Roachie in 4WD Monthly....

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 13:01
ThreadID: 17527 Views:2803 Replies:9 FollowUps:18
Hey Roachie,

Nice article on your 'trol mate. I was reading it last night and was noticing stuff like "air horn", "inside/outside temp guage", "switches for disabling ABS" , "3ltr air tank" - and at that point I thought that's one of the cars on ExploOz.

Anyway, nice vehicle and looks well set up.

By the way, where I come from, getting your dial in print means you pay up a carton; any of your mates collected yet?

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 14:05

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 14:05
Hi Roachie,

Missed you on the weekend....can't wait to get home and read the article tonight. Am I correct in recalling Pestys vehicle will be in the same mag soon?

AnswerID: 82888

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 14:07

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 14:07
Not yet jombo, but stand by for collecting big time, as my Toyota had to tow him in and out of the Flinders for the photo shoot !!! LOL
AnswerID: 82889

Follow Up By: Andy - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 15:45

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 15:45
What issue, have'nt got the latest in NZ yet.
Andy
FollowupID: 341916

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 16:31

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 16:31
On back page of 73 and article in 74
FollowupID: 341917

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 17:11

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 17:11
Hey Pesty, you may be right about the towing, because I did see him hitch hiking in Wirrabara Forest last weekend.......
Where was the beast?

Geoff.
FollowupID: 341922

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:48

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 21:48
ON THE BLOODY COVER TOO and not a mention of EO .... shame Roachie shame

FollowupID: 341953

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 17:15

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 17:15
Inya dreams Pesty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In fact I'm sure the only photos in existence of our 2 vehicles being "linked" are when YOU were bogged at Coffin Bay and the might TROL had to rescue you before the briny came in and swamped the yota!!
FollowupID: 342066

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 16:39

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 16:39
I heard that the great man is crook - probably a cold....... with a head that size it would catch everything going around....

....only joking...... he is really a very humble fella.

AnswerID: 82898

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 17:12

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 17:12
.................and some would say I have a lot to be humble about......LOL
FollowupID: 342065

Reply By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 19:26

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 19:26
Well done Roachie,

I have seen the article also. Looks very swanky. Pitty its not a Toyota though. Lol.

Hooroo
AnswerID: 82911

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 20:08

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 20:08
Hey Roachie, just a question mate, I've got a 2L air tank now kitted up to the Blue tounge and I've got a spare ARB Air Locker Solinoid. I have not tried it out as yet for running my air horns but am concerned that the Air Locker Solinoid will not let enough volume through to make the trupets "scream" as it only has a small hole it it.

What did you use for yours? Or have you just got truck horns that came with a 12v Solinoid built in?
AnswerID: 82914

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:54

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:54
G'day Jeff,
These horns I have are called Grande Vittesse (spelling??). I've had them for about 10 years. Each trumpet has it's own solenoid. That's how they came. The place that sold them was in SA but no longer operates. They used to adverise in the back pages of 4x4 Australia back in the 90's.
I've often wondered whether the ARB locker's solenoid would be up to the task.....all I can suggest is that you give it a go. I don't see that you could harm anything; they get hit with a 100psi blast of air when they're used for their intended purpose. Otherwise you might be able to pick up a solenoid from a specialist air supply place.
FollowupID: 342037

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:59

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 14:59
No worries, I've had trouble finding 12v Air Solinoids around Perth, nobody seems to sell them except ARB. The ARB one will supply the pressure no worries, I'm just worried about volume as there is only a pin hole that it let's the air through.
I'll give it a go on my holidays (as soon as the bub comes out, where the hell is she!!!) LOL
She's 4 days over due, c'mon bubby, get out! :-)
I'll let you know how it goes!
FollowupID: 342040

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:01

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 22:01
Roachie,
Enjoy the attention while you can, for next month you will be on top of the stack of magazines under the coffee table.
I have yet to see the magazine and the article. Is it worth the $8.00 or should I wait until I go to the barber shop in 6 months time and read it there?

