93' Isuzu Trooper 3.1 TD chassis failure
Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:25
paul v
Hi Team ..Im a visitor to your site..I have owned since new a LWB 93 3.1td Trooper/ bighorn /jackaroo..Im wondering if anyone has heard of cracking occuring in the chassis.
Mine has just broken around the weld on the front RH
suspension arm.
I'm gutted because my insurers have said it's a design flaw.. And I don't use it off road or have any winch or custom bars fitted.The thing that scares me is that if I had been travelling at speed I probably wouldn't be here to ask the question...
Is this a one off or are there more out there..?
Paul V
Kiwi Down Under
Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:34
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:34
It's news to me that it's a design flaw. Until now, the only Jackaroos that I have heard about with cracking in the chassis are the Garland Racing team ones, after 20000kms of being bashed really hard.
I'd be asking the insurer to show you what information they have that it's a design flaw, and to show you statistics of how many other Jackaroos/Troopers/Bighorns they have seen with this problem.
Is there any corrosion where the break occured?
Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:37
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:37
How do the insurer know it's a design flaw? They know something that isn't common knowlegde about this? I'd ask them more questions. I do remeber a post about a Rodeo cracking the chasis in the middle but I think that had done heaps of off raod work.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:20
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:20
It was on the CSR, and I think they were carrying all the convoy's fuel.
Reply By: paul v - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:58
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 12:58
Hi guys... a site where you get a bit of action..She is a clean fracture, no rust this is New Zealand no salted roads, follow the dotted line down both sides of the weld. Another site in Aus jackworld.alphalink.com.au makes mention of chassis failures in td models. But they believe the might be attributed to
winches and heavy accessories being fitted. Dont fall into that catagory
At present it's a write off.. and unless I can find someone willing to cut the buggar'd bit of chassis out and replace with a new front end off a wrecked one i'm stuffed.
Re insurance..yep unless there is evidence of damage / a cause/accident/ etc they will stick you with the old sorry mate...
Keep it comming...
PAUL V
Kiwi down under...
Follow Up By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:22
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:22
Get a big truck to back into it.
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:50
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 13:50
Obtain an engineers report on the damage, also ask your insurer what are the recognised qualifications of the person who made the decision.
Worked for me once with a broken yacht mast! Insurer said it was a "design flaw" so I asked for the assessors qualifications & said I would see them in court & that I would be accompanied by the designer & the builder of the mast. Cheque was in my letter box within 48 hours.
Reply By: theshadows - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:06
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:06
I think they are having a go at you.
Get the dogs out and set them at them.
design flaw my arse.you want that to be in writing on manufaators letter head.
If not take it to the media.
shadow
Reply By: paul v - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:13
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:13
If I thought I had a leg to stand on I would be in like the proverbial robbers dog.. But without any other physical evidence that indicated I might have hit something I've got to agree with the insurers it looks to be a stress fracture. I've been offered a complete 2nd hand chassis fitted for a couple of grand or a cut and paste replacement for around $750...
I would dearly like to have some concrete evidence of any other instances so I could go Isuzu...i've got some very interesting photo's just not sure who or where to send them...
Cheers Paul V
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:40
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:40
I'd definately be asking how they came to the conclusion that it is a design flaw. They can't say these things if they have no way of backing it up. If they can't then bend them over.............
Rodeo utes get used by the Australian Government, corporations and many builders and I have never heard of any breaking a chassis except for the one above. These Government and corporation vehicles get overloaded and flogged to death and they don't seem to be cracking.
Don't just accept what they tell you as they will do anything to get out of paying.
You say you have no proof......so ask for theirs and then bend it to suit you (if they have any).
Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:40
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 14:40
No mate,
You DON'T have to agree with the insurers and you have two legs to stand on. They happily take your annual premiums the Bleeps.
Do you belong to an Automobile Association such as us Aussie's have in every State of Australia?
Contact them and see if they can help your cause.
Don't accept the Insurer's initial decision without a fight. That's what they count on.
Good Luck.
Reply By: paul v - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:07
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:07
Hi Guys.Its the old story if you spead the web far enough....Just had notification of another confirmed case of a failure at the same point.. Unfortunately the evidence is now in the form of reinforcing steel...have a gecko under your wheel arch and the arm in question,and along the leading edge of the underside of your chassis.( Directy below the power steering unit)
Not wanting to be paranoid but this has the potential to kill.. and makes for a bloody difficult fix if happen to be on walk about...
