yet more 4WD bashing !!

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:02
ThreadID: 17584 Views:3233 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Man, have they got it in for us or what?!!
Article in the "Good Weekend" magazine in todays Sydney Morning Herald realy puts the boot into 4WDs and Drivers. Talks about the drivers "attitude" when behind the wheel, terms like "death on wheels" & "child killing vehicles" & twuce as many 4WDers as car drivers use a moblie phone while driving, and, (this is good) we have an attitude of "It doesn't matter what I hit, I'm in this big, heavy thing, so I'll be O.K"
I'll agre that some points in the article are true, like Toorak mothers double parking outside their kids school, and using mobile phones.This is one of the biggest anti 4Wd beat ups I have read for a while, and guess who's behind it......
our mate Harold Scruby. This guy is just ignorant enough of the true facts that he will continually bleat this B.S. until politicians act just to shut him up.
I hope this never happens.

Rob

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:28

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 14:28
And the media are dumb enough to give him air space............

Just imagine if ALL the Vehicle manufacturers pulled their advertising dollars............

Wouldn't have much of a newspaper would we..........

It's up to the manufacturers & suppliers to fight this one, not us. The 4 x 4 manufacturers have way more to lose than us, and yet we don't see them fighting back. This tells me that they aren't worried, and sales will continue to boom, and all we be good.

At the end of the day, it's pure dollars. Look at smokes, alcohol, etc. All bad things, but the government still rake it in. Same with 4 x 4's.

So, In my opinion, you can rest easy, safe in the knowledge that we are a money first society, and while there's money to be made from 4 x 4's, we'll still have them. After all, the government is going to find it hard to impose a pedestrian walking tax..............

I'm thinking this squeaky door will soon run out of oil, and get it slammed shut, permanently.

I still like Mercedes Benz........... 'cause they got a pedestrian gun sight on the bonnet!!

To lazy to walk anywhere Wolf.
AnswerID: 83235

Follow Up By: Chaz - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:56

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:56
Well said Wolfie,
Just look at our Senator Nick Zenaphobia's anti pokies bill....It will never happen because there are too many tax dollars involved and the government won't shoot itself in the foot.

Reminds me of the gun buy-back, and do we all think we live in a safer place...I don't think so!

I hope this government learns from its mistakes.

Chaz
FollowupID: 342255

Reply By: Richard - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:17

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:17
The article titled 'Big mothers' is the most biased piece of reporting I have seen in a long time.

Not sure what the author has against us considering his background:-
http://www.panmacmillan.com.au/display_author.asp?Author=Van%20Tiggelen,%20Jo
AnswerID: 83278

Reply By: Vinnie - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:01

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:01
Keep an eye on it!!

Political Correctness was scoffed at in the '70s now listen to it all - "you can't say that!!!!!"

Today Australians have some 4028 life restriction rules - there was only 104 in 1972 according to the records of Australian Living Standard

It only takes a small niggle and a continuing push from any minority to put the majority at heel.

Scruby will keep shouting and eventually enough will listen and up comes number 4029.

The only answer here is to yell back - LOUDER
AnswerID: 83296

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:59

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:59
Scruby will keep shouting and eventually enough will listen and up comes number 4029.

Agree... I keep sayin this, everyone keeps saying dont worry about him...
FollowupID: 342411

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 09:00

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 09:00
What a fantastic piece of biased reporting,the heading said"Why the world is divided into 4wdrivers and those that hate them".
Yet there was not one word explaining just why one in five vehicles sold are 4wdrives.
All you get is the old child killing,roll over,bushbashing,fuel guzzling crap.
I agree with a previous post,why does not land rover for example advertise its fantastic economy,safety cell,air bags etc to counter this now general opinion of the public.
If all the manufacturers followed this line, rather than showing the trucks tearing along beaches etc public perception could be changed.
Also its up to us,yesterday at the back of Healesville in aptly named River st,the road was flooded to the depth of about half a metre.
an old lady stopped at the edge of the water trying to decide what to do,A Nissan tray (Grey GU at 10 am)roared up behind her ,swung past and shot across the flood zone completely drowning her car,including the interior as her window was open.
Now who is she going to believe when she or her relatives read the age,what is she going to tell her friends?
What do the other car drivers think who witnessed this stupidity?
My advice to that 4wdriver is-if you are that frustrated that you cannot get any real 4wdrive action,join a club,get trained, and do it right!
And to the rest of us remember that our on road behaviour is just as important as our Bush manners.

AnswerID: 83325

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 11:10

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 11:10
Believe it or not fourstall2000 I was in a suit and got splashed by a Holden Statesman on Flemington Road the other day. I think in this case the driver was oblivious to the puddle as were others as I waited at the pedestrian crossing. Not a 4by in sight.

I do feel for the old lady, but I guess that most drivers expect windows to be closed in security concious city areas, that is especially the case with the elderly. It could just as easily been a Falcon that splashed her.

There are idiots that drive all sorts of vehicles including the odd 4by though, but I did see a red Holden on the wrong side of the road as the driver tried to correct his slide on the Princes Highway just east of Colac on Friday morning about 11. He had turned out of the Birregurra road. Reckon he would have to have had a change as there was oncoming traffic.
FollowupID: 342358

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 22:00

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 22:00
John, did you get a # plate, if you check the law book its actually a loss of points offence!!!
FollowupID: 342412

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 22:06

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 22:06
isnt that bits from the last 5-6 articles thrown together.

Again, I shall say it - if they throw enough shi+ it will eventually stick.
AnswerID: 83416

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:48

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:48
It is not just us though Rob,

http://carsguide.news.com.au/news/story_page/0,8269,11263487%255E21822,00.html

Mr Scruby said these decisions put motor-vehicle manufacturers and advertisers on notice that the Pedestrian Council would complain about any advertisement which breached the ABS code.

"Why are they releasing these vehicles on our roads when the motorway speed limit is 110km/h?"

He called for speed-governing of vehicles and for speedos to be limited to showing 130km/h.
AnswerID: 83635