The 4WD Menace

Submitted: Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:24
ThreadID: 18009 Views:3833 Replies:15 FollowUps:10
Interesting write-up by the President of the Susuki Club of NSW

http://www.zook.betcher.org/

Feeling is that it's only a matter of time before 4WD drivers require a specail liscence BUt what is a 4WD these days????

Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:27

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:27
That didn't work. I''ll try again to post the link but in the mean time:

use www.zook.betcher.org/
AnswerID: 85405

Reply By: betchaboy - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:25

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:25
Gosh, thanks Ross. It's nice to think that someone actually read that article. :-)

Seriously though, it's something I feel really passionate about... the do-gooders and the anti4WD folk would be quite happy to see 4WDs vanish... I heard on good authority on the weekend that 4WD licensing will become a reality in the future. Not a rumour.

The powers-that-be are looking at how they will implement such a scheme at the moment. They are also looking at the whole bullbar issue as well.

At the risk of making it sound like a conspiracy theory, the Harold Scroobies of this world are working hard to see that 4WDs become too hard, too expensive and too inconvenient to own...

Might be time to all get a bit vocal about it?

PS, for a working link, try clicking here
AnswerID: 85412

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:37

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:37
Just read your article , very well put i must say . I wonder what scruby would think about it (or if he would even read it) but then again , who cares what he thinks . Again , very well put ! cheers Errol
FollowupID: 343997

Reply By: JonnoC - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:47

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 16:47
It's enough to make your blood boil is it not.

I know who I won't ever be insuring my vehicle or anything else with. When push comes to shove politicians will not act on something if they are likely to "lose votes". So if we all stand up and get vocal, our voice will be heard. I don't know about you but I'm sick of the voices of the "loud minorites" being heard over and above the "quiet majority".

Interestingly enough it is probably the snobby, overweight city slicker types that voice this point of view. They are happy to watch TV or go to the movies or sip double-soy-mochacinos down at their favourite cafe'. They don;t understand that a lot of people like to peal their rear ends off the couch every now and then and head bush, which yes - does entail heading off the blacktop. Just because they do not find this interesting, does not mean that other people shouldn't do it.

Before I get too angry, I'll finish with another example of such lunacy. I had one of these people (stereotyped above) try and tell me that recreational fishing should be banned as it is cruel. This person did not seem to care that it is the most popular pass-time in Aust, and maintained that it should be banned.

There are a lot of deluded people out there.

Jono
AnswerID: 85415

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 17:29

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 17:29
It would be laughable some of the accusations/threats being made against 4by owners if it wasn't such a concern, as a keen fisho I've seen the silent minority (greens) have there way with marine parks in Port Phillip Bay purely because the humble rec fisho didn't think anything would come of such rediculouse claims, yet one of our fresh water icons, the Murray Cod faces extinction due to a host of reasons, and the greens remain silent....................?????????

Maybe there's no votes in the great green fish!

Browny now hops off soap box!
FollowupID: 343968

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 18:17

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 18:17
Well written, shame there isn't a paper that would probably print it, and it's too long to put in our local papers forum.

Sandy
AnswerID: 85426

Reply By: Smocky - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:07

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:07
G'day all,

I'd like to add 2 more very important reasons for these vehicles, both of which is why I own a Rodeo.

TOWING: Try towing a 1.8T boat and trailer with a Barina and try and stop at a set of lights. I'd suggest that using a large 4wd to tow is SAFER for everyone than using an inadequate vehicle.

TRANSPORTING: Not sure how many of the hilux's, rodeo's, navara's etc aren't used as a ute, but I reckon it's not many. Can't exactly toss a load of wood, an engine or whatever else is required in the back of a Camry now can you.

As has been excellently pointed out by those above, the notion of "4WD's are a menace" is as big an exageration and generalisation as you are likely to find. People will always sensationalise to try and make a point, but in doing so often expose themselves as ignorant and thoughtless. Vehicles of all size, shape and ability are required by modern society and we need to manage this need responsibly. This is the real issue, as has been so well defined in the article.

BTW, a normal car license also let's you drive a 12 seat bus with 12 innocent pasengers and no seat belts. Try driving THAT like you would the family sedan and see how you go.

Sign me up as a member of the Pro 4WD action group.

"Smocky thanks Browny for a lend of his soap box!"
AnswerID: 85433

Reply By: beenabout - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:24

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:24
I believe it is only a matter of time before the 4wd licence becomes manditory as it is not only the stay safe people pushing this barrow but also the insurance companys, whom I might add are also looking at a special towing licence for trailers over 750kg, as most accidents trailer relaited accidents are in this catagery, mainly overloaded or mis-loaded trailers - caravans.

the majority of us get away with with what we do by shear luck most of the time.