Paul V
Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:38
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 15:38
Paul,
What happened exactly?
Did it just give out one day, or did you have an accident? It would help if we knew a bit more about the events.
If it just broke, then the insurer could
well be within their rights as it is not accident damage. However that would mean you have some sort of recourse on Holden (or Isuzu ... do you have a Bighorn or Jackaroo?) as welds like that shouldn't just break even if the car is 11 years old.
Do seek assistance for this from your motoring organisation and let us all know how you go.
Reply By: Banjo (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:03
Tuesday, Nov 16, 2004 at 16:03
If you could get some illumination under there Paul and then snap it with a digi cam in focus - now that would be worth quids to us Jack owners. Thanks for the report.........sharing of info is much appreciated.......surely a repair by someone good with metal is the best financial option ?
Reply By: paul v - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 06:48
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 06:48
Hi Guys..I will try and cover all of your questions..Firstly I am a photograper so pic's are not an issue.. I have (3) excellent images available as Jpeg files. I will probably have to compress thebleepof of them as they are currently about 3mb files.. also just not sure how to post them on this
forum.However if you have any experts ..I'm happy to put a Cd in the post and they can load it onto the web site..
How did it happen.. Fortunately I was driving in the city.(Auckland) I was approching a set of traffic lights slowed from about 45k's and bang.. The old girl lurches to the right..It sounded like it was brake issue... the disc or a front axle. I nursed it back to my office less than 1km away and had a geko under the wheel arch...Buggar me...
The model of vehicle..
well in NZ they were badged as an ISUZU Trooper some later appeared as Jackaroo's as supplied to the Aus market. It's a LWB 3.1 TD.
Had the vehicle been involved in any frontal accidents or was it modified in any way?.. No.. It did however run 265x 65.16 Firestone Firehawk RV's on the STD factory rims. And 95% of the time it was used in 2wd..the other times it was used mainly in Snow..
I have owned a total of ( 5) Brand new Isuzu's over the years and this is the first truely bad experience that I have had.
As mentioned in my early posts my greatest concern is that of safety and not wanting to see anyone killed should this be more than a one off incident..and the more I dig the more my gut feeling is that there are quite a few out there...
Let me know if someone can post the images..and I will send you a CD...
Thanks for your continuing interest..I note that GM. are still yet to respond to my E.mail and probably won't..
Paul V
Follow Up By: Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 09:19
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 09:19
Post a CD to me if you like Paul and I can reduce condition the pics and load them .... I play with the web daily. You can email me at darianpo@tafe.sa.edu.au for the postal address.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:11
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 10:11
Paul, I posted your problems to a friend and he's asked me to post this reply,
Jim
I owned a 92 Bighorn Irmscher from 60,000 to 280,000 km sold it last year and replaced it with a 2000 Isuzu Plaiser. Had a winch bar on the first one, same as on this one. It spent half its life off road to a great extent. It never had any cracks in the chassis. I have never heard of this happening before and I would suggest that you re-apply to your insurance company and if you get no joy take it to Fair Go.
If you want to talk to me about it, send me an email.
Malcolm Langley.
www.On-Track4WD.CO.NZ
New Zealand 4WD Radio Network
on-track4wd@xtra.co.nz
Reply By: paul v - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 14:06
Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 14:06
Hi Guys..thanks for all your interest ..just spoken to panel
shop in West Auckland who were recommended as having all the gear and experience to either transplant new chassis or weld in new section.. they confirmed that have seen three cases..of chassis failures on td model Isuzu's.
Still no response from GM.in New Zealand..I have posted a CD with pics to Darian so allow about a week and hopefully he will post them on the web site...
Paul V.
Follow Up By: paul v - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:42
Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 08:42
Just had a reply from GM. Holden NZ. re my enquiry over any knowledge of problems with TD troopers chassis... this is the company
have supplied me 5 brand new Troopers over the last 15 years ..you will love it..
"We are not able to assist you with your Isuzu Vehicle enquiry. We suggest you contact Isuzu directly."..
Holden customer assistance..
Not even the courtesy of attaching an address... I am getting just a little annoyed...
Cheers PV