Back from trip

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 20:25
ThreadID: 17615 Views:2505 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
Well I had me a great time back in Bendethera. But plenty happened too. I finally got my trailer done and took it on our first trip fully loaded to see how she handled. Well for most of the time i didnt know she was there. Considering i took the trail bike and lots of gear she handled very well.
But there were dramas indeed. Upon setting up camp and having dinner, we decided to sit on the matteress and watch the stars with a nice fire going as you would. Then realising that while we were under the sleeping bags watching the stars, A red belly black snake decided to craw its way over out legs. I tried very hard to focus on the missus as i knew if she had seem it she would have screamed the place down. It worked, dont ask me how but it did. I told her what it was after it was well and truly gone.
After that things went perfect for the next few days until we decided to pack up and head home. Now you think this would be a trouble free thing right....wrong !!

from the camp site (after my fav river crossing BAZ where we camped) we were heading out and when we reached the camp site where some of us met for the first time, one of my gas bottles started leaking in a BIG way !. When i heard the noise I stopped the car to see what it was, when i realised the gas bottle was gushing out at full bore, I yelled to my wife to head for the hills. I couldnt switch her off as the tap was frozen, and with the waeco 80 running in the back of the car i didnt want to hang around for a sparkto set things off.
Our only option was to get as far away from the rig as possible until the gas ran out which eventually it did.
Although nothing happened, i can tell you guys every time i looked at my car I could see it blowing into a million pieces. Its amazing the thoughts that can run through one's head when in trouble.
So glad nothing happened...
My point here is, although we take every precaution to see that things are done with safety first, sometimes its just out of our hands.

I'll be back there soon though....not sure SWMBO will :-)

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 20:59

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 20:59
Well mate very eventfull trip those snakes are a bugger eh it's funny how all those sayings about you leave them alone and they'll leave you alone become so relivant, what do say about gas bottles bloody dangerous things aren't they anyway glad your home safe. How were the caves and did you go for a ride also how did she tow mate were you pleased di you feel a big difference in power loss or did she power on no worries.

AnswerID: 83389

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:25

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:25
Hey Baz,
We brove to the caves car park and read the info on the caves trip. We didnt see them unfortunately as its a 2.5 hour trip. It has a 350 mtr STEEP climb that takes you to the entrance of the caves. So I have marked it down for another time, will be a full day trip there and back. But reading the info board about the caves...its looks very good. Its a requirement for anyone heading up there to have a powerful torch and a helmet (Push bike style) and some non slip boots. Maybe if we arrange a return trip with the guys, we might take a hike so to speak.
I rode the bike for a while. My fav river crossing was quite a challenge i can tell you. Just wanted to bog the bike down to a stop every time i crossed it. But I rode the bike on every track withing the place and there are some great camp sites hidden away in there. But I think the place we camped is the best. Oh and the river level has dropped heaps Baz, it was just over my side steps as i crossed this time. I almost went for a swim though...was very tempted to but i got as far as hips and had to get ouit before the old fella fell off if you know what i mean.
The GQ towed great, i was amazed just how easy it did. The only problems i had was lack of concentration approaching some hills. I would forget to lift the speed up before the climb and thus she would have to be dropped back to 4th when that happened. But as far as fuel went, she sucked alot more, but i think the roof rack was the main cause of that, she seems to slow things down heaps when its up there. I can feel the wind really slowing things down, working harder to stay there.
FollowupID: 342398

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:36

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:36
Funny you say that re: the roofrack. I did one long trip (first trip) with the trailer and the roof rack on - was shocked by the fuel consumption in the Pathy - took the roofrack off the next weekend....
FollowupID: 342401

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:16

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:16
G'day Son

Snakes...and you didn't have your camera handy...lol

Just where was the gasbottle in relation to the Waeco? And how come the gas bottle started leaking in the first place..sounds strange to me.
AnswerID: 83398

