Gas hose for Coleman Hot Water On Demand

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 09:40
ThreadID: 18022 Views:4009 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
Does anyone know of a source for the gas hose for the Coleman hot water heater. Ray's are still waiting on them from Coleman. I rang Coleman but they don't have any idea when the next shipment is coming and don't seem to care that much.

Adaptors and hose fittings are available in the US, but on ebay I can't find anyone who mails outside the States. There must be someone in Oz with them in stock.

cheers, alister.

Reply By: Top Cat - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 10:56

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 10:56
I would try one of the big hose stores............ look up hose in the yellow pages......... there are heaps of them arround.

Just take the thing u need to attach it to and they will do the rest.

I would be very surprised if they cant fix u up.
AnswerID: 85518

Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:05

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:05
I bought mine, heater not hose, at Kmart. They maybe worth a try.

Incidentally the dam thing wouldn't seem to hold a charge, wont work with the charger plugged in and then the pump gave up. Carted it on my trip for 10 weeks Used it once before it broke.
Wasn't that impressed from the start.
What is your opinion of the unit?
I can't find my receipts at the moment but intending to take it back and get a refund!
AnswerID: 85519

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:21

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:21
Since you bought it at K-mart you shouldn't need a receipt. So long as it looks new which I'm sure yours does. However without a receipt they only give you a K-mart voucher. They refund you the amount it currently sells for. So if the price has dropped you lose. However if you bought it on sale and the sale is over you win.

Worth a try if you can't find the receipt.
FollowupID: 344053

Follow Up By: alister - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:53

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 12:53
I find it good so far. Have used it on two weekends, dishes and showers. Have had no problems with it not working or the battery failing. I'd take yours back and swap it, may be just bad luck you got a dud.
FollowupID: 344060

Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:21

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:21
Uteman,

Had a chat to Kmart they will exchange but since I no longer have the original packaging they just swap the unit - no recipts required.
They won't refund without the receipt. I usually keep evey little receipt but as you would exoect the very time I need - can't finf it.

Allister,

How long does your battery last and will it work with either the 240V charger or 12V charger plugged in?
FollowupID: 344062

Follow Up By: alister - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:39

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:39
Bit hard to say, but lets guess at 10 dishes and 5 showers didn't dent the battery. Probably used half of a little bottle of gas. I remember being impressed that it charged up again in next to no time. Don't know if it would work while flat but plugged in.

Coleman say it should heat and pump 150 litres on one bottle and battery charge.
FollowupID: 344065

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:41

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:41
I have a Primus gas Shower/hot water service, I have only used it twice & have all packaging & instructions etc. I could be interested in swapping for your Coleman system if you are unhappy. My wife prefers the Coleman controls is the only reason.
FollowupID: 344089

Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:52

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 15:52
Shaker,
Thanks for the offer, but I'm going to look for the receipt and then make a decision as to whether to hang onto it or get a refund.

Would like to get a consenus of what people think of the Coleman Hot Water On Demand unit.

Maybe I'll run a post on the subject.

FollowupID: 344093

Follow Up By: Magnus - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:38

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:38
Ross,

happy with mine. Check the archives for my comments

Magnus
FollowupID: 344105

Reply By: Member - Haldo (Sydney) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:42

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:42
Try

www.grangerscampingworld.com.au

I found them through ExplorOz.

Their customer service is excellent.

They may have what you are looking for.

AnswerID: 85520

Reply By: Magnus - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:44

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 17:44
Alister,

Where are you. They vcan stil be had in Brisbane I believe. Will know for certain tomorrow when I go to pick one up. Can get one for you if you want. Let me know tonite

Magnus
AnswerID: 85578

Follow Up By: alister - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:44

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:44
Magnus, thanks for that kind offer. I rang Coleman yesterday with my best telephone voice to enquire about them one more time. They now tell me they are in the country awaiting approval and should be a week before arriving in the stores. This is a giant leap forward, just one week now, every month since July they promised me two weeks.

Thanks again
Alister
FollowupID: 344181

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:31

Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 18:31
G'day Alister
I have a fire and Ice, Esky with a bbq on top, it has the same conection, I would try bbqs galore or rays tent city. cheers Adam
AnswerID: 85584

Reply By: Neil_surf - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:34

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 17:34
I have one
It's OK have had no problem, but I find it to bulky. Thinking of selling it. Only used it once or twice.
AnswerID: 87354

Follow Up By: BigO- Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:10

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 21:10
Was unsure whether to purchase a Coleman unit but could not resist when K mart had there 25% off camping sale this week. This made there $379 price reduce to $284! What a bargan, can't wait now to head off camping and give it a whirl.
FollowupID: 346917

Reply By: Rocinante - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 21:02

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 21:02
I know the list price of Coleman Hot Water On Demand is $399, and they have been down to below $300 see above - but KMart is currently $379.

Our local Kellys Camping & Outdoor in Dee Why 02 9972 0061 (Northern Beaches, Sydney) has them for $299.

I know they have only a few, and I have one reseved for pick up tomorrow.

I have no connection with Kelly's.

AnswerID: 89281

Reply By: TheUndertaker - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 21:25

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 21:25
Have been after the hose and adaptor for 2or3 months,, scored yesterday at Campmart at Lawnton on brisbane nth side, $29.90 ,they had 3doz in stock.
AnswerID: 89284

Reply By: brett - Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:10

Friday, Dec 17, 2004 at 23:10
Picked one up at the K Mart sale too, was holding off on buying one due to price, couldn't resist at $284.
I rang coleman a week a go and they said next week, so it seems they were right this time. Anyone seen the gas hoses in Sydney anywhere?
AnswerID: 89304

Follow Up By: brett - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:30

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:30
I picked up a water hose adapter today that allows you to connect it to a pressurised water system or tap, got it from Boots, haven't seen them anywhere before but they still had no gas hose adapters.
FollowupID: 348247