Fuel Economy ?

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 21:34
ThreadID: 17599 Views:2781 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Over heard two truckies on the UHF today complaining about the wind yesterday, "not likely to get my usual 104 litres per hour, have to wait till I get home to my computer to findout what I got"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm sure their not driving a Patrol but what a fuel bill eh!!!!!!!.

Makes my 19l per 100km seem ok.

Regards to all

Russell

Reply By: SteveL - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:26

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:26
Most semi trailers get roughly 2km/litre or better so the most you would expect to use in one hour is about 50 litres.I know running up to Sydney with a single trailer from Melbourne I used to use about 380 litres.-Steve L.
AnswerID: 83299

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:46

Saturday, Nov 06, 2004 at 22:46
Russel.
You may have mistaken the conversation, most modern trucks do 30 /40 litres /100k heavily loaded. A scania single trialer gets 28L/100k at a steady 110K. They make a 4x4 look pretty thirsty. Eric.
AnswerID: 83303

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 00:04

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 00:04
where oh where oh where do i find one of these mystical beasts eric.
i want one, i want one, i want one...!
come back to the land of reality mate, 28l per 100km,,,,,,,,not in your wildest dreams. i cant get any better than 2.4km/ltr, and thats bobtail.
a mate has a very nice new cab-over mack, with all the electronic wizbang stuff,,,and he only gets 2.1km/ltr at best.
and russel is probably right about the truckies conversation,,,,,,,,some of the headwinds that happen out across the nullabor can drop your milage down to less than 1km/ltr.....and i aint joking. !
my patrol gives a steady 10ltr per 100km,,,,,(untill i play with the little stubby stick...:) ). so i reckon that this would have to be pretty good campared to any truck out there,,,including mine.

rick.
FollowupID: 342320

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 00:08

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 00:08
and i would lay an even bet that the truckies in question were driving rigs with more than one trailer,,,,,either a b-double, or a road train...( 2 trailers.).

rick.
FollowupID: 342321

Follow Up By: Eric Experience. - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:32

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:32
Rick
The figure is correct at a steady 110 k, a volvo single trailer will do it easily as well. Your mate with the mack, if he is getting 2.4 k/l is getting better than 28l/100k. Eric.
FollowupID: 342683

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:50

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 22:50
eric....i gotta ask,,,,where is there a scania that can get 28l/per 100km?
i cant quite grasp the concept that a laden (i.e. 42.5 ton) truck can achieve this sort of economy.
there is apparently a new bit of technology that can be fitted to truck,,,,giving a slight increase in economy,,,,but not in the region of where you are talking.
2.4l/1km equates to approx 41.66666666 lts per 100km, which is pretty good as far as a truck goes.
to achieve a figure of 28l/100km would require economy in the region of 3.57km/ltr.( which i would love to get :). )
even bobtail, there is no way that a truck could achieve this sort of economy,,,wind resistance is to big a factor to ignore.
as stated below,,,it is not uncommon for trucks crossing the nullabor especially to achieve economy below 1ltr/km, which equates to 100lts for every 100km travelled.,,,(the strong headwinds account for this.)
arround any town/city,,,,economy is usually worked out at an industry average of 2km/ltr, sometimes a bit better, sometimes worse, depending on traffic, terrain, etc.

rick.
FollowupID: 342687

Follow Up By: Eric Experience. - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 23:07

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 23:07
Rick.
Please accept my apologies on the 28l/100k figure, I Checked my notes and found that even though this test comparison between 3 european trucks was done 2 years ago these trucks are not avialable to the public yet. sorry about that. Eric.
FollowupID: 342820

Reply By: Avid explorer - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:35

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 08:35
M8!!! If your getting 19l per hundred then i suggest u take the time to get real and make this produce more power and use less fuel. Simple fix is Snorkel, K&N filter and atl east 1 if not 2 Hiclones. You will be kicking yourself for not doing it earlier....

Good luk!!
AnswerID: 83322

Follow Up By: Member - Russell B (SA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 09:52

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 09:52
Forgot to mention those fuel figures for me were when towing 1.5 tonne rig

Russell
FollowupID: 342350

Reply By: Avid explorer - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 12:57

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 12:57
yeah i gathered that... Even MORE reason why u should get your truck rigged up right. Spend the money and it will produce much better results for u.

Later.
AnswerID: 83345

Reply By: Member- Peter & Mrs Peter, Lez - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 22:49

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 22:49
Was talkink to a truckie at Pt. Lincoln and he told me that loaded and travelling into a steady headwind he would struggle to achieve 1km per Lt.
AnswerID: 83585