New Tambo Camper

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:01
ThreadID: 17588 Views:2964 Replies:10 FollowUps:45
Well I picked up my new Tambo camper on Thursday, and it has sitting in the backyard, set up since then. We have had over 50mm of rain since, and the brand new canvas has been great. I have had minor leakage, but considering this is its first weathering, I am very happy. Now I just have to wait for some good weather so that it can dry and I can pack it up before next weeks first trip. I have a lot to learn on reversing the sucker, as I couldn't even get it into my backyard without driving in forwards. Now the truck is blocked in by the camper...oh well.

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:08

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:08
Glenn,

Where are you going to give it it's first run?

AnswerID: 83253

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:12

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:12
Romsey Jim....I have a couple of birthday's to celebrate....and there is a large area to practice reversing..lol.

FollowupID: 342250

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:58

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 19:58
ROMSEY #$%^#

There's nothing there.........
FollowupID: 342287

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:13

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:13
Isnt there? That is not what I have been told...hahahaha
FollowupID: 342290

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:33

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:33
I'm here !!!...and if you call me nothing...there'll be trouble !
FollowupID: 342292

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:29

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:29
Seinfeld was a show about nothing, careful Lyn you may be the Next Big Thing

FollowupID: 342331

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:36

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:36
You could be right Bonz...Look out World....lol !
FollowupID: 342336

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:40

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:40
actually I found it a great way to meet people Bonz...though mostly they had this look of fear on their faces...not sure why ....
FollowupID: 342338

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:42

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:42
Who dya think will be the rest of the cast? You of course woule be Elaine, well educated, debonaire and carefree, Andrew would be Jerry I think. Not a care in the world, full of information and able to waer a tablecloth to perfection, hmmm Kramer......? and George....have to think on them.

FollowupID: 342339

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:46

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:46
I think Diamond needs a role somewhere...
FollowupID: 342340

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:51

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:51
Yes, He has the Kramer confidence and would bring an air of laiz-a-fairre to the experience. Now for George

FollowupID: 342341

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:55

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:55
George could be tricky..

and don't forget George's mum and dad......
FollowupID: 342342

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:34

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:34
George is easy...think about it......think....F250
FollowupID: 342353

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 13:04

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 13:04
You got me??

FollowupID: 342366

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:53

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:53
Great news Glenn, but...how are you going to get it out? I hear Santos Cranes have a package deal to lift campers and cars out of back yards.

AnswerID: 83255

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:55

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:55
Not to worry Bonz, when I pack up the camper I will be able to manouvre it enough to get the truck out, then turn the trailer around and hitch it back up for a straight drive out....lol
FollowupID: 342254

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:57

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:57
Let me know Glenn and I can come give you a few backing lessons

FollowupID: 342256

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:58

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 17:58
Cheers mate, I am sure Al will teach me enough to get by next weekend, but if not I will let you know...hahahahaha
FollowupID: 342257

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:01

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:01
He'll still be busy wiring his spotties......must've been shamed into action at some recent event hahahahahah

FollowupID: 342260

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:03

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:03
You could be right Bonz, so maybe Lyn will have to teach me...lol
FollowupID: 342261

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:05

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:05
You'll be an expert in no time then mate

FollowupID: 342262

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:31

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:31
This has the possiblity of becoming a crap thread...

I am an expert in reversing trailers...I managed to get ours at 90 degrees when trying to get in the shed...LOL...

Lyn
FollowupID: 342266

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:50

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:50
90 degrees...what percentage does that work out to? 100% lol?
FollowupID: 342270

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:56

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:56
it was a 100% crap effort on my part..ahhaha..
FollowupID: 342275

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:30

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:30
I am sure that you will be able to teach Glenn a thing or two about backing Lynda, after all who else uses a swinging wheel carrier to touch park?

FollowupID: 342332

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:35

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:35
I doubt I'll be able to teach Glenn anything he already knows about swinging wheels hahahhaha.
FollowupID: 342334

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:37

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:37
Its not what you know but how you choose to apply it...

FollowupID: 342337

Reply By: mr diamond - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:35

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:35
gday glenn(vic).
wheres the member glenn (vic) gone mate .
lovely set up you have now looking foward to testing it out next weekend.
lets see how drunk we have to be fefore we cant get into it lol.
AnswerID: 83262

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:49

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:49
Member Glenn(VIC) gone mate...membership finally expired on Nov 1 and I won't be updating it again...lol especially seeing as I didn't get full value seeing as it was revoked months ago.

