National Gathering.

Submitted: Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 23:28
ThreadID: 17770 Views:2466 Replies:19 FollowUps:12
With the recent post about Trips/gatherings in the various states sparking a bit of a debate, i had a brain wave....( going for panadol...:).)
anyhoot,,,,i reckon that most of us would have next years trip planned for ourselves,,,,but what about 2006?
just an idea i am having,,,or had. but, what about a national gathering ,,,,say in Alice Springs in 2006?
Yes....No.....Maybe....Dunno....crikey, well anyway,,,that was my brainwave for the week....over to the rest of you Great Stricker God worshipers.

rick.

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 23:35

Friday, Nov 12, 2004 at 23:35
Would love to see a big EO gathering at Birdville.

Imagine the day trip to Big Red!
AnswerID: 84176

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 06:40

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 06:40
I'd go to either next year
AnswerID: 84184

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 06:41

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 06:41
- could be dead by '06
FollowupID: 343027

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 07:59

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 07:59
Lets hope not Bob.
I'd go to either next year also.
FollowupID: 343029

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 08:28

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 08:28
jolly good idea - Keen as mustard !
AnswerID: 84187

Reply By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 09:47

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 09:47
As long as its not in the middle of summer when i'm @ flat out @ work count me in
winter is better up that way anyway i lived in N.T. for 4 years back in the early 80s
yes getting old
warren
AnswerID: 84196

Reply By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 10:45

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 10:45
Definitely Birdsville - being such a big part of Exploroz history.
I'm sure Ruth would love to have everybody stay with her, and we would certainly love to have everybody over for one night of frivolity, and would be happy to offer EO members an attractive deal on a three course meal (on top of the deals already available to members). Another night at the Pub....Unforgetable.

Hope everybody has a great summer anyway, and I'm sure we'll see some of you next winter.

AnswerID: 84199

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 10:51

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 10:51
Definitely Birdsville, After all Ruth wouldnt have us anywhere else. I reckon I'd be innit

AnswerID: 84200

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 12:01

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 12:01
Sounds like a plan.....
AnswerID: 84206

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 14:41

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 14:41
It does have that sense of a plan indeed

whats the swahili mean Lynda?

FollowupID: 343051

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 18:27

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 18:27
Hi Bonz,

it's irish gaelic and means

not all who wander are lost

Lynda
FollowupID: 343058

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:32

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:32
Ahhh thats a regime for life I attest to.

FollowupID: 343076

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 12:15

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 12:15
I'm attending a national gathering next year with another forum at Cameron Corner. It takes a fair bit of organising with school holidays being different times in each state. Obviously needs to be as central as possible, able to cope with lots of people and preferably in the cooler months but avoiding the wet season.

Still sounds like a plan to me. The other forum have teamed up with the RFDS to raise some funds as well which I think is a great charity for 4wders to support.
AnswerID: 84209

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 13:12

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 13:12
Looks like we've got a party. So what are we talking about 05 or 06
AnswerID: 84212

Reply By: peter in sa - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 13:57

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 13:57
count me in sounds great ,either the alice or birdsville ,if in birdsville every one caming in from the south or west could meet at JOHN,OS BOTTLO at MUNGERANNIE for a couple of v,bs or two and a relaxing swim in that nice pool for a day or two ,then we could all travel up to biirdsville together,jeez i,m getting excited all ready cheer,s GREENDOG
AnswerID: 84217

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 15:28

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 15:28
Ruth & Ian have a Park...
E O E O Oh

And forum members arrive before dark...
E O E O Oh

With a Nissan here, Rodeo there,
Here a Paj, there a Maz,
Nowhere a Toyota........

Ruth & Ian have a Park...
E O E O Oh

.............. can't think of too much else thats gonna rhyme, anyone else? ............

I'm runnin'

Wolfie

AnswerID: 84227

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 18:24

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 18:24
I've always said a national one would be a great idea seeing as every state now has had one or are having one and a good chance for Tassie and NT members to have some members come, it is hard for NT and Tas to have one seeing as they don't have alot of members, given the time it is a great plan. Who wants to put their hand up to organise it.

Baz. I'm in next year or whenever.

Which date.
AnswerID: 84243

Reply By: Member - Miles (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 19:20

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 19:20
Count me in
AnswerID: 84248

Reply By: Billy - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 20:42

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 20:42
'06. Eastern states meet Birsdville, pick up others in Alice, everyone continues in in convoy through Kimberly. Group photo on Cable Beach.
AnswerID: 84252

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:27

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:27
Naked?

FollowupID: 343075

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:53

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 22:53
knackered
FollowupID: 343079

Follow Up By: peter in sa - Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 23:05

Saturday, Nov 13, 2004 at 23:05
i.ll go naked cheer,s GREENDOG
FollowupID: 343082

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 08:10

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 08:10
Isnt cable beach at Broome where one considers clothing optional?

FollowupID: 343085

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 18:24

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 18:24
Ok, I'll ask. What is the best time for this gathering. July 05 ?
AnswerID: 84323

Follow Up By: Earvin Johnson - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 08:37

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 08:37
I'm with you Ray, July 05 would be ideal as will be heading across the Simpson east to west.

Anyone else that wants to come along is more than welcome.

FollowupID: 343174

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 00:06

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 00:06
Hi Ray, planned to be in Birdsville in July 05 for
"Bernies Big Birthday Bash"
could be bigger than Johns.

FollowupID: 343252

Reply By: Paul from Ozroamer Sunshine Coast - Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 23:26

Sunday, Nov 14, 2004 at 23:26
I'm in for Birdsville anytime.

AnswerID: 84361

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 00:05

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 00:05
Count me in too, 05 or 06, Birdsville or Alice.
AnswerID: 84365

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 01:04

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 01:04
Would you like David and I to be there too? If so, we'd have to say we'd prefer 06, as our trips for 05 are pretty well planned. We're off to Tassie in a couple of weeks and its a big trip of 8 weeks, 11,000kms or so and so will use up all our options for time out of the office and money. Can't see us doing a desert trip in 05 at all unfortunately, but would like to attempt a big trip from WA to Qld in 06 so for us the Simpson (4th time) will just be the shortcut to get to Cape York!

David doesn't know any of that yet, I'm the navigator anyway - he just goes where I tell him!!! LOL :-)
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 84525

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 01:09

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 01:09
What I meant to say was, so we could quite easily plan to meet up in Birdsville for a National Gathering. It's a good location for us when crossing the country from the west to east or vice versa no matter where we're going, its almost the quickest (and certainly nicest) route. Our trip will need to cooincide with School Holidays WA for Leah's sake but if July is the interest, then we'll probably meet up with you in Birdsville on our way back from the Cape as I'd like to be on the coast much earlier than that.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 343253

Reply By: Member - Gary W (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:21

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:21
I have to say it sounds pretty cool. Birdsville July 06.

Gaz
AnswerID: 84576