How many of you have done an accedited towing course, or have just relied on what your dad,friends,neighbours,relatives have told you or just tken pot luck.
the 4wd licence would probably encompass the drive and recover a 4wd module that the 4wd association is currently running, along with the various private companys.

As for the question of what is a 4wd anyway? well this is a thorn in the side of some but the technology in some of these so called "softroaders" will get them into places that they should not be, the question is then one of recovery as they cannot take a heavy recovery without damaging the vehicle as the construction is not robust enough.

the point I am trying to make here is that the drivers need to be educated as to the risks they take if they push the vehicle past it recognised capabilitys as with all vehicles not just soft roaders.

AnswerID: 85438

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 10:16

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 10:16
According to the report from the FWDNSW&ACT, the licencing issue is already tabled in Parliament. It will require a special licence for drivers of 4WDs that weigh in excess of 2 tonnes (so that's pretty well all fair-dinkum 4x4s). It is likely to be introduced in 2006 but may be as soon as next year.

They, the pollies, are also apparently considering restricting P-plate drivers from driving a 4x4 over the 2 tonnes.

As for the towing licence - I have no issue with that as long as it is sensible. Towing can be very dangerous and most folks that hitch up their 2 tonne, 18' caravan behind the 1 tonne family Commodore have absolutely no idea what they are doing. Perhaps they should legislate that trailers/vans over a particular size cannot be towed by vehicles less than 1.5 or 2.0 times the trailer's mass. For example, trailers/vans over 14' and 1,500 kgs can only be towed by a vehicle with a mass of 2,500 kgs. That would make the whole rig a far safer proposition.

Hmmm. I wonder how that would go down.
FollowupID: 344048

Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:04

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:04
beenabout,

You make an excellent point about towing.

I've done a couple of 4WD course but have you ever tried to find someone who druns caravan towing courses in NSW. Victoria, yes but not good old shillberite NSW!

FollowupID: 344080

Follow Up By: beenabout - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:42

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:42
actualy there is a nationaly certified towing course availaible in NSW
who do actual on and off road towing courses from camper trailers to 24" caravans.

www.tow-ed.com.au

based in sydney but do central coast as well
FollowupID: 344120

Reply By: Davoe - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:50

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:50
Is this an Eastern States issue? here in the west no one takes that sort of talk seriosly and it doesnt get much press as 4bys are the lifeblood of our regional areas and centres and businesses and alot of the city folk work fifo in these areas and rely on them when on site
AnswerID: 85443

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:56

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 20:56
Go to the website for any eastern newspaper and type in 4wd in the search, you'd be hard up finding a positive article!!!

Sandy
FollowupID: 344007

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:23

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:23
Davoe

It is Eastern States paranoia

People are so paranoid that something may be taken away from them that they believe everything people write or follow up in the print or electronic media. This has been bordering on hysteria as one Urban Myth replaces another. I haven't read the article and don't really care to as I live in the real world where commerce dictates how the country runs.

All this talk about bullbars(been going on since 1985) and 4wd special licences is just plain crap. It will never happen. Commerce and business dictates the tune of all industries and governments are not about to cut their own throats to implement idiot laws concerning 4wd vehicles.

These posts make for people to jump on the band wagon and to voice their tiny narrow minded opinions.

CYA
FollowupID: 344024

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:19

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:19
Willem do you have the GPS coordinates for the real world? I would gladly plug them in and follow the arrow till I got there, I reckon we've been so far away from it for so long we forget what its like. The Robe weekend was a gret insight into what people can really be with common interests and care and concern for each other.

Does this planet have an "OFF" button?

FollowupID: 344115

Reply By: ianmc - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:47

Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:47
Its called gradualism Willem, first run an idea very way out, wait for the wails of protest, then water it down a bit & pass legislation & everyone thinks its not as bad as they thought it would be then its further tightened as time goes by.
Remember the GST we were NEVE NEVER going to have & the fiscal responsibility
of our born to rule leaders!
Anyway what about the trucks of all shapes & sizes which from time to time demolish a car load of unfortunates, fault aside?
And as mentioned above the rather less than safe converted forward control light vans which hurtle along with unbelted passengers & no appparent need to comply with any safety or crash standards.
AnswerID: 85479

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 00:12

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 00:12
Life is full of anomalies, Ian

Life is constantly changing and we have to adapt to that change. Gradualism may work in some instances but in these particular cases of Bullbars or Special licences I have my doubts.

