110lt waeco

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:00
ThreadID: 17880 Views:4745 Replies:15 FollowUps:35
Have been told no dual batt system on the planet will cope with the power draw of the 110lt fridge. Was told leaving it running off the battery for more than 3 or 4 hours would render the battery useless because of the driving time required to replenish it.
Anyone out there using a big fridge care to comment on how they do it, what system, batt size etc.
Blue

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:11

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:11
bugger the power draw, how the hell do you fit it in ??? wouldn't leave much space in the back would it??
AnswerID: 84743

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:28

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:28
got the camper trailer sorted, plenty of room in the tub of the triton now...
FollowupID: 343476

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:42

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:42
its easy to fit in.....leave out all elde that aint drinkable
FollowupID: 343494

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:23

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:23
Does it come with a steering wheel, bullbar and 35" tyres?

AnswerID: 84745

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:29

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:29
No 35's... more than 15mm, can't get insurance
FollowupID: 343477

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:32

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 17:32
Most fridges (including Waeco) are fitted with low voltage cut outs. This is done not to protect the battery system, but to protect the compressor in the fridge. On my Waeco, I can set it to stop at a high or low voltage. I forget exactly what they are, but I believe the low voltage is 12.3v. That means the fridge will happily run until the battery hits this voltage, at which time it will cut out. Conveniently, there will also be enough charge in the battery to start the car. The question about how long this is can be worked out mathematically, but will depend on many variables such as outside temp, desired inside temp, condition of the battery. My suggestion would be to suck it and see - if there is not enough charge get a waeco thumper. I reckon if you keep the fridge full (they operate more efficiently with more mass inside them), you would get at least 24 hours in summer. My 45l lasted comfortably for 2 days last summer without a recharge.

AnswerID: 84747

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:29

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:29
cool, I'll look into it
FollowupID: 343478

Reply By: Bros - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:00

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:00
Blue,
Mate of mine runs a 100 lt trailblaza off a battery and 2x80w hinged solar panels. Still requires a battery top up every time we run the generator. Probably because he doesn't care where he puts the fridge (shade, semi shade or sun). Gets opened fairly regularly to get at the amber fluid. Frozen stuff stays frozen under a ply board. Hope this helps in some way.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 84753

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:07

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:07
Thanks bros, I went and ordered the bloody fridge it's on it's way... Thought I'd better track down all the required parts to build the dual system, had trouble convincing the fairer half to part with the initial outlay... Now trying to keep the colateral damage to a minimum... She'd never spring for solar panels, have the genie though but not sure what amps the 12v DC outlet runs at, may not be enough to do justice to the battery.
FollowupID: 343485

Follow Up By: Magnus - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:43

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:43
Blue,

If you are trying to keep the costs under control, forget solar. Use the gen set to gharge your battery via a battery charger, not the 12 dc outlet.

Depending on the second battery you may be able to get away with a moderately inexpensive charger. However if you go for a deep cycle battery you will need a three stage charger and they start at over $200.

If you attempt to get by with an elcheapo charger with a deep cycle you will fry the battery and ruin it real quick.

Magnus
FollowupID: 343495

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:59

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:59
Magnus,
how about a middle of the line charger with an AGM battery, any thoughts? As they readily accept any charge you throw at them, perhaps this could be a goer
Blue
FollowupID: 343501

Follow Up By: Magnus - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:36

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:36
Blue,

In terms of a lower priced charger, yep u should be ok. Same rules apply as they do to normal cranking batteries, don't overcharge.

It is the combo of normal chargers and deep cycle that presents problems.

Do a google search on AGM s to see what u can find out about their charging characteristics.

Magnus
FollowupID: 343508

Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:38

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:38
i run a waeco 90 l and have left it on for 3 days and more with no battery issues . I run 2 batteries connected in Parralel , no fuss no gismos . = no dramas .

whoever told you it would render your battery useless after 3 hours need to he hit in the head with a sledge hammer .
AnswerID: 84762

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:13

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:13
Eric,

You've stepped up from a ring spanner to a sledge hammer. Nothing like continuous improvement LOL.

