130 km/h speedo's

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 14:35
ThreadID: 17671 Views:3524 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
Probrably just the media playing on words, but:

Read this article first (2nd November):

Mr Scruby said ....."Why are they releasing these vehicles on our roads when the motorway speed limit is 110km/h?"

He called for speed-governing of vehicles and for speedos to be limited to showing 130km/h.

Its release this week prompted Pedestrian Council of Australia chairman Harold Scruby to suggest vehicle manufacturers were "the cowboys of this century", living in a lawless "Wild West".

However, Mr Scruby's calls for vehicles to be speed-governed and speedos to be limited to 130km/h have been met with disapproval by authorities.

Australian Transport Safety Bureau safety research and education director Joe Motha said it was not practical to speed-limit vehicles.

"If you were to regulate strongly against manufacturers, you would need a powerful argument detailing how the benefits of such a move outweigh the costs," he said.

Read this one second (9th November):

"THE Victorian Government wants to restrict speedometers on all new cars in Australia at 130km/h.

Premier Steve Bracks today said Transport Minister Peter Batchelor would submit the proposal to the Australian Transport Council, a meeting of state and federal transport ministers, in Brisbane next Friday."

My Question:

Which came first, the chicken or the egg ???

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:07

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:07
I like the dribble about Speed regulating is costly...

I agree, why do we need cars and bikes on the road that do 200mph, not kph?
AnswerID: 83695

Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:31

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:31
So why should the Northern Territory be penalised for Victoria's short sightedness? (btw ... is Scruby from Victoria?)

Maybe these protagonists of over regulation should take a study tour of Europe to see how they handle speeds approaching 300km/h safely.
AnswerID: 83697

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:52

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:52
I don't know where he was born but he's a resident of NSW
FollowupID: 342640

Reply By: beatit - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:54

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 15:54
Hope Scrubby stays in Vic (I am sorry for the Vics), sounds like another pathetic government excuse for not maintaining good roads and blaming the road toll on speed and 4wd's bull bars. Thank god there are precious few pedestrians on the off road tracks, so I take it that bull bars aside we are out of the cross hairs on this one?

I suppose in his paid job he is a park ranger catching happy snappers with tripods?

AnswerID: 83704

Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:21

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 16:21
Makes you wonder who is the biggest Dikhead.

Harold Scruby or Steve Bracks

AnswerID: 83717

Reply By: Member - Haldo (Sydney) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:04

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:04
Opened a can of worms didn't' we.....?

AnswerID: 83724

Follow Up By: rengatt - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:31

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:31
The article your talking about is the proposed Ford Typhoon Sedan, I don't know the full specs but power wise it is on par with the top level Porsche. This is the super car scare of the seventies again. Spose next Mr Scuby is going to complain that 4b's should be outlawed because they have bigger wheels than passenger cars.
FollowupID: 342637

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:54

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 17:54
Proposed! aint nothing proposed about it, it's real. I've driven one.
FollowupID: 342642

Reply By: WDR - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:53

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 18:53
I don't know much about Scruby apart from the fact that he has a one objective agenda and pushes it rather well (publicity wise) or that thing called Bracks who replaced the worse things called Cain and Kirner who forced me out of Vic years ago after they bankrupted the place and most occupants of the State but I do know the worse scourge of all motor users are motor bikes and the morons who seem to ride them these days apparently immune from prosecution because all of the police have been retrenched or are doing other things.
Compared to most bike riders the average Matron in Toorak in her Landy with Bull Bars and Spot Lights who arranged her license via the coaching for non english speaking learner method is a saint.
That should stir them up.
AnswerID: 83738

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:24

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 19:24
WDR, got to agree(much to my disgust) with you on the bike issue... I ride and I reckon I do it safely, I used to think and preach that it was a minority on bikes spoiling it for the rest of us... The more time I spend on the roads be it bike, truck or car, the more I realise that most bike riders are intercourse heads determined to kill themselves or someone else. Someone should redirect our mate Mr Scruby to this issue...
FollowupID: 342653

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:24

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:24
gotta agree with this as well.....riden for years,,,,amazed at the amount of idiots there are on them now....today for example.
driving down the freeway,,,,passing another truck,,,,motorbike went between us,,,,less than two feet either side of his handlebars-----trucks,,,each weighing around 17 ton (empty) travelling at 100kph....idiot with a death wish as far as i am concerned.

rick.
FollowupID: 342665

Follow Up By: navaraman - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:41

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:41
If both trucks are travelling on a freeway at 100 kmh why do they need to be side by side. It's no wonder some other motorists take chances on the roads.
FollowupID: 342667

Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:45

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:45
hiya navaraman,,,the key word there was " passing", as in overtaking,,,,

rick.
FollowupID: 342669

Reply By: Richard - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:37

Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:37
Scruby is notorious in NSW for grabbing the headline on a slow news day. Not sure why he drives a vehicle rather than walk.
AnswerID: 83758

Reply By: cruiser - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:20

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:20
What I don't understand about Mr Scruby is, who employs him and in what role. What is his official job title. Is he employed by a Government, a Safety Council or what.

All I know is that his head keeps popping up everywhere and he is a pain in the proverbial ..................
AnswerID: 83857

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:41

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:41
He's not employed by anyone. He is the head, sole and founding member of the pedestrian council, yes a one man band. He lives of grants and handouts, no doubt pesters people till they give him money to get rid of him.
FollowupID: 342775

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:26

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:26
Yeah Wazza,
I also seen it on the idiot box, who do these fools think they are. On the box they said that if you did not show numerals above 130kph then one would not be likely to drive any faster, DUMB IDIOTS most vehicles are now coming out with GPS mapping units which show the correct speed the vehicle is travelling.
Seems funny that these so called egspurts use aircraft and rented limo's to get around.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 83892

Follow Up By: G.T. - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 18:10

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 18:10
Also you can use your rev. counter to give you your road speed. Strange that our `expert` pollies (note no capital `p` for pollie, they don`t deserve this distinction ! ) have`nt cottoned onto this, if they had they would be advocating a ban on rev. counters fitted to cars, or one that only reads to something like 3000 rpm maximum ??? Shows that they have little knowlege of the function of a motor vehicle but are quick to make a big noise about safety which in my opinion they do not have a clue of what they are talking about. At the end of the day, I think that this idea will not get up to 130 K.P.H. let alone fly. Regards G.T.
FollowupID: 342783

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 06:57

Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 06:57
Dodg, G.T.,

Yeah my point of view would be that if only the speedo was limited to 130km/h and not the car, then you can only ever get fined for doing 131km/h.

If you are driving in a 110km/h zone and doing 131km/h you will be fined and punished for going 21km/h over the limit. But what about if you were going 140km/h. Do you get fined for going 30km/h over or 21 over? You did not know you were doing 140 after all. And what about if you were doing 260km/h. You still might have thought you were doing 131. (you would be stupid, but you could argue it)

Wazza.
FollowupID: 342828

Reply By: Andrew - Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 09:26

Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 09:26
Don't blame Vic for Scruby. I understand he is from NSW and is a media pet for stirring up issues without needing facts.

Could it be that holden started this when they realised ford might be trumping them in the power stakes (a battle they started) and this is a way of getting ford the bad publicity despite them having 300kw for ages. Funny how the holden dealers know all about fords warranty issues but never seem to have heard of their own. (your the first person who ever had this problem!!!)

food for thought?

A

AnswerID: 83971