Frankly I am not going to worry about it.

FollowupID: 344030

Reply By: Member - Doug - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 01:48

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 01:48
And wouldn't the same logic that '4WDrives are dangerous' also ban trucks, buses, or anything 'non-standard' and lead to just one legislated design of transport for all, like bumpers cars, all the same height with rubber protection. Or horses maybe
Who's kidding whom?

Doug & Dog
Bone Diggers
We Tweet(ed) @DougandDog
"nobody said it had to be fair" (my Dad)

AnswerID: 85492

Reply By: Rigor - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 08:18

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 08:18
I agree with Willem , too much paranoia out there , it will never happen, maybe with the exception of the bullbar but even that (I believe) will simply be modifyed further to be safer . In my experience it is better to let sleeping dogs lye if one creates a national bunfight one has to be confident of winning . In short do your best to ignore , the media will only be interested if there is controversy and argument .

Cheers all Dave L
AnswerID: 85502

Follow Up By: Smocky - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 08:43

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 08:43
Rigor,

I'm not sure I agree with you and Willem, but of course that's what is so good about this country; everyon is entitled to an opinion and is free to express it.

There are many things you would probably have thought you would never see, but the fact is that unless there is a MAJOR financial argument against, then it will happen. Did you ever think they would ban smoking in public places? How about banning you from washing your car? And as for bull bars, there are already laws in place that determine how they are fitted, what's on them and what they look like. They won't ban 4WD's obviously, but there is no question that in time there will be a restrictions as there is with motor bikes, guns and smoking. (Not that 4WD's deserve to be in the same class as these things.)

IMHO, it is far better to be part of the solution than part of the problem. 4WD owners and associations need to be proactive and suggest good, appropriate solutions that address the REAL problems rather than throwing slander around.

I think the article is very well written.

The problem with having your head in the sand, is that your arse is exposed.

Smocky.
FollowupID: 344043

Reply By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 08:47

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 08:47
The motor vehicle manufacturing industry has invested billions of dollars globally to tool up factories to produce the type of car people want – recreational and off-road vehicles. It is also an industry that provides employment to millions of people both directly and indirectly.

The lobbying power that this industry has is enormous – it will be a brave government that takes on this group, let alone the individuals that choose to drive these vehicles. I doubt government is willing to tackle them on an issue that is so marginal to the greater population.

I’m all for making our roads a safer place, but let’s tackle the real problems first, the prominence of alcohol and speed as a contributor to deaths on the road. Driver education is the key – not a new class of licence. Imposing a four-wheel drive licence will do very little to improve road safety.

As someone said previously, the generalisation of many arguments put forward by people for banning four-wheel drives, highlights in many cases their own ignorance. The single most important thing that we, as four-wheel drive owners, can do is to ensure we always drive our vehicles in a responsible way. No doubt most of us do, but if you see someone acting irresponsibly in a four-wheel drive, tell them – as the action of one will tarnish the good behaviour of the rest of us.
AnswerID: 85505

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:45

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 14:45
One often neglected fact is that by having vehicles intermittently sitting higher in a line of traffic, the overal reaction time from one end of the line to the other actually gets shorter. This is because the taller vehicles can actually "short circuit" the usual cumulitive time it takes for a "brake light wave" to progress down the line of traffic, through their clearer view of the traffic conditions, and their clear view of the next taller vehicle braking status.
AnswerID: 85543

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:48

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:48
Well Done Chris,
Great points made here, if only you weren't preaching to the converted.
Try submitting this to the press and see how you go. You may be surprised, I hope.

On the other hand, if they ban them from the cities I will have a valid reason to buy a country property and get out of town :)

bleep scruby doo

AnswerID: 85585

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:12

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:12
I feel that in situations such as this it is essential to examine the accusations to see if they have any element of truth, rather than automatically responding with anger.

We have four 4WD vehicles (at least if you include our 4WD Kubota tractor!) but accept that there are areas of 4WD usage that are seriously in need of study.

These include driving on heavily populated beaches (such as Cable Beach) and dune damage; the use of bull bars on vehicles used almost (if not totally) exclusively in cities; the use of massive rock climbing type tyres on other than rock climbing areas etc.
Collyn Rivers

AnswerID: 85703

Reply By: Elsewhere9 - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:48

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 19:48

Another interesting read on 4WD statistics...

link

(at least I think that will work - if not http://www.wyndhambusiness.com/opinion/4wd.htm)

AnswerID: 85767