Submitted: Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 21:18
Smocky
G'day all,
was so impressed by the responses, I had to get involved.
I've just purchased a new RA Rodeo 4x4 3.5L petrol Crewcab, LT trim. Very nice!
I can't afford to do everything at once, so would be interested in some advice on which of the following would be most important if I wanted to do a bit of touring and
camping. Not planning on trips to the cape just yet and I've already joined a club and would like to do some beach driving and trips to blue mountains etc.
Suspension lift or at least better
suspension
2. Better/Bigger tyres instead of the standard Bridgestone A/T's
3. Electric winch (this means I have to replace the expensive standard bullbar with an ARB)
Thanks very much for any help you might like to offer. I'm new to owning a 4x4 and don't want to waste all my hard earned on "accessories".
And by the way, answers of "first thing to do is to trade it for a Hilux" probably aren't necessary. I did stax of research and am VERY happy with the choice. Best of the pick ups by
miles. :-)
Thanks heaps
Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 21:53
Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 21:53
Hi Smocky
Partner's brother drives a Rodeo and he likes it- has done some real bush trips.
My advice is to drive it lots before you spend heaps on extras which may not give you what you want. Go on some club trips with more experienced drivers and ask them to show you the ropes. You might be surprised at what your Rodeo can do as it is. 'Navaraman' has what looks to me like a pretty standard Nissan 4wd ute and he was able to do everything any one else did on the Monarto weekend. Have a look at his rig pic it shows him coming up out of a steep
creek.
You can really only make sound decisions after a bit of experience. Then you'll know what you want to do with your fourby and what its limitations really are.
Every add - on comes at cost which is not only cash. Expensive mods may mean it is a tiger in the bush but crap to drive in the city and on the bitumin getting to the bush.
Also there are heaps of people out there telling you that their stuff is great because they can get at your bank balance.
If you are going to do much bush and sand work a good compressor is a must because you will have to adjust your tyre pressures. You will eventually need recovery gear starting with a snatch strap and appropriate shackles. Chuck in a good tow rope too.
You need these because ettiquette demands that you supply your own gear if you want to be rescued from the bog you have gotten yourself into. A decent shovel and a good jack help too.
Generally all - terrain tyres are pretty good but we did heaps of
miles on highway tyres untill they wore out and they fairly good even when almost fully worn ( 4wd increases traction a lot on its own)
Ultimately you can trick your Rodeo up to the hilt but you will still find
places it will not go and if you go to the ridiculous and make it so it can go anywhere environmental wisdom should tell you you should't be there anyway.
Well that's my two bob's worth.
Camper
Follow Up By: Smocky - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:13
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:13
Thanks Camper, that's a lot of help.
I've already got the "essentials" like Staun deflaters, Bushranger Max Air ($300 at the Vic 4x4 show !!!), a bushranger exhaust jack and of course a recovery kit.
I think I'll do exactly what you've suggested and just get to know the truck on a few trips first. The issue you've mentioned about bush vs road is a good one too. I don't want to tip the balance too far. Don't want a monster truck to drive to and from work.
Thanks again. Looking forward to getting amongst it and getting to a few fishing spots I haven't been able to reach :)
Smocky.
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 22:15
Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 22:15
That's good advise from Camper Smocky. Don't rush into buying anything apart from the recovery gear, go on a few trips with your club or guys on here, enjoy what you have while gaining some valuable experience. Read lots about 4x4'ing and ask questions. Eventually you'll be able to decide for yourself just what you need/want to suit your level of activity.
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 23:44
Friday, Oct 29, 2004 at 23:44
Yep.. Camper just gave some great advise... I totally agree with him...
Reply By: gonebush - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 00:33
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 00:33
Some very good advice above.
From what you say you want to do with the vehicle, the fact that you have joined a club and that you are new to owning a 4WD, the LAST accessory I would buy would be a winch. IMHO I don't think you will need it or use it. That can come much later down the track when you have some experience under your belt and want to take on some more adventurous trips either on your own or with others.
If your club doesn't do training, I would suggest a 4WD course.
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 01:34
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 01:34
from experience with an RA, i would say start saving now for some decent tyres as the stock ones will be shagged by 30k or sooner, and a long range
tank wouldn't go astray..
Follow Up By: Smocky - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:35
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:35
G'day Bradley,
you're right about that fuel
tank! Standard 75 litre
tank gets about 380-400k's of mixed driving before the light says fill-up again!
