Submitted: Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 19:42
Gerhardp1
Does anyone have any knowledge of the best place in
Melbourne to do the Jackaroo 100,000k service. It's listed as some 7 hours because the tappets have to be done, and it seems that this will cost LOTS at a dealer at $150+ per hour.
Mine's a 98 Monterey 3.5 and I love it.....
Thanks for any info.
Gerhard
Reply By: Savvas - Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:51
Sunday, Oct 31, 2004 at 21:51
Gerhard,
I'm in
Sydney, so sorry that I can't recommend someone in
Melbourne.
My 00 Monterey will be due for its 100,000 in the next 12 months. I have this year switched servicing over to the 4WD Service Centre in Taren Point and so far everything has gone
well.
Interesting about the $150/hr at the dealers. The one I used to go to charged around $70/hr.
Have you asked the guys at Jackeroo World in Vermont whether they know anyone?
Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 09:27
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 09:27
Hi Gerhard
I get
mine serviced at 4X4 All Terrain in South road Morrabbin. So farI have had great
services there, I got sick of the holden dealers doing a crap job. Adam
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 09:53
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 09:53
Only prob is that there is a specific tool to actually change the bucket shims while setting the clearances and the replacement shims ain't cheap either. Most dealers will charge about $1200 for the service and take every shortcut possible , and do a crap job. The tolerance allowed on the valves is fairly large and so 90 % of the time no shims are even changed, some dealers if rushed will do an 'ear' test. if you know what i mean.
Mine has done 133k and hasn't yet had the valves done (my choice) and only now is one getting a little noisy at idle, but i intend to do the timing belt, tensioner and valves all in one go at about 150k.(maybe sooner). Sorry i don't know of a good place to go to, usually do all my own work if i can, have been recommended to the arb northern workshop, am getting a bar supplied and fitted by them next week so i will check it out in more detail. I would allow 3 days off the road to get the job done properly as holden spares will have to order in the shims needed etc.. for the mechanic. Try the
shop Adam sugested. Cheers
Follow Up By: Savvas - Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:43
Monday, Nov 01, 2004 at 12:43
That would definitely bleep me off I found they did nothing.
Brad ... Maybe you can confirm this.The reason I have read on one of the Trooper forums, is that the shims must be replaced as they get pitted with age. Once they get pitted, they start ripping up the cam lobes.
Don't know how factual that is.
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 12:32
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 12:32
Na mate the shims dont get replaced , only changed if needed to meet tolerance, most dealers have a box of shims that they use and 'chop and change' from, so you can get 2nd hand shims fitted and they will charge for them - of course.. Mate the lucky people even get the valve covers removed !!!! some get a start it , give it a rev - no ticking - sweet, thanks for the cash...
She is a bit of a bastard of a job and to do it properly the brake booster etc have to be moved as
well, so thats why i reckon if they don't take 2-3 days to do the job then i dont think it has been done properly. One bloke i know who had a rodeo work ute dropped it off at 8am for this service, and they rang him at 12 the same day to say it was ready to go, it was a leaseplan rig so he wasn't worried , but he cottoned on to the fact they hadn't done the work before i told him.. Bastardos some of 'em..
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:29
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:29
Thanks for the feedback on this. I guess the reason I asked was a fear of the unknown, which seems to be borne out by other opinions and experiences.
There must be an honest mechanic out there somewhere....... I will happily pay my money to one.
I've just had a thought that I might contact he Jackaroo Club for an opinion, and I will contact the Moorabbin people as
well.