FollowupID: 343459

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:20

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:20
lol . I must Just need a good rrrrrrrrrrachet set
FollowupID: 343461

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:41

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:41
or a stick, sticks are good for hitting people who scare others with nonsensical comments

FollowupID: 343467

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:41

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:41
and fish... fish are good for hitting people too, and they come with a handle

FollowupID: 343468

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:16

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:16
Bonz,

Don't suggest anyone hits Eric in the head, he's UGLY enough already LOL.

About as ugly as you and me.

FollowupID: 343488

Follow Up By: Kata - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:09

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:09
Hi Eric

what type of batteries you running

esp 2nd one for the fridge as I am looking at the dual battery stuff right now
FollowupID: 343547

Follow Up By: Member Eric - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 16:47

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 16:47
Both are crank batteries . This also awsom for winching having both always connected together . If you need to isolate one for long stays withought flatenning both batteries , just fit a terminal isolater . One turn and one battery is disconnected . Kiss method . Keep ir Simple Stupid .

lol
FollowupID: 343567

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:47

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:47
Blue,

My understanding is that the 110 is mechanichally identical the the 80 with a taller cabinet. At Robe I was discussing the 80 with Peter (Peter and Lez). He runs his in his Cruiser off the start battery (only one) happily as long as he is travelling every day.

The 110 is rated to use an average of 3.6 amps at an ambient temp of 32 C with the fridge section holding 5 C. Clearly it would use nothing like this in lower day time temps and cool nights.

The bloke at Battery World ran an 80 for 24 hours in his showroom and the usage was less than 20 amps in 24 hours with an empty fridge.

As for driving time to replensih the battery, that depends on the type of aux batt you use. It's apparently true that a wet cell deep cycle will only accept about 5 amps per hour so a lot of driving would be needed. I have an AGM which soaks up charge as fast as you can throw it at it. From my experience as little as one hour per day will keep it topped up.

A solar panel may will help a normal DC but they're not cheap. Alternatively an AGM can be used if you're prepared to either run or idle the car for an hour per day, but AGM batts are not cheap $250-$400 for a 100 amp job.

AnswerID: 84765

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:32

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:32
Hi Jim, can I get an AGM at any battery store?
FollowupID: 343479

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:12

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:12
Blue,

AGM's. Available at Battery World with varying prices depending on the Franchisee. Remco (Chinese, and there's nothing wrong with that) can be had for $250 (100 amp) or Lifeline (USA) for $350. Also Fullriver, not available from Battery World are a Chinese job available at a fair price.

The best deals I could find were from Chris at Battery World, Wantirna. His product support and followup is second to none. Top Bloke.

For additional technical advice talk to the bloke at Federal Batteries in Sydney, 13... number in the Yellow Pages. Another source of good information. He will tell you which AGM's are true deep cycle and which are imposters.

Jim
FollowupID: 343486

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:48

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 18:48
Blue

Are you talking about the Waeco 110 litre chest-type fridge? If so its power draw (of a bit under 4 amps) is not THAT much greater than the smaller units.

Let me know more and I can probably help - I asssume also you are talking about running it from a second battery charged by the vehicle's alternator.
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 84766

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:12

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:12
I got the spec sheet on these and they draw 5.5 amps when running. The average draw depends on things such as ambient temp, whether they're full or not, in the sun etc. This will obviously influence how often they cycle.

FollowupID: 343458

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:23

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:23
My Waeco specs show several 110 litre units - one of which draws what I stated in my posting. As you say there is another that draws 5.5 amps.

Re average draw - you may be interested to see my two-part article on making fridges work better - it's on my website. Click to enter - then click on articles.
Collyn Rivers
FollowupID: 343462

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:26

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:26
Collyn,

What's your website address?

I'd love to read it.

FollowupID: 343463

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:28

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 19:28
Ignore that,

I just found it on your member profile.
FollowupID: 343464

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:42

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 20:42
Collyn, Idea was a second deep cycle in a battery box in the tub with an anderson plug so I can dump the battery with the fridge at camp for a couple of hours at a time. Don't really want the fridge in the back if we're going to give the 4by's a flogging. I figured it would be OK to leave the fridge for a couple of hours without power, putting the battery back in the car to go sight seeing or whatever. Based on the power consumption on the website, I figured with a 100+Ah batt I should be able to run the fridge for a couple of days without drama. Of course I have NFI what I'm talking about...
FollowupID: 343481

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:21

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:21
Blue,

If you want a relocatable batt read this, I keep posting it because it is an alternative.

