follow up 110lt waeco

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:18
ThreadID: 17907 Views:2297 Replies:1 FollowUps:6
Thanks everyone for your interest and ideas. Have decided to go with the 100Ah AGM(thanks Jimbo), Chris at battery world Wantirna was a true gentleman in his approach. After shopping around locally, his shelf price was the cheapest by far... So I tried to talk him down a bit, he wouldn't move but was $38 cheaper than the nearest quote.

Gets it's first REAL test mid December, will offer some feedback at that time so others may have an easier time of it.

Thanks again
Blue

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:45

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 19:45
Blue,

Did you go the Remco or the Lifeline?

Now on another subject I notice in your rig photo you have a shot of Murrundindi. I camped there overnight about five weeks ago just to try out the new camper. Didn't do any driving. By the look of your photo ther must be some good tracks? Please tell me about it.

Could be a spot for a few of us to get up to and do an overnighter. I know Moggs and Browny (both top blokes) are interested. Get up there Saturday morning, set up camp, go driving for the day, get back for a few beers and a feed, hit he cot, get up and cook breakfast, go for another drive, come back in the arvo, break camp and go home.

Maybe Eric, Andy, Kelvin, Mac or anyone else may be interested.

Great spot and it's only about an hour and a half from my place, Berwick. Closer to FTG.

How does Sat/Sun 11/12 Dec sound?

I'm salivating.

AnswerID: 84919

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 20:15

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 20:15
G'day Jim,
I went the Remco with Chris's blessing, he reckons they perform well and as long as I don't need it for cranking I should be right.

Murrundindi... Been there once, followed a mate around for a couple of hours so I am not very familiar with the area. We were there after quite a heavy period of rain, I got snatched out twice that day and I saved him once. He lives in Perth now so it's not likely he'll be playing tour guide. There must be someone in EO who has played out there a bit and wouldn't mind a weekend away.

10/11/12/13 dec I'll be away for the first big test of the fridge/battery setup as well as the SWMBO/Tambo setup ( which will be directly affected by the fridge/battery performance ) . At this stage it looks like we'll be out near Avoca, we have 20 acres out that way with NO power or water...

Leading up to xmas my shifts are always crazy so it's hard to make a firm commitment. If someone else wants to take charge of a weekend away, I could give a tentative Yes but confirmation would have to be last minute.

Thanks again for the battery advice, I'm sure we'll catch up for a play sometime soon... I'm pretty keen on one of your Gembrook adventures.
Blue
FollowupID: 343577

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 21:18

Thursday, Nov 18, 2004 at 21:18
Blue,

An EO gathering at Avoca could be a possibilty on that weekend?

How far away is Avoca?

FollowupID: 343581

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:23

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 00:23
Our property is in a town called Barkly about 40k's out of Avoca. Approx 3 hours from FTG. The nearest pub is Moonambel where the new publican will sell you Jim Beam cans for $4.50ea take away, whether you buy 1 or a slab. It's a good place to go to get away from the city lights and relax for a few days, wineries for SWMBO and I'm sure there must be some fantastic tracks up through the Pyrinees ranges. I'll have to suss out some maps and see what I can come up with.
FollowupID: 343599

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 12:47

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 12:47
mmmmmmmmmmmmmm Moonambel Pub, glorious memories of ful bellies and warm and friendly atmosphere. Great Place. Used to work for SEC in Maryborough so looked after that area. Never knew about 4wd tracks back then but drove a Sigma so thats why prolly. Dec is a lot close to Chrissy but Avoca's so close to home, less than 2hrs easy.

FollowupID: 343651

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:57

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:57
Hi Bonz,
how long ago were you at the Moonambel pub? We hadn't been there for about 3 years, dropped in just before Easter this year and the old friendly warm country service seemed to have followed Pat and Erroll when they sold up. Was really dissapointed by the cold and rather unfriendly service and nearly fell over when I asked for a slab of Jim Beam cans to go and was told " $108 thanks..." i said excuse me and he said " $4.50 per can" I said you must be f@#$*&% kidding, he said " take it or leave it" I said stick it up your a$$ and left.
FollowupID: 343699

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:59

Friday, Nov 19, 2004 at 16:59
More years ago than I care to remember Blue. Stayed twice at one of the woneries near there sonce then, great olde world charm and exquisite gourmet food.

FollowupID: 343702