AnswerID: 82933

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:15

Wednesday, Nov 03, 2004 at 23:15
Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh! Roachie Baby

What more can I say other than I am 'gobsmacked' nup! 'p$ssed and amazed' would be a better description.

And as for that good for nothing plant exterminating mate of yours who never mentioned a 'dickie bird' about this at Robe on the weekend, may his chickens turn into emus and kick the sh$t out of his chook house.

Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaate! I am impressed. Hadn't opened the mag up until I saw this post and rushed out and ripped it open. I'll read it in depth tomorrow and save it for your autograph when next we meet. (collectors item).

As someone else mentioned - always remember today the Rooster, tomorrow the feather duster.

Who cares, this is 'cheque book' journalism at its penultimate, so make hay while the sun shines I say.

This will start a competitive trend you know - imagine a dedicated 4WD Monthly 'Mr EX-OZ segment'.

I can see it now : Nov 04 winner the Peterborough Pirate ( Willem) - Runner up the Monash Adonis (Eric).

As if you haven't guessed - been out to dinner that included a number (UNDISCLOSED) of chard'ys.

Bye

AnswerID: 82941

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:23

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:23
Very good LUCY I did mention it but you werent listening at the time obviously and it was also in the back of the last issue, open eyes wider LOL, and guess who also had a shoot while there towing the trol LOL
FollowupID: 341972

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:25

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 00:25
PS hows the Jeep ???
FollowupID: 341973

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 10:28

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 10:28
Shuuuuuuuuush! Pesty

I told you not to mention the Jeep.
FollowupID: 342000

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:01

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:01
G'day Jimbo and all you "others"........
Swelled head ol' fart is home with a bad cold at present. Trol is sitting forlornely in the carport dreaming of past exploits to Cape York and other fun-to-be places. Camper is sitting out the front, anxiously awaiting the arrival of a new Engel upright fridge to replace the 3 way unit which I pulled out a few days ago. New one is in town and is due to be delivered to me this arvo.
Thanks for all the kind words blokes....
Cya in the bush....
PS Pesty; forget the slab.....
AnswerID: 83006

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 18:08

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 18:08
Some free advice.........
Sit at home, hot lemon drink and honey, a couple of Panadol, a soothing lullaby from Annette and just sit back and sign all the autographs.
FollowupID: 342068

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:50

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 12:50
Andrew did you get Roachies medicare number for that advise ?.

FollowupID: 342156

Reply By: Member - Robb (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:10

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:10
Did someone say slab?? Story came up alright I reckon... So who's next from EO to be on the cover of the mag? :)
AnswerID: 83008

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:24

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 15:24
Hey Robb,
Thanks for all your efforts with the article; it came up a treat for sure.
Annette just asked me to ask you ....do you have a new family member to tell us about yet?
Cya mate
FollowupID: 342047

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 18:10

Thursday, Nov 04, 2004 at 18:10
I assume you are Photographer Robb who did the article - how much did you 'airbrush' off Roachie's girth??
FollowupID: 342070

Follow Up By: Member - Robb (NSW) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:26

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 09:26
Hahahaha, no airbrush needed mate, he was looking pretty sharp when i was there (you can direct deposit that money Roachie).... Yes Roachie we do have a new, very loud female family member, Tahlia Evelyn born 8th Oct, weighed 8 pounds 5 ounces.. Was an awesome experience, almost as good as my 3 days in SA earlier this year :) Will be coming down again soon when we can muster up some worthy vehicles.... Any takers?
FollowupID: 342132

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:08

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 11:08
G'day Robb,
Congratulations on the birth of your daughter.......now you'll know what the rest of us had to go through; getting ready for a short "day trip" is no longer a 5 minute job, eh??
Cheers mate....
FollowupID: 342148

Follow Up By: Member - Robb (NSW) - Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:12

Friday, Nov 05, 2004 at 14:12
Yeah mate youre spot on there, we are going water skiing this weekend and its very involved, almost like a military manouvre... But its all fun :)
FollowupID: 342161