I"ve got a great setup. It was installed by Chris at Battery World, Wantirna, Vic. He put a smart solenoid under the bonnet, ran 140 amp cable along the chassis and popped it back into the car attached to an Anderson plug. He then put a 100 amp Lifeline "AGM" battery into a battery box. The battery box has cable running out of it to another Anderson plug so the battery can be removed when not needed or to be used as a mobile power supply. Inside the box he fitted a circuit breaker and two female waeco plugs to the box. He also added a three way cig socket plug with a male Waeco plug on the end to give me three power outlets if needed. The other female plug on the box is used to power my fridge, an Engel which I got him to fit a Waeco plug to as they clip in and stay in. Total cost $700.

AGM batteries have the advantage that they are completely sealed and will accept an extremely high recharge rate, basically whatever you can throw at them. A normal deep cycle will only take about 5 amps, so takes a lot of driving to get them back to full. AGM's of this size are reported to fully charge from near flat in 2-3 hours.

The other big advantage is the portability. Went away two weeks ago to some unpowered cabins up the bush and was able to take the battery into the cabin to power the fridge, lights and laptop to fiddle with my photography.

I can't speak highly enough of the setup."

Cheaper and more versatile than your normal under bonnet setup, however takes up a bit of space in the back.

Works for me.

Good luck with your projects,

FollowupID: 343489

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:33

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:33
Jimbo,
that's exactly what I had in mind, I've already got a redarc solenoid, the cabling, batt box, got 4 standard cig plugs and 2 single pole plugs, circuit breaker and stuff... Bought it all today and just about to set it all up... Fridge issue aside, I wanted a relocatable power supply anyway. I think I'm leaning toward the AGM battery, have just emailed Battery World for more info and firm pricing.
Blue
FollowupID: 343490

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:56

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:56
Blue,

Be warned that Battery World are franchises and their prices vary like the weather.

Talk "turkey" to a few before you purchase. I found Chris at Wantirna to be the best.

Of course he was new to the franchise then and may not be as competitive now, but I was over there a few days ago and he was wonderful.

Jim
FollowupID: 343500

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:01

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:01
Thanks Jimbo, I'm in FTG so I'll pop down there tomorrow.
Blue
FollowupID: 343502

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:21

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 22:21
Collyn,

Top site.

I continue to learn.

FollowupID: 343504

Reply By: Bros - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:22

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:22
Blue,
Yes, solar panels costalotamoola. $600 plus each in OZ or get the two landed here from the good old US of A roughly for the price of one. Been on this site before somewhere. Have a search if SWMBO can be swayed with chockies and sweet talk.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 84792

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:37

Wednesday, Nov 17, 2004 at 21:37
Mate... 8 years and 3 kids, chockies and sweet talk ring her alarm bells... I'm one of those blokes that, even if SWMBO relented and let me import 2 for the $ of 1, I'd surely do something stupid and smash 1 or both. I must have been a right $hit in a past life... Got a lot of karma chasing me around.
Blue
FollowupID: 343492

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 09:58

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 09:58
Blue

I'm all but certain that 110 litre fridge draws (as Jimbo says) about 3.6 amps.

Here's roughly what you can expect.

Consumption will vary considerably with ambient temperature and usage but by and large you would expect it to use a minimum of 25 and a (non-freak) maximum of 45 amp/hours every 24 hours: I'd be inclined to work on an average of 40.

This can barely be supplied, for one day, by a conventional 100 amp/hour lead acid battery. This is different from what you generally read and are told but this is battery reality.

The reason is that a standard alternator/regulator can only charge a conventional battery to 70% of its nominal capacity. So a 100 amp/hour battery is, at best, good for only 70 amp/hours. If you discharge it routinely below 60% discharged (the makers recommend only 50%) you will wreck it within about a year. Thus that battery is really only good for about 30 amp/hours - or 40 at a pinch.

