+50 halogen lights... not really +50

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 01:04
ThreadID: 17696 Views:9884 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
G'day,

bought some Narva +50 after market H4 globes to replace the standard ones in the Rodeo. At the price, thought this was a pretty effective light upgrade.

Well, I've fitted one and it IS a bit brighter, but I tell you what, I reckon you'd have a 50/50 chance of guessing which one if you know what I mean.

The Narva +50 globes are actually Osram (isn't just about everything?) and this replaced the OEM Philips globes. The light is slightly whiter and slightly brighter, but if I had to guess, I would say maybe 10-15% brighter?

Will put the other one in tomorrow night and test the two together. This will be a bit harder obviously as I will lose the comparison. I will not be replacing the globes with higher wattage due to the increased heat and load on wiring, relays, fuses etc.

Anyone had good/bad experience with the Narva +50's or others?

Reply By: warthog - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 02:38

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 02:38
I have osram +50 globes and I would say 10-15% brighter is being generous, won't bother again. Are those blue globes any better or just another rort?
AnswerID: 83800

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:19

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:19
bloke at Autobarn told me the blue globes were just for looks, could've taken my money but reckons they are a gimmick
FollowupID: 342770

Follow Up By: Peter O - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 22:02

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 22:02
Hi Guys,
I have had the blue globes in my GU for more than a year now and I have found they aren't brighter but do highlight the road signs, lines on the road and general surroundings quite well. I will be sticking with them for the time being(untill I can afford to replace them with the xenon lights).

FollowupID: 342809

Reply By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 07:03

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 07:03
I'm using the Phillips +50 Blue and would say about 40% brighter, but this extra brightness does help when you drop back to low beam.
AnswerID: 83806

Follow Up By: Smocky - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:27

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:27
Yeh, I was wondering about the difference between Philips and Narva(Osram). The Philips I took out look quite well made and certainly a little better than the Osram's that I put in.

I reckon I might try to get hold of a Philips +50 and try that. I'll give the blue ones a go too. Got a friend that works for Osram, so I can get hold of a few things for "testing" purposes.

FollowupID: 342714

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:03

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:03
Go the 140/100's ;-)
AnswerID: 83811

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 14:05

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 14:05
Hear Hear, just replace the current connections with heavier wiring, relays and its a huge improvement.

FollowupID: 343046

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:45

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 08:45
I bought the phillips equivalent for my ol' Rodeo (2000mdl) and did notice the light was whiter giving that illusion that is was brighter. I prob should of put the cash towards driving lights as I ended up buying some cause the headlights were still crap! (But not as crap as my GU's!!!)
I'd go up to at least 100w/80's as I haven't had a prob with other vehicles wiring I've had. I would steer away from the 130/??W as the wiring was ok but the connector on the back of the headlight melted!

Leroy
AnswerID: 83820

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:06

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:06
Hi Smokcky

Got the Narva +50's in my Jack, they are brighter, as you said more white than yellow. I have noticed the difference out on the road. I also have the Narva blue driving lighs, they are fantastic and give off a great bright light.
Adam
AnswerID: 83826

Reply By: 80scruiser - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:16

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:16
I use 90/100 ultra blue in the outer lights of an 80 series and 100 blues in the inner.
I use 130 bosch globes in Narva driving lights.
Excellent lighting on both high and low beam.
Only trouble is if you blow a globe you have to buy two as they come in pairs.
AnswerID: 83830

Follow Up By: warthog - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:52

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:52
What brand are those 90/100 blues and could you tell me where you got them. Rip Every Poor Carnt Off told me +50/blues were only available in wattages of 60 max. though this was 12 mnth ago.
FollowupID: 342718

Follow Up By: 80scruiser - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:47

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:47
I purchase through Coventry Spare Parts Western Sydney.
I think the brand was Opti Blue but can't be sure as it is almost 2 years ago. The 130w driving light are bosch purchased from Coventry. Coventry are owned partly by Ford and originate in WA.
Don't take my word for gospel as I am only going of a vague memory.
FollowupID: 342777

Follow Up By: warthog - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:23

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 21:23
Thanks mate, will give them a call.
FollowupID: 342801

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:20

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:20
Just my 2 cents worth....
I don't reckon you're gunna get much improvement with any headlight globe replacement unless you upgrade the wiring loom. I'm talking here about fairly late model vehicles which have wire to the headlights about the same gauge as the cotton that holds my jocks together.
As for the idea of putting in 140/100's or similar high wattage; that'd be brilliant (pardon the pun) except you'd end up melting the headlight casing in next to no time, especially if you use plastic headlight protectors.
The solution (big $$$$$$$$$$$$) would be to upgrade to HID inserts. I haven't done this yet, but reckon it would be the way to go in the long term.
AnswerID: 83831

Follow Up By: Smocky - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:34

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:34
Thanks Roachie,

not trying to blind pedestrians though. Got good driving lights for open highway, just looking for some improvement in suburban driving. +50's are a cheap upgrade, so thought it would be worthwhile doing.

Some of the other posts suggested higher wattage globes, but there are quite a few issues with this. Not just whether the light assembly or wiring or car electronics can handle it, but it's illegal. Not to mention the fact that I would then have every second car flashing THEIR 100w globes in my eyes when they thought I had my high beam on.

I might try the wiring loom solution you suggested by running some bypass wires from the relay and battery. Don't need to worry about the switch as that is low voltage anyway.

Thanks for your help.
FollowupID: 342715

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:57

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 10:57
I have the Narva +50 and while they aren't fantastic, they are somewhat useful.

I can notice a difference only when sitting in a Jackaroo that has the standard headlight bulbs in it. Then I know that mine are definitely whiter and the beam is more defined.

I don't think there is an extra 20m reach as the packaging suggests.
AnswerID: 83835

Reply By: Mal58 - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 11:56

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 11:56
People,
Interesting, one of the headlight globes in my wifes car went. (Mazda Protege). I thought replace with a Narva +50 bulb, as there are rave reviews about these globes on the internet

As we have had the car from new, imagine my surprise when I found the dead one was also a Narva +50 bulb.

So I guess the morale of the story is, it really depends on what you are comparing to see if you get any improvement.

Mal58
AnswerID: 83842

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:46

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 13:46
The Plus 50% claim a 20% increase on low beam, and a 50% increase on high beam. I agree with most people's assessment - they're a bit better, but its not dramatic.

AnswerID: 83862

Follow Up By: Ralph2 - Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:38

Wednesday, Nov 10, 2004 at 17:38
Phil would'nt know.
FollowupID: 342774

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 14:07

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 14:07
thanx for the tip Ralph

FollowupID: 343047

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 20:09

Thursday, Nov 11, 2004 at 20:09
had the narva +50s they were ok, but didnt last long ( 18 months) just fitted the phillips +50 and they are a lot better .
AnswerID: 84035