By-pass oil filtration systems

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 20:52
ThreadID: 17991 Views:4321 Replies:13 FollowUps:10
G'day all,

I think this subject has been covered before and I have done a search in the archives.

What i am now seeking is info from anybody who has a by-pass oil filteration system fitted to their Patrol (or any other vehicle for that matter).

I have been talking to a bloke by phone as a result of the article about my rig in 4WD Monthly mag. He told me he has an "Amsoil" BE-90 fitted to his GU. I checked out their website (www.amsoil.com) and there is a lot of useful info on there. I have even decided where I could fit the fiter (bolted in behind the bullbar's side wing).

At this stage I haven't even priced the set-up. Amsoil advise on their website that they do not ship to countries other than USA & Canada. The bloke who phoned me said he has a mate who imports a container load of Amsoil and associated gear a couple of times a year. So I guess i could ask him to source a set-up for me.

However, I would like to get a full range of opinions before committing to the Amsoil brand (which has apparently been around and doing this for about 30 years). I seem to recall another member (was it Captain WA?) also has a by-pass filter system fitted. I used to think it was a bit of snake oil (forgive the pun), but after having read a lot more on the net about by-pass filtration, i am virtually convinced that it has significant merit.

Okay....let the war (of words) begin!!! hahahaha

Thanks in advance for all those who take the time to respond......

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 21:03

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 21:03
Good on you Roachie. I have been lookin real hard also and consider there is merit in the system. What I don't like is the added vulnerability of plumbing going awry out in the back blocks. I certainly don't favour putting a hole in the sump for the return line or running the return lines to the block via a vulnerable brass "T" piece. Other than that I would seriously consider. I would still drop the oil at normal changes with the interest being in maintaining highest oil quality. I'll get canned for that statement but I suppose it's my money eh!! I'd be interested to hear how you go if you decide to proceed. Cheers
AnswerID: 85292

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 21:29

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 21:29
G'day Luxoluk,

That's my main concern too. Not real happy with the idea of drilling a hole in the sump (knowing my luck I'd drill right into something important!!!). On the Patrol, there is already a return hose going from the turbo to the sump, so I reckon it would be safer to cut into that hose and insert a "T" piece as there would be no metal shavings to get into the system.

Another worry is that with extra plumbing comes the potential for a hose to come adrift. I read this concern on a site last night and the simple response is to fit an audible buzzer connected to the oil pressure sender unit; so as soon as oil pressure is lost, the buzzer would sound. I could be mistaken, but I believe these buzzers are used in prime movers as I have noticed such a noise when I've been a passenger in the cab of a Kenworth owned by one of my clients. When he switches on the ignition, the buzzer sounds for a few seconds until the start-up is completed. I'd never thought about it before, but it makes sense that that is what it is.

AFAIK these filter systems (eg: Amsoil and Frantz etc) use only the highest quality hoses and fittings and the biggest risk would be that the mug who installs it (Me!!!) stuffs up something. I like the idea of being able to double (at least) the interval between oil changes. I would switch to use Caltex Delo 400 ; and will probably do so from now on anyway.

Lets see what the others say, eh?

FollowupID: 343866

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 21:56

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 21:56
I have a friend who had a bypass filter fitted to his troopy with 1HZ engine, swore by it and had it for years.
Worked well although he still changed the oil every 5k and filter every 10k so personally couldn't really see the point as the unit was pretty pricey.
All was fine till the day he was out in the goldfield region of WA, a long way from home in Sydney and one of the hoses let go emptying the sump on the road, by the time he realised and shut it down the motor was stuffed, chucked a rod.
Very expensive recovery and subsequent new motor while on hols, the new donk didn't get a bypass oil filter.
I'd be making sure that low oil pressure alarm was fitted. His troopy had a gauge and the low oil light (sump level) but driving along on rough dirt roads he didn't notice till too late.
AnswerID: 85299

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 22:07

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 22:07
Thanks for that info Peter....it is that sort of thing that leaves a niggling doubt in the back of my mind.
FollowupID: 343874

Reply By: Andrew - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 22:11

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 22:11

Does your 4.2 have 2 oil filters the same or 2 different ones. If built before mid 2002 then you should have 2 different ones. One is full flow and one is bypass. If they are 2 the same then they are both full flow.