The solution is that suggested by Jimbo. An AGM battery charges and discharges very much faster and more deeply - and can be discharged to at least 80% (discharged). A 100 amp/hour AGM wiull cost the earth but it will charge from a standard alternator close to 100%. You thus have 80 amp/hours available - and that's enough to run that fridge for your desired two days.

There's really no other cheap solution. Yoiu could look at the Christie 50 cc Honda 55 amp genset and a conventional battery - but that will cost you more than the AGM.

It is vital VITAL to use heavy cable when connecting to the battery. Minimum is 6.0 m autocable (that is 4.6 sq mm). 8 AWG (also known as 8 B&S) and actually just over 8 sq mm is not overkill.

There's a heap more about the above in my books - but you may end up knowing more than you had in mind!

Trust this helps
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 84843

Follow Up By: toymn8r - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:55

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:55
Collyn

I have been reading your articles with interest. Thanks for the info. I have just been through the dual battery process myself.

I ended up going with a 150 ah AGM battery wired to the redarc isolater by 8mm cable. I have also mounted a xantrex 20 amp 3 stage charger in the vehicle to top up at home or via gen set.
I was reading one of the links on your website the other day which makes me ask the question. Will i burn out the standard alternator on my Troopy 78 TD trying to recharge a 150 ah AGM battery whilst on the move.
I am running a 60lt Trailblaza and fluros. How long could I expect to run fridge in Alice Springs summer

It may be overkill but at least the beer is cold in Central Aus so far.

Thanks for any further info.

Bart
FollowupID: 343556

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:32

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:32
Bart

I believe there could be a risk. AGM batteries have very low internal resistance (or more correctly impedance) and this enables them to absorb a considerable charge from an alternator. I don't think this is much of a problem with a small AGM - but could be with one as big as 150 amp/hour. I think I'd be looking at a 120-140 amp/hour alternator.

May I suggest you ring Val Rigoli at Fridge and Solar re this. He has a lot of experience in setting up AGM batteries this way - and in this matter Val's field experience is more valuable than my theory. You'll get Val on 07 5500 506e1 (he is in Labrador, Qld).

Re Trailblaza and fluros - presumably running from the AGM?

The Trailblazer is likely to draw 40-50 amp/hours/day - a bit more if you open it a lot - the fluros up to 5 amp/hours/day more.

Unlike conventional batteries the AGM will charge as close to 100% as makes no odds (say 95%) - they can safely be dropped down to 80% discharge. So you've got about 115 amp/hours. The answer is thus a bit over two days - as long as you keep the fridge way out of the sun. You'll get about 3 outside the peak summer months

Do follow my general advice re using seriously heavy cable - 8 gauge is not overkill. The difference this makes to fridge performance is extraordinary. In my experience I doubt if more than one 12-volt in every 100 is connected using adequate wiring.

Hopefully this will change as my book 'Motorhome Electrics' (in which I stress this very strongly) is now being used by TAFE as part of the auto sparky's course.

Trust this helps - and please forgive my mentioning the book - but I feel it is in context.
Collyn Rivers
FollowupID: 343571

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:56

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:56
Collyn,

You're a gentleman and a scholar.

When you talk about wire to the battery, I only know mine as 140 amp wire and it looks thick. Is this enough?

FollowupID: 343574

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 20:06

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 20:06
Bart

Further - re the above - am assuming that you are speaking of being on-site with no charging facilities. If driving every day - or most days, almost any fridge will run

I'm sure you will find many people who will assure you that they can run a fridge for a week on a 100 amp/hour battery without any form of charging - and if that's what they wish to believe that's fine - but I'm attempting to give you good conservative answers to your question - assuming the extremely hot conditions one gets in the Alice in mid-summer.

As a matter of interest, a typical fridge draws and extra 5% power for every one degree increase in ambient temperature, and/or decrease in thermostat setting. The optimum for the latter is 4 degrees C. So the draw at 40 degrees C is 50% greater than at 30 degrees C - and so on.

There is not in fact a huge difference between most fridges in terms of consumption (Autofridge and Indel are exceptions as they use a Danfoss working in a quite different way) but by and large consumption depends on usage and installation.