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:30

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:30
Hi dad,
i had a camera but i wasnt going to get up to get it.
The bottles (2) were on the A frame of the trailer. The fridge was in the back of car. The gas bottles were brand new first time used. at first i thought it was faulty but then when our heart beat dropped down to an acceptable level, i had time to think as to how it happened. and the only thing that i could work out was that maybe a stick flew up from the car and must have hit the handle enought to open the tap. But because the bottle was leaking towards the back doors i wasnt gonna try to hang around.
FollowupID: 342400

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:42

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:42
Yikes...sounds like you missed a few heart beats...lol

I had the top come off a one burner bottle while it was alight. The flame jumped to the nozzle and there was no way to turn it off so I very quickly kicked the 2kg bottle out of the way with campers scattering in all directions :o) Nowadays with crook legs I hope that I don't have to kick one again.
FollowupID: 342404

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:31

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:31
LOL, sounds like an interesting trip. I won't let my wife read it though, otherwise our scheduled trip there in January will be cancelled quick smart!

That is scary stuff re: the gas bottle. But if you could reach it to try and turn it off why didn't you take it out or turn off the Waeco???

Just out of interest, which way did you go in with the trailer - we will be towing one in January and pressumed that the way in from Moruya would be easiest.
AnswerID: 83403

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:36

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:36
Hey Moggs,
Yes in from Moruya.
The bottle was really pumping out full bore mate, it had been for a few seconds before i stopped thinking it may have beena leaking tyre until i stopped i didnt know what it was. as for why i didnt slose the tap...simple... static...I hate it and i get it alot, esp when i slide out of me seat and close door, i get zapped every time. Plus it was pumping gas out towards the back door, once i stopped the car the gas was all over the back of the car, can you imagine if at that time i opened the door what could have happened if the fridge started up. I sure wasnt gonna take a chance..so i ran like hell.
Hope you enjoy the trip mate, really great place that. I will return again, and this time i will do the caves thing too.
FollowupID: 342402

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:42

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:42
Hey Angelo could be an excuse to go in January Moggs is going we could crash.
FollowupID: 342405

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:51

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:51
No worries, we are having the PCoA 1st anniversary gathering down there.......with a lamb on the spit and all the trimmings. 4 days of fun planned :)....you just need to be a member to get a plate....LOL.....but don't know whether you could cope with all the Pathy talk....Flappa feigned a tootache to get away from us last time we wre there :)
FollowupID: 342407

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:53

Sunday, Nov 07, 2004 at 21:53
ok, sounds scary re: the gas bottle.....now I have my daughters in the back I don't carry gas botles in the vehicle. I thought you must have had a go turning it off as you mentioned the tap was frozen. Do you know what happened - did the valve break or get knocked??
FollowupID: 342408

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 09:09

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 09:09
Moggs,
It was scary mate. You just dont expect it. I am pretty sure the tap was knocked by a branch. Amazing how accurate it was though, hitting the tap in the right spot to open the valve, id pay someone a thousand dollars to try and fluke that while driving over sticks on the ground, would NEVER happen ay. But my main concern was static electricity, so even the thought of reaching out to touch the chrome handle on the back door of my GQ was something i didnt want to chance. So we headed for them there hills. Sadly though... we didnt strike any oil while up there.
You better watch out though, looks like Baz is planning an ambush in January. Sounds like a great idea Baz, you want to get well55 and the rest to tag along....lol.
FollowupID: 342451

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 12:08

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 12:08
Did someone say Bendethra, im in............
FollowupID: 342469

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:24

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:24
Yeah, we'll be there the first weekend in January, eh Moggs. :)

Hey Angelo. Go during winter next time. Cold as, but the snakes are sleepy LOL
FollowupID: 342613

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:54

Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:54
goodday coke
its scarybleepe alright we had the car gas tank fallout at chambers pillar couldnt turn off i had rifle and 100 rounds in the back swmbo coundnt get the jocks clean i tell you

AnswerID: 83522