Check these 2 threads on the Patrol Forum:
Oil Filters for GU
Oil Filters for TD42T
AnswerID: 85302

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 22:20

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 22:20
G'day Andrew,
Yeh, mine is a 2000 model with 2 different filters. I will now check out the links you provided...thanks mate
FollowupID: 343876

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:01

Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:01
Hi Roachie,

I haven't had a bypass oil system on any of my vehicles, but have certainly looked into it. I reckon they do a great job of removing contaminats from the oil and they certainly extend the useable life of oil (oil generally becomes contaminated before it loses it's lubrication properties).

However, on a 4WD in offroad situations, it adds another potential area to breakdown and do some major damage (as in other posts above). I have also heard of mounting it behind the roo bar wing, but after a mud run, how much mud, gravel and crap do you wash out of that area, I know I get heaps in some circumstances?

Not only that, but the cost of the unit itself and the ongoing filter cartridge costs means that unless you significantly extend your oil change interval then you are behind cost wise. I guesstimate you would need to extend to 15,000kms changes and it would probably take a good 100,000kms before you were in front. But after that you would be saving 2 out of every 3 oil changes less the cartridge costs.

I reckon you need to weigh up the longterm cost savings of bypass filtered oil with its increased offroad vunerability versus the proven 5,000km oil change. Given your penchant for proven reliabiliy (and you certainly cannot knock that), I would be suprised if you went the bypass filter route. But maybe your bank manager ways sees the cost savings ;)

AnswerID: 85303

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:16

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:16
G'day Captain,
Sorry for suggesting it was you that had fitted one.....I did some more research through the archives and found it was Member Ed.C that I was thinking of.......I'm getting old, don't forget!!! hahaha

I think that if I went ahead, I'd probably have the hoses professionally fitted, might even use braided hoses. The buzzer should be mandatory too, even in standard factory vehicles IMHO.

Thanks mate.
FollowupID: 343892

Reply By: Flash - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 09:45

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 09:45
I've been using Bypass Filters for well over 30 years and never had a problem. Once you buy one it is just a simple matter of transfering it from vehicle to vehicle when you sell/update, ie: you own them for life.
Over 30+ years I have saved a fortune (and saved the enviroment as a bonus!) On average on my two diesels (One a Patrol, one Isuzu)I have extended oil changes by an average of three times original recomended change interval- and had a number of oil analysis tests done which has confirmed I'm being conservative.
I have never had ANY kind of mechanical failure on ANY vehicle fitted with bypass filters!
I also have them on the fuel- Diesel fuel cannot be filtered too well, and the Frantz filters the fuel outstandingly well- way, way better then the factory filter, though I still have that downstream of the Frantz fuel filter for "safety". (Factory filter then lasts virtually forever). You've got to see the Frantz element (toilet roll) to believe the crap after it's been fitted a while. It also extends the life of pump and injectors dramatically.
Another benefit is that they help cool the oil- in our climate this has to be a big bonus.
It's really no contest.
AnswerID: 85341

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:22

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:22
Thanks for that Flash,
With the fuel filter set-up on your Patrol, could I ask you which model Patrol you have, please? The reason I ask is that there are some reports that the Patrol fuel pump is a bit under-powered and has trouble pumping oil through 2 filters, causing some starvation issues. Now if the Frantz unit is filtering to an even finer degree, my logic would have me thinking that the pump is gunna have it's work cut out to squeeze the fuel through the finer tolerances of the Frantz. Just curious. The CAV filter I use on my Patrol (in place of the original filter) is also of the toilet roll variety and seems to do a very good job; but then again I do have a Morisons de-bug unit in line before the filter too.
FollowupID: 343893

Follow Up By: Flash - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 16:31

Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 16:31
Mine's a GQ TD42- '91 model.
I ran mine for some years without a fuel pump and had no problem.....
But I then added a "Facet" electric pump back at the tank,(for convenience) mainly because it makes filter changes and bleeding the fuel system sooooo easy.
Cost me $85 all up.
FollowupID: 344880

Reply By: Member - Ben R (NSW) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:01

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:01
I have an Oilguard system, but I plumbed the return oil line to the rocker cover - a lot less vulnerable in my opinion
AnswerID: 85344