I am looking forward to testing it next weekend too...it is a rather high climb to get in...hahahahaha.

See you Saturday.

FollowupID: 342269

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:56

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:56
we will have a few then try to get in if its possible we will have a few more then keep going till we cant get in.
i know i havnt been able to drink enough to not get into it lol.
YET
cheers and sorry to see you wont be rejoining this great site.
FollowupID: 342274

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:35

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:35
OK Glenn,

Which model what extras; kitchen? water tank? etc.

Tell us all about it.

I'm tempted to get up to Romsey next weekend to have a look and a beer (or many).

AnswerID: 83263

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:40

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:40
you just can't live without him can you Jimbo....lol

Lyn

come up if you like...beers & bourbys & red of some description will no doubt be flowing...
FollowupID: 342268

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:53

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:53
glenn and jimbo
sitting in a tree.
you know the rest hahahaha.
FollowupID: 342272

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:55

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 18:55
Jimbo, I purchased the Cooper with tool box, electric brakes, stoneguard, four jerry holders, gas lift base, provision for extra bedroom, fixed rear shelf, annex. It is a really good set up and very happy with the quality of engineering and tailoring. If you come up next weekend you can have a squiz...but you wont be sleeping in it...sorry
FollowupID: 342273

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:04

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:04
Bringing the wife this time are you?
FollowupID: 342300

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:07

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:07
No
FollowupID: 342301

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:32

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:32
Checking for competition Jimbo?

FollowupID: 342333

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:02

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:02
Campers are great......they make going away so much easier and even though I rarely get away, when I do, we can relax instead of spending hours setting up and packing up.

Must be nice to have it in the backyard to look out on.

AnswerID: 83277

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:13

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:13
"rarely get away"....I think you need to see a doctor Andrew....or is that why some call you "Dr Holiday"....hahahahahahahahahahha.

You are right though. I have had the pleasure of watching you packup and it does seem quite quick...unless you cant find the pole bag of course. My only problem will be setting up and pulling down when it is only James and I on a trip...which is 90% of the time...and it does look good set up in the backyard.

FollowupID: 342289

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:36

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:36
Talked to a guy at the OBC Glenn who had a similar worry re setting up single man (or with James like u intend). He hadnt tried it until this year and had had his O'Briens camper for 6 years. Being a good guy I offered to help but he declined wanting to do it himself.

Being an astute bargain hunter I deferred and watched, hoping I would be significantly required and then could encourage him to sell it as he was single now and didnt need something he couldnt put up by himself.

Damn thing went up easy and came down so also. Bugger, no bargain!

I reckon you'll find it easy to do.

FollowupID: 342335

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:36

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:36
Hi Bonz,

I am thinking of creating some form or hook type think that I could sling over the poles at two points and pull them up using that. I will have a few more goes before I do that though.

Bad luck on the bargain.

FollowupID: 342354

Reply By: Robbg - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:24

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:24
Hi Glenn,

Best wishes with the Cooper. Mine should be delivered before Christmas.

Where did the water come in when you set it up? Will you just wait for it to shrink in or will you apply some sort of sealer?

Wasn't there someone else about to take delivery of their Tambo - Blue??

Rob.
AnswerID: 83280

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:55

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:55
HI Rob,

It was exciting getting it. As far as where the water got it, it was mainly around end seams, and just a couple of drops from the top roof seam. I was very impressed considering the amount of rain we have had. I wont be applying any sealer as when the weather improves, the seams will shrink.

Have fun with yours and say gooday to Keith for me.

FollowupID: 342297

Reply By: Phil & Tracey - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:37

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:37
We also picked up our new Tambo just recently ...(beginning of Oct) and we love it
We had a little leakage for first weathering though its been fine since

We get to do our first big test on it in just over a week when we move from down at Pt Lonsdale Victoria up to Darwin going via my folks place in Central Western Qld. Apart from this we have only taken it on little runs but so far we are very happy with it. We couldnt fault the service all the way through, Keith and Amanda were extremely helpful at all times.

Hope you Enjoy your new toy as much as we do.
AnswerID: 83281

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:58

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 20:58
Hi Phil and Tracey,

Glad you are enjoying yours, I cannot agree more with the service provided by Keith and Amanda, many could learn from them.

