GMC $98 Gen Sets

Submitted: Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 15:33
ThreadID: 17829 Views:4419 Replies:6 FollowUps:10

My GMC $98 generator from Bunnings had leak around the handle discovered when I lay it over a bit to clean it. I had bought it in July this year.

Rang GMC on Sunday (yesterday). No problems, return it to Bunnings they said and they will exchange it. But, the small $98 set is no longer available says I.

No problems says the man from GMC, we will replace it with the $168 one (the 650 watt continuous unit). If you have problems tell Bunnings to call us.

Off I went. Bunnings said no probs but would like to ring GMC. I gave them the number. All over in less than a minute. Within 5 mins I was out of there with a new $168 set.

Bunnings guy said it was nice to deal with an organisation that was on the ball (GMC) and gave clear no mistake instructions.

So, everyone happy all round, especially me as I still only spent $98 and now have the bigger unit.

Good polite service does still exist (Bunnings). Honourable organisations do honour their warranties no questions asked (GMC).

Magnus

Reply By: Savvas - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 15:58

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 15:58
Feels good when something like that happens, doesn't it. On a bit of a tangent, I went through something similar recently.

My daughter had orthodontic braces when she was 11. This was through the HCF dental centre at Hurstville. As members, the treatment cost us $100. However, it all seemed very quick and they were off within 12 months.

She is know 15, and two of her front teeth obviously didn't stabilise. One of the bottom teeth put pressure on a top tooth and pushed it forward. Anyway, put it in writing to HCF and asked what they think we should do.

They invited us in for an examination and a few weeks later, we get a letter that they were willing to fix it all at no cost and at the orthodontist of our choice.

So she now has those new fangled invisible braces, a treatment that is expected to be upto 18 months at absolutely no cost to us, and at an orthodontist of our choosing.

Isn't it great when a company steps up to the mark without any hassle?
AnswerID: 84447

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 16:34

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 16:34
Enjoy your 'WIN'

Bunnings in Melbourne had a pallet load of the $98) 750's for sale last week.

AnswerID: 84451

Reply By: Neil & Lynne - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 16:43

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 16:43
It is always refreshing to hear ppl giving a company a pat on the back for good service. All too often we are quick, and very vocal with our displeasure for any wrongdoing, but seem to forget the kudos when they are due.
Dont be shy guys, log your good stories on this site.... http://www.notgoodenough.org (I can never get the hyperlink to work)
They like to publish good results as well as horror stories.

Neil & Lynne
AnswerID: 84455

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 08:54

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 08:54
Neil & Lynne,

The Hyperlink is quite simple once you know how.
Simply copy and paste the Hyperlink line into your post. This is at the bottom of the blank post menu.
(Ignore the For links:) and copy and paste the rest
then replace the domain.com/path bit with your chosen url.
Or, if you insert the whole url including the http prefix, copy & paste, or type, the full url (web address) replacing everything between the two quotation marks.

Finally, you can replace the link text bit with any text you like to personalise your message. Just ensure you leave the > < each side.

Have a go!

FollowupID: 343272

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 18:05

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 18:05
I'd just like to point out that had the original post said GMC were unhelpful and difficult there would have been a whole lot of people on this forum posting to say "You get what you pay for". That is not always a true statement.

PS. I have a sneaking suspicion the 850W are the 750W sets but have just had their specs. upgraded – however I am just guessing - would be interesting to know if you can tell the difference?
AnswerID: 84475

Follow Up By: Magnus - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 18:52

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 18:52
Mike,

They look identical. I suspect that it may be the other way round. The 750's are perhaps 850's that didn't quite make the grade and have been downgraded.

Having said that, the manuals for the sets are different. Different colour, different specs inside and different model numbers, different boxes etc. (I have both manuals in front of me).

So, perhaps they are different products. Who knows. Either way they do work for the purpose I bought them for.

And you are right. Would have been heaps of I told u so if the story was the other way round re GMC.

Well, I can wear out 10 of these for the overinflated price of a Honda gen set, so I am happy.

Magnus
FollowupID: 343230

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 20:16

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 20:16
Don't you get sick to the eye teeth of this "You get what you pay for" Bull bleep .

Half of the cost of "brand" name products is for marketing, and TV ads featuring celebrities doesn't improve quality.

When you buy something from Bunnings, KMart etc you get a genuine guarantee. It doesn't matter about the quality or price of the product, the support offered is the main thing.

Now I wouldn't depend on a $98 generator for life or death in remote areas, but hell, I bought one for my nephew for his 21st and he sleeps with it in his bedroom and it works like a charm.

I unfortunately had two of the $198 (then) jobs that didn't work properly and Bunnings happily refunded my money. Can't say fairer than that (Arthur Daley).

Dealing with reputable retailers is the key.

Jim
AnswerID: 84489

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:22

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:22
Depends on the product but I do agenerally gree with the you get what you pay for principal. My Dewalt palm sander died about 8:30pm one night. I raced up to bunnings to buy one of those $19.99 special sanders to keep me going. What a piece of rubbish. There is no comparison. I decided to repair my dewalt and after pulling appart found a dry solder joint connecting one of the brushes.

Leroy
FollowupID: 343250

Follow Up By: Wetty (W.A) - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:26

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 23:26
You're right Jimbo,
That's why I'd NEVER buy a Toyota! LOL
FollowupID: 343251

Follow Up By: charlie - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:04

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 09:04
Is there something I'm missing about these generators or is your nephew just a bit hard up at the moment? Hehe!
FollowupID: 343274

Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:48

Monday, Nov 15, 2004 at 22:48
hear hear about the get what you pay fors (GWYPF's)
check the Kia thread
AnswerID: 84505

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 10:38

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 10:38
did a quick search, couldn't find the Kia thread... what was the deal, mate just bought a new fangled Kia all wheel drive thingy... Any excuse to have a lend of him...
FollowupID: 343284

Follow Up By: Neil & Lynne - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 11:11

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 11:11
Try this one Blue
The thread

I'm following your advice Sand Man. If it works...Thanks.

Neil & Lynne
FollowupID: 343287

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:34

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:34
I must be missing something but where are the gwypf's in that thread? It was mostly people saying buy a Zook instead. These are of a comparable cost (not 10x or whatever a Honda is over a GMC).
FollowupID: 343312

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:00

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:00
I think he made an error and actually means this thread:

Kia thread

The URL seems to be a bit long for the Explore Oz link system, hopefully the redirection via tinyurl will work OK - otherwise it's post 17812.

FollowupID: 343317

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:48

Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 22:48
Noisy KIA differential pinion coupling - (PostID: 17812)
jeez i better become a better computer geek. The thread was on the same day I posted that message, dont know how to link it, thought youd look into the forum instead of searching the last 75 years of forum archives!! Doesnt matter, bunnings are not a bad company to deal with on that side, never had a quible about returning anything from a hose fitting to a welder with no questions asked! See how good WA companies are!! LOL
FollowupID: 343360