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:26

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:26
G'day Ben,
Yes Amsoil also quote this as an option. In fact they give 3 options for the return oil. The 1st is to use a self-tapping hollow bolt into the side of the sump (not keen on that one). 2nd is to use the same self-tapping fitting into the rocker cover. 3rd is to drill a hole in the oil filler cap and use a swivel joint fitting. I like this idea better, as it means there is no permanent "damage" done to the rocker cover or sump. When you sell the vehicle, you remove the whole unit and buy a new oil cap to replace the one you drilled the hole in.
FollowupID: 343894

Follow Up By: Member - Ben R (NSW) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:50

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:50
Yes, I must admit that if it wasn't for the fact that I have a spare rocker cover lying around I probably wouldn't have taken the chance! I also intend keeping the same vehicle for a long while so a more permanent solution was fine for my situation!
If you do intend buying any system from overseas be a bit careful - I got caught out not realising that GST is payable on freight costs as well as parts PLUS a customs handling fee. In the old days Customs wouldn't claim duty if the duty price payable was less than about $40 (I forget the exact amount...)
FollowupID: 343900

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 12:40

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 12:40
G'day Roachie,
As you'd be aware, I have the Frantz system installed in my '99 TD42T...
Can't add much to that which has already been mentioned, except in relation to the oil feed & return lines...
I used existing access points in the block which had in earlier (GQ) models been used to supply the alternator-mounted vacuum pump...
You will find, just behind & below the alt. mounting bracket, 2 plugs.. One is 1/8" BSP (5mm Inhex), & accesses the pressure gallery (I believe you may have fitted your press. gauge sender unit here), & right beside this is a 3/8" BSP (12mm hex.) plug which accesses the return gallery.. There is another 1/8" BSP inhex plug right above the engine mount.. I believe (but have not confirmed) that this also accesses the pressure gallery... All you need are the appropriate barb fittings, & "Bob's your Uncle"... The fittings supplied by Frantz are NPT, so not suitable in this instance...
I fitted the filter unit to the bracket which holds the vacuum canisters (with an extra support brace), after moving one of the canisters so they're both "behind" the mounting bracket (If you have an aux. battery in this space, then this may not work for you), therefore the 2 hoses (feed & return) enter the block side by side, & not far from the unit... No need to be punching holes in sumps, rocker covers, or anything else...
Hope this is of some assistance...

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 85363

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:46

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:46
Thanks for your reply Ed.

With regard to the hoses, could you tell me what type of fittings you used please? Are they the simply barbed type with a screw-up hose clamp used to stop the hose "blowing off" under pressure? The ones shown on the Amsoil website seem to be very "professional" looking sort of stuff which, I assume, would never come unstuck in normal circumstances.

I will have to have another look at the passenger's side of my block, next to where i mounted the oil pressure gauge sender, for the larger plug you mentioned.

Thanks mate
FollowupID: 343989

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:03

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:03
Yeah Roachie,
that's all I've used, the simple barb fittings w/- (stainless) worm drive clamps... simply because that's what I happened to have on hand when I found that the supplied fittings were the wrong thread type for my application...
Been using these for years on airline fittings where the working pressure is considerably higher than your typical eng. oil pressure, so I have no misgivings about failure under pressure, though I do visually check this area every day when away from home, & periodically "nip up" the clamps whenever I'm doing a service (or whatever)... & always carry spares, "just in case"...
The advantage here is that if necessary, a hose could be replaced any time, anywhere, whereas with the "professional looking" crimp-type connectors, this is made more difficult (unless of course, you carry a spare "made-up" hose)...
(Touch wood), that has not been an issue for me to date...

Didja find that plug for the return gallery??

Catch ya later... Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 344009

Reply By: SteveL - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:54

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:54
An alternative to spin on by-pass filters is a centrifugul unit which has a lower ongoing cost as it only uses a paper insert to collect the particles that collect in it.
AnswerID: 85417

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:23

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:23
Hi Roachie
I also forgot to mention that I have been looking at Fleetguard filters as I understand there are some which offer combined by-pass with "normal" filtration. Basically two partitions in the one filter?? Hopefully not the size of truck filters though!! Fleet guys at work are looking to run these across our whole fleet in preference to manufacturer specific products so as to better manage stocks of consumable items. Cheers
AnswerID: 85452

Reply By: Member - Bruce H (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 00:32

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 00:32
Hi Roachie

I Used an Frantz 2 stacker on my LN65 Hilux 2L Diesel with synthetic oil for approx 200,000k ,changed FILTER every 5000Km (plus 1.5 Litres topup ,system vol was 6L) and oil every 50,000K no oil testing done.