I knew they were thirsty, but figured they were all more thirsty than the Commodore and I'd just have to put up with it. Besides, I don't pay for fuel :-)))
I'll start investigating the fuel
tank and see if I can get something a bit bigger. Would prefer that for around town anyway.
Shouldn't complain, was happy to sacrifice fuel economy for power.
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 22:35
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 22:35
Hey champ, the work rig i had never got better than 15L/100 and often got into the 20's - worst was 32L/100 on the highway on cruise control with a steel pod stand on the back sticking up about a foot above the roof , took me 4 fills to get from melb to
adelaide !!! Glad i wasn't paying for fuel as
well :-) I think long range tanks are now on the list of dealer accessories.
Mine had a tjm steel winch bar in black powdercoat - toughest thing on the whole ute !! looked mean as p...
See ya
Reply By: theshadows - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 05:09
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 05:09
Thats some of the best advice ever given.
start with the basic gear {strap, shovel,air compressor}and go from there
Tyres would be on the list but first see where the standard ones get you.
you might find that a good radio and gps might be on the list to get first?
go on some 4wd courses and enjoy youre self.
shadow
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 05:23
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 05:23
I would have to agree with all the advice so far, the only thing that I could add is to fit a heavy duty tow bar. They make a great recovery point to drag out Hiluxes. Do a
driver training course, and then decide what to put on your vehicle. That reminds me I am running late for work, got to go.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:23
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:23
Hmm, drag out hiluxes eh! Is it ok to join that many snatch straps together.
Follow Up By: Smocky - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:24
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 08:24
Thanks for all of that guys, in addition to the exhaust jack, max air compressor and recovery kit, I've also got a VDO vehicle mounted Navigation system fitted. I use this for work a fair bit. Not sure how good this is going to be with bush trips though as it works of a CD which is basically an Australia-wide UBD. It'll still be an excellent compass though :-)
Have done a fair bit of reading, which is why I bought the Max-Air and an exhaust jack. Obviously the recovery kit was a must. Most of my reading has been on this
forum. It's amazing how much you can find out by readng some of these threads. Then it's a simple process of seeing what applies to me and perhaps asking a few questions.
The club I've joined does training so I'll be going on that soon.
Front recovery points is one of my problems. The standard Holden "bullbar" is a bit of an accessory and I've had a couple of people look underneath to find a spot to fix a recovery point. This just left a few experts scratching their heads, so the first purchase might actually be to remove the Holden alloy bar and fit an ARB steel bar with recovery points built in.
Thanks again for all your help. Buying a handhelp radio too, with a head set and a PTT button.
Cheers, and if I see any of you out there, I'll wave.
Reply By: Member - Jim - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:00
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:00
Smocky
Just remember with all the things you are going to buy, ask questions here and buy quality, that way you buy things once.
The one thing about 4WD's is that there are lots of things you want or need, and generally you don't have lot of $'s to get it all at once.
We all have things in our sheds that were bought with good reason at the time, and have now been replace with better, if only we had better foresight or even asked.
Jim
Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:31
Saturday, Oct 30, 2004 at 18:31
Can't add much to the good advice given so far. You've got the essentials like recovery gear, so I'd say now just get your money's worth out of what you've already paid for - wait until the original tyres and
suspension have reached their 'use by' dates, then think about buying replacements that may better suit your usage. And by then, you'll know what that is.
One last thing, if you're planning on beach work (and it still makes me cringe when I see brand new vehicles doing this - that's why I have an old Series III Land Rover), a quality rust-proofing treatment will do wonders for your resale value down the track. And always give it a thorough hose out underneath as soon as you get home (not the following weekend!)
Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:28
Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:28
Don't bother with a rear locker as your LSD is fantastic. I have an older Rodeo with 150k on it and it is amazing where a stock Isuzu LSD will get you.
Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:42
Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 23:42
Lots of good advice, as usual, from the
forum. The best money I've spent so far was on the
suspension.
Mine was ready for replacement anyway but the difference in ride is great. Hand held UHF's are handy but I'd buy an in car one, you won't lose it under the
seat when the car starts bouncing about a lot. For beach driving and touring the ute in standard form will probably do pretty much everything you need anyway. If you wanted a comp vehicle or rock-hopper you'd have bought one. Enjoy it, I'm always amazed at where
mine gets too.