Collyn
FollowupID: 343576

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 12:44

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 12:44
Hi Blue
Also try the following site, Val gave me great service and alkot cheaper than Battery World
http://www.fridge-and-solar.net/
Regards Ray
AnswerID: 84868

Reply By: Jason M P - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:11

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 13:11
hi blue,
i had no problem running the 110lt waeco for 4 weeks going up to cape york and back to adelaide back in august.the fridge was running off the 2nd battery.only problem we had is trying too keep it full of beers. cheers.
AnswerID: 84877

Reply By: cruiser - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 16:38

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 16:38
The larger Waeco's (FF70/80/90/110) all run the same compressor - a Danfross DB50, and as you can see from all the replies, it does not matter wat method people have used for either power supply or battery installation or the type of plugs used, they have all had the fridge run fine for days on end.

I think you were ill informed by some halfwit who does NOT know what he is talking about.
AnswerID: 84902

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:39

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:39
Cruiser

There's a lot of people out there with a quite different experience - I think it's probably a matter of how much driving (and hence charging) people are doing each day or so. And also how well the fridge is installed.
Collyn Rivers
FollowupID: 343572

Reply By: floyd - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 18:20

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 18:20
Save your money.

You actually dont "NEED" the extra one. It will only do what your starting one will do as the fridge will stop drawing current at about 12.3 volts regardless of wether there is 1 or 2 batteries. If you have a single battery and it draws down to the cut off there will always be enough at 12.3 to start the vehicle again. Save Your money if things are tight. My Waeco goes 3 days without a start before the cutoff and that is in above 30 degrees. Just park in th eshade and leave a bit of space around it to let the air circulate. get a insulated cover (cheap from the fridge shop online) if you have 100 bucks spare.

Remember 2 batteries = twice the cost to replace every 2 or 3 years. You will be spending more in order to spend more with no gain in fridge running time.
AnswerID: 84913

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:11

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:11
Hi Floyd,
the second battery idea came before the fridge idea. I wanted a relocateable power supply for lights etc. A second battery removeable via an anderson plug would just be damn handy most of the time. My trouble started when I was missled by an electronics supplier who was probably hoping I'd come back to him for help and then try and sell me $$$$ worth of solar or similar.
I've gone with Jimbo's line of thinking and got an AGM battery today, will serve a multitude of uses including power to the fridge.
thanks for the reply though
Blue
FollowupID: 343570

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 20:23

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 20:23
Jimbo

The 30, 50, 140 amp etc 'ratings' you find on cable are fire ratings only. They indicate only the current a cable can carry before the insulation melts. Because various insulation melts at varying temperatures depe4nding on cable purpose, a cable of a specific size may be (and is) rated at anything from (say) 20 amps to 70 amps.

This rating tells you nothing whatever about voltage drop - which is really what you are interested in. Sorry this of little help to you - but if you can measure the COPPER conductor's diameter - and let me know the distance between fridge and battery I can calculate the cross-sectional area and hence the voltage drop. Or you can do it yourself:

The formula is: Length of conductor (in metres) X current (in amps) X 0.017.
Divide the answer by the cross sectional area of the cable (in sq mm) and the answer is the exact voltage drop.

For example with fridge drawing (say) five amps, five metres from battery: Conductor length = 10 (metres) X 5 (amps) X 0.017 = 0.85.

Four square mm cable will thus result in 0.85 divided by 4 = equals a comfortable 0.21 volts drop. BUT NOTE that 4 sq mm cable is NOT 4 mm auto cable (the stuff your are almost certain to be sold). The auto cable equivalent is 6.0 mm (and that's actually about 4.6 sq mm). Don't tell me that's a stupid system - I know but I only write about this stuff!
Collyn Rivers

AnswerID: 84924

Reply By: Barticus - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:49

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 07:49
Collyn

Bart here again. Thanks for your input, I will give Val a call.
90% of the time I will not be in the one spot for longer than a few days But I would like the option to stay longer if I wish.

Once again thanks for the info.

Bart
AnswerID: 84964

Follow Up By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:31

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 10:31
Bart
Bear in mind my comments are for worst-case situation. If you add an insulating cover to the fridge and use it sensibly you may well get four days out of that big AGM.
Collyn
FollowupID: 343631