Was chasing more ponies so transplanted the 2.4 with a 2.8 3L inc G/Box and Tfr.
Sold 2L motor to Diesel Mechanic for a mates 2.2 hilux , he was that impressed with the excellent condition of the Motor he came back and brought the G/Box and Tfr next weekend.

The 3L transplant went for 350,000Km with the same treatment before the Hilux was sold with nearly 700,000Km and 18 yrs.

I now have a 100 series HZJ105R (4.2 Diesel) 40,000km (now done 110,000km) at purchase and installed an AMSOIL Dual BYPASS system after making an adaptor to take the oil from the original spin-on (system replaces the original spin-on which is a incidentially a combination of full flow / BYPASS (the toyota BYPASS portion FILTERs the full sump approx every 3hrs and has a lower total particulate holding and retention >10 micron capacity).

The Amsoil Bypass filters to <1uM and filters the whole sump approx every 10 min from memory so no contest.

costs work out about 1/2 (filters and oil testing not cheap ,change filters and oil every 30,000 km,) saves the enviroment (<1/6 oil usage) and provives superior engine protection.

Further the Introduction of Ultra low sulphur diesel helps extend drain intervals further by "Quote" BP website

• reduced corrosion due to acidic exhaust gas components leading to improved maintenance and operation

ie the TBN (Total Base Number) ability to neutralise the corrosive byproducts is improved

• reduced soot build up in the engine lubricants with potential for extended drain periods

Explains its self

I have installed the Amsoil Dual bypass (1 full flow and 1 bypass element) system by removing the original filter and puting in its place a home made adaptor to take and return the oil to the motor using braided hydraulic fittings, no holes in sumps etc.

If you want pics drop a line.

Also have an Amsoil dealer up here (Qld) I can put in touch with.

My better half's parents live USA and I visit occasionally, so brought the system and filters back with me, those spin on canisters realy get US airport security all excited.

Also have 113 L Drum of Amsoil SAE 15W-40 Synthetic Heavy Duty Diesel and Marine Motor Oil ,which at my current rate of use will take quite a time to get through, works out approx $8-90 L ,top stuff but need to organise a buyers group to make the 113 L drums not so hard on the hip pocket.

Harrow

AnswerID: 85489

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 09:37

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 09:37
I assume that you are looking for an extended engine life by fitting a by-pass filter system. In my opinion the life of your engine will be governed by the number of hours of hot running compared to the number of cold start ups. The trucking and taxi industries get high km`s because of the hot running they do. Taxis, to my knowlege don`t use by pass filters , but trucks do at times. I feel that if you don`t do regular long trips, but instead do a lot of short to medium trips, you will be wasting your money fitting a by pass filter system as you will negate any benefits that the by pass system `MAY` offer.
I assume you have read posts 15993 and 16027. Also see Frantz`s site www.wefilterit.com. The Faq`s refer to toilet paper being used as the filter cartridge by Frantz. Check that Amsoil are not using the same in their spin on cartridges. At the end of the day it is your money, spend as you wish. They will not get mine. Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 85508

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 09:55

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 09:55
I assume that you want to get an extended engine life by fitting a by pass filter system. In my opinion the life of your engine will be governed by tke number of hours of hot running compared to the number of cold starts and short to medium trips done.Taxis and trucks get high engine life because of the hot running they do, taxis , to my knowledge, do not use any sort of by pass filter system. Any advantage that you `MAY` gain would , in my opinion be negated by the cold start, stop start running that most of us all do at times.
See posts 15993 and 16027. Also visit Frantz`s site www.wefilterit.com . In the FAQ`s Frantz refer to toilet paper being the filter cartridge . Check to see that Amsoil are not using the same in their spin on filters.
At the end of the day it is your money, they are not getting mine. Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 85510

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 09:57

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 09:57
Sorry for the double reply . Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 85511