangie plus trailer, piece of cake for the Patrol.

FollowupID: 341063

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:10

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:10
Ahhhh, the answer I was looking for! Electric brakes? Or just the ol' auto brake on the draw bar of the car trailer?
FollowupID: 341065

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:23

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:23
Chris,
So long as the trailer is braked with either electrical, mechanical over-ride or hydrulic brakes (which it must be if over 750kg gross) you can tow up to 3500kg.
Have a good trip.
Cya mate
FollowupID: 341086

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:28

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 15:28
Thanks Roachie, that's all I needed.

Be a slow trip home I'm sure!
FollowupID: 341088

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:26

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:26
I guess that's an option, saves running more k's up on the truck.

One reason to go down was soley to make sure the truck was in good running order. I trust the guy, he's been a great source of help, but kinda got screwed on the last one, and I don't like getting screwed...when it comes to money and cars!;-)

Will look into it.

Thanks truckster!

Chris.
AnswerID: 81899

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:37

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:37
Jetstar or virgin fly up for $50
FollowupID: 341051

Reply By: Magnus - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:53

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 12:53
If it runs, do what Truckster suggests, Virgin to Syd and chance it driving back. If you get there and don't like it still only $50 + to fly back again.

Whole lot cheaper than driving down.

Better yet, fly down to look and if u like the unit, use car carrier to bring back.

That way you have max options and flexibility for an outlay of a day and $120 flight cost plus say $100 in taxis in Sydney. So, the most u can lose is $220 - $250.

Magnus
AnswerID: 81906

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:02

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:02
It runs, but has since had the radiator pulled out. Would prefer to truck/tow it up.

Preferably, I'm even just interested in finding out what the 3.5t limit is and if I need lecky brakes...Can't you hear the conversation now with swmbo: "But you said you had everything done to the car? Yeah, it is, but you don't want me to write the truck off because I'm towing without electric brakes? No! Well there you go, I'd better get electric brakes fitted, we need them for the camper anyway."

Chris.
FollowupID: 341059

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:03

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:03
$100 in taxi's in sydney dont get you far.. trust me did Kurnell to Alexandria for 4 mths work paid for $75 a trip.
FollowupID: 341061

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:07

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:07
If your just lookin for an excuse to get electric brakes, just get them.
FollowupID: 341064

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:14

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:14
I know mate, I think the taxi from airport to rangie would errode any profit margin. Fly to Sydney and Melbourne twice a month so I hear ya!

Don't need excuse mate, did all the other work on the truck cause' it's my hobby, don't need the wifey to say yes or no, equal relationship, when she wants what she wants, she goes and gets it! Same here! ;-)

Ain't no thumb print on my head or hers! ;-)
FollowupID: 341067

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:37

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 13:37
I'd think rental car trailers would all have override brakes anyway. As it would be easier to rent them as opposed to one that needed an electric brake controller.

The ones we rented (before my brother bought one) always had override brakes.
FollowupID: 341075

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 14:28

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2004 at 14:28
That's the word I was looking for before, overrides brakes!

Thanks mate.
FollowupID: 341079

Reply By: David O - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 18:14

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 18:14
Don't tow an auto Rangie!!!!!
Unless you want to throw the auto away!!!

Thats the word I had when I wanted to tow mine.

AnswerID: 82122

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 07:49

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 07:49
Was going to put it on a car trailer and tow it that way? Reckon it'd be ok Dave?
FollowupID: 341347

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 20:09

Thursday, Oct 28, 2004 at 20:09
Hi Chris,
Thanks for the info on Solar film removal you provided.
I picked the Rangie from Noogee which is about 50km outside Melbourne.
A very winding narrow road to home in Healesville.
I hired a standard overide braked trailer and found I could tow it well behind the Nissan 3.0 litre diesel.
However as with all hired equipment it was lacking somewhat,particulary the brakes.
I would suggest you make sure the brakes work to full effect before accepting hire.
Fortunately the Nissan brakes were able to handle the extra loads.
You asked what the Rangie was intended for,as a member of the land rover owners club I intend to get it running reliably,and then using it for club events(local trips,trials etc).
This keeping the Nissan for long distance outback touring.
The Rangie I bought from a friend for $1500,it has been sittting in a shed for 15 yrs unused.
The 1974 is in good general order but requires a careful restart as all the oil will have drained away.
Currently I am replacing all the brake seals and m/cyl before working on the motor.
I am no stranger to Rangies having owned and maintained a 1977 for over 8 yrs approx 20 yrs ago.
Some would say I am returning to a second childhood,but after numerous other makes I still think the 2 door for its era is fantastic.
Best of luck with your project.
(if you see a book called Torque tech tips on E bay grab it,this was a publication put out by the Range rover club in Victoria,and includes all the tips on Rangie repairs and maint)
AnswerID: 82150

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 07:53

Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 07:53
Gday fourstall,

Thanks mate! I was pretty sure the brakes would be up to the job as long as the trailer had the overrides. I think I'm returning to my second childhood as well due to the fact that if this one runs well, I will have 2 rangies. Of course, and agree that the Nissan should be kept as the tourer. Just didn't want to run it into the ground driving it around the city (do about 50,000k's a year).

Cheers again mate. Least I know someone to come to with questions (beginner rangie nut).

Chris.
FollowupID: 341349