Is the move permanent or just holidays? Are you going main roads or a bit offroad? I will be interested to hear how the Tambo travels when you reach Darwin.

FollowupID: 342298

Follow Up By: Phil & Tracey - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:13

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:13
Hi Glenn

The moves permanent..well for at least a couple of years as its a army transfer. We are doing a bit main roads and a bit offroad depends on how the weather is going and how we are going for time, as well as how the kids and the dogs are handling the heat, as lets face it the weathers a fair bit different down here in Vic at the moment...

Will most certainly let you know how it goes along the way and if there were any problems or not.

We looked for a long time before settling on the Tambo and so far we are glad we did.

Take Care
FollowupID: 342308

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:39

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:39
Hey Glenn what drew you to the Tambo unit? What made up your mind I guess I want to know

AnswerID: 83323

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:42

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:42
Hi Bonz,

I looked at the Dingo, Outback and Tambo units before making a decision. The Dingo didnt stack up after viewing them at the factory and seeing them second hand, the Outback Birdsville camper was in my price range, but you had to pay for things the Tambo already had, and when I looked at the Tambo Cooper, the quality was much higher out of the three. For dollars spent, I got more options than I could have afforded with any of the three I looked at. What tipped the balance in a big way was the customer service offered by Keith and Amanda. They were a pleasure to deal with, and very professional.

So in my opinion, if you are looking for a reasonable entry price camper, go with Tambo.

FollowupID: 342355

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:44

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 10:44
G'day Glenn,
picked my cooper up Saturday. As previously stated Keith And Amanda are a pleasure to deal with and a fantastic product also. My only gripe is with Carrack... They can be sloppy with the paint work on the undercarriage. I spent about an hour under it with a can of zinc doing touch-ups. I had the same with 2 other Carrack trailers I've had so I knew to look for it. Might pay to crawl around underneith yours before the trip.

Happy travels, I have to wait 'til mid Dec before I can get away.
Blue... Cooper, 2 jerry, 2 gas holders, elec brakes, xtra bedroom, awning & endwall,
side lift, toolbox... think that's it.
AnswerID: 83330

Follow Up By: Robbg - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 13:31

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 13:31
Glenn,

Just so I know where to look when I get my Cooper - where were the areas that needed touching up, and what did you use to do the job? I suspect that any unsealed road work is going to require some touching up anyway, unless the stone guard protects the drawbar as well (I'm hoping to fabricate something that will do this).

I agree with the comments made about Keith and Amanda's customer service - even happy to take care of my requests for extra welds where drawbar meets chassis and provide a higher travel cover to cope with an inner spring mattress.

Rob.

FollowupID: 342369

Follow Up By: Robbg - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 13:38

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 13:38
Sorry Blue, I called you Glenn - getting my Tambo folk confused!!!
Rob.
FollowupID: 342370

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 15:09

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 15:09
Thanks Blue....for the clue...does that make it Blues Clues?...hahahahaha

Unfortunatley it is too wet to get underneath for a look, but I will certainly do so asap.

FollowupID: 342372

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 17:47

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 17:47
G'day guy's,
part 2 of Blue's clues...

The under the gaurds around the outside lip, welds around the shackles front and rear and there is usually very little paint getting in where the chequer plate meets the chassis... I usually seam seal with Butyl Mastic(selleys) which is flexible but also paintable. I use Wurth Bright Zinc to finish off. Don't know where to get the Wurth from, I get it from work... I presume a Galmet product would work just as well, and available from Bunnings.

Here is a link to a photo of the products:
[ View Image]
FollowupID: 342379

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:29

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:29
Hey Glenn welcome to the camper club mate we tested our camper at Wombat SF at a VIC get-together and met with Lyn and Al and John (VIC) Muddy girl, JohnR & Heather, Eric who fogot who i was by the way Steve & Denny and boy the weather welcomed us with open arms eh Lyn, it poured like you wouldn't believe so much we abandoned the first night, (with a little bit of couxing by Al & Lyn) anyway ended up a great time and the camper preformed well hope yours does too.

AnswerID: 83402

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 07:34

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 07:34
hi Baz,

I remember it well, that Fri was an absolute shocker in the forest and would have been a tad dangerous...esp after i saw the wrecked car slide down the road !...but the rest of the weekend was good.......

Lyn
FollowupID: 342440