Cooper Discoverer STT update
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 19:19
Willem
After a query to Cooper distributors as to cuts and lug chips appearing on my tyres I received the following reply(edited)
1) STT Super Traction Tyre isn't as I am aware a soft compound, Designed with a solid block and no sipeing its design is for traction some chipping will occur.
2) Knowing the harshness of terrain out past
Peterborough tyres take extreme punishment in those hot conditions. Depending on how much 4wd driving you are doing we need to establish whether the STT is the right choice for your driving needs,Based on % of driving.
3) Tyre pressures that we would recommend .
Sand driving including soft sand between 18-20 psi.
Gravel / shale driving between 26-28 psi
Bitumen roads between 32-34 psi
*Tyre pressures need to be set against the vehicles carrying weight.
NOTE * Always check tyre pressures when cold.
Cooper tyres recently have developed the ST-C cut and chip resistant tyre which is a 90%better chip resistant and 40% tear resistant. The Sure Trac tyre may
well suit your off road driving with a lot less chip and tearing lugs.The ST-C is a good 60% bitumen 40% dirt & mud.
After inspection of your STT's which shows minimal signs of chipping and cuts between blocks, I wish to advise that this is quite normal.
I am happy with that response.
Now I will see how they perform. As I interchange them with my Kelly's they will probably last me some years.
Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 19:28
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 19:28
i got the st-c coopers mate and do a varied range of work always dropping to an appropriate tyre pressure and 15,000kms later am still happy.
mind you they have survived the outback challenge on a local frontera b4 they went on the navara .
be aware they only supply a few tyre sizes .
weight i reckon is the key in my setup as the tyres dont ballon till a bit lower than recomended pressure say compared to your weighty rig.
wasnt aware you were looking otherwise i would have showed you
mine.
Rick was also looking at some i think.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 19:38
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 19:38
Hi Toonie
I have the STT's fitted. Have been through the Simpson and other
places with them including last weekend.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 22:52
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 22:52
The STT isnt soft compound??? they are kiddin!
Those the Kellys the squeal like a 70's cop chase on tele? ;)
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:00
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:00
Yeah I wondered about that too...
well thats what the man said!
Those Kellys are embarassing sometimes especially when you are turning...they squuuueeeeeeeaaallll. That is a hard compound LOL
Reply By: Andrew - Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:46
Tuesday, Nov 02, 2004 at 23:46
Willem
Im now running the Mickey Thompson Cepek FC2s on my GU. These are also made by Coopers. They seem to be a very
well made tyre but have also had some tread block chipping.
I have come to the conclusion that our backyard (Im in
Whyalla) is just very harsh on tyres. Certainly much worse than Ive seen in other states.
I guess we have to live with that.
Follow Up By: toymn8r - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 18:07
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 18:07
I am also running Mickey T Cepeks on my Troopy. So far I am very happy with the lack of noise, ride and traction. How many KS have you done so far.
Follow Up By: Andrew - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:13
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:13
Only about 1000kms but my Patrol only comes out of the shed at playtime so its all been offroad.
Follow Up By: toymn8r - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:38
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:38
Thanks Andrew.
I have only done about 4,500kms so far. The troopy is used as a daily driver as
well as escape vehicle. I live in Alice so the escapes vary from corrugations to rocks and a lot of sand. So far really happy with them. The Coopers distributer in town is also the Mickey T distributer.I spoke him and also to the national importer of both Coopers and Mickey T and from his comments the Mickey T have an even tougher sidewall than the Coopers. Kms should be similar according to him.
Early days so this remains to be seen.
Follow Up By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:29
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:29
I'm also running Dick Cepek FC2's and got them pretty chopped up in
the desert. My mate was running STT's and also got chopped up - but I'd have to say
mine ended up worse. The sipeing doesn't help. Jury is still out though - I've done 15ks so far.
Gaz
Reply By: Member - Matt- Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 02:46
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 02:46
I'm running ST coopers on the GU, and 1000ks from brand new they were up in the
Pilbara being absolutely punished following goat tracks and making their own tracks. The cuts and chipping that happened to the tyres was to be expected. I don't for a minute believe that there is a tyre that could come back from such stone country with out damage. I'm bloody happy with the Coopers and I'm realistic about it. 90% tread 90% stone chips, I'm just just happy they got me back onto the bitumen, and never let me down, not like the old codan 6924... but thats another story...
Reply By: bushfix - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 07:56
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 07:56
G'day Willem,
I came across one of those 'had a win' stories at
driver training last weekend.
Young fella running STs on a GU had a bad run with them he reckons. Don't know his driving techniques or where he took them but he described stretching and splitting at the base of the lugs, leading to eventual 'loss' of the lug. Coopers were satisfied that the tyres had underperformed and gave him a swag of brand new Cooper AT-Rs. Claimed they were $394 each - YE GODS!
Jeremy.
Reply By: Gossy - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 12:23
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 12:23
I have just come back from
Birdsville, Camersons Corner etc etc. I have chipping on all my Cooper ST's but that was to be expected because of the bad roads up there. My back two though (carrying most of the weight) have splits on the lugs which I'm not too happy about. Will be taking them back and see what the tyre supplier will say. As mentioned before though, I am also very happy with these tyres. We did carry alot of weight and we have travelled approx 5000kms of bad terrain on these tyres for this to happen.
The Coopers are my bush tyre so they only go on when I am going away. They have now done
Googs Track,
Gawler Rangers and the
Birdsville trek. Tough tracks on both trips and have not got one single puncture etc so very happy with that result. Can't expect them to last forever!
Reply By: Bryan (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 13:58
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 13:58
Has anyone used the ST-C tyres yet?? and if so what is the feedback so far??
I have to replace my BFG's soon, and was planning on putting on either ST's or the new ST-C's..
Bryan
Reply By: Member - Russell S - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:45
Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:45
Willem,
My STTs were on new before our trip last month. They cut and chipped a little, but I expect that from the roads out your way. The wear rate bothers me a little - 4 or 5 mm gone in 8000 km on the back. That's probably to be expected too - we'll see how they go over time with less severe work.
Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:31
Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 13:31
Thanks Willem,
A good post. I note their point about measuring tyre pressure cold. We were getting over 5psi variation morning to evening in our tyres in